We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Dona Edita(Matanzas)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Rabelo(Matanzas)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel E Velasco(Matanzas)
$82
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Sonada(Matanzas)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Casa Lola(Matanzas)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hostal Patria(Matanzas)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
166
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
16
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 184 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2015

Idael and Dania were our favourite hosts in Cuba, they are incredibly welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We had great fun riding in Idael's vintage car and Dania's cooking is great!

One thing to improve the experience for guests further would be more comfortable matresses but this didn't stop us enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias James por su sincera opinión, continuaremos mejorando nuestros servicios y todas las condiciones en general. Reciba nuestros cordiales saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2015

This is a very nice casa with excellent food!
One of the best casas we stayed in.
Idael y Dania are incredibly nice and friendly and very hard working people.
The house is spotlessly clean, rooms are very pleasant and well appointed and Dania is an excellent cook. We had our best meal in the whole of Cuba here! The best lobster ever!
Idael and Dania put a lot of work into their house and created a little paradise in an otherwise not very promising area of town. They built a little pavillon in the garden where the food is served, a very nice space to sit and rest. Idael showed us the garden, cut some fresh bananas and some sugarcane for us to try. He owns the most spectacular classic car, which is in immaculate condition, just like the house.

The casa is a bit difficult to find, the streets are numbered, not named, the area is a bit rough, but everybody was incredibly nice and tried to help us find the casa.

I definetely recommend to stay here. Very pleasant!

Some advice: Take some old t-shirts to give away to poor people, especially children's clothing and shoes and small bottles of shampoo. It is very much needed and very appreciated. Just give it to some poor people in the street. Do not give it to any casa owner. They do not need it. With every night rented they earn as much as a month's wage. I carried about 30kg of clothes to give away and people were incredibly thankful.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank evelynne2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Evelynne por su opinión, esto nos compromete cada vez más a continuar trabajando y mejorando nuestros servicios para que nuestros clientes disfruten sus vacaciones con agrado, para nosotros siempre será un placer recibirles en nuestro hogar, un caluroso saludo lleno de amor llegue a ustedes desde esta isla amorosa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2015

I want to echo the sentiments of all the positive reviews here, and add a few things. Definitely eat dinner and breakfast at the casa. Everyone says the food in Cuba is bland but this isn't true when made with love in a casa. All the meals I had here were amazing and such a giant spread of food I could never finish it all. I particularly loved the bean soup and the chicken. This was the perfect place to start my trip, as others have said, but I also left wishing I could stay longer as there is so much within reach and Idael is so helpful in arranging things for you. He even dropped me off at the bus station so I wouldn't have to carry my bags in the heat. I visited the Bellamar caves as well as Playa Coral which were both great. Next time, I would also want to go to the Canimar River and take the hershey train into Havana. There is lots more to do in the area and you can come home to a welcoming casa and relax on your private balcony.
Finally, Idael and Dania, family and staff were all just so friendly and warm, it really did make the time spent here all the more enjoyable. Dania even gave me a necklace before I left as she knew my birthday was coming up. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Cuba.

Room Tip: The rooms were beautiful from what I saw, but my room, the blue room had a balcony facing the street. It was still very quiet and I liked the people watching.
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Magdaz258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2015
Google Translation

Hola amiga, qué opinión más bella, nos hace sonrojar recibir tantos halagos, esperamos hayas disfrutado en el dia de tu cumpleaños con tus amistades en la Habana y sentimos que no nos hayas podido visitar nuevamente al final de tu viaje, pero nos complace saber que estuviste en nuevos sitios donde pudiste conocer un poococ más acerca de nuestra Cuba. Nos comprometen cada vez más tus positivos comentarios y aquí quedan nuestras puertas abiertas para un futuro viaje a nuestra isla, muchos abrazos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015

This is a great casa with outstanding hosts. Our host, Ideal picked us up at the airport. He is super friendly and speaks english. Our room was comfortable, A/C and private bathroom. We enjoyed sitting on the deck at night. Breakfast was outstanding and I strongly recommend it. We enjoyed walking around Matanzas from the casa and even found an outdoor Salsa dancing club called La Palma. We had a hard time finding a decent restaurant for dinner and really regretted not eating with Ideal and Dania at the casa for dinner as well!! I definitely recommend / return.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myrabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Mirabelle por tan positiva opinión acerca de nuestros servicios, saben que pueden contar con nosotros para sus próximas vacaciones en nuestra ciudad de Matanzas. Reciban nuestros más cordiales saludos y les deseamos mucha salud y amor por siempre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2015

We stayed at this casa at the start and end of our holiday. It was very conveniently located to the Varadero airport and the city of Matanzas was one of our favourite places in Cuba - the people were very friendly and it is not a tourist trap. The sounds of the street are like music with children playing, people laughing, street vendors calling and roosters crowing. Idael and Dania are really wonderful people, (warm and friendly), and their home is welcoming and very clean. Dania's cooking was excellent. Idael was a very good tour guide and being driven around in his classic Ford Fairlane is one of our favourite memories of Cuba. This casa is also walking distance to town, the bay and the Los Palmas night club where we had a great night out dancing with the friendly locals. Staying at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania's was our first time staying in a casa particulare and it was a wonderful introduction. We will definitely be back and we recommend this casa highly.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank samandcathy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias queridos amigos por tan bellas recomendaciones, esto nos compromete a continuar trabajando y mejorando nuestros servicios, un gran abrazo desde nuestra calurosa y hospitalaria isla y saludos de los amigos del Cabaret Las Palmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews