We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, and not only the diving!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moalboal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
583 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent, and not only the diving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for four nights at Kasai Village and it started of with a very warm welcome after being forced of Malapascua, due to severe weather causing lack of diving. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the restaurant serves wonderful food, including special requests not I the menu.

Michael, the owner, also runs an SSI dive operation and we were blessed with diving with on of his instructors as a guide. Apart from whale sharks he was able to spot every marine species we asked for. Splendid!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank iWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

First off, I want to write to the people who wrote reviews that were lengthy and bad. To these people, I think you are just mad at the world, and you are always looking at ways to make somone else look bad, so you look better. Just my 2 cents. You should do more homework before booking a trip to a forein place so you know exactelly what you are getting into as for location and things to do/see.

I think Kasai is an excellent place to stay if your main attraction is diving, however there is a short ride to a town that has bars and resteraunts to hang out at, but Kasai has good food also. Everyone there are wonderful people, and I already miss them. (only 1 day gone from there) The diving was fantastic, my room was always clean, the pool is good to chill in. Make sure if you bring cash, it is new and crisp as the village can not accept bills that are wrinkled or dingy looking, or older then 2006.

Thank you Kasai for a wonderful holiday. And I will see you again in the future for sure.
Bart

Room Tip: I had a pool side room, and it was just fine, but if you want to see the ocean, get the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great place to go for a dive trip if diving is your primary concern. The staff is very attentive and they will all know you after just a day there. The dive masters are all great and the reef diving is wonderful. Plus you may get to see huge shoals of sardines off of Pescador island.

Everyone will work incredibly hard to make sure you have a fantastic time.

The rooms are fairly basic as is the food, but that's not why I'm there, so I still rate it 5 stars. If you are looking for a big, luxurious resort, this is not it.

I really like the dive gear storage area, basically just a big open courtyard where each person had a hanging area, etc. All your gear except your "clothes" magically appears on the boat every morning.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Basically you have two choices. Rooms that overlook the ocean or rooms that overlook the pool. Pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in Kasai, Moalboal for 5 days. Rooms were big and clean. Water was not strong, low pressure from the shower

Dive staff were very attentive to the divers. They could do all the cleaning up and washing off the salt from the gear if we were tired or lazy. The rinsing areas were big for everyone not feel crowded.

The dive boat had wide deck, different from other native boats I used for diving, with enough space for all divers and all equipment. Not messy on deck.

Many eels and soft coral around Pescadar.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eun Ju P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my longtime bestfriends and well a very good friend works here too and because of that we were given a pretty discount with room accommodation and diving, also because it was an off peak season. There were another guests occupying room. So it was us and them.

I say haven for divers because you don't get the hassle and bustle of the Panagsama area which can get loud if youbstaying near the disco or the tricycle area. I have been diving a few times in Moalboal and it is one of the great place in Cebu for diving.

Kasai offers that professional service. All diving gears are in superb condition thus the rates are about £28-35 per dive compared to the other dive shop which is £8-10 cheaper but then there's that great and complete diving equipment rental all in excellent conditions.

The rooms are clean and spacious. They do have kettles and cups. I don't think the water in the rooms are potable, complete with fridge, flatscreen TV.

If there are quite a few of you. . Like in our case we paid £3.50 for extra matress.

I must say this resort is not for locals budget. Even my husband wouldn't pay for £40 a night when you can get £25 with swimming pool elsewhere around Moalboal which is a bit on the downside.

The upside, they do have their own beach unlike the cheaper dive resort in Moalboal. Nice views of the sunset and if you are a morning person you might get lucky to see dolphins. There is a turtle in the area... you can get a glimpse of this turtle about midday when it surface for air.

Food is average. You get the normal resort food which isn't that exciting. They didn't wven have a wholemeal bread.. but it wasn't the end of the world as we only had our free breakfast but after looking at the menu, I recommend to eat elsewhere unless you feel lazy.

Over all I will go to this resort again and will recommend this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viaje_cebuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Kasai Dive Resort is just outside of Moalboal village (about 2 kms) - so too far to walk to any shops. The dive set up is very well run and the resort has its own jetty and large dive boat. The boat was one of the best we have been on in the Philippines so far. Even had a closed in toilet with paper!!!

The dive shop area is well laid out with plenty of space for cleaning and storing gear. Having said that the boat crews look after everything except for your wet suit and boots. Diving in the area is good with many sites only 5 to 10 min away. We even had a whale shark visit the dive group on a local dive.
If you want to garentee seeing whale sharks we highly recommend doing the Oslob day trip. (See note below)

The rooms at the resort are equally as good as the pictures on the internet. We went for the ocean view room which provided great sunset views.
The resort has nice grounds and a very large pool that became the afternoon drinks spot for us and our new dive buddies.

The staff at the restaurant are friendly and helpful but the food lets this resort down. The menu is unusual with limited healthy options and does not cater for vegetarians at all. (Example of unusual is the veg stir fry with noodles was carrots cabbage and Italian Spagetti!) The one highlight was I arranged a separate purchase of a crab from the market that was steamed and served in a chilli sauce.

Oslob Day trip - we are environmentalists and very compassionate animal lovers (wife is a vego) so we had our reservations about a touristy whale shark feeding experience!! We were very pleasantly surprised and came way thinking it provided an excellent opportunity for people who would not normally get to experience these magnificent animals close up to be emotionally 'moved' by the experience. Such experiences can be the catalyst that encourage people to become marine ambassadors. This is vital in regions were care for the environment is not necessarily top of mind. It also provides great economic opportunities for an area that is quite poor.

Boats are issued time slots to limit the number of people in the water at one time (but there were still loads of people at a time!). Surprisingly the snorkellors were very well managed and if a swimmer gets too close a 'minder' pushed them away. We were also surprised to see that the snorkellors were actively trying to keep the required distance from the sharks - the fact that the sharks kept coming to them made it difficult.

Finally having had the privilege of a whale sharks visit us unexpectedly on a later dive trip we now fully appreciate that these sharks aren't like other sharks that fear interactions with humans - they are inquisitive playful animals. The animal to visit us circled our group, swam in between us, and came within inches. Being inches from a whale shark mouth is exciting and a little daunting!
So if you get the opportunity (and can spare the $$$ as it isn't cheap) it is one of life's must do experiences.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort, Moalboal, The Philippines, April 2013

Pictures are at: https://plus.google.com/photos/109740061014063007699/albums/5878263316674195153

We are older (65/76) experienced (900+ dives each) divers with quite a bit of Tropical Pacific and Caribbean dive experience based in Scottsdale, Arizona. We find ourselves returning to Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort (this was our fourth visit) for several reasons. First, and foremost, the diving is excellent; as is the resort – with great service, accommodations, and food. In addition, it is fairly easy and inexpensive for us (we travel on Philippine Air out of Los Angeles to Manila with a connection to Cebu). The resort is 57 miles south of Cebu City on the Tanon Strait. The trip takes about 2-1/2 hours by car on somewhat twisty road through the mountains that gives us a chance to see the Philippine countryside and several good-sized cities (e.g. Alcantara, Ronda, Dumanjug, Carcar).

We have used Ultimate Dive Travel (ultimatedivetravel.com) for our dive travel arrangements since 2005 and once again on our 12th trip with them, we are thrilled with our service.

We love the people we have gotten to know at Kasai. Naming names is dangerous as I know I will forget someone (and every one of them makes our trip wonderful); but this is a resort where staff tends to stay and we look forward to seeing familiar faces year after year. From Michael and Lydia (general managers/owners) and their darling children to groundskeepers, housekeepers and compressor room staff (thank you Allan and Lindall for your great service), we appreciate what you do to make our trip great. Of course, we interact more regularly with the dive team and the kitchen/restaurant/bar staff. Bebe, Rhanz, Lynda, Giselle, Eddie, Pablo, Hermes made our pre-dinner drinks and our meals special. They are one of the reasons we return year after year.

This was our third year of diving with Tata, Felix, and Alex. Felix has been our primary dive master for three of our four years at Kasai, what a treat to see him each year and know that he knows exactly how we like to dive and what we want to see. It was great to see Chris again for the second year and I am so happy for Allan who is making the move from compressor room to dive master. A great new addition to the dive staff is Robert (from Sweden).

The diving is a good mix of reefs, walls, and “muck” diving. Speaking of the muck diving, we have been to Lembeh and Dumaguete and have seen almost everything we saw at those locations in Moalboal also. Most of the dives are drifts – so even if the current is stronger than usual, we don’t fight it. For me, the treat at the end of each dive is the shallow reef – sunlight shimmers on the water and the fish are colorful and abundant.

We spent 9 full days at the resort and made 28 dives. Water temperature was typically 82° F and generally very calm. I love to find and identify fish and other reef creatures. My buddy loves to take pictures. This trip was good for both of us. While not new to us, I loved seeing so many ornate ghost pipe fish, pygmy seahorses, a peacock mantis, frogfish (warty and giant), and several squat lobsters. A new fish for me was the female black striped angelfish, as was the highfin coralfish. My buddy saw and photographed a female pinstriped angelfish for the first time. We were both enchanted by the small red frogfish, an unusual color. The titan triggerfish were nesting and a couple made menacing passes at us. We saw and photographed three electric fileclams together in a crevice. We saw lots of nudibranchs (thanks to Tata and Felix). I particularly liked a new one for us, the yellow-tipped phyllodesium.

Special memories of our 2013 trip:

First evening at the resort, I was sitting at a desk just inside the camera room sipping a glass of red wine and looking at the fish id books as I had already seen some “new” critters on our afternoon shore dive, when Robert came in, introduced himself and offered me a wonderful piece of Swiss dark chocolate. Heaven!

Diving with the nine young men and women from China. They spoke a little English, we do not speak Chinese, but we all managed to communicate and have a wonderful time. They were bright, fun-loving, fashionably-dressed, diving with excellent gear, and totally “hooked” to their electronic gear (phones, cameras, etc.)

The beach party with a great mix of guests including the Chinese and divers from US, Australia, Philippines (who were at the resort as a part of a Saving Philippine Reefs dive survey). We had great food, entertainment from the staff, music, and dancing.

The blessing of the newly-constructed shrine for Our Lady of Manoag on her Feast Day (April 17). We really enjoyed this special Feast Day celebration with Michael, Lydia, their children, extended family, and Moalboal priest.

We had a close connection in Manila from our flight from LAX to the flight to Cebu. We were looking at the times and worrying about whether we would make it as we left the plane. Imagine our delight when we exited the jetway and were met by a person holding up our name and telling us that she would escort us to the next flight. Great service from Philippine Air.

Unfortunately our baggage did not make it to Cebu. We are unsure if it was delayed in the transfer in LA or in Manila. Either way, the Philippine Air baggage staff in Cebu did an excellent job of taking information and explaining the process. But the real “thank yous” go to the Kasai Village staff. They took over calling the airport for information and made all the arrangements for picking up our bags when they picked up the Chinese guests on Sunday. In the meantime, they sent someone to town to pick up essentials for one of us: shorts, flip flops, and swim trunks and had a local vendor stop by with additional t-shirts, dresses, and shorts for our selection. The rental equipment was great and we didn’t miss a dive – although we were certainly excited to be able to use our own gear when it arrived.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms have excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alabamasusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
2.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
2.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 22 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 28 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort

Property: Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Address: Tuble, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is perfectly suited for diving and other water sporting activities. On exciting excursions with jungle trips, cave exploring, motorcycle riding in the mountains, hill walking to the waterfalls and hot springs and much more, you will get to know the diversity of the amazing Island of Cebu. Alternatively, Kasai Village Resort is equally suited for romantics and those who just want to relax. We believe that YOU deserve to have a great and relaxing vacation with your family or friends. The friendly and luxurious atmosphere of the resort gives you the chance to get away from the everyday stress and get into island time. We will make our best to give you the holiday you deserve and dream of. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasai Village Dive Hotel Moalboal
Kasai Village Dive And Spa Resort
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing