We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was our best holiday ever, room and food was very great.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matanzas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was our best holiday ever, room and food was very great.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We loved to stay at casa ideal & Dania, we stay there for more than 2 weeks. We was there with our bikes. They where very friendly and helpfully. The room was very clean there clean it everyday. The place was also good it was near to the city and near to the beaches, varadero beace is 60 miles away. It was also very save there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolakuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent only two nights in Matanzas at Idael and Dania's but they definitely helped us make the most of our stay. We were coming from Havana on the Hershey train but it broke down about half way. Luckily for us, we were able to call Idael who provided an amazingly quick taxi service, picking us up from a town near to the train station and taking us the rest of the way to his casa. That afternoon we walked into town (about 20 minutes) and had a good look around - it is quite pretty and the central square is particularly attractive. The next day, we arranged for him to take us to the local sights, including the local church at the top of the hill (amazing views over the Yumuri Valley), Playa Coral (good snorkelling for a couple of hours), the nearby underground caves, and Rio Canimar (where we were able to go on a little excursion to the source of the river on a small motor boat - and have a very refreshing swim in the water). In the evening my husband and our two sons went with Idael for a short while to the local baseball game - which proved quite entertaining. Idael was a very companionable and accommodating guide. We also liked his lovely casa - we had two very comfortable rooms (one of which led to a terrace with rocking chairs and overlooked the street - making for good people watching!) which shared a spacious, modern and clean bathroom. Dania made good and plentiful breakfasts and her dinners were also plentiful and tasty. We really appreciated the shaded outdoor patio area where we had our breakfasts and dinners, and spent some downtime reading. The parrot proved to be a good diversion too. The last morning Idael provided a taxi service again - this time to the bus station in Varadero - where he made sure things were sorted out so we could get on our way to Trinidad. We really enjoyed our stay with Idael and his family and would definitely recommend his casa. I should also mention that booking and confirmation was very straightforward.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our first time staying three weeks in Matanzas and Idael and Dania were great hostesses!! Idael provided transportation as required. Excellent food was prepared daily by Dania. The accommodations are very clean and well secured. Coty the speaking parrot kept everyone feeling at home in the Cuban lifestyle. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JMS616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idael P, Owner at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review, we will continue working to get 5 stars from you in your next vacatons. Good luck and will see you in Matanzas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Dania and Idael were so helpful with our car rental, arranging accommodation in Playa Giron for us and generally welcoming our family of 5 in to their casa. Meals were excellent and large, better than any restaurant meal that we had. The backyard banana garden and Cody, their parrot, were great diversions for the kids. We plan to go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are looking for the real cuban experience I recommend to visit Idael & Dania and stay for a few days in their beautiful house in Matanzas. They have many years experience in hospitality and can offer very comfortable rooms in a family atmosphere & authentic cuban meals at a great value. Idael will assist with the transportation and give you the opportunity to explore the island,visit the landmarks and meet the people.I can assure that you will be satisfied and go back again and again.

Alberto Delgado

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at this casa last year in September. This was my second time at this particular casa and I now feel like one of the family. Idael will take you anywhere within reason in Cuba, he will also collect and take you back to the airport. The house is in a great location in Matanzas with a shop just down the road for any water, beer or snacks, there are also local restaurants with good quality food and good prices. The room that I stay in is big enough and it has a private bathroom with a balcony and it is cleaned everyday. Dania is also a great cook and the food is always of good quality. Idael and Dania have two children a boy and a girl and they are no problem whatsoever. I am looking at staying at this casa this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kazcuba14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltenhofen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved our stay with Idael, Dania and their family in Matanzas! We (Me, my wife and our daughter Hannah of 1.5 years old) were very warmly welcomed and had a comfortable 4 day stay in a clean room with terrace. The service was superb: nice breakfast, hamburgers at noon when we wanted and a very nice dinner, with even 2 evenings of entertainment. Idael y Dania gave us some very good recommandations to visit the neighbourhood. The Coral beach is not far (ideal for snorkeling) and also the city and the caves Bellamar are near. Our daughter still speaks of Koti Koti the parrot and loved the fresh bananas at breakfast. In short: a very nice Casa which we can certainly recommend.
Bram, Jana and Hannah

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matanzas
21.9 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,218 reviews
27.4 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
1.2 mi away
Casa Dona Edita
Casa Dona Edita
#1 of 22 in Matanzas
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Memories Jibacoa
Memories Jibacoa
#1 of 3 in Jibacoa
1,727 reviews
24.5 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,302 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Villa Sonada
La Villa Sonada
#1 of 25 in Matanzas
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hostal Idael & Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal Idael & Dania

Property: Casa Hostal Idael & Dania
Address: Solis #24811 / Levante & Logia | Playa, Matanzas 40100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.El Hostal Idael y Dania es el lugar perfecto para compartir en familia, pues sus propietarios son un matrimonio joven con dos ninos de 13 y 15 anos. El Hostal esta situado a solo escasos metros del area de playa y a 15 minutos caminando del centro de la ciudad y 5 minutos caminando desde la Estacion Central del VIAZUL. Solo 20 minutos en auto es el tiempo que necesita para llegar al afamado balneario de Varadero y 1 hora hasta la Ciudad de la Habana. Puede escoger entre las tres habitaciones climatizadas con banos independientes y terrazas; habilitadas con secadora de pelo, agua fria y caliente, TV, DVD, Aire Acondicionado, Ventilador, Nevera, Caja de Seguridad, Servicio de Internet; ademas tiene su piscina en un area natural con arboles frutales y un ranchon rustico donde se preparan desayunos y cenas con la intencion de satisfacer los mas exigentes paladares, ademas se brinda servicio de cocteleria cubana tradicional. Ofrecemos tambien clases de Espanol, Baile y Percusion Cubana de la mano del propietario que es un excelente musico profesional. Disponible ademas Servicio de Guia, excursiones, taxi, Renta de Auto o Moto y Recogida en Aeropuerto. Licencia # 34/05. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania Cuba/Matanzas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing