We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house reef & great customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Ann arbor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house reef & great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

we spent a week at Kasai Village and dived three times a day in general. The house reef was awesome, with an incredible number of species of fish, invertebrates and coral. Staff were terrific at helping us find unusual and stunning specimens including mandarin fish spawning. Our room was immaculate and had a beautiful view of the sea and pier. I'd recommend this repost highly. Btw the spa is outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scamper54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    30
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

You will never find a more devoted staff than the lovely crew at kasai village resort. They are so eager to please! This is a semi remote location and it takes a bit of effort to reach, but the signature sardine dive at nearby Pescador Island was the single best dive we have ever experienced. The dive masters, Alex and Felix were great, especially once they realized we were keenly interested in their most obscure macro critters. The resort rooms are a challenge for those accustomed to western comfort. The beds are beyond firm to hard and the air con noisy, there is no tv or wifi in the rooms. There is wifi at the lobby and directly outside. It would be so nice if they could just extend it another 100 feet into the rooms. Maybe its a bandwith issue or something. The food was excellent and the dining room manager Cito, and his staff, were the friendliest we have ever encountered. On our first night, the waitresses put on a dancing and singing variety show for a departing Swedish group that was delightful, authentic and full of energy. Then they went back to work! The owner Michael is fully engaged and even carried my wife's camera out to the dock and boat.
We think that with just a little bit of infrastructure improvements, this resort could really move up in rankings as a first-class dive destination.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimcolhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a great stay a Kasai Village Beach Resort and loved every minute of it. Accomdation was nice and the Dive team were very professional and knew all the dives very well.

Mark and the diving operation were top-notch and they also kept us entertained after the dives and in the local town in the evening. very amusing ! Mark was great fun and its a pleasant little town to hang out in.

I'll be back to stay next time i'm in the Philipines ! Great Value for Money and they provide the whole experience !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdAKMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at Kasai with a large group of scuba-divers, we were basically the only guests there so it felt like everyone was making sure we had a good time- which we did! The staff to guest ratio was probably 2:1, and we never had to lift a finger for anything. Excellent buffets for every meal under the supervision of Mr. Cito (he makes an excellent breakfast omlette). The front desk staff was always smiling and didn't mind people dropping off and picking up room keys 3 times in 15 minutes when you forgot something before running to the dive boat.
There was always a security guard at the front gate and patrolling at night, reassuring.

The rooms were huge, which was great since we had a lot of bags. Good curtains to block out the sun, powerful AC, etc etc, plenty of towels (both in the room and in the dive-equipment area)

The spa is tucked away in a corner, very cute, and the spa staff were friendly. The massage was great, and a 1-hour swedish-style was only Php750, so cheap! Many people in our group had massages, all with positive reviews. If I'd had more time I would have tried all the options

Dive-related:
The dive-shop and storage area was open-air, and they have a pretty good setup with hangers for every diver. Again, we hardly had to lift a finger, after the first equipment assembly by us the dive staff did the rest (many many thanks to Tata, Felix, Alex, and Allan for their hard work). No hauling tanks or equipment to and from the boat, the only thing we had to carry were our cameras and dry bags. Every boat had towels, snacks, and coffee for surface intervals. You could easily get spoiled! Another small thoughtful detail was the availability of free purified water in the dive shop, just bring your own water bottle over and fill it up!
If you are a more experienced diver who wants to see things, especially small things, go with a local dive guide. Also, bring water to rinse your camera as the banca-boats aren't really large enough to have a dedicated freshwater camera rinse tank.

The diving was wonderful, the only disappointing thing was the puny size of the 'marine reserve' and the fact that there was a large fish weir in it, fish traps and old tires on the bottom, and fishermen at the very edge! Subsistence fishing seems to be the norm for that part of Cebu, which of course we understand, but hopefully the local authorities will actually do something with the money they collect in dive fees, getting decent moorings would be a start (rather than empty plastic bottles as floats attached to things tied directly around the coral).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ixlilixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Kasai Village Beach Resort (www.kasaivillage.com) in February of 2009 and left hoping that we would return. We just returned from our second visit and are as pleased with our trip as we were the first time we visited.

Kasai Village is a beautiful and well-maintained resort. Owners Michael Petterson and his wife Lydia are constantly making improvements to the resort, as well as making sure guests have everything they need. Guest rooms are very clean (as is everything at Kasai), large, and include a desk with chair and refrigerator. Each room has a covered porch with small table and two comfortable, cushioned chairs – just right for watching the morning boats or the evening sunset. The hospitality was wonderful; we loved being welcomed back by Nancy who adorned us with floral leis just before we were served mango smoothies. Within hours of our arrival we were begin greeted by name by all the staff; several of whom had been at Kasai during our first visit. We loved seeing Rachel, Edna, Kharene, and Rhanze again and getting to know Hermes. It was a joy to experience their wonderful Filipino hospitality in the dining room and at the bar. The restaurant was very good and a nice variety of foods is available. I loved having the fresh fish and mangoes; but the Filipino dishes were excellent (chicken or pork adobo, noodles soup). The last night we had a small side of humba, a traditional Cebuano pork stew. It was excellent!


I always find it easier to evaluate someone’s travel advice if I know a bit about them. We are experienced divers and this was our fifth trip to the Tropical Pacific; the others were Thailand/Andaman Sea, Yap/Palau, Chuuk/Palau, and the Philippines. We also travel frequently to the Caribbean. We are not young; early sixties to early seventies. Our travel agent for this, and our other Tropical Pacific travel, was Ultimate Dive Travel. Once again, we were very satisfied with their service.



We arrived at Kasai Village around 2:30 p.m. where we were greeted fondly by staff who we knew from our first visit. Travel time, with layovers, was nearly 36 hours from our home in Arizona to Kasai Village: Phoenix to Los Angeles (1 hour), Los Angeles to Manila (13 hours), Manila to Cebu (1.5 hours), and van from Cebu City to Tuble (2.5 hours), plus layovers between legs. (The Philippines is 15 hours ahead of Mountain Standard Time so we left on a Sunday and arrived on Tuesday; coming home we left on Tuesday afternoon and arrived in LA Tuesday evening – we spent the night in LA as we could not get a late night connection back to Phoenix). The excitement of being back at Kasai Village and the opportunity for great diving kept us from feeling jet-lagged when we arrived. We knew from experience that the shore dive at Kasai Wall is incredible and we could hardly wait to get in the water. We geared up and were diving by 3:45 p.m.


Clown Triggerfish Lionfish

Kasai Wall (right in front of the resort) is a buoyed dive site that is used daily by other dive operators in the area. It is a beautiful wall with lots of nooks and crannies for wonderful creatures to hide. I love the incredible coral on top of the wall in about 16 feet of water. The small fish (dascyllus, damsels, anemone fish, anthias, etc.) swimming in and out with the sunlight shining through the water is one of the most beautiful sights on earth (in my humble opinion). 60 minute dive with a maximum depth of 84 feet.


Ascidian (Sea Squirt) Panda Butterflyfish

The Kasai jetty is under construction, but should be finished within a couple of months. We were pleased to be able to walk out on the jetty to stairs for an easy entry and exit for shore diving. The stairs, as everything else at Kasai Village, were constructed to be easy for divers with gear to use. When complete, the jetty will extend out far enough to allow boat entry without getting in the water no matter what the tide conditions. Unlimited shore diving is part of the Kasai Village package. However, after three boat dives a day, we were too tired to consider a fourth dive.

Every dive was sixty minutes and there was at least a sixty minute surface interval between dives. So even though we were diving three times a day, we never came close to our “no decompression” limits. One of the things I loved about the diving on our first trip and was glad to experience again was that after about fifty minutes on the wall, we came up over the top to the most amazing coral gardens in 15-20 feet of water with dancing sunlight. Every dive ended with this prolonged, relaxed, gorgeous safety stop. Visibility was typically 50-60 feet and water temperatures were 81-82 degrees Fahrenheit. I get chilled easily and was happy to be diving with my 3mm wetsuit.


Frog Fish Blue Sea Star eating a Clam
We did a total of 19 dives; the first shore dive and 18 boat dives. Dives were generally drifts along a wall with gentle current and that wonderful safety stop on top of the wall.

Dive sites:
Kasai Wall
Pescador East (three times)
Pescador West (three times)
Saavedra Marine Sanctuary: GIANT sea fans
Fish Feeding
Talisay Point
Sampaquita Wall
Panagsama Reef
Panagsama Point
Tuble Marine Sanctuary
Dolphin House
Copton Point: sunken (intentionally) airplane; the plane isn’t that great, but the sandy area around the plane has lots of coral bommies
Tongo Point Sanctuary
White House to Kasai Wall
White House

The coral was pristine and the smaller fish and critters were plentiful. We again saw some of the largest, healthiest looking sea turtles that I have ever seen. We saw several ornate ghost pipefish, banded pipefish, frogfish, and a pigmy seahorse. There are five types of anemone fish (false clown, tomato, pink, skunk, Clark’s) in this area and we saw them all on most dives. We saw a ribbon eel and lots of nudibranchs; Felix pointed most of them out. The sardines were at Pescador for 4 of our 6 dives. This sardine run is huge and wonderful to watch (our still photographs do not do it justice but there is a nice video on YouTube). Of course, even the most common fish, e.g. Moorish Idol or purple anthias, are exotic to us, so every moment of every dive was awe-inspiring.


False Clown Anemonefish Tomato Anemonefish

Sardine Run Green Sea Turtle

The dive staff were professional, competent, and fun. They transported our gear to the banca boat each morning and brought it in and cleaned it each afternoon. Felix was our dive guide and he COULD spot the critters. He has been diving in Moalboal for about 5 years and really knows the dive sites. Allan ran the compressor room and helped with gear. He was always alert to giving a helping hand. Tata, the dive director, and the other guides Michael G and Alex, were available to help out as well.

Even though banca boats (traditional Philippine boats) were designed for ocean travel and fishing, they make excellent dive boats as well. The crew helped us gear up and we entered the water with a backroll (preferred) or a giant stride. The boat had ropes strong along the outriggers so even when there was surface current we could easily wait for everyone to get in the water. A nice ladder made getting back on board easy. It was obvious that our captain knew the sea and we felt very safe being in open water with him.

The dive staging area is the best designed that I have ever seen. Each diver has a three foot section with two hanging rods, hangers for wetsuits and BCs, area for booties, etc. There are benches with rubberized coating for donning gear, many hoses for rinsing, and four rinse tanks: one for cameras, one for regulators and masks, one for BCs, and one for wetsuits, booties, fins, etc.

We’ve been twice and are eager to return for a third visit. Why? The diving is a wonderful mix of walls with shallow coral and amazing critters and the resort is set up for divers with the right diving logistics, great staff, and great food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alabamasusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

We spent 3 days at Kasai Village for diving and relaxing. The staff was very warm and courteous. They went out of their way to make us happy and we really appreciated it. Very special thanks to Tata, Jackie, Edna, Hermz, Kharene and Kanessa for their professionalism and service. The diving operation was top-notch. Divemaster Tata and his crew were always ready on time even if some of the divers were not. Things operated the way they were supposed to and as-advertised. No surprises. We were there during a slow week, but even with only a few divers, we were always treated to the best dive spots, not just the house reef, which is pretty good by itself. The dive shop and equipment area was well-maintained and clean. If I needed a fresh towel after rinsing off, an attendant was there to give me one. The spa was great and the value even better (700 pesos per hour). The food in the restaurant was very good, although some options were not available at the time. To be fair, this is typical in The Philippines, so it did not bother us. Jackie was a great bartender and all the drinks and food were reasonably priced. Staff even got requested food items from the Moalboal market for us. They also helped us with our children during mealtimes. WiFi did not reach all the rooms, but the connection was good near the front office and pool. Pool and rooms were very clean and comfortable. We spent around $700 for four days and three nights with diving included. This is for four adults and two children. I am a very discerning customer, but I was very satisfied and plan to return in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Pick ocean-facing executive rooms if you have kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepsix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is a hard review to write. We arrived at Kasai Village at lunch time with high expectations from their website and from the reviews on Trip Advisor. By 5pm we were ringing our excellent travel agent in the UK (Dive Worldwide) begging them to change our hotel. This they did. We moved to another hotel in Moalboal the next day. The second hotel suited us much better. We travel a lot and have never backed out of a hotel before.
My husband is a very experienced diver, I don’t dive – so we look for different things in a hotel. Both of us were unhappy at Kasai Village.
So what went wrong? To sum up, OK dive resort with well-meaning and hard-working staff but poor resort organisation, poor ambiance and very disappointing food.
If you are looking for a dive centre with rooms - not a resort hotel - and are not fussed about the food you may well be satisfied. Below are more details good and bad
First the good news. Lovely bedrooms at Kasai Village - we had a large sea-view room with a king sized double bed. Clean and comfortable with a great view of the sea. Nice big bathroom. Hot shower but no hot water in basin – apparently common in Philippines.
Lovely big pool set in the gardens.
Good access to the sea from the jetty for snorkelling – not so good for divers who has to wade out across the reef to get to the banca dive boat. They were building a much needed extension to the jetty while we were there. It should be finished now.
Well set up Dive Centre with plenty of room and modern equipment. The two dive masters seemed well informed and generally helpful.
The house reef is excellent with plenty of interesting small fish and critters.
Most of the staff are friendly and keen to help.
Now the problems.
Poor organisation when we arrived did make a poor impression. We were shown to our room but not told anything about where to find the restaurant or other facilities. The ‘welcome’ drink turned up half an hour after we arrived – my husband had gone to the dive centre by then.
We found our way to the restaurant – empty of all other guests. The menu was long and lacking any detail. It was scattered with crossed out words or strips of paper stuck over some options, like fresh fruit for breakfast. Whole sections had large question marks drawn on them.
We ordered a meal which turned out to be perfectly edible but not very nice. The food operation seemed very disorganised. We were asked to order our dinner early to make sure they had the ingredients. This we did. The next thing we knew was the restaurant manager knocking on our bedroom door saying we had not ordered an appetiser. We asked what was available as we had not seen any on the menu. He suggested calamari – we accepted the suggestion.
What turned up was deep fried to death – the chips were fine! Other guests’ children were tucking in enthusiastically. On a business trip I would have eaten it and put up with the boring nature of the food. But not on holiday.
A few white plastic sunbeds were scattered around the resort – they were old and tatty with white paint peeling off them which got on your cloths. They were did not have any mattresses and were very uncomfortable to sit on.
There was not a lot of shade as the gardens are so newly planted. This will improve given time. But as a pale skinned European this was a real problem for me. We had a good sized balcony – but wooden deckchairs which were impossible to sit in for more than a few minutes, as they were so uncomfortable. So that option was out.
We were told pool towels were not provided – when I kicked up a fuss they gave me room towels.
I was very annoyed with the bar attendant who kept trying to sell me souvenirs when all I wanted was a coca cola. The furniture in the bar was not very comfortable so not an option on a rainy afternoon.
The last straw was the non-availability of the dive boat. It was clear that their contract to hire in places on the dive boat is not very flexible. Another guest was unhappy about not knowing where they were going to dive till the boat appeared – or failed to appear. Quite what was going on we did not find out – other than one of the normal boats they used had sunk!
Once we made it clear that we were going to move hotels the hotel manager Michael was very, very helpful. He drove us to look at the alternative hotel and then provided transport for us to move.
The manager and his wife Lydia clearly work very hard. Their staff are keen but lacking experience and skills. But the management needs to brush up the details, especially the food, to get to the standard promised by their website. I feel a more experienced GM would whip this into shape in no time. They need to get some advice to make the most of what has potential to be a very pleasant dive hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
2.2 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 22 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 28 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort

Property: Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Address: Tuble, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is perfectly suited for diving and other water sporting activities. On exciting excursions with jungle trips, cave exploring, motorcycle riding in the mountains, hill walking to the waterfalls and hot springs and much more, you will get to know the diversity of the amazing Island of Cebu. Alternatively, Kasai Village Resort is equally suited for romantics and those who just want to relax. We believe that YOU deserve to have a great and relaxing vacation with your family or friends. The friendly and luxurious atmosphere of the resort gives you the chance to get away from the everyday stress and get into island time. We will make our best to give you the holiday you deserve and dream of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasai Village Dive Hotel Moalboal
Kasai Village Dive And Spa Resort
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing