We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent diving opportunities and very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Excellent location by the coast, very friendly staff, good food, excellent diving very close to the resort. Plan a little bit of time to reach the resort from the airport (2-3hours). Lovely lookouts by the sea. Don't miss the swimming whale sharks!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite has a really nice terrace! Excellent to enjoy the lovely sunsets in huge Philipp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 458 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

The place is perched on top of a rock formation which gives you a very nice view of sunset. There is really no sandy beach in front of the resort, you have to walk around 200 meters to get to the beach. The good thing is that you can snorkel in front of the resort and see colorful fish and different coral formations. The food is very delicious, the kilawin (must be order a day in advance) is a must. A downside is that the kitchen is only open from 8am to 8pm, hence breakfast is a bit late if you eat there. The pool is warm at night which is very good for relaxing. The staff is very friendly and can accommodate almost all of your requests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turista_academia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

this is a little piece of heaven that has a small gate that connects to Hale Manna and a few minute walk would get you to the white sandy beaches of Basdaku. Melissa, the manager, was very friendly. the place is so quiet, beautiful and romantic. i never thought the view from our room would be so fantastic...the room was very spacious and pretty. beds and cabinet doors were squeaky though, but overall, the experience was heavenly!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingGing_Saging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My family (adult children +parent) loved every aspect of this resort. The staff were friendly and obliging, the manager (Melissa) was a perfect combination of relaxed and charming host and amazing organiser of any activity or other request we had. The gardens are beautiful, the outlook stunning! It is set located out of the main part of Moalboal but this is ideal.The beach (just off the resort) is beautiful, the snorkelling/diving there is easily accessible. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the food is fantastic (easily the best we ate on our holiday) We organised for several activities through the resort which were also fabulous. It is also the perfect size to allow guests to socialise with each other. Am planning a return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Anywhere is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful spot, the friendliest and most helpful staff, the manager, Melissa is delightful and so so helpful! A really welcoming atmosphere and small enough to meet and get to know other guests. The property itself is beautiful with lots of places to sit and relax with a delicious juice or cocktail, as well as the opportunity to do all manner of activities from mountain climbing, diving, canyoning and whatever else you think of doing.
The food was delicious - I've never liked eggs in my life until i had their omlettes, not to mention the rest of the menu which made dinner choices almost impossible - everything was superb.
There's a perfect spot to watch the sunset from on the beach and everything is perfect and peaceful. We already want to go back we miss the place and the people so much!

Room Tip: the spa is the ocean - and a delightful one indeed. the fitness centre becomes the activities you ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairec3190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

stayed at many hotels around the world but never have i received service like i did at the Blue Orchid!

Food:

i have stayed on 4 different islands in the Philippines and this was the best , one day i mentioned that i felt like eating a pizza so the staff went to another resort to get me one haha,

Management / Service:

Melissa the manager couldn't be nicer, anything we asked for was delivered with her wonderful smile,

Mike the owner genuinely the most interesting man alive

Service staff were lovely and attended to all our needs

Location:

Set on a beautiful reef minutes from the beach, very peaceful and tranquil , go check out the sunset from the roof terrace

Rooms:

very comfortable


Look if you are looking for a luxury Burj Al Arab type resort then dont stay here, if you are looking to get a feel for the real Philippines and meet amazing people stay somewhere peaceful and have the option to do some exhilarating activities then this is your hotel

Me and my wife went to the blue orchid for a our wedding anniversary , on the night of our anniversary we ended up inviting half the guests and had the owner and manger at the meal because we fell in love with the people that much, it was like i was staying at an old friends house rather than a hotel,

Seriously happy and cant wait to go back to Moalboal's little slice of paradise

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azmat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is the perfect holiday location for everyone who just wants to relax in a classy yet homey setting: Far away from the fuss in Moalboal The Blue Orchid offers a beautiful garden, big and clean rooms, outstandingly friendly staff and a first class snorkeling reef just in front of the house.

We didn't mind that there was no sandy beach at the lot, since you can sunbath on a sandy platform and swim or snorkel easily thanks to a paved underwater path that navigates you through the starfish.

We also enjoyed the best food during our seven weeks in the Philippines - there are definitely different ways how to grill a tuna steak.

For those who easily get bored, The Blue Orchid offers a variety of daytrips or diving. We liked that a lot, though our impression was, that the dive school was rather chaotic. For nervous or perfectionist divers it might not be the best choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treppensteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
557 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,454 reviews
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
722 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.1 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing