We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving, great people, great prices... what's not to like?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Orchid Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great diving, great people, great prices... what's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

I stayed at the Blue Orchid on the strength of the favorable tripadvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed.

I travel to the Philippines frequently for business, and usually try to get in some diving on the weekends. Of the places I've been diving -- Batangas, Subic, Mactan, and now Moalboal -- the diving in Moalboal, in particular Pescador Island, was the best I've seen so far. Excellent visibility -- ~ 100 feet -- lots of marine life including an amazing school of sardines, large lion fish, 6' thresher shark. Very nice.

Even if you don't dive, it's a great place to stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Meals are generally taken somewhat communally, so it's a great way to get to know other people. Everything is nice, well maintained. The beach at the property is small but nice. Good snorkeling, and the house reef is also decent diving.

This place gets one of my highest recommendations: of all the places I've stayed in the Philippines, it's the only one that I would go back to on my own time and money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reb_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    92
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
174
29
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

We chose Blue Orchid based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and we
were not disappointed. The rooms were modern and clean and
just a few steps to the water. The owner Micheal and staff could
not have been more helpful and the food was some of the best we
have ever tasted at a resort. The resort is gifted with stunning
views and low tide allowed us to walk to explore other beaches. We
would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplealientraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

The Blue Orchid is relaxing and friendly with opportunities to dive off the house reef or take a boat out to numerous dive spots.I dived and my wife snorkelled and lay in the sun, fantastic holiday for us both. I was a fairly inexperienced diver, and was well looked after by the manager who gave loads of advice and support and came with me on my dives offering excellent local knowledge. The diving is fantastic, with a stunning coral reef and great variety of marine life. The staff are very friendly and the service was excellent. We truly felt welcomed and were taken care of with constant smiles. Blue Orchid is in a beautiful location, the rooms all have views across the sea to the adjacent island of Negros and are comfortable and spacious. Has a great pool, well maintained grounds (with domesticated toucans and parakeets and even a monkey!) The hotel organised trips out to the nearby towns for sightseeing and restaurants, and to Kasawan Falls which was a great experience.This was our first time in the Philippines and due to the Blue Orchid, manager and staff, it will be the first of many visits. We'll be back to the Blue Orchid for our next holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANEANDCHRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I trully enjoyed my stay at Blue Orchid. If you're after diving experience, you can't find anything better. The sea was just a couple of minutes walk away from my room, and the coral reef started right at the shore.
The service is excellent. English manager Mark was very helpful, and certainly enjoyed our evening conversations :-) And even was able to borrow an USB modem from him to check my emails every day. The place had 24/7 security and I was told it was quite safe to leave stuff in my room. I didn't have a TV and I didn't need it - this place was a getaway, and I didn't want to spoil the experience.

The rooms are clean and serviced daily. You can choose a room with or without an air conditioner. Although an aicon is nice to have, in that climate it isn't really necessary.
They don't have a wide choice of meals at the hotel's restaurant, but everything is very tasty and certainly I wasn't starving.

The only downside is that if you're after a nightlife, it is not readily available at the hotel . But hey, you'll get a good night sleep instead, because there will be no disco beats outside through the night! White Beach doesn't have many places to hang out, and you may want to go to Pangasama beach for a night out, which is about 20 minutes away by car. If you decide to go there, Mark can arrange for you to be taken there and back, and may even go with you if you're not busy.

I'll definitely stay at Blue Orchid if I come to Moal Boal again, and will recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel99World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
105.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Property: The Blue Orchid Resort
Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing