We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Wedding Party - Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tragaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We am writing this review a little late - so apologies!

We booked the Iberostar as somewhere for ourselves and family to stay when we went to Zante to get Married. We wanted somewhere All Inclusive so that it wasn't difficult to eat, drink without a debate as to whose turn it was :o)

We went with Olympic and they also arranged our wedding. As our date was not until 3rd October they subcontracted this out to a local wedding company. Sandra our wedding co-ordinator was fabulous and took care of everything for us.

Right back to the hotel - we were in a superior sea-view room which was lovely and big and had amazing views of Kefalonia. As many others were staying I did see other rooms and some in the blocks around the pool were much more modern than ours as they had obviously been refurbished. I guess they might have got around to the sea view rooms too by now.

As it was All-Inclusive we had most of our meals there, although we did eat out quite a few times in the two weeks as the buffet did get a little tiring. We made it through the first week ok, it was the second that was a little more challenging as the nights came around again. I had no complaints about the food though, we did however always go when it first opened so it was all fresh. You could always get a drink - beer was on a tap that you helped yourself. We did go to some of the entertainment which was not too bad (bingo, karaoke) although we never quite got to the exercise ones ;o)

We tended to walk into town in the day and taxi at night. The walk was not too bad but at night it was on a busy, bendy road. There was always plenty of taxis in the centre and it was about 5 euros each way - as we were with a big party though we always filled the taxis which was not bad.

Our wedding reception was in the Olde Vineyard which was on the way to the centre but off the main road by Bouka Beach. We also ate there several times and the food was fantastic. It was a great find seeing as we chose it from the Internet before we had ever been. The actual reception was amazing - the food was great, we had greek dancers and music and everyone really got into it.

Overall a great holiday for us - obviously as we got married. Feedback from others in the party would be that they wished it was in the town itself and not on the outskirts. Otherwise a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2007

PREVIOUSLY WROTE THIS REVIEW BUT RECORDED IT WRONG HOTEL (SORRY)
took holiday here on 13th May 2007 for 1 week and what a treat.
we upgraded to the superior sea-view rooms and they were stunning with exceptional views of Kefalonia and mainland Greece. Location was excellent and we were last on coach and looking at other hotels on route we did start to worry what ours woud be like.
it was very quiet while we there as was early season but weather was good and staff very attentive, entertainment staff were great and evenings were very enjoyable.
Food thoughout was great and beer and wine on tap was delightful to help yourselves with.
Couldn't actually find any fault at all with hotel and only disapointment came with a day trip (unfortunately holiday rep told a few porkies about length and duration) to shipwreck as sea was rough and boat trip lasted all day while being held hostage on a small boat with extortionate bar and food prices (ex. €0.40 for coke in shop and €2 on boat.)
walked into town on most days and worked out different routes via clifftops and the like. hired a car (little jeep) for one day and although island is relatively small only covered the south side.
wouldn't recommend for young families as pool is very deep and lots of steps around.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank robreferee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two weeks in July '06. Apologies for the late review but am only really getting into the whole writing reviews thing now!

Plagos Beach was a lovely hotel, all white buildings with beautiful plants and gardens all around, little geckos running up the walls and a very nice, but very deep, pool. We had a wonderful seaview room overlooking the pool and the beautifully clear Ionian sea with distant views of Kefallonia and mainland Greece which was amazing. The sunrises were unbelievable...The nearby Amboula beach was fantastic.

We did not go all inclusive as we aren't hang around the hotel types, but were automatically half board. We had dinner and lunch there twice and found the food to be totally fine, it's not amazing but is tasty,filling and a huuuuge range of everything! What we found very good was the packed picnic lunch service they offer which was brill to have when going on excursions.

The room was huge! Huge bathroom, bed, balcony, wardrobe everything. Spotlessly clean, fresh bottled water everyday, lovely bath/shower, it was perfect. For those of you who know typical Greek standards, it was a palace compared to most!

The hotel location is a bit out of the way, about 1 km up a long hilly road from the town of Tsilivi. if you want to explore you really need to hire a car/bike/scooter. We hired a lovely Yamaha motorbike and then car from the wonderful Steve and Sandra at Theo's Rentals (Tsilivi Main Street) who I honestly can't recommend enough!

The island of Zakynthos is stunning. It is totally feasible to see the entire island yourself in a few days, just be prepared for a lack of signposts, dodgy roads and mad drivers and some of the most fantastic scenery you will ever see. Make sure to see the Blue Caves, Shipwreck Cove (go on a boat trip to it), Gerakas Beach which is hands down, the most beautiful beach I have ever been on in my life and Marathonisi/Turtle Island where the water is like the Caribbean, stunning! Those turtles really know how to pick the best locations! We also were very fortunate to see a huge loggerhead turtle who the captain reckoned was about 70+ years old, it was incredible to see...
Stay AWAY from Laganas...what a dump!

Tsilivi itself is a nice little town, not too busy but with loads of nice restaurants,bars and a few good shops. I didn't find the food in Zak to be as amazing as the food in Crete but if staying in Tsilivi, make sure and try Manos' restaurant, possibly the nicest meal I have EVER had! The swordfish was amaaazing....mmmm!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is willing to hire transport, get taxis (4e and very handy) or just wants a relaxing get away. If not, somewhere in the town itself would be more suitable.
Yiamas! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Poppy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Well, were do you start. First the hotel itself in general terms is NOT ! up to the Iberostar grade of four stars or even as advertised by some operators as a five star. We have stayed in Iberostar hotels for the last three holidays. We were a party of four who are not hard to please. The reception staff were helpful and very speedy, which gave us a good impression.The rooms were superior rooms, could be better decorated but they were overlooking the sea (951&952) fantastic views to Kefalonia and the mainland, and all still very happy.
Restaurant was spacious and despite no matre'd, there was always a table available. (so far so good). The first meal for us was dinner, and the choice was very good, and the quality too ! for the rest of the first week there were no problems at dinner, bordering on excellent. (looking good)
Not the same in week two, unfortunately quality was down, also quantity. They ran out of lamb one evening which was a shame as it was advertised as "Show cooking" and on another occasion they ran out of beef. When I say they ran out, there was no more cooked.(miscalculated was the reply). There was not enough to go round for all guests, so many were dissapointed.
The breakfasts were no more than average, (during the two weeks we had breakfast at various times from 7am til 9am) as they did ONE lot of eggs boiled, fried, or poached when the restaurant opened at 7am, and waited to see if they would all go before they cooked some fresh ones. Cold and hard fried eggs are not my scene, neither is luke warm bacon, beans and tomatoes. However there was plenty of choice with other food available.The dining room staff were excellent, and they were very helpful.
All the above is tolerable to a point, but we do spend hard earnt money for our annual vacation,and for that we all deserve the best our money can buy,or what we can afford.
The main thing that we found which was not tolerible was the bar staff actually asking for ' tips' when they served you drinks, from the bar. We normally tip at the end end of the holiday, somewhere in the region of fourty euro's each couple for the two weeks.
Although they had personality and flair, I'm afraid that we tip for a service that we have recieved, not at the request of any individuals.
The location of the hotel is on a hill and from our rooms there were fourty nine steps to the bar and dining room (good work out before breky).Once outside there are six or seven tavernas which are all very good, but whatever way you go you will have a hill to climb,one of which we named " cardiac hill"
There is a fair size swimming pool with a minimum depth of 1.5meters, up to a maximum of 3meters. there is also a small paddling pool for the wee ones.
The final mention must go to the Animation team who were the stars of the holiday, they are extremely hard working, and talented and after seeing nine of their fourteen shows I regard them as one of the best teams that we have seen over the past few years.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank RonBacardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Visited Plagos Beach in August had a fantastic holiday the best to date.Got 2 girls 8 and 4 years old they had a fab time to.We thought the room was a little to small when we first arrived and had opportunity to move ,we did nt we stayed and was really happy to.We met so many friends that we text now and again the staff are amazing particulaly the animation and pool bar staff.Its spotlessly clean and the food is top nosh you wont be dissapointed with this place.We hired a car to see the rest of this beautiful island and visit beaches we loved it all the whole island is BEAUTIFUL would deffinately go back and would make the place to stay Plagos Beach.

Kirston Jason Cerys &Lois Timms (Nottinghham)

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank Shaba79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

Had a good relaxing time, all just as promised, stayed 1 week all inclusive arrived back on the 20th Sept 2007. great breakfasts including bacon and eggs cooked any way you wanted, plenty of choice at all other times. Dissapointments if you can call them that, beer seemed watered down - not as I remember it from Germany - expensive internet but that's about it. You could still get a sun bed at 9am and the little private jetty was a good place to chill. We are both fairly fussy but would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank kgbclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2007

i have just spent a very pleasant, relaxing week at the iberostar plagos beach hotel. arrived just after 9pm and the very friendly & helpful receptionist advised that as dinner was finishing at 9.30pm we could go directly there (or that we could get hot snacks up until midnight if we didn't want a proper meal). we were offered help with our luggage to the room.

we had a "superior" room, largely based on the promise of sea views, which didn't disappoint. the decor in the bathroom was a litle "tired", with cracked tiles, but overall the room was clean and the bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. there aren't any toiletries as such, just a soap/shower gel dispenser on the wall, which was refilled daily. there was a mini bar containing cans of fizzy drinks and beer, which again was refilled daily. (having spoken to a lady who was staying in a standard room, she said she would have taken a superior room had she known in advance how much nicer the views were). 3 euro a day for a key to the room safe is a bit steep.

the hotel is in a quiet area, which is a good 20 minute walk to the main resort area of tsivili (as seen in previous reviews, there really isn't much of a pavement or anywhere to walk, apart from in the road, which has various sharp bends and you have to dodge the traffic). there is a bus service, which is reasonably priced, or taxis. alternatively, you can turn left out of the hotel and walk down the hill to a small beach area, with a couple of bars, but it is pretty quiet.

the buffet-style dining room was clean and efficiently-run. the staff clear up any spillages very quickly and are very quick to clear plates away from your table. there was plentiful food, if of a slightly bland nature. i would have liked to have seen more typical greek cuisine, rather than the standard bolognese, lasagne, stew, etc each night. the brochure stated that men were required to wear long trousers to dinner, but it didn't appear that many did.

breakfast was a fantastic spread, with everything from continental, breads, plenty of fruit, pastries, yoghurts, cereals and the full english, as well as omlettes and french toast. one small criticism, the juice was not "fresh". lunch was a bit more limited, with burgers, fish fingers and pasta, as well as some vegetables and salad, but there was plenty of it available.

the pool area is fairly small and it seems that a lot of mainland european holiday makers put their towels down on a sunbed around the 7.30am deadline, so if you aren't prepared/bothered to do so yourself, you have to make do with whatever beds are left for the day. there are lots of opportunities to play table tennis, water polo, etc. with the animation team (even if you prefer to sit, quietly reading, they are anxious that you join them!)

the barman gives generous measures on all drinks and the bar staff are generally very friendly. the animation team work hard to produce a show each evening, miming/dancing to hits from different shows and musicals. there were quite a lot of retired people and families with young children on holiday here when i went, so don't expect a wild nightlife!

overall a very good holiday and a lovely island, but not quite sure that the iberostar is quite my idea or experience of a 4 star hotel. the staff are fantastic tho and very hard working.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank zelda35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tragaki
0.2 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sentido Alexandra Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach

Address: Amboula Beach, Tragaki 29100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tragaki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tragaki
Price Range: $85 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, around 150m from the gentle-sloping, sandy and pebbly beach of Ampoula (Zakynthos - Greece). We are happy to announce that this hotel will be franchised by SENTIDO Hotels and Resorts as from Summer 2015 following a series of renovations which will take place in winter 14/15. The renovations will include: 1) Full renovation of all 48 front sea view superior rooms 2) Refurbishment of all other hotel rooms by changing bed covers, curtains, balcony furniture, adding flat screen TV, glass partition in bathrooms and by replacing the room and balcony floors 3) brand new spa & gym 4) addition of 2 new adult Infinity pools & transformation of our existing pool to a large kids' pool with water features and to a separate swimming section. 5) upgrading of the hotel's snack bar by the pool to a themed restaurant (Greek Taverna) with show cooking offered as extra choice by reservation to clients on All Inclusive without extra charge 6) new open air Blue Bar 7) refurbishment of hotel lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hotel Plagos Beach
Iberostar Hotel Tragaki
Iberostar Plagos Beach
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach Zakynthos/Tragaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing