We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Tranquil”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

My fincee and I had a wonderful time. The rooms were spacious, clean, great a/c, great bathrooms and a large bed. The breakfasts were also great. They offer many things to do and the resorts campus was extremely well kept. The staff were awesome. We rented a motrocycle and explored on our own. The resort manager (Heidi and Markus) were nice and very hospitable. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burqueman505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    101
    31
    6
    6
See reviews for
82
197
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

A great little find thanks to Trip Advisor. good rooms and we were lucky enough to be up graded. The deluxe rooms were spacious and had gret views and the honeymoon suite had an enormous jacuzzi bath, very large balcony and a TV for those that just can't do without. Food simple and I would have liked a wider choice but I wasn't going hungry anytime soon. Portion size V. big.
If you are looking for night life this place is NOT for you. If you want to escape this tiny resort Marcus or Heidi can arrange a car/ bike/ pedi for you. Snorkelling and diving are both great.
Draw backs.... sunbeds don't have moving headrests so are not very comfy. If you want a white sandy beach you have to walk to White Beach along the coast but to be fair its only 15 minutes.
Everyone in the resort was friendly and helpful. There was one miserable looking waitress but if she had put a smile on her face she would have been fine too.
A great stay and I'd definitely recommend it for a few days of complete R and R.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite very big. Deluxe rooms able to accommodate a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSGilchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Blue Orchid was the highlight of our two week honeymoon through Cebu, Bohol, and El Nido. Markus and Heidi, the current managers / chefs / adventure guides provided an extremely personal, custom experience for us that included diving, a gazebo dinner, swimming with whale sharks, and canyoning in the mountains nearby.

Off at the farthest end of the bit of coastline near Moalboal, on a rocky shore near White Beach, Blue Orchid is a ~15 minute tricycle ride over very bumpy, dirt road to Panagsama Beach - just know that you'll be rather isolated and will probably take most of your meals and adventures through the resort (which was perfectly fine with us).

Room Tip: With just a handful of rooms (8? 10?), you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchellwfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

After 2 1/2 weeks at the Blue Orchid in February, we had no desire to leave. Everything about this simple, beautiful, small resort is personal. Resident British owner Michael, resident Finnish managers Heidi and Marcus and all the great Philippino staff make sure your every wish is attended to. Everything is clean as a whistle and well maintained. Our room as made up every day before we returned from breakfast. The diving and the dive operation is superb and customized to the wishes of the divers. Want a massage by the sea under a thatched roof? Just ask! Want a private dinner on the "beach"? Just ask! If Marcus, a fine chef, senses you like a little food adventure, he'll surprise you. The regular menu is on the web site and has a large variety of fresh offerings. We stayed in a deluxe double upstairs with a nice balcony overlooking the sea. Don't hesitate to let Heidi arrange some excursions. We enjoyed Kawasan Falls and our trip to dive with the whalesharks at Oslob was a real highlight. The clientel is international, friendly and interesting. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. We would return to the Blue Orchid anytime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Pola, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent a couple of days in the honeymoon suite. It's a loveley place, very spacious an comfortabel with a big roofbalcony. After that we stayed in a deluxe room. We were very satisfied there too. White beach side of Moalboal is very nice while Pagnasam beach is a rather ugly place without charm at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cala254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We absolutely recommend the Blue Orchid, a wonderful little resort at the quiet end of the beach, but only a short ride in a tri-cycle taxi, through lush, tropical backroads to the relatively "busy" end. We must say that each and every staff member - from the management, to the kitchen staff, to the dive instructors, to the masseuses, to the cleaners and gardeners, and even the birds !!! - was so genuinely nice and friendly. Peace and quiet, great food, surrounded by trees and gardens, with a perfect view of the sea...It was exactly what we were looking for. Heidi, Markus, and Michael are the best hosts I've ever encountered in all my travels. You must stay at this place ! Then write to me and thank me for telling you about it. OK ?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

As stated in some of the previous reviews, the staff is truly amazing. From the moment when my friend and I entered the Blue Orchid, we felt very welcomed. The staff was able to organize everything for us and was very helpful with, for instance, planning activities. In regards to the activities; there is a lot to do in the Moalboal area, we especially liked the Canyoning tour organised by Wolfgang!

All in all we had a great stay and would def recommened the Blue Orchid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#2 of 13 in Malapascua Island
530 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,220 reviews
105.3 mi away
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
Ocean Vida Beach & Dive Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
687 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 89 in Cebu City
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Property: The Blue Orchid Resort
Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing