We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel E Velasco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel E Velasco
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matanzas
Certificate of Excellence
Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights in Hotel Velasco. Very friendly staff, ready to satisfy all your wishes. The standard rooms are quite small and, at least 2 of the rooms we saw, have very high windows that allow little light into the room. However, this is a historical building and the renovations were done according to the original architecture and style - so if you would rather have more light, choose one of the junior suites. The bathrooms are small, but nice and clean.The hotel is extremely clean. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit, eggs, toast and jam, croissants, and tea or coffee.The restaurant offered us two of the best meals of our trip, so we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park are bigger and have bigger windows. However, they face one of the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCDCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    65
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
97
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We took the bus from Varadero because our server told us that we should visit Matanzas. The town is very busy and most tourists just pass through on their way to Havana.
While we didn't stay overnight in this Hotel we were tempted.
It has only been open three years and it has been restored beautifully.
We had one of the best meals that we ate in Cuba here. Fish and perfectly cooked}
We were allowed to wander around the hotel and viewed a suite on the first floor which was charming clean and good sized.
The public area and Lobby was cool and reminded me of old classy 20th century buildings seen in movies.
We will definitely book a room here on our next visit to Cuba.
There are 17 rooms and the Hotel is situated right in the center of the town. The eclectic architectural features of this place , along with its super friendly staff make this a must see destination.
Varadero beaches are about 15 miles from Matanzas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hagnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A gorgeous hotel right in the heart of Matanzas and on the main square. This hotel has been beautifully restored and is a monument/ attraction in its own right. The staff was ultra-friendly and extraordinarily professional, plus the restaurant was definitely the finest meal we had while in the city. Don't hesitate a second to stay here if you're passing through Matanzas! (Photos attached.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We recently spent eight nights at the Hotel Velasco. From the start we were impressed by the friendliness of the staff. They welcomed us and during the whole stay went out of their way to meet our needs. We stayed in three of their standard rooms (there were six of us) and they are small, but clean and charming, with small but nice bathrooms. This is a historic hotel that has been recently renovated and they did a great job with it. Marble and tile everywhere and beautiful colonial architecture. Breakfast was provided every morning and although the menu didn't change much, we had a choice of scrambled eggs or Cuban omelet with fruit and juice and wonderful cafe con leche. Velasco is located in the center of Matanzas, across the street from Parque de la Libertad, where you can sit on one of the many benches and watch local life. Matanzas is not a touristy city, so you get a taste of real Cuba. The only drawback for us is the level of noise you can hear from the rooms (sometimes early in the morning) when the city awakes. Overall, this 17- room hotel is a great option.

Room Tip: There are bigger rooms (junior suites) facing the front of the hotel if you prefer something larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas_TXGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We just spent three nights at the Velasco Hotel. Whilst we agree entirely with everything others have said about the charming restoration of the building, the delicious cocktails, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and the fairly good food, we want to say: be careful about your choice of room. The Standard rooms are extremely disappointing..
We booked a Standard room and on arrival we were shown to room 6. This is a small, dark room with a standard size double bed, sparce room to walk around the bed, and no where much to put things. The room has an ensuite shower room. Most important - it has no natural light - there was no window in the room. There was a chain you could pull to open a wooden panel high up in one wall which revealed an unglazed opening to the outside. It wasn't possible to see out of the opening.
We complained and were told all the Standard rooms were the same. We asked to upgrade to a Junior Suite but were told the hotel was full. At this point I was so disappointed I didn't want to stay there - it was my husband's birthday the following day and, having read reviews, we were expecting a special and very comfortable hotel room.
We were then shown Standard room 17. This is also a small and dark room with no natural light, and another wooden panel high in the wall, but it has twin beds and there was slightly more space and a slightly better 'feel' to the room. There was a high window in the shower room that let in some light. Cooking smells from the kitchen unfortunately come up into this room.
I wouldn't recommend booking a Standard room.

Room Tip: Avoid Standard double room 6. In fact, avoid any of the Standard rooms as, extraordinarily, they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Great location, clean and well maintained, amazing atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Amir_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was the second time we have visited the Valasco .Our room was ready on arrival (10.30) which was fantastic. The suite was very nice , air con is good, modern bathroom with lovley big shower. Wonderful bathrobes !
Food is great and the bar staff cant do enough to make you feel welcome. Would recommend it to anyone looking for nice hotel at a great price. Retuning in September.

Room Tip: suite at the front of the hotel, although overlooking a busy road is very quiet at night, and a wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompeychic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matanzas
22.2 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,243 reviews
27.6 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
55.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Memories Jibacoa
Memories Jibacoa
#1 of 3 in Jibacoa
1,765 reviews
28.2 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
22.6 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
6,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel E Velasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel E Velasco

Property: Hotel E Velasco
Address: Calle Contreras e/ Santa Teresa y Ayuntamiento, Matanzas 40100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel E Velasco 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location facing Plaza de la Libertad (Liberty Square) in downtown Matanzas, our hotel is an architectural jewel of the early XX century. We exhibit a refined decoration and elegant furniture. We take pride on the details, privacy, familiarity and distinction, professional standards and a gourmet cuisine. SERVICES Bar: You will enjoy a wide selection of Cuban cocktails and a range of well known international cocktails. We also offer a variety of whiskies, gins, tequilas, brandies, cognacs, liqueurs and premium brand rums. Cafeteria: We have a menu specialized in sandwiches, We also sell a wide variety of cold beverages: sodas, milk shakes and natural fruit juices. Restaurant: The luxurious restaurant with an international gourmet cuisine offers the chance of enjoying delicious plates elaborated and finely decorated by our chefs. It is worth to mention that we have a very well stocked wine cellar with high quality wines from all over the world. Our coffee service identifies us in the city. Lodging: We have 13 standard rooms and 4 more spacious junior suites with view to the square. Both have cable TV, air conditioning, safe box. Private bathrooms with cold and hot water, hair dryer and amenities. Mini bar and telephone. You will enjoy wifi connection and a cybercafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel E Velasco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel E Velasco Cuba/Matanzas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing