We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tragaki
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thanks for a lovely holiday”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just back from two weeks at Plagos Beach Hotel - very relaxing. All the staff were lovely and friendly and always happy to help. Our room had a lovely sea view from where we could see the nearby beach as well as the sea directly in front. Food was lovely with plenty of choice including fish and greek dishes. Local wine freely available was quite palatable as well as all other drinks as required. No UK TV programmes but we didn't need since we were very lucky and every day was fine - at least 30 C by lunchtime. Pool was fine but we did mostly sea swimming in crystal clear waters from the hotel. Just one tiny shop nearby if you needed a newspaper but we didn't feel the need after day 1, wec were too relaxed. Yes I (Ken) would go again but Joan missed the occassional shopping ! Buses were very cheap to Zahinthos or Kalamaki. Not forgetting a wonderful round the island 1 day cruise, which we booked outside hotel (in Tsilivi ) to save money.

Room Tip: Didn't realise there was a fitness centre - everyone was too busy relaxing Be wary of lots of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Louis Plagos Beach and for posting a kind comment online.

We are delighted to read that you had a lovely holiday and that you in particular enjoyed the nice service given to you by our lovely and friendly staff, your nice room with its stunning sea view, as well as our tasty food on offer with plenty of choice including fish and Greek dishes. It is nice to see that you enjoyed going for a swim in the crystal clear sea.

It gives us joy hearing that you would return to the Louis Plagos Beach and we cannot thank you enough for your warm words. We look forward to your return visit.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    304
    60
    19
    10
See reviews for
356
453
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We recently returned from a fortnight's holiday here and before say anything negative, I'll emphasise that we would happily return if a relaxing, sun-guaranteed holiday was what we wanted.

Our first impression of the hotel was that is definitely not a four star. Our room was basic and initially seemed quite small. However, after 'living' in it for a while it proved to be perfectly adequate. In fact, we had probably the best sea view apart from the superior rooms in the front row of buildings. The rooms are housed in a series of buildings spread out on the sloping site, so the higher ones have more chance of a sea view over the roofs of the block in front. The lower ones will have only a view of the block in front. Room 626 is a corner room so we had an extensive view over the next bay as well as one over the building in front.

There is no beach below the hotel but there is a private jetty with steps which make getting into the water easy and it is well worth getting into, being lovely and warm and perfectly clear.
There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and in the gardens but there are among the most uncomfortable I have experienced. There are the usual activities available run by the animation team, who have a thankless task in trying to get guests to join in but they do not hassle unduly. However, their nighly offerings were dire. This is an area that the hotel needs to improve with some professional evening entertainment; even a pianist and dancing space would be better.
The staff were all helpful and efficient, particularly the restaurant staff. Service at the main bar was sometimes slow but this was because there was only ever one barman on duty.

Food was varied and constantly replenished. Tables were cleared and reset rapidly but there was no 'service' as such in the restaurant. We even had to help ourselves to wine or beer from a tap! However, it was plentiful if not particularly palatable!

The hotel is about 3 kilometers out of Tsivili which can be walked quite easily but there is one local bus an hour from the main road outside which goes through it on the way to Zakynthos. There is a handful of tavernas and beach stuff shops in the bay next to the hotel and a couple of bars (showing football) and a supermarket on the main road but there is no 'resort' as such in the vicinity, so you need to be coming here for a 'quiet' holiday. The Louis company describes this hotel as being in its 'casual' and 'budget' range - definitely not luxury and exclusive!

In spite of the negatives, we had a good holiday and we would return.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms gice a better sea view. 626 had good views for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Plagos Beach we would like to say thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your nice experience on Tripadvisor.

It gives us joy knowing that you very much admired the stunning sea view from your room, the lovely, warm and perfectly clear water of the sea, and that you found all our staff members helpful and efficient, in particular our restaurant staff. Thank you also for appreciating the varied and constantly replenished food. Nevertheless, we regret hearing that you did not find our sunbeds comfortable and that you found the evening entertainment a bit dire. Rest assured that future plans/changes concerning the entertainment are already under discussion and will hopefully match everyone's taste as of next year.

We are pleased to hear that overall, you did have an enjoyable holiday here and are thrilled to read that you would return; we cannot wait for that day to come!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Having stayed at the Lois Grand in Corfu we had some idea what to expect at Plagos Beach. The hotel staff were extremely friendly (especially the bar and restaurant staff), the food excellent and varied (buffet style of course). We especially liked the fish evening. The other two specialty evenings (Greek and Italian) were little different to the standard evenings so were disappointing. The staff coped well with the violent rainstorm which flooded the lounge and bar on our first evening though the grass sunbed area round the pool took longer to recover. Compared to the Grand, Plagos Beach is a little down market, very limited evening entertainment which relied entirely on the Animation team (3 of them) except for the Greek dancing evening when the animation team had the day off. The hotel is relatively remote being a short bus ride from Tsilivi, the nearest town and closest decent beach. Local walking was uninteresting and the local coastline not very inspiring. The hotel 'beach' consisted of a rocky path and a wooden jetty to allow swimmers to get out over the rocks to clearer water, fine for swimmers but unsuitable for children. There is a small beach next door to the hotel, reached by scrambling over the rocks or walking out of the hotel exit and back down the hill. It is sand and shingle, a bit scruffy but with its own facilities and no incessant music which plagues the Plagos Beach. The animation team do their best to entertain with their one music tape, darts and set of boules but it is very repetitive and in late September, when most the kids are preschool age and most guests past retirement, not well supported. The accommodation was clean, reasonable size but not spacious. The air conditioning was switched off a couple of days into the holiday which meant keeping the windows open. Luckily there were few insects around so it was not too bad. We paid extra for a sea view which we got if you consider looking out over the Animation stage between two other two storey hotel blocks to be a proper view. Zakynthos itself is a relatively small island and famous for Turtles (not on our part of the coast) and its shipwreck bay, only accessible by boat and there are plenty of those going there. If you want the photo you see in all the brochures its an overland trip to the northwest corner of the island and join the scrum to fight your way to the end of a small platform sticking out from the cliff reach out, take your photo and fight back to the land and the many 'local produce' stalls. We went before the tour coaches arrived but hate to think what it is like with a couple of coachloads trying to do the same. Zakynthos town accessible by local bus, is very disappointing. The Island was flattened by an eathquake in 1953 so there is nothing old there and the 'new' stuff is all concrete and getting scruffy. Not worth the bus fare. All in all a good holiday but two weeks is too much when there is so little to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the two blocks closest to the sea but at the outer ends to be away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Louis Plagos Beach and for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff extremely friendly and that our food served was to your liking, especially the meals offered on the fish evening. Also, we are glad that you were pleased with your clean accommodation. Nevertheless, we regret hearing that you were not fully satisfied with some factors at our hotel and that you found there was a lack of entertainment, in particular for the older generation. We will forward your comments to the team. In addition, we are sorry to hear that Zakynthos as well as the hotel's surroundings were not fully to your liking. Please be informed that the Iti Louis Grand belongs to our "Premium Collection", whereas our Louis Plagos Beach belongs to the Louis Hotels' "Casual Collection" and is thus well-known for offering guests a budget-friendly holiday experience including a casual atmosphere. This most probably explains your difference in expectations. If you plan on revisiting one of our Louis Hotels, please have a look at our hotels, which belong to either the "Premium" or the "Boutique" Collection.

Nevertheless, we are thrilled to hear that all in all you did have a good holiday and hope that you will soon gratify one of our beautiful Louis Hotels with a return visit!

Yours faithfully

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately this Hotel did not live up to what we were lead to believe from looking on the website.

Room: We pre-booked a superior room with a sea view. We got the sea view but if the standard of our room was superior I hate to think what the standard rooms were like. The bathroom was very dated with a pink suite, broken tiles, a shower curtain that smelt of mould and obviously a replacment toilet seat as it was a different colour entirely!

Restaurant: We found the food to be good, especially the salads as we love greek salads. However, only having one area to get drinks in the restaurant did mean a lot of queing which is not what we expected from this Hotel. Even separating the hot drinks from the cold might ease the situation?

Bar: For a 4 star hotel you don't expect to have to que every single night to get a drink. To only have one member of staff having to serve the whole hotel every evening is absolutely ludicrous. There were usually two other members of staff going around clearing empty glasses but they weren't allowed to take orders for some reason. Sometimes the que was circa 10-15 people having to que outside the door! Why can't management see there is a problem in this area?

Staff: Can't fault the staff. Super friendly and helpful - just need more of them, particularly in the bar!

In our opinion this Hotel is a tired 3 star, good food, good staff, accommodation in need of updating and hire more staff to cope with the number of people in the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnOliverhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to say thank you to you for having decided to spend your holidays at the Louis Plagos Beach and for taking the time to share your opinion on this website.

It gives us great pleasure hearing that you very much admired our friendly staff as well as our high quality food served, especially the salads. However, we are very saddened to hear that you do not consider us of 4-star standards, even though we constantly receive positive feedback from other guests who have stayed at our hotel. We apologize for the fact that our accommodations did not fully meet your expectations and hope that this factor will not prevent you from returning. Rest assured that we will surely follow up your remarks concerning the broken tiles, the shower curtain as well as the toilet seat and fix the necessary things. Also, your suggestion regarding additional staff will be discussed immediately and changes will be applied wherever found necessary. Unfortunately in your case we were not able to meet your expectations and in the future would recommend a Louis Hotel belonging to our Premium Collection, rather than the Casual one.

Thank you again for taking your time and we hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to one of our Louis Hotels in the nearest future!

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had such a great relaxing holiday in May this year we have booked to return next May. Could not fault the hotel, staff or food. We had not requested a sea view but we had a nice view of the pool area. We have requested a sea view next year. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc01672156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for staying at the Louis Plagos Beach and for posting a nice review online. We are happy to hear that you had a great relaxing holiday and that you have already booked to return next May, what an honor! We are delighted that you could not fault our hotel, staff or food. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Louis Plagos Beach next year!

Very kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

All inclusive is not my thing and this was a first however this hotel do it well. Good quiet location, just a few kms out of the overt 'Blackpool in the sunshine' resort of Tsilivi. The rooms are kept very clean, food was very good and all the staff were excellent, attentive and always helpful.

If you fancy trying an all inclusive then you won't go wrong here. We used the hotel as a base for trips to Kefalonia and mainland Greece, we also toured about using local transport, it's a good location. Some really nice bars and restaurants about here too.

Thanks to Alex and Takis for making our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BelliBell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks to you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Louis Plagos Beach and for leaving such a positive review online. We are delighted to hear that you admired our hotel's quiet and good location, the very clean rooms, the very good food on offer as well as our excellent, attentive and always helpful staff. Your 'thank yous' will surely be forwarded to the ones concerned. Hopefully you will soon gratify our Louis Plagos Beach with a return visit for another enjoyable break!

Kindly yours

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here from 21-28th of September and have never experienced such an uncomfortable stay in a hotel in all my life. This hotel is advertised as a 4*, however upon arrival the lobby was below par for a 4* and we had to wait an hour and a half for our room to become ready - not something you'd expect when you've booked 6 months in advance. However on the bright side I must say that the receptionist was very informative and friendly.

Upon entering our room, we found that tea and coffee facilities consisted of a kettle, one tea bag, two sugars and NO CUPS. We had to ask reception for polystyrene cups (not very environmentally focused). We did take china cups back to the room so that they could be reused, only for the cleaner to take these from our room and leave them outside the door on the floor for four days. Because they were not picked up and the light outside our room wasn't working, I tripped over these cups on one night and cannot believe that the cleaner could not see this as a health and safety issue.

Room: We upgraded to a family room even though there were only two of us because we always like a bit of extra space - extra space is something we did not get, the room was tiny, hardly any storage space and I had to pile my clothes on a table just for somewhere to put them. Bed was very uncomfortable, would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, and also there was NO AIR CONDITIONING. It was switched off the week before we got there, and although September may be considered as out of season to the Greeks and perhaps cooler weather, to Brits and other Europeans 31 degrees is still boiling hot. The hotel should accomodate for its guests, not for Greeks who can cope with the hot weather.

Cleaning: As I said before, cleaner did not take cups away, on one occasion our toilet paper was not replenished and the ashtray left on our coffee table instead of outside on the balcony where it belongs. Very sloppy for 4*.

Food: Was actually good quality food, however it was very repetitive; if you like eating the same thing everyday, this hotel is definitely for you. Drink machine in the main dining room was the only machine where you could get a cold drink that wasn't flat. However restaurant staff were competant in clearing plates and replenishing food. Barmen were also very polite.

Pool area: Nice big pool, temperature good, lifeguard was barely there, when he was he was playing on his phone or helping by the bar. I wish the rule of no diving would have been enforced by the lifeguard who was partially on duty, as there was a group of about 30 Polish guests who thought it was hilarious to take over the pool and dive in, get out, dive back in about 10 times in a row. They completely took over the pool and the kids pool, you couldn't just have a nice relaxing swim.

Entertainment: Great for kids, so boring in the evening for adults. The brightside is that the nearest town, Tsivili, is a 5 minute taxi ride away and costs 7 euros in a taxi, where there's lots of bars, shops and restaurant to keep you occupied. Well worth doing.

Local area: Shop 5 minute walk away, sell water, cigarettes and other essentials, and if you turn left out of the hotel there is a taverna on the right which does absolutely amazing food, fresh fish, quality meat and great value for money. Fantastic service there.

I'd rate this hotel as 2* for the above reasons, cannot understand the good reviews at all.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the bar - very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly, let us thank you for having chosen to spend your holidays at the Louis Plagos Beach and for sharing your opinion on this website.

It gives us pleasure knowing that you found our receptionist very informative and friendly, our food on offer of very good quality, and our restaurant staff competent in clearing plates and replenishing food. Also, we are happy that you liked our very polite Barmen, the nice big pool, the great entertainment for children as well as the hotel's good location. Nevertheless, we are very saddened to hear that you were not very pleased with the rest of our hotel, such as with the facilities offered in your room, the fact that there was no air-conditioning, and that our cleaner forgot to take away your cups. We are sorry for not providing you cups for your tea/coffee and assure you that our housekeepers will be reminded of putting them into the room as well as taking them away when asked. We will also remind them to make sure that you have enough toilet paper and that the ashtray is placed on the table on the balcony. In addition, we are sorry to hear that you did not find the bed comfortable. Sadly you did not inform us about your discomfort; we would have been more than glad to provide you with a solution. As for the food, we have to say that we were surprised to hear your comment, as we are usually being highly praised by others who are/were very content with our food's variety and choice, ensuring that it never gets repetitive. We have a different theme night every day and our buffets have more than 20 hot items, 40 cold ones and 20 desserts. We will nevertheless let our Head Chefs know about your opinion. Moreover, we will surely take your remark on more entertainment for adults into consideration for improvement.

We are displeased to see that we were not able to meet your expectations and to satisfy your needs at its fullest. Please accept our apologies and hopefully you will give us another chance to prove to you - as we have achieved with most of our other guests - that staying in one of our Louis Hotels can promptly turn into one of the best and most relaxing holidays you have ever had. Perhaps you were looking for a Premium Louis Hotel rather than a Casual one; if this was the case, so make sure to look into our lti Louis Grand or our Louis Zante Beach.

Yours sincerely

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tragaki
9.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
639 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
537 reviews
6.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Louis Zante Beach
Louis Zante Beach
#1 of 74 in Laganas
1,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lesante Blu Exclusive Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 50 in Tsilivi
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach

Property: SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Address: Amboula Beach, Tragaki 29100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Tragaki
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tragaki
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tragaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach, around 150m from the gentle-sloping, sandy and pebbly beach of Ampoula (Zakynthos - Greece). We are happy to announce that this hotel will be franchised by SENTIDO Hotels and Resorts as from Summer 2015 following a series of renovations which will take place in winter 14/15. The renovations will include: 1) Full renovation of all 48 front sea view superior rooms 2) Refurbishment of all other hotel rooms by changing bed covers, curtains, balcony furniture, adding flat screen TV, glass partition in bathrooms and by replacing the room and balcony floors 3) brand new spa & gym 4) addition of 2 new adult Infinity pools & transformation of our existing pool to a large kids' pool with water features and to a separate swimming section. 5) upgrading of the hotel's snack bar by the pool to a themed restaurant (Greek Taverna) with show cooking offered as extra choice by reservation to clients on All Inclusive without extra charge 6) new open air Blue Bar 7) refurbishment of hotel lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hotel Plagos Beach
Iberostar Hotel Tragaki
Iberostar Plagos Beach
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach Zakynthos/Tragaki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing