We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not as perfect as the reviews suggest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had an absolutly great time at this resort, which is mainly because the entire staff worked so hard to make the guests happy. However, there is small issues that could be improved.

POSITIVE:
- Dino, who is running the dive base is extremly commited to his guests (I am an absolute maniac about dive safety. Dino is even more perfectionistic about it than me)
- Junjun, the boat captain works like crazy in his efforts to take workload of the divers (loading/ unloading the boat etc.)
- Very nice location (directly on the sea)
- No mass tourism (only a limited number of rooms, and no crowds on the dive boat)
- Quite good and inexpensive cuisine
- All staff is extremly nice and friendly. My wife doesn't speak, but understands philipino (which they didn't know) Unlike elsewhere on our trip, she never picked up a single negative word about the guests, just funny and cute stuff like: "Wow, they can eat a lot" or "Wow, he is really white"

NEGATIVE:
- Never in my life (also nowhere else in Moalboal) seen such worndown rental diving equipment... Doesn't suit well to the perfectionism with that the dive base is managed otherwise
- WiFi can be a newsence as it is not available in all rooms (a pitty, as it would propably be pretty inexpensive to upgrade these facilities)

THINGS TO KNOW:
- The trip from Cebu airport is quite far: 3h best case !!!
- Bring your own scuba diving equipmemt (see above)
- Next village is about 30 min (by tricycle) away
- Aircon is installed directly on top of the bed
- Very quiet
- Perfect for small groups

Room Tip: ask for a room where the WiFi works
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank effendi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 458 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

I had looked at many different islands in the Philippines before booking this hotel. My husband and I are avid snorkelers and weren't sure if Moalboal had what we were looking for. After a few emails back and forth, Michael convinced us that the snorkeling here is great, and worth a visit. We are happy we went!

The resort is not posh, but not too basic. It has good facilities and the location on the rocky beach is fabulous. We had the honeymoon suite and while we enjoyed it, I personally felt it was slightly overpriced. But hey, the room was large, clean and had a lovely top floor balcony that only we could access. The balcony had nothing on it however, which was disappointing. A couple of lounge chairs, a table and chairs would really make that space lovely. We didn't use that balcony the whole time we were there because it was empty. It got pretty windy up there though, so maybe that's why it was empty! All in all the rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. There was a shelf full of books in our room which we took advantage of.

Judit and Mark as hosts were fantastic, and Michael the owner just might be the most interesting man in the world! They're always available and make you feel very comfortable. Chats over drinks or dinner in the evening was always fun and they are full of ideas for places to see in the area.

Breakfast is included and quite good. I usually went for the omelette or pancakes and always enjoyed it. Only instant coffee is included with breakfast, which was a bit disappointing. I'm stubborn and wasn't paying extra for regular coffee so I stuck with the instant. We ate lunch and dinner there a few times and the food was quite good. Decent value too as there is not much choice in the immediate area. Panangsama the town can be reached by tricycle and is worth a visit. Stop by and have a beer and a meal at one of the restos in town.

Snorkeling off of the hotel is fantastic!!! Soft and hard corals, tons of fish and even sea turtles if you're lucky (which I was)! You literally walk off the beach on a cement pathway, and swim away. There is a floating dock you can rest at - it's not owned by Blue Orchid but we sat on it occasionally to fix our masks or take a rest. Swim along the coral wall and you never know what you will see. The hotel is worth it for the snorkeling alone.

Check-in and check-out was relatively smooth. Upon check-out they just show you this gigantic list of items including breakfast (free), water refills, any meals or excursions booked at the hotel. Quite a daunting list to go through really. I would have appreciated receipts for each meal or excursion booked at the hotel so guests can track this themselves. We trust them, but oversights can happen and you leave feeling unsure of everything you just paid for. Something the management should really consider updating. Payment is in cash only when we were there, so be prepared. We ended up running out and had to wire money to the manager. Ended up costing us $40 in fees so do take note!

Note - there are animals on the premises - birds, cats etc. which can get quite loud. I didn't mind in the slightest, but just mentioning in case anyone would be bothered by it. I loved the cats, and they loved me!

With all that being said, we really enjoyed our stay. It's peaceful and feels very local. The staff are nice, the hotel is well taken care of and the snorkeling is out of this world. I would recommend this place to anyone, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jolliette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a quiet, nice, friendly resort. It's a perfect base for exploring the local area and doing some diving and boat trips. You can snorkel and scuba right off the beach. I went with my sister and my two nephews and we had a great time. The team at Blue Orchid organised all our trips for us and were completely flexible. They also sorted out the transport to and from cebu airport at short notice which was good too.

The rooms arent really fancy, but they are clean, air conditioned and have good mosquito beds. The wifi only works in some areas and is a bit patchy, so dont expect to be able to do any serious internet surfing, but why would you, youre on holiday. Its very quiet, so I wouldnt stay for more than 3-4 days, but for what is advertised its absolutely spot on.

Thanks for making us feel so welcome.

One tip - if you are doing the kasawan falls trip, I would perhaps organise yourself. at 1500 PHP per person its a bit pricey, but that said - they organise it all for you, and its hardly going to break the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 797JamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Blue Orchid is a very good 3-star resort. If you are somebody who likes a simple but clean room, very good local food, peace and tranquility, diving but has his/her own gear, Blue Orchid is the place to go. The other way around – if you expect more than a bed, a table with one chair and one cupboard in a room and if you like diving but need to rent the diving gear, Blue Orchid is not the obvious choice.
The resort offers diving and Dino is an experienced instructor, but there are quite some shortcomings: The diving suits are very old, even the diving gear has its flaws; they do accept a dive with 9-10 people and one instructor although not sufficient weight belts are available etc.
Take note - Blue Orchid offers complimentary breakfast but it is not said on their homepage that is only valid for one item. If you want a coconut or something else additionally, this comes on top of the bill
Otherwise the ladies in the kitchen are a funny, friendly and chatty bunch of people who prepare great meals. Ariel, the current manager is also very helpful when needs arise and JunJun is a gem when you need a hand on the boat or on the mainland.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room on the first floor - they overlook the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustrianinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

i just spent 3 nights at the blue orchid resort the staff was outstanding it was a unique property 10 rooms but only 2 or 3 were used because it was the low season so we had the resort to ourselves the cooks asked us what we wanted to eat i said fresh tuna 4 lbs so they went to the market and bought me a 4 lb tuna to eat they cooked it perfect they said what time would u like to eat i said 7 o clock ok it was ready at 7 the next night i had red snapper same experience if your looking for a great dive or scuba or snorkeling resort go no father than this one

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I will try not to exaggerate my comments but we have nothing but full of praises for this team. Service is fantastic! Nothing is too hard for them to do. We had a room facing the beach. It does not have a good strip of sand where you can lie down but it has a great cabana! Our favorite, overlooking the sea while you are in shade. We had dinner and breakfast there.

Ariel(Manager) and Dino(Dive Master) made our diving unforgettable. The reef is nothing spectacular though. I would suggest you to ask them to take you to a farther place to see really good stuff. Food is overpriced but delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bunnchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our family of 3 including a 6 year old had a great time. The resort staff is wonderful and they helped to make our holiday amazing. Nearby dive sites were very good. I especially recommend the Marine Sancturary and Pescador Island. Low tide offers a great opportunity for children to experience a wide range of sea life. The staff also arranges numerous day trips to see gorgeous waterfalls and the amazing whale sharks. Cebu has so much to offer and the Blue Orchid is a wonderful place for visitors to begin. Sunsets from the property are amazing and the pool location is ideal for supervising children at play while parents relax nearby in shade or sun. Our room was very clean and offered great cooling when we all had a little too much heat from the sun. Food from the galley was wonderful as well.

Room Tip: All of the rooms offer good sea views. I recommend making a reservation early as supply is limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillDaddyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
560 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,458 reviews
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
3.1 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#6 of 7 in Moalboal
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: $67 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing