We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated from the masses, but still in center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marcosas Cottages Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Isolated from the masses, but still in center”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked us into Marcosas for a week and were very happy, that we have done so. The Resort is at Pangansam Beach (Don't get fooled by the word beach - There is no nice beach :-). Marcosas itself is a located a little bit to the back and totally silent. Rooms , or better bungalows are standalone bungalows with own terrace. The rooms are clean, have their own safety box, fridge with minibar, aircon, fan, tv and big toilet/bathroom section. All bungalows are embedded into a nice green surrounding consisting of grass, garden parts and palm trees. The whole resort is protected by a continous wall. The restaurant is very good, providing international, phlippino and also german specialities. Staff is very friendly, helpful and it looks , they have fun with their job. Marcosas is under german management and that you feel in a very positve way, because everything is well organised and well maintained. It has also their own health spa, providing relaxing massage only. The pool is clean and nice to use. Around the pool are a lot of facilities for kids to use. Diving, renting motor bikes, tours etc. can be organised by the resort. WIFI is for free, but only at the restaurant/pool area. Other restaurants and diveshops are in walking distance (5 min walk to the center).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDI_DIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    90
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
74
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here with a friend (we are both in our late 20s, female) and would definitely stay here again if I ever go back to Moalboal. This is THE place to stay if you want to dive with Blue Abyss Divers. After researching dive shops in Moalboal, Blue Abyss is hands down the most highly recommended dive shop. It is located about 100m from Marcosas Cottages.

The rooms are spotless (they look new) and the AC units all provide ample cooling for those who sweat during warm tropical nights. The service was excellent. Everyone always greeted us with a smile. The dining area is well kept and they provide international as well as local cuisine.

What I want to rave about is the Spa House. It is owned by Marcosas Cottages and located right in the main pool/dining area. I LOVED receiving massages from there! They do an AWESOME job and the prices are very reasonable too. I spent ~$15 for an hour worth of sports massage. I think I would just spend a full day there and get massages if that were an option:)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhk202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent 7 days at the German run Marcosas cottages over Christmas and would definitely recommend it. I was moved on my last day (I knew this was going to happen – they were fully booked when I called) so had a chance to see two types of rooms. The cottage with the kitchen (#12) was excellent – it was pretty much a small house, especially more obvious where just up the road entire local families are living in battered bamboo huts. It had two decent beds, a complete kitchen with sink, gas stove, toaster, kettle, and fridge-come-mini-bar. There was even a decent supply of plates, mugs, glasses, cutlery and that all-important bottle opener. A huge ceiling fan meant I never had to use the aircon. The cottage without kitchen was still spacious but felt more like staying in a resort than mini home-from-home.

Both rooms had some nice touches, like a night-light/candle to light outside when it got dark, and citronella coils for the bugs at sunset. There was also cable TV (didn’t really watch it) and plenty of furniture – tables and chairs outside, a washing line to dry wet clothes from the beach and decent tables inside, with small halogen nightlights. The showers were hot, and there was even a room safe for valuables

The breakfast was good by Filipino standards, and the bar prices comparable to elsewhere (40P for a San Miguel, 45P for a Light) The food is maybe a little expensive, but tasty and clean – it was the only place I ate in that didn’t give me a dodgy stomach the next day.

The entire place is very secure, perfect for families who want to let their kids run around the well-kept tropical gardens and large pool (it even has a slide! :-) In the evening there is a friendly security guard walking around. The staff were all very helpful and friendly

Marcosas has a *really* good fast free wifi connection, video calls over Skype weren’t a problem.

Location wise, Marcosas is at the south end of Panagsama beach, where is where most people mean when talking about Moalboal as a destination. All the bars and restaurants are a short walk away.

Their sister dive shop Blue Abyss (also German) is just down the road – the entire coastline around Panagsama consists of a giant wall, with some amazing diving - lots better than Malapascua I thought. The guys at Blue Abyss all spoke good English, and I had some fantastic dives with them. Note however, I seemed to be diving with pretty experienced divers most of the time, so I can’t comment on the quality of instructors or PADI courses. If you are an experienced diver and don’t want to be “nannied” in the water, then I think you’d enjoy it – the house reef at night is worthwhile staying off the beer in the afternoon and doing a night dive. The guides and instructors are really knowledgeable and have eyes like microscopes, pointing out all sorts of things you’d miss. All the staff were great, but diving with Clements was particularly fun, he seemed to take great pride in showing me around his little corner of the diving world.

In short, a great mid-range place in a secure location, good food, decent bar prices and better than expected accommodation. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cottages with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Marcosas is under German management, and that certainly has its positive effects on the place. Everything is neat, well organized, clean, and the staff is always polite and helpful.

The rooms (bungalows) are large, come with good aircon, and a private bathroom with hot shower. The latter could be a bit hotter and have a bit more power, but these showers are electrically heated and often a bit underpowered wherever you stay.

The pool is probably the best in town, and at about 25 meters length impressively large. Around it are plenty of tanning beds, half of them in a shaded area next to the restaurant. The food and drink served are good, but on the expensive side compared to the rest of the town.

The location is near the southern end of the main strip, and slightly (less then 5 minutes walk) off the beach. With the bungalows set in a lush garden, this makes it a very pleasant and private location. If you are here to go diving, the Blue Abyss diving school is nextdoor and offers a variety of options for beginners and experienced divers.

Room Tip: There are different types of bungalows available, some with a kitchenette. Prices also vary among th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This place has potential. As others have noted it is clean and the rooms are decent. But we won't be going back because the management just wasn't pleasant. All the towels smell but they complained when they learned we had asked for two extra towels to take on the boat when we went diving. They complained when my wife asked to have the sheets changed. And when I asked if we could keep the room for an extra hour on the day we checked out (since the driver was coming at 1 and checkout is at noon) they wanted to charge us PhP100. I can certainly afford that but I object to the attitude. I also find it a bit odd to go to a seaside resort and find that nearly all of the rooms have neither a view of nor access to the sea. The associated dive operation is excellent (Blue Abyss) and they can arrange airport transportation for significantly less than Marcosas charges. For food, try The Little Corner. It is about a 10 minute walk down the road to right coming from the resort along the water. Ignore their menu and find out what seafood and vegetables they have available and then discuss how you want them cooked. Steamed lapu-lapu with green onions and ginger was fabulous, but they can also do grilled and fried. You can also have them go to the market to get things they don't have - we got some delicious clams this way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCWfromQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We didn't want to leave when it was time to go. Would definately stay here again! Everything about the place is clean. We saw a couple of other pools that were filthy but not this one. It's cleaned frequently.
The staff working the restauraunt are amazing. So friendly and helpful and always give you a smile.
The whole place has a very nice vibe!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corpy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

the room was very spacious, clean white sheets on the big beds! (tv channels are almost non existent though) and not much option on the menu for vegetarians.nonetheless the place was clean, very relaxing! nice pool.i will definitely go back here.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissy81mla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.3 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 23 in Moalboal
448 reviews
3.0 mi away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 23 in Moalboal
117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
Sea Turtle House Moalboal
#17 of 34 in Moalboal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcosas Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcosas Cottages Resort

Property: Marcosas Cottages Resort
Address: Basdiot | Panagsama, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcosas Cottages Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marcosas Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcosas Cottages Hotel Moalboal
Marcosas Cottages Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing