We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$93
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Dona Edita(Matanzas)
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel E Velasco(Matanzas)
$82
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostal Rey(Matanzas)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Casa Rabelo(Matanzas)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
La Villa Sonada(Matanzas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Casa Lola(Matanzas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
166
16
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
16
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 184 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2015

This is a great casa with outstanding hosts. Our host, Ideal picked us up at the airport. He is super friendly and speaks english. Our room was comfortable, A/C and private bathroom. We enjoyed sitting on the deck at night. Breakfast was outstanding and I strongly recommend it. We enjoyed walking around Matanzas from the casa and even found an outdoor Salsa dancing club called La Palma. We had a hard time finding a decent restaurant for dinner and really regretted not eating with Ideal and Dania at the casa for dinner as well!! I definitely recommend / return.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank myrabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Mirabelle por tan positiva opinión acerca de nuestros servicios, saben que pueden contar con nosotros para sus próximas vacaciones en nuestra ciudad de Matanzas. Reciban nuestros más cordiales saludos y les deseamos mucha salud y amor por siempre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2015

We stayed at this casa at the start and end of our holiday. It was very conveniently located to the Varadero airport and the city of Matanzas was one of our favourite places in Cuba - the people were very friendly and it is not a tourist trap. The sounds of the street are like music with children playing, people laughing, street vendors calling and roosters crowing. Idael and Dania are really wonderful people, (warm and friendly), and their home is welcoming and very clean. Dania's cooking was excellent. Idael was a very good tour guide and being driven around in his classic Ford Fairlane is one of our favourite memories of Cuba. This casa is also walking distance to town, the bay and the Los Palmas night club where we had a great night out dancing with the friendly locals. Staying at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania's was our first time staying in a casa particulare and it was a wonderful introduction. We will definitely be back and we recommend this casa highly.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank samandcathy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias queridos amigos por tan bellas recomendaciones, esto nos compromete a continuar trabajando y mejorando nuestros servicios, un gran abrazo desde nuestra calurosa y hospitalaria isla y saludos de los amigos del Cabaret Las Palmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

Spent our final night in Cuba at Casa Hostal Idael y Dania and we definitely hope to return one day, both to stay at this lovely casa and to explore Matanzas! Great location, well-appointed casa, very welcoming and friendly hosts. Delicious meals in a delightful garden/gazebo setting. We stayed in the red room - spacious and comfortable, with ensuite bathroom - absolutely loved the adjoining balcony overlooking the expansive 'secret garden.' Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wonderers2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias amigos por su tiempo y bella opinión sobre nuestro Hostal y nuestros servicios. Sus palabras nos comprometen a continuar trabajando cada dia más para complacer a todos nuestros clientes. Aquí estaremos sempre esperándoles, reciban un gran abrazo y nuestros saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

Our first casa in Cuba was so good we immediately booked a second night. The rooms are spacious, airconditioned and clean, on the balcony or in the garden there is always a place to read, rest and relax. Excellent food and welcome cocktails :-)
Idael gave us very good travelling tips (in very good English!), especially for Matanzas and its surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marleen_vK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015
Google Translation

Hi Marleen, gracias por su excelente opinión, nosotros tambien nos sentimos muy a gusto con su visita y nos comprometemos a continuar manteniendo nuestro servicio de excelencia para que todos nuestros clientes queden satisfechos con todas nuestras ofertas. Reciba nuestro agradecimiento por dedicarnos su tiempo escribiendo sus vivencias y ayudar así a futuros clientes que se interesen por visitarnos.
Gracias hermano por sus maravillosos comentarios acerca de sus vivencias, está de más decirles que pueden contar con nosotros para su próxima estancia en Matanzas, aquí ya tienen su familia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2015

Idael and Danias was our first casa particular when we came to Cuba, and the last one as we left. We arrived in Varadero from where Idael picked us up with his fancy Ford Fairlane. Becouse the stay in their place was so pleasant, we decided to leave some of our luggage there as we headed out for two week trip around Cuba, and come back to Matanzas after the round-trip.

The food in Idael&Danias was no doubt the best we had out of all the casa particulars we stayed in. As we stayed here for the New Years Eve, we and other quests were invited for a luxurious dinner with the whole family that Dania and help had prepared.

It was educating to hear so many things about Cuban society from Idael. Being a musician he is also prepared to tell you everything there is to know about Cuban music :)

There are some trips Idael can arrange, but the city of Matanzas itself, the Athens of Cuba, is a place worth getting to know! It is not a tourist trap like Varadero, Trinidad or Viñales but an ordinary city with friendly people. The city has one of the best (or the best) baseball teams in Cuba. Idael is happy to take you to see a match in the grand stadium. If you are interested in theatre, Matanzas has a great City Theatre (if they ever manage to finish renovating it) where apparently even Sarah Bernhard has performed. We went to see puppet theatre Las Estaciones, and can highly recommend it even without children. Also there is a centre for artists in the Matanzas city center where you can chat with people about cuban culture now and before. Artists have their own small studios there and you can also buy art directly.

Idael&Danias is not located in the center of Matanzas but it is in a walking distance. Friendly and happy people in the neighbourhood.

Thank You for a Lovely stay!
Jani, Sari & Pessi

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Propietario at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015
Google Translation

Dear Jani, Sari & Pessi, muchas gracias por su bella opinión acerca de nuestros servicios y de nuestra ciudad de Matanzas, nos sentimos comprometidos a continuar prestando un servicio de excelencia para que al igual que ustedes que nos visitaron por primera vez al salir de nuestro casa sean parte de nuestra familia. Les deseamos muchos éxitos en sus futuros proyectos y este año el equipo de Matanzas será CAMPEON !!! Reciban besos y abrazos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews