We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly idyllic location with lots of good company and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Philippines had never really come up as a destination for me until recently when a friend recommended I give it go. The Blue Orchid Resort has an odd set of things going for it that I haven't really come across all in one place before - it is an incredibly welcoming place. The staff are really friendly and helpful and lend a family feel to the place just by how they are with eachother - this comes across nicely and gives the place a great atmosphere. The other travellers I met at the resort were all really nice, open and friendly people that seemed to be attracted to the same aspects that I was about the resort. You basically didn't get the usual drunken louts (the other resorts further up the beach had those) and we all spent a fair portion of our chill out time chatting at the tables beside the resort's canteen by the pool. I was also glad that I stayed there over New Years as this resort is well situated to see most of the fireworks displays from the other resorts whilst enjoying al fresco wine and food with all of the other guests. You can come here and not spend a penny until your bill at the end and the bill was less than I expected. It wouldn't be a balanced review if I didn't mention the mosquito's - bring repellent with factor of no less that 50 deet. I would also recommend doing the Kawasan falls trip as its really close and gives you an awesome experience of the Philippines natural environment and some great opportunities to cool off under the falls and taking the plunge at various levels as you head up the mountain side for some cracking views. Diving and snorkelling are on tap everyday and Pescador, Tonga and various other spots were great for seeing tortoises, shoals of sardines and the full spectrum of marine life. I'm told that around March or April is the best time to see dolphins - I'm hopeful I will be able to make a return trip then. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MShraga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 441 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Orchid. The staff were very friendly, and the general manager was super nice and helpful. He even took us out for a night on the town. The resort is a bit out of the way, so you're kind of stuck there. There doesn't seem to be much in town either, excpet for a disco that kicks off only once a week. We were lucky enough to come on a Saturday and experience that, but there doesn't seem to be much other nightlife. It wouldn't be for people looking for an action-packed holiday (but it seems like it would be a great place for divers). But if you're looking to relax at a resort in a lovely setting, then it's the perfect choice. The pool was great, and the snorkelling was fantastic. The beach was decent - once the tide went out it tended to be a bit rocky. The rooms were cozy, clean and overlooking the sea. Oh, and they have a resident monkey and keep other wildlife that has been rescued on the grounds.

The only thing is that the Blue Orchid seemed quite pricey. It was the first place we stayed at in the Philippines so we didn't really have anything to compare it to, but when visited Bohol we stayed at a similar place with nicer rooms and better food that was half the price. Maybe Bohol is cheaper than Cebu? Despite that, I still think if you're visiting Moalboal and you're looking for a place to chillout, then the Blue Orchid is your best choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We decided to stay at the Blue Orchid due to the reviews on tripadvisor. I think this got our hopes up a bit. The room was huge with great views. It was a great way to get away from everything for awhile. The courtyard is very well done with several caged animals in a nice garden.

Now the downside. This is not really a resort. More like a very fancy B&B. There doesn't seem to be a real reception. Just tables by the kitchen and pool where guests and the staff hangout. Once you are there you are pretty much stuck there. There is not much choice about where you eat. The food is not bad though. The mosquitoes are not your normal ones, these are heavy duty countryside ones. You will need heavy cream as these guys eat you.

Overall, I think this would have been okay if we knew what we were getting when we booked, we didn't. Some of the reviews here seem to embelish the place quite a lot......you draw your own conclusions. May have also been better if the place was sold as a diving spot, not resort and diving spot.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nlb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We arrived at night, woke up the crystal clear waters. Everyone there made the stay special, and took great care of us. We spent many hours lazing around and having loads of laughs. Highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suganthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I stayed at the Blue Orchid on the strength of the favorable tripadvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed.

I travel to the Philippines frequently for business, and usually try to get in some diving on the weekends. Of the places I've been diving -- Batangas, Subic, Mactan, and now Moalboal -- the diving in Moalboal, in particular Pescador Island, was the best I've seen so far. Excellent visibility -- ~ 100 feet -- lots of marine life including an amazing school of sardines, large lion fish, 6' thresher shark. Very nice.

Even if you don't dive, it's a great place to stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Meals are generally taken somewhat communally, so it's a great way to get to know other people. Everything is nice, well maintained. The beach at the property is small but nice. Good snorkeling, and the house reef is also decent diving.

This place gets one of my highest recommendations: of all the places I've stayed in the Philippines, it's the only one that I would go back to on my own time and money!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reb_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We chose Blue Orchid based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and we
were not disappointed. The rooms were modern and clean and
just a few steps to the water. The owner Micheal and staff could
not have been more helpful and the food was some of the best we
have ever tasted at a resort. The resort is gifted with stunning
views and low tide allowed us to walk to explore other beaches. We
would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplealientraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Blue Orchid is relaxing and friendly with opportunities to dive off the house reef or take a boat out to numerous dive spots.I dived and my wife snorkelled and lay in the sun, fantastic holiday for us both. I was a fairly inexperienced diver, and was well looked after by the manager who gave loads of advice and support and came with me on my dives offering excellent local knowledge. The diving is fantastic, with a stunning coral reef and great variety of marine life. The staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. We truly felt welcomed and were taken care of with constant smiles. Blue Orchid is in a beautiful location, the rooms all have views across the sea to the adjacent island of Negros and are comfortable and spacious. Has a great pool, well maintained grounds (with domesticated toucans and parakeets and even a monkey!) The hotel organised trips out to the nearby towns for sightseeing and restaurants, and to Kasawan Falls which was a great experience.This was our first time in the Philippines and due to the Blue Orchid, manager and staff, it will be the first of many visits. We'll be back to the Blue Orchid for our next holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANEANDCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
543 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,332 reviews
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 91 in Cebu City
1,281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 7 in Moalboal
229 reviews
42.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 91 in Cebu City
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: $68 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing