We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Caring Family and Great Food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matanzas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania
British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Caring Family and Great Food!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our family of four had a wonderful five day stay at Idael and Dania's home. They are a very caring and fun-loving family who really went out of their way to make our stay in Matanzas memorable. Our two boys (aged 8 and 11) felt very comfortable in their home and roaming the back garden banana grove.

We had two comfortable bedrooms with a shared bathroom. The front bedroom has a balcony which overlooks the street and we enjoyed watching the neighbourhood action (vendors, etc.) from the deck chairs. (Another bedroom has an attached bathroom and a balcony overlooking the bark yard.

We had lots of fun playing card and dice games with our host's family around the outdoor dining table in the evenings. During the days we appreciated Idael's guiding service and learned a lot about Cuba and the area around Matanzas from him.

The meals were excellent at this home, every evening felt like we were at a nice restaurant. The food was very fresh, well prepared and plentiful. The desserts were wonderful too!

I was also really impressed that despite how busy this family is with their own children, they managed to take the time to integrate us, wherever they could, into their daily lives. Our boys felt very at home here and were sad to leave.

We highly recommend this home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAlan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
71
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I was extremely impressed with both the bed and breakfast, and the lovely couple running it. I felt as if I were in my own home! I had a relaxing time and shared many laughs, wonderful food... I am so happy to have stayed here. Will definately be back! Thank you again!
-Leila.
(Canada)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeilaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This family does an excellent job. The place is clean, bright and well maintained. The meals are superb. The hosts are multi-lingual and helpful.
My family loves this family :)
My children were about 11 and 13 at the time of our visit. They felt right at home with Idael and Dania's family. My son had an alergic reaction to an insect and Dania, who is a nurse, brought a Doctor to the hostel and translated etc. My son was fine and we felt very well cared for.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln N.B., New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, the last 5 times we have been Cuba. We love the food, the community (the real Cuba). We love the family and they have become our family and we look forward to seeing them each year. Idael will take you on tours of where you would like to go (a great tour guide) with lots of new and exciting things to do. Idael & Dania and fluent with both English and Spanish (probably more) Each time we go down we do different things each time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemingway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Real friends at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thanks a lot for your beautifull review, we also spent a good time with you here, we need your visit every years to recharge our heart. We love you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have been there many times and i would not go to another place to stay in than your place. Thank you very much for your services and i hope to see you soon. Manuel (cancelado)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matojotoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

What a wonderful place to be. My brother and his family have been staying at Casa Hostal Idael & Dania for several years. I went with them this year and had an amazing time. The food was excellent. The guide service provided was excellent as we did several day trips: Havana, Veradero, and the Bay of Pigs for sight seeing and scuba diving. Service was amazing and friendly. The only way to experience Cuban culture.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Copeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vendee france
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We were the first people ever to stay with Idael & Dania in 2006. A friend in Matanzas introduced us to them. We had no idea what to expect as far as staying in a private house in Cuba - we had stayed only in hotels before. What a surprise!! This is the most wonderful family you could wish to meet. We were made to feel incredibly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate better than in any hotel, we danced, sang and tried to play percussion. I cannot recommend this casa highly enough.

The food was wonderful. Dania is a great cook. We ate wonderful lobster and drank good wine. Idaels Daiquiri is the best I've had.

The room was confortable and very clean with private bathroom.

We spent Christmas 2008 in Matanzas but unfortunately were unable to stay with Idael and Dania, but we still went there sometimes to eat. We think of them as friends now. We're staying again in November 2010, and this time we'll be taking our family. If you're planning to holiday in Matanzas, you won't be disappointed staying here."

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matanzas
21.9 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,239 reviews
17.7 mi away
Memories Jibacoa
Memories Jibacoa
#1 of 3 in Jibacoa
1,760 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Dona Edita
Casa Dona Edita
#1 of 22 in Matanzas
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,337 reviews
27.9 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
La Villa Sonada
La Villa Sonada
#1 of 25 in Matanzas
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hostal Idael & Dania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hostal Idael & Dania

Property: Casa Hostal Idael & Dania
Address: Solis #24811 / Levante & Logia | Playa, Matanzas 40100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.El Hostal Idael y Dania es el lugar perfecto para compartir en familia, pues sus propietarios son un matrimonio joven con dos ninos de 13 y 15 anos. El Hostal esta situado a solo escasos metros del area de playa y a 15 minutos caminando del centro de la ciudad y 5 minutos caminando desde la Estacion Central del VIAZUL. Solo 20 minutos en auto es el tiempo que necesita para llegar al afamado balneario de Varadero y 1 hora hasta la Ciudad de la Habana. Puede escoger entre las tres habitaciones climatizadas con banos independientes y terrazas; habilitadas con secadora de pelo, agua fria y caliente, TV, DVD, Aire Acondicionado, Ventilador, Nevera, Caja de Seguridad, Servicio de Internet; ademas tiene su piscina en un area natural con arboles frutales y un ranchon rustico donde se preparan desayunos y cenas con la intencion de satisfacer los mas exigentes paladares, ademas se brinda servicio de cocteleria cubana tradicional. Ofrecemos tambien clases de Espanol, Baile y Percusion Cubana de la mano del propietario que es un excelente musico profesional. Disponible ademas Servicio de Guia, excursiones, taxi, Renta de Auto o Moto y Recogida en Aeropuerto. Licencia # 34/05. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Hostal Idael & Dania Cuba/Matanzas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing