We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
2 reviews
“Great but..”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Having the rooms booked in advance, we were delighted to have checked-in really fast. We never waited in line nor never had to look for other accomodations in the area. You really get what you pay for. The rooms are cozy and warm, and the amenities are excellent. However, there is a certain negative vibe around the general area of Moalboal, especially to people coming from Manila (Tagalogs). They seemed to talk behind our backs and we somewhat felt a little queasy walking around. Anyway, many locals still had neutralised this and made our stay pleasantly acceptable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    49
    21
    6
    12
See reviews for
3
30
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while diving. This place is great but bear in mind this is a Bag packer's place. The dorms are OK, I had no chance to get a good sleep as the whole area is very noisy. It's kept quite clean and the Staff is great, friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a cheap place to sleep, this is for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soumeya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 or 5 nights in dec. Through our travels. Location was perfect, amazing snorkeling across the road- . You can also dive right there too. We snorkeled everyday and always saw something new. Not the best location to just swim as its all coral pretty much from the beach out. However extremely close to another beach which is a bit nicer for swimming and laying on the beach. Close to lots of restaurants. Found everything in the area activity was a little more expensive compared to other places through our travels. Lodge was great- got to meet lots of nice people and the hammocks made for an awesome place to relax in the afternoon, Owner was super nice and let us wash/ and dry our snorkeling stuff in the back and kept it safe over night.
The memorial Experience came with our room- we had booked the private room which is attached to the dorm and was greeted every evening by our friend the mouse. First time nearly gave us a heart attack as we were just about to turn off the lights and go to bed when a mouse ran down the wall right beside my bf head - luckily there a bug net over the bed. He joined us every night afterwards- the last nice there was a little mouse vs cockroach battle on the wall beside our bed and on our bug net- needless to say I couldnt sleep the rest of the night. The walls and roof dont close - better circulation. Just remember you are staying at a backpackers lodge and not a hilton five star resort. I would prob stay there again. As the staff were great! and the price is affordable.

Room Tip: The dorm may be a bit loud- as it is just in the upper portion of the building and the common area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kla030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Ive checked on internet some hours before arriving and that was really a good choice for me I met a lot of beautiful people, the owner is a german married with a philipina, the dorms are ok and the price too, its just near the seashore of panagsama beach, when ill come back i will for sure came here, kisses

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamJoeJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

It's good value for money and is most likely the absolute cheapest accommodation you can find in Panagsama Beach area. Dorm beds are about 275 pesos/night. Can be a bit noisy at nights due to the balcony hangout area and bars trying to drum up business. Mostly clean, showers tend to flood though. Very central location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 39f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

place was easy going, relaxed and basic but ticked all the boxes of a hostel. Nice til chill bamboo area upstairs and a good positive vibe in the place. Loved the hammock and the whistling kettle. would stay again if i visited :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosesuperted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the good and end with the bad.

GOOD: For a budget traveller, the price is right! The staff was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We stayed in the Blue Gecko room which was a private room for two. It was spacious and clean. The staff even provided a jug of water and coffee upon our arrival. The location is ideal on Panagsama Beach, you can't get much closer to the action. The hostel also has a kitchen which you can cook in for 20PHP per day which is a great way to save some money on eating out.

BAD: Originally booked for six nights but ended up checking out three nights early (on a positive note the staff refunded us our remaining three nights in full as we gave 24 hours notice). The reason we decided to leave is because of so many bugs. Not just your average Mosquitos and ants; we had massive roaches crawling around our rafters and walls all night. I was surprised looking through previous reviews that no one else had mentioned this problem. Not only did we have giant roaches (and baby roaches all through our washroom), while going to sleep the last night we had a spider the size of a hand crawl towards us along the wall carrying it's nest of babies. Being from Canada and never seeing a spider bigger than a thumb nail we were completely petrified. Luckily our neighbour was brave enough and helped us get rid of it. So my negative feedback is that if you don't like creepy crawlies, don't stay here. Or at least don't stay in the private cottages. I imagine the dorms are better as they are much more enclosed inside of the main building.

Overall a great value lodge, but when I can't kill a bug after hitting it a dozen times I'm outta there!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
0.0 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.3 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 23 in Moalboal
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 23 in Moalboal
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayas Native Garden
Mayas Native Garden
#6 of 23 in Moalboal
131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Moalboal Tropics
Moalboal Tropics
#8 of 23 in Moalboal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moalboal Backpacker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Property: Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a new hostel for budget traveler they looking for a simple, friendly and clean guesthouse. Our facility is a mix dormitory, 1 single room and 1 family room all with fan and shared bathroom. Our price list started by PHP 199 for the budget rate 1n/p in the mix dorm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Moalboal Backpacker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing