We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely family run hotel! Would so go back.”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Iris
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely family run hotel! Would so go back.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed from 21st August to 1st September 2012. Flights to and from where problematic (ryan air) but the stay was brilliant! When we arrived at the reception we were greeted by one of the sons, there was a group of arrivals and some couples were led to rooms within the main complex and us and a couple where led outside the Iris to another apartment which was a bit confusing but at least we had a room. It was past 10pm and we just wanted to see our room, pack and sleep! At first we thought that Hotel Iris must be joint to other hotels. Instead of staying directly at Hotel Iris we stayed at Yiannis apartments.
Room was huge and comfortable, not modern but had everything we needed. The next day we headed straight to the pool and spent the day there. Lovely big and deep pool with a good pool bar that served cheap well cooked food and cheap water and drinks. Family run and had more families staying there, tho apart from the other couple that were sent there we were the only English at the pool. Which suited us, lots of Dutch and Greek families. Later that day we went to the Iris reception to find out about breakfast (we booked B+B but weren't informed when or where we had it), we were told by the owner where we have breakfast but also told that we were moving out of the Yiannis on Friday and move into the Iris! We were a bit confused but didn't mind too much. Then we realised they must have over booked their rooms. Later on in the holiday we found out that this has nothing to do with the Iris and everything to do with travel companies over booking and leaving the hotel to sort this out! In the end the fact that we had to swap hotels almost made it feel like we had two different holidays.
We enjoyed our stay in the Yiannis apartments but the Hotel Iris was just that little bit better for a reason I can't really put a finger on. If I was ever to go back I would be very happy to go to either hotel!

Hotel Iris served up a lovely breakfast (continental breakfast like bread, ham, cheese, cereal and Greek yogurt) from 7-30 to 9-30 which suited us as we were on a girly holiday and both hard core tanners so up early to make the most of it. The pool was cool and very large but very deep, not child friendly but there was a kids pool and playground and lots of inflatables to use. At Yiannis we had to get out early to get a sun bed that stayed in the sun all day as there was shaded areas due to the apartments being circled around the pool. The Iris pool area was a nice open space, a total sun trap so it didn't matter where you sat.
The pool bar for us was a highlight not only because the food was the best food we had in Kos (freshly cooked and prepared, both traditional Greek and things like burgers and hot dogs), how the family cooked was the same way they made and served the food for us and the portions where huge but it was the staff that made it the best! The two sons would work the pool bar, Minas in the day and Kostas after 5pm. Both lovely and welcoming, we miss our little chats with Minas and his wise words. Two lovely guys.
We only went out to Kos town for meals a few times, the Jasmine served good food and was of good size but just wasn't as nice as the food in Hotel Iris so we stayed there most meals or cooked our own in our kitchenette. The food was fresh and of good price and value, never been so full!
The room we stayed in was a self catering room on the other side of the pool, these were newer and bigger then the rooms in the main complex of the Iris and glad we stayed in these! Two beds that could be made into double or single, large bathroom with large sink area and shower- warning have shower before it gets dark. The hot water is heated by solar so by day it's hot but once we had showers at 9pm and it was a cold power shower! The rooms where large, clean and modern with fridge, hob and kitchen area. Cleaned every other day by the family.
The key thing about Hotel Iris apart from its lovely staff was its location. Outside the Iris was a bike rental where you could get motor bikes and push bikes. We hired push bikes for 4 Euros a day which made the trip to Kos town enjoyable and only 5/10  minutes long. The walk into Kos town isn't long (20 minutes) and is a lovely walk along the coast but the pavements aren't as friendly for walkers as they are for cyclists! The beaches are at the end of the road ( not the nicest beaches tho) and a mini market 1 minute away and jimmys market ( a larger store) about 3 mins on the main road to Kos town. A must is to do a boat trip! We did the Christina which was a small boat with no more than 30 people on it and the owners were lovely, we spent most of the time looking for dolphins which was amazing and the owners were very keen to show them to us. Other tourists who went on other boats didn't even see any, they seemed to focus on doing the islands which we also did and didn't miss out on the time spent there. When the owners were happy we had seen enough of the dolphins we then stopped dolphin hunting and carried on with the trip. It was a 3 island tour and had an hour at each island which was more than enough. Lovely food included and a nice mix of people on board. Nice and relaxing which is what we wanted, we heard stories about other boats like the Catarina making their customers dress up as pirates which wasn't our thing but others loved it. The highlight was jumping off the boat and swimming with the fish in the clear waters.
Visited the hamam which was interesting! Don't believe them when they tell you women always massage women. It wasn't the case for us and we had young good looking men the same age as us (late 20's) massaging us in places where even my ex boyfriends never went (don't worry only bottom and boobs, his face in boobs and my face in his crotch)!
Visited Bar street a few times and although it's very European rather than loads of Brits like place like Ibiza and Kavos it's still pretty much the same with men sleezing over you and people desperate to get you in but still a good night out.
The ruins are a must for any part of Greece.
Over all Kos is a lovely place and would so go back but the holiday was so much more thanks to the lovely hotel and the family we shared 12 days with. Miss it already!  Laura k and Laura j xxx


  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraK-LauraJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    58
    32
    15
    14
See reviews for
52
135
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I and friends have just returned from this hotel yesterday. Age group 19 to 50 plus. Well what can I say, this in my opinion is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I have stayed in a lot all over the med 5 star included and this takes some beating. The family that run this hotel are so friendly they treat you like one of the family. It gives you the taste of real greek family life and they are so helpful in recommending places to visit and eat when venturing out. They cater for all tastes and have a lovely chilled out breakfast room for continental breakfast and boiled eggs on request. The snack bar serves great snacks and Minos is a good chef (I would recommend his omelettes) they are yummy....The whole family run this hotel and really look after you. Pay for the Air con 35 Euros a week in hot weather it is worth it. Rent a bicycle whilst staying there at only 20 Euros for a week next door at Dave Motos as everyone cycles around this resort. If you dont fancy cycling the buses run to town regularly for 1 euro 10 cents, or a taxi to Kos town for 7 euro. A trip worth doing is on the boat to 3 Islands The Katerina which is moored at the harbour front in Kos, the captain is called George and this is one of the best boat trips I have ever been on. Went to Turkey, great if you like queueing for 30 minutes for your boarding pass then 20 minutes for passport control going out and then again to come back and spent hours been hassled by every shopkeeper to buy their fakes, saying that the shops were actually better than the famous market they all plug, this is a cattle shed full of the same old tack....my opinion ...dont waste your holiday sweating in the heat to get there, much more chilled out in Kos, but at least we can tick that one of the bucket list. Loads of archeological sites to visit all over Kos Island, well worth visiting.We will definately be going back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are in the main building if going on BB basis. Apartments for SC at other side of pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caznrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This excellent hotel is not posh or 5 star but is perfectly acceptable and clean and has all you need. The family who run it are caring, fun and helpful. It is a clean, spacious place that has a great bar, pool and atmosphere. There is everything you need, its run as a family business and the brothers who run it are great and Kostas who runs the bar is lovely - a great English speaker, dancer, advisor and general hardworking guy! Mum serves breakfast and dad, who built the hotel proudly helps his family to keep his dream going. They are a lovely family who work hard and will go out of their way to make your holiday fantastic.
Its just outside Psalidi which is a 20 min walk to Kos Town. The local beaches are pebbly so you need beach shoes but they are lovely and the sea is warm and clear.
There is lots to see on Kos and having visited half a dozen Greek Islands, this is my favourite place.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same unless you have a self catering room. There is noting to choose between them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerliesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you're thinking of booking a hotel in Kos look no further than here. We have just spent a month at the Iris hotel and couldnt fault it at all.

1) The rooms. The hotel has less than 40 rooms so is lovely and small. The hotel rooms are B&B and a little bit older/smaller than the self catering rooms. They have a wet room with shower and sink and toilet, fridge and a kettle and a balcony looking onto the hotel grounds. The self catering rooms are newer and look out over the pool. They have a larger wet room with bath and shower, sink and toilet and catering facilities consist of a fridge/freezer, plug in hob and large sink. There are plates pans cuttlery too. - you will need to buy washing up liquid etc. The balcony is large and looks over the pool and has a table and chairs. The maids are lovely and clean the rooms everyday (bar sundays) chaging the towels and the bedding. We couldnt fault the cleanliness of our room at all. - note aircon is charged extra. We were here for the whole of august and decided that as long as the balcony door was left open we didnt need it. But you can decide for yourself.

2) the pool. The pool is deep! Steps in the shallow end are a social point of the pool as it gets deep quickly. 3.15m at the deep end. There is also a small babies pool by the bar area, as well as swings and slides. When we were there everyone was very social with lilos and rings and there were arm bands for the children too.

3) the bar. The bar opens around 10am and closes around 2pm. The food is fresh and absolutely lovely, and very reasonably priced. Full english breakfast with tea and toast was 6euro as was the pork gyros (a must). We were proud that we ate everything on the menu. As it is freshly cooked, when busy it can take a while and the greeks dont rush, so grab a cocktail from the large list and chill. Large beer was 3euro and there was also murphys and strongbow on tap, as well as the usual wkd, smirnoff ice and bottles of magners. The staff behind the bar speak excellent english and will bend over backwards to make sure your needs are met. Absoultely lovely people.

4) entertainment. If your looking for nighttime entertainment, unless you make it yourself there is non at the hotel. Although we read that they did a greek night, this year it sadly didnt happen. If you dont ask you dont get, so if there is a big ggroup of you, ask the bar staff and you never know. There is a pool table and a dart board and we did have plently of competitions between other guests. So it is what you make of it.

5) the staff. This is a family run hotel and ive never seen hotel staff work so hard. The boys run the bar, and the parents run the reception desk. they are always busy tidying and cleaning to make sure the place is immaculate. They are all there to make your stay a good one and are all very friendly.

6) getting around and things to do. Outside the hotel is moto david where you can hire bikes, scooters and quads. We hired bicycles for the week and went around on those as there as cycles paths all around the local area, and it is nice a safe. Go right on the main road and you can cycle to therma (hot springs) where you can swim in the sulpher pool and benefit from its healing properties, or go left and you can cycle into Kos. Keep going through Kos and you can cycle to Tingaki where the beaches are more sandy and the sea crystal blue. For the more adventurous, a car or quad will take you to Zia (the highest village) where you can watch the sun set, or over to paradise beach on the other side of the island.
If you dont want to hire anything on the main road is the bus stop. They come every 15-20mins or so and you can go up to Therma or into town quite easily. They run from early in the morning to late at night.
In Kos you'll see the marina with its boats. Pay 20euro and you can go to turkey for the day, but youll need your passport. We went on the aegan prince (the hydrofoil) it takes 18 minutes to get across although just be patient at passport control as it can only be described as chaos! Bodrum is full of shops and boutiques but make sure you have a prober turkish kebab yum yum. Youll also need to change some money over, which can be done easily once there cash for cash.
In the Marina you'll also see lots of pirate boats. If theres one thing to do while your there take the 3 island cruise to pserimos, kalymnos and plati. We had an excellent day on the Katrina (I think this is by far the best boat!).
Also in Kos youll see the mini trains. The green train is the day train taking you on a tour of the town, the black train is the night time train, and the blue train takes you up to the Asklepion. If going up to the Asklepion go early-first train is at 8am and they run every 30mins till2pm. It gets busy and its gets hot so take water, but its well worth a vist from some excellent photos and a lesson on Kos/greek history.

7) eating out and night life. The cost of eating out is pretty similar to home, as we paid around 25-30 euros for dinner and wine, and there were not as many competitive deals as we expected. There are plenty of touts trying to draw you in, but if you just ask to see an menu and take a stroll they dont hassel you as much as other resorts ive stayed in. if you dont fancy walking into town outside the hotel on the main road to the right there are three places to eat where you can sit on the beach and watch the lights of the town in the distance. We ate in all three and they were all lovely (the first one my favourite). If your a fish lover, pop down the day before and order your favourite dish and theyll have it fresh the next day. As the hotel is 20 min walk away from town you must stop off at the ice cream shop on the right each time you walk in. The ice cream and cakes here are excellent. In town we ate at all of the first stip of bars you'll see by the police station. They sell salads and pizza, pasta and meat dishes all at good prices, but the beer and coacktails are slightly cheaper. 3.50euro for a large jug of wine. In the Town our favourite place was Kostas up the steep hill by Dionysus. Here you wont leave hungry.
If its drink your after, walk past the dolphin round about and youll find plenty of beach bars towards the shore as well as Club X the main nightclub and more pub/coacktail bars. All bars do two for one drinks during their happy hours. There is also bar street for the more lively nights where you can drink dance and play beer pong, but just be careful what you drink. We are both big drinkers and were pretty sure from some bars there was no alcohol in our drinks and in others it was bleach and ethanol. At the bottom of bar street is goodys burger place, a must in the early hours for that long walk home.

Overall - We had a fantastic month in Kos and will most certainly try and go back next year. we met some amazing people and couldt fault the hotel at all. Suitable for families, couples, young and old, we really had a great time. Dont hesitate in bookin here!


(NOTE: If you are booking with a travel company and want to go self catering make sure they stipulate this in the booking. The hotel will assign the room that the booking form says so if you dont confirm the self catering room you may be put in the B&B rooms without the facilities you'd expect).

Room Tip: If you are booking with a travel company and want to go self catering make sure they stipulate this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KWozniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Iris for the third time in the studio apartments. The complex is small and very clean run by a very hard working family who I can't praise enough!
Studios are bright and spacious, towels changed daily, sheets every other day. The swimming pool is large but very deep so great for adults although there is a small baby pool. The snack bar serves good food at very reasonable prices. Air con required if staying in the height of summer but good value at 5 euros per day.
The Iris is very close to the beach and several good tavernas. Turn right at the sea road and Taverna Nestoras is about 5 minute walk away, a great place serving fab food at very reasonable prices. Kos town is about a 25 min walk but there is a regular bus service at the end of the road.
The Iris is a great place to stay - you must try it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panevezys, Panevezio Apskritis, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Before booking this hotel I was reading a lot of good reviews about it, this is why I was completely sure everything should be just fine.
Going from Kos town we found the hotel quite fast, coz' before were reading lot of good reviews where was explained very good how to reach it from the town. When we arrived at the reception was nobody, also recpetion seemed quite "simple". This is why we started to worry a little bit if everything will be fine with the order in the hotel. Then finally after 20 min or so came elderly man, thank's God he found our reservation, gave us the key and lead us to our apartment. Since this time we found everything just very good about the hotel!!! We had quite big apartment with the balcony with the pool view. Also there was a kitchen with all equipment, so often we were buying products in the market and making meal ourselves! It was very good for us, coz' we went on self catering, so about the catering in the hotel I couldn't tell anything :(
They were cleaning room every day, the pool is big. Considering we've been during the high season, almost always we had been founding places by the pool and we didn't feel that the hotel was fool-really quite calm.
The beach is few hundred meters from the hotel, is not so nice, there are better beaches all around Kos island, so those who are planning relaxing vacation by the beach can be a bit disappointed.
For us the hotel seemed family owned, this is why we found it cosy and lovely. It's also well located. In general we got more than we were expecting, maybe this is why we couldn't say anything bad about hotel IRIS :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida_Zal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Firstly following the reviews of Cheree O and Bongoqueen.... we had the same problem as in being given the wrong room BUT this was the error of the booking companies "Travel Republic" in our case not passing on the room request information. This was NOT the fault of the hotel and when it was brought to their attention they resolved it by moving our room as soon as the requested room became available, if those rooms were full at the time they could not help that!
ALL the staff there which are family work all the hours god sends to keep that otel to the excellent standard it is and they ARE ALL friendly.
I have stayed in lots of hotels and can honestly say the cleanliness of that hotel can beat any five star!!
The rooms ARE cleaned and bedding/towels changed every day exept Sundays.
I was there from 19/07/12 to 02/08/12 and everyone we spoke to there loved it and lots of them including us plan to go back next year. Some had been there several years running so that speaks for itself on how great this hotel is.
It is a quiet hotel and if you want clubs and bars they are only a 3 minute bus ride away in Kos Town.
The poolside bar is very reasonable and serves excellent quality fresh homemade food. Infact the food is so good with a great choice we ended eating there most evenings, though there are also some nice restaurants along the beach too.
The pool is immaculate though it is very deep with not much shallow end. I am not a good swimmer but the pool steps gave a great place to dip in to cool down and relax.
I went with my husband and 15 year old daughter and we all loved it there - next year I m going back with the rest of the family too and would fully reccomend this hotel to anyone.
To those giving negative comments if you want 5 star plus then save harder and pay for it next time is my best advice ;-)
This hotel is excellent value and in my opinion worthy of more than the 3 star rating it has!!!

Room Tip: Self catering apartments are all poolside view and fantastic. They can sleep 2/3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ambie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Palace
Continental Palace
#15 of 19 in Psalidi
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
882 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
10.3 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kardamena
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Property: Hotel Iris
Address: Psalidi area, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Psalidi
Hotel Iris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing