We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb relaxing resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Blue Orchid Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2011

It is well worth the 2-3 hour drag from the airport and is somewhat secluded when you arrive, which was just what we were looking for. It is very peaceful with delightfull staff and a conscientious owner Michael.
There is little or now other option but to dine within, that said for a week we had a good variety of offerings including fresh fish etc.
Diving is very good and the PADI course is available, both myslef and my lad who was just ten both enjoyed it.
We will definately be back.
TIP; Take some wine with you if you partake.

Room Tip: aSk the owner manager, the honeymoon suite is superb.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickA992001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Orchid Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 442 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2011

Overall, our experience at the Blue Orchid was very much a positive one.
As soon as we arrived, the owner Michael welcomed us warmly and gave us a free upgrade to an aircon room with a larger bed. Throughout our stay, Michael and the rest of the staff were all extremely friendly with us and each other, creating a very comfortable and relaxing environment.
The room and its attached bathroom were both spacious and clean.
The pool was also nice and a very comfortably warm temperature - something I really appreciated when my son would insist I accompany him there early in the morning and late at night.
The only thing I have to say about this place that is anywhere close to being a complaint is that it really is quite remote. Of course everything you really need is available on-site, and the owner, before going to town, even offered to pick up anything for us that we might want. Nevertheless, at the end of our 3-day stay, I was ready to stay somewhere less secluded.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

By far the best experience we have had with a resort. The management team, Carmen & Mischa, were amazing and made us feel as if we were long time friends. They always had time for all the guests and made the entire stay incredible. By the time we had to leave, we were wishing for more days to stay and already planning our next visit. The service was top notch and the rooms were great, very clean and made us feel relaxed. The menu has a great variety and the food is beyond good, simply amazing. Hats off to the cooking team, which also on occasion included management. The resort itself has an atmosphere that just relaxes you and makes you never want to leave. All this combined with the ability to dive or even learn to dive as the management is able to accomodate that as well makes for a remarkable time. the resort is off the path a ways and it may seem like you are driving out to nowhere, but as soon as you pull in you realize you have found paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRockAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a very memorable stay in Blue Orchard. It's a very cosy resort directly on the water with an amazing house reef just 100m away from the shore ideally for snorkling and diving (we saw turtles when diving there and there's plenty of tropical fish).

We had the fan rooms with terrace facing the sea. The beds are equipped with perfectly sealed moskito nets and it is very quiet out there, so we could sleep extremely well. It was off season and there was just another couple there but since everyone hangs out around the tables near the pool and bar/kitchen it was never boring and we could even whiteness the birth of some kittens there.

Carmen and Mischa, the swiss couple running the place, were very friendly and took good care of us. Mischa took us to Moalboal when he went shopping and we could see the local life in town. I hope Mischa continues with his baking experiments - it was amazing to sample the fresh bread and the swiss zopf. For breakfast the mango pancake or local option pork rice and egg are excellent.

Since the resort is around 7km from Moalboal we decided to rent a little motorbike in White Beach (ask for Joey Ocampo). White beach is local beach with some stalls and restaurants (and of course the omnipresent Karaoke). When there is low tide its a 10min walk from the resort along the waterline otherwise at a longer walk along some backroads.

The motorbike also was quite handy to get us to the amazing Kawasan falls which took us around 1h to get there. You can walk up to the top to the source and have a dip in beautiful clean blue water. One of the many highlights was the double dive around pescador island with its massive schools of Sardines. The water becomes pitch black if they are around you. We only stayed 5 nights but it felt much longer and we definetely want to come back there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0ger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My brother and I went for a dive trip over the weekend. I had little expectation for accomodation but had high expectations on the dive trip and what to see / do. I wasn't dissappointed on both. Their facilities are pretty good although its set on the end of the beach. We had a value for our money as we were travelling with a group and got the family room. Little did I know about this cozy place that makes you welcome and just want to stay longer. Its a great place to hide from the city and enjoy their world class house reef ( lotsa soft corals! ). Lucky me aside from that awesome dive trip with sardines, we also spotted the blue ring octopus! Look for Mischa and Carmen and start planning your grand adventure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

After months, or even years of trying to convince my wife to come with me to the Philippines, she agreed a little reluctantly. And I was a little afraid that this wouldn't be up to her expectations (after all, I was going to get the PADI, and she doesn't even like the sea).
But the Blue Orchid resort made all fears go away. A perfect hideaway to get some rest from the busy office life, awesome location, great rooms (we got lucky and got upgraded to a luxe room) and the friendliest staff. In fact, I plan to keep in touch with all of them, starting with the two managers, Mischa & Carmen, and also with the local staff, we felt like part of a family there!
The food we had there is beyond description, nothing I write here would make justice. The calamari, stuffed squid, giant prawns, a super crab, or the cordon bleu, the Pilipino breakfast, the mango pancakes... And great Rhums & Cola in the evening, over nice chats with Mischa and Carmen by the pool.
There can be no better place for scuba divers. The house reef is 30 mts from the doorstep, and on my first dive I shared the experience with a sea turtle!! In fact, snorkelling and freediving are just as good, since the coral reef is so close to shore.
My wife thanked me for taking her there, she pampered herself with daily oil body massages by the sea, and finished half of the area's shellfish.
We definitely plan to go back there, next time with our two kids (I can't think of a better place for kids to spend their holidays).

Room Tip: Any room is worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoolioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Do you want to know how it feels to own a beautiful resort?
Do you want to know how it feels to own a beautiful resort in paradise?

That's what we felt like spending blissful 3 days in the Blue Orchid Resort. You're made to feel like you OWN the place. The whole staff were there to make sure that you get to do WHAT you want according to YOUR schedule.

Non-stop drinks while lazing in the gazebo, or getting on the boat at the resort from your own private pier to go Scuba diving, or just rowing the boat from the pier to the beautiful Reef -- which has a dramatic drop off from 5m to a depth of 50m, just off the resort for a session of snorkeling or just lazing in the pool. Everything and everyone is there to make it YOUR PERFECT vacation.

Thank you Misha and Carmen for the unforgettable 3-days. And love the animals at the resort which just added so much color and great memories. We will be back but please keep the place a secret -- just for us !

Room Tip: talk to Misha the resort manager
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B0bD3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moalboal
105.2 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
543 reviews
43.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,332 reviews
47.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 91 in Cebu City
1,281 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 7 in Moalboal
229 reviews
42.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 91 in Cebu City
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Orchid Resort

Address: White Beach, Moalboal, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range: $68 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Orchid Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful, private, seaside resort accommodation is tucked away in a secluded corner of Mac Payong, just 30 meters from the 2km White Beach. Just a short drive away from Moalboal and Panagsama, it offers a quiet, idyllic setting for your holiday. The location couldn't get any better for diving as one of the best reefs in the area is directly in front of your ocean view room. The reef is perfect for beginner divers, and also for snorkelers. However the step walls make an exhilarating dive for seasoned advanced divers. The resort's architecture is a blend of Mediterranean and native styles incorporating local stone and thatched roof with white arches and Spanish tiles. Each room has either a large arched doorway or huge glass sliding doors to provide guests with amazing ocean views. Fall asleep after a hard day's dive to the sound of gentle waves and the wind gently blowing through the yucca trees. Office hours: 8am to 8pm Email to arrange airport pickup with a minimum of 24 hour notice. Check -ins are to be arranged in advance if past or before normal office hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Orchid Hotel Moalboal
The Blue Orchid Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing