We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The resort is lovely, well maintained and extremely clean. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Our room was cleaned and tidied every day though I never saw it done. They were that fast, quick and effective!

The managers, Heidi and Markus, gave us a warm greeting when we arrived and even though we don't expect or ask for special attention from the owners or management...Heidi and Markus made us feel very much at home.

We thoroughly enjoyed playing in the pool and snorkeling at the fantastic House Reef. If you love animals, you'll be pleasantly surprised by the wonderful menagerie of rescued critters.

The food is straightforward and the portions more than fair. I don't have a bad thing to say about this place and I'd happily recommend Blue Orchid to anyone!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ebisulikesthedeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 479 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

The excellent reviews here on trip advisor influenced my decision to stay here with my family. But knowing the things I know now, I would have booked somewhere else. The beach has very little manmade sands to walk on. So forget about walking along the seashores and enjoying the waves on your feet. You will not find that here. The dining area is very cramped. All the guests will be sitting with you in all meals of the day. The food servings are very small and pricey. The only thing worth buying from their menu was their pasta. The managers only cared for the divers. Their primary concern was to make sure the divers have their best meals and have the greatest time of their lives. They all went for whale watching without informing the other guests. The best way I think is for the managers to set up a written daily schedule (i.e., some sort of invitation for all on a chalkboard) in terms of diving opportunities available for all the guests. Also this way, when the guests need the managers, they would know that they are out diving with some of the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PortPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed 10 days as a group of 8 - 2 families with 2 children each (10 - 17) - and enjoyed every single day. Not expecting high comfort, perfect service or classy cuisine, we were overwhelmed by the warm welcome, the professional, friendly service (Heidi and staff), the outstanding quality and flexibility of the kitchen (Markus is a great chef - wedding anniversary dinner). We liked the beautiful, rural, unpretending, spacious rooms and surroundings. Sunbeds and towels were always available. The children loved the pool and the freedom they could enjoy all over the resort. Snorkelling and diving were amazing for all of us, the whale sharks a real experience. Many interesting people, we liked the chats, the evenings, the sunsets, massages etc. We recommend the Blue Orchid if you want a personal, cosy and clean, peaceful place to sleep, swim, dive and snorkel without the elegance of a 5 star place and prices. Did not miss a sandy beach with corals and fish all around. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: Big, but somewhat darker family room deluxe rooms with terrace or balcony with great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Heidi , resort manager was very helpful and she does her best to fulfill the customers needs. Markus is also nice to talk to. Other resort staffs are also very friendly.
If you like casual and friendly atmosphere you'll like the place. I enjoyed their casual dining by talking to people.
Overall I enjoyed a lot there. Here are some info for visitors.

In front of the resort you can enjoy great view. (you can even enjoy the views sitting the bench at a resort next to them) The beach is locky but if you walk for ten mins. you'll enjoy white sand beach for swimming. Aqua shoes will help you while walking and snorkeling.
If you need power mask for snorkeling or diving I recommend you bring yours as they dont have it. Snorkeling tour with Whale sharks and river rappelling are something I do recommend. They are great tours.

Their laundry service is handwash and it rains often , so you need to expect that it will take time to have them dried.

The room is big but not much furniture in the room. There is no amenity so that You should bring your own shower gel, shampoo, tooth brush, mosquitos protection , room shoes etc . Of course you can buy them near the resort but you need a ride to get to the shops.
Wifi is unstable but let's think you're in anisolated island in Philippine and dont expect too much, and you can enjoy a lot rather than complaining !

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel-wonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked here for three nights on the basis of the glowing Trip Advisor reports. I can only assume these people haven't been to the really beautiful places you can stay in the Philippines, which for the most part are cheaper than here. Most disappointing of all was the lack of beach (they need to update their website because it's very misleading) which has washed away. On the plus side, the room was spacious and clean, but it lacked furniture to put anything on. The view from the room was lovely. However, the managers were rarely around, as they were mainly diving or entertaining a group of eight who were also staying there. This meant that we were unable to arrange any trips whilst we were there. There was a strong current which precluded snorkelling over their house reef. The sea was only swimmable at high tide and the pool was small and became very crowded. The food was fine but the dining area was very cramped, involving shared benches around long tables right next to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank KitSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My fincee and I had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious, clean, great a/c, great bathrooms and a large bed. The breakfasts were also great. They offer many things to do and the resorts campus was extremely well kept. The staff were awesome. We rented a motrocycle and explored on our own. The resort manager (Heidi and Markus) were nice and very hospitable. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burqueman505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A great little find thanks to Trip Advisor. good rooms and we were lucky enough to be up graded. The deluxe rooms were spacious and had gret views and the honeymoon suite had an enormous jacuzzi bath, very large balcony and a TV for those that just can't do without. Food simple and I would have liked a wider choice but I wasn't going hungry anytime soon. Portion size V. big.
If you are looking for night life this place is NOT for you. If you want to escape this tiny resort Marcus or Heidi can arrange a car/ bike/ pedi for you. Snorkelling and diving are both great.
Draw backs.... sunbeds don't have moving headrests so are not very comfy. If you want a white sandy beach you have to walk to White Beach along the coast but to be fair its only 15 minutes.
Everyone in the resort was friendly and helpful. There was one miserable looking waitress but if she had put a smile on her face she would have been fine too.
A great stay and I'd definitely recommend it for a few days of complete R and R.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite very big. Deluxe rooms able to accommodate a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SSGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
574 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,578 reviews
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,354 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
39.9 mi away
Eden Resort
Eden Resort
#1 of 2 in Oslob
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: $70 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing