We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with rip offs”
Review of Kawasan Falls

Kawasan Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Kawasan and Mantayupan Falls Day Tour from Cebu
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with rip offs”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

It's the local government that maintains the area and they do it well. The walkway to the waterfalls is impeccably clean and well kept. And what you have to pay as for entry fee is peanuts.
But if you go with a car you will have to leave it near the main road where unauthorized locals would charge you a hefty sum as parking fee.
After the long walk in the nice area eventually you would arrive to the first (and largest) fall where all space around is occupied by small restaurants.
You will need to sit done after the walk but you can't unless you buy something.
And if you want to sit closer to the fall for taking photos or just to enjoy you will have to pay hundreds of pesos just for sitting. No matter you order or not.
This may have changed recently as the area has seen some renovation - however the situation may have remained the same.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zsolt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    460
    181
    54
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noveleta, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CLOSE TO NATURE”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My family found the waterfalls so beautiful and enchanting. It was actually our first time to be in a waterfalls. The water is invitingly cool and so blue, perfect if you want to get away from the scorching heat of summer in the city. The downside of it, however, was the long trip going there since we were staying in Cebu City during our vacation. It took us two and a half hours going there and roughly more than three hours going back to our hotel in Cebu City. Nevertheless, the view was all worth the long trip! Even from the start of our almost 30-minute trek to the falls, the surrounding sceneries were captivating. We didn't mind the walk at all since every now and then we stopped to take few pictures. We were asked by a guide at the start of the trek to walk with us to the falls (of course with a fee!) but we declined the offer and just walked by ourselves. Environmental fee cost P10 per person. Not long after, we heard the inviting gush of water from the falls. The tables were color coded according to the restaurant in the area. We chose the one fronting the falls so we could keep an eye to our belongings. Menu, life vests (P50 each), and a raft ride were at once offered to us. We scanned the menu which offered affordable prices on some dishes, had the vests, but declined the raft ride. It costs P300 for a 15-minute ride right under the gushing waterfalls excluding the fee to the two guides who would be controlling the raft. We just swam instead to reach the falls. At first it was so scary as we were told that the water right under the falls was 15-20 feet deep. but we managed to go there even without the raft since there were ropes all around to cling on. Just be careful in going there since the floor down below is uneven. At one time you may be in a shallow part. then on another step the water level would reach up to your chin already. Also, check each item listed on your bill after it was given to you since ours exceeded by more than a hundred pesos. Good thing I am extra careful with those kind of stuff. Generally, our experience in Kawasan Falls was so exciting and memorable. Our photos there were even aired via GMA-7. :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhang1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

beautiful falls but ruined by the tourist restaurants that have been put up around them, went there as part of canyoning

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank azmat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expect the unexpected!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

A very nice place for those nature lovers, different water falls to choose from, forgot the names of each water falls..

JUST BE VERY CAREFULL WHEN YOU WANT TO REST AND HAVE LITTLE COFFEE OR DRINK ONLY:::.YOU MIGHT BE SHOCKED WHEN THEY ASK FOR 300+ pesos for the instant coffee and a bottle of water :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Igorota85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“just another waterfall”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you have not yet visited one several waterfalls in the Philippines, this worth a visit and taking a dip is very refreshing. Don't take a guide at the entrance. Enter the park first and decide later. Be aware that if you sit down at a table by the falls you will be charged.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawasan Falls also viewed

Oslob, Cebu Island
Moalboal, Cebu Island
 
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
Samboan, Cebu Island
 

Been to Kawasan Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing