We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Iris
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just returned from a week at Iris!! Me and 2 friends (aged 25-37) booked last minute and did not really know what to expect. we arrived in the evening and were greeted and shown our room. we had an apartment overlooking the pool.

the hotel is basic but kept very clean and tidy. the pool is fabulous and very clean.

Kos itself is a great island- we ate out almost every night and meals were good and reasonably priced.

Did a boat trip (The Christina) booked with the owner of the boat at the Marina in Kos town. 30 euros each included a 3 island stop and a BBQ. Well worth the money. fabulous staff and beautiful islands.

overall a great holiday- would book with Iris again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed for a week in Hotel Iris in July.. We checked in and were given the keys etc to our room. The room was small and bathroom in need of renovation. We had paid for a self catered room, but in our room was only a fridge and a kettle. Not exactly what I would call a self catering apartment!! Unfortunately we had left our paper work for the booking on the coach, so we went down to reception and asked the old guy, the father i presume, if we were in the wrong room. "I just do what im told" he miserably mumbled. We eventually established it was the boss we needed to speak to but finding out when he would be about wasnt easy!

Eventually we saw the boss the next day and asked whether we were in the wrong room. All he said was "You can move on Wednesay" - baring in mind we arrived on the sunday, this was half our holiday in the wrong room! He wasnt forthcoming with information and not once did he say sorry, we were made to feel like the ones who had done wrong. We asked whether it was onthebeach's fault or their fault, and he admitted it was his mistake. We asked whether we could have some snack food from the pool bar, not a 3 course meal, just something to eat so that we dont have to eat out every night seeing how we were unable to cook in our room. He refused!

Very disappointing not to receive a single apology and everybody seemed to be rude to us and made us feel like we were the ones who had done something wrong. We tried to be friendly, but it was a waste of time. It put us off every drinking at the hotel pool bar at night, whenever we had a drink in the day he wouldnt say a word to us.

We managed to move rooms on the Tuesday. The new room was much nicer than the room only that we'd been put in. I can see why most people would have a fine experience, as if we'd been here from the start we would have found things fine too - which is why i gave this a 3 not a 2. The self catering room over looks the pool, much bigger and more modern than the other room. In someways it is even more frustrating that they offered us nothing for their mistake because there is a clear big difference between the two rooms, one being much nicer and we had to spend 3 days in the horrible room! Plus the annoyance of re-packing, and that it meant we coudlnt go off for the day because we had to leave our room.

The paperwork we left on the transfer bus we had to ask the reception guy and a young lad to call the office. Eventually we got their address and went down as they couldnt get hold of them. It took 2 days to get an answer, which was that it wasnt there. I know its nothing to do with hotel iris, but not once did they show any concern or ask whether we had managed to get it back when we were clearly concerned.

The pool was a great, a decent size, it was deep, it was chilled atmosphere and pleasant to spend time there. You could put your lilo in the pool too which some places dont allow. Also there werent kids running around. At night the rooms got very hot and air con is an extra5 euro per day.

Location was about 20-30 minutes from the heart of Kos town, not a bad thing. You could hire bikes and quad bikes from just outside the hotel - very handy. There were some beaches about 2 minute walk from the hotel and one cool bar that ended up being our favourite in Kos. Nostos was its name.

We felt uncomfortable and unwelcome in this hotel which ruined our experience. When i read other reviews, I am curious to know who exactly they think was nice here. The nicest people we encountered working here were the cleaners who were very friendly.

Just be warned if you stay here, if you get the self catered room and they get it right then you will probably have a fine time. Just dont expect the staff to be friendly if things go wrong as they really dont care. Nobody smiles or looks happy to be working there except the old guy at receptions wife who you never see.

Room Tip: Room number 17 on the end is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bongoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there for two weeks this july (2012) with my boyfriend. We booked the hotel online after looking over the other reviews. We were so enthusiast with the comments which were that it was some hidden gem, that they found the hotel wonderful...etc...
We arrived there at 8 pm, the son was so hurried to give us the room that he had never mentioned the hour of breakfast or anything else...The mother was the same always sad or angry. The only person who was nice was the father asking for some news and pretty available to help.
As soon as we discovered the room, it was poor, old-fashioned, there were cracks on the ceiling (pretty scary),no tv, two separate beds (annoying when you're a couple), the kitchen was dirty (fridge delivered with some salad leafs?!) There was mold on the pan so we'd must go to the market to buy some plates, glasses etc. The bathtub was full of hair. The taps on the kitchen and the bathroom were full of green limestone (yummy). The drawers were all sticky. Even if the rooms are cleaned 6 times a week. The sheets and towels are changed once a week.
We knew about the air conditioner before arriving, and were so happy to pay 5 euro a day or more a night because you can't let de air conditioner running while you're away to keep the room cool, you can't sleep if you haven't it. The walls are so thin than you can hear the neighbours chatting and more...
The breakfast starts at 7.30 and finishes at 9.30 (pretty early when you're in vacation). We had some bread, jam, coffee, cake, olives, cheese, the milk and the orange juice where diluted with water...If you want a boiled egg it's 0.50 euro...
Next to the hotel there is moto David, you can rent a bike 4euro/day, quad 20-25euro, scooter 12 to 16 euro. It's great because it's next door but you can definitely find better and more secure because those vehicules were old not well kept, no km/h function, no lights...
The hotel is at 30 mn walk to Kos. If you want to have a great sandy beach you must go to Tigaki (13km from the hotel) because the beaches around are pebbled, awful, dirty. Otherwise you can stay at the pool but be careful with the aquatic insects, not enough tidiness. That was pretty disgusting.
At last we were disapointed with the hotel and the so brilliant reviews because that's a poor hotel, wich has 3 stars and is 45 euro a night.
The next time we'll be more carefull with the reviews and not enjoying so much before arriving...that's an advice too.

(sorry for the faults, I don't speak English very often)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamL145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Best-run family hotel ever! We were there three weeks in August 2011!
If you have not been there yet, so we recommend it strongly! Cheap and very good hotel run by the best family I've ever met on any holiday! Good food, cleanliness of the rooms every day. A very good and quiet hotel suitable for most tourists!
We will travel back in August 2012.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ove A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed here two consecutive summers. Everything is brilliant, my favourite thing is that it is quiet during the day around the pool! No loud music/annoying aqua gym like you get in the larger hotels. Can't fault it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maisiemoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just back from a great holiday in Kos. stayed at the Iris as we did last year. The hotel is excellent. The family who run it could not be more helpful. The pool ( which does not really have a shallow end so children will need to be supervised) is like a warm bath. The rooms are very very clean and cleaned 6 days a week. We stayed self catering this time and preferred it to the bed and breakfast option but only because the rooms were bigger. There is a pool bar which serves excellent snacks and is open til late but while we were there no noise from it filtered into the room.
Psalidi is a half hour walk from Kos town and the walk into town passes the marina which is home to some fantastic yachts. Kos Town is beautiful and comes alive after dark. All in all a fantastic holiday (again) and I would recommend the Iris to anyone.

Room Tip: All self catering rooms face the pool. The bed and breakfast rooms are in the main body of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Iris Hotel and had a brilliant time.We travelled with friends and were situated in the apartments overlooking the pool.The apartments were very modern and were of a good standard.We have been to many greek islands and these were easily the best apartments we have ever stopped in. They were cleaned daily and always spotless with fresh towels provided.We paid for air conditioning as it was boiling hot and you really did need it. The hotel is family run and we found the family to be very friendly and you were made to feel welcome.The other guests around the pool were also very friendly and we found it to be a good atmosphere. The pool is very deep so not great for kids but was kept spotless and plenty of sunbeds to go around for everyone. The poolside bar does absolutely gorgeous food and we ate there everyday as it was so nice and lots of choice on the menu.It is easily the best pool bar we have eaten at,the food was cooked from fresh and very tasty!!
Kos town was about a 30 minute walk from the apartments and we all walked it every night as it was a nice walk up and plenty of bars and restaurants on the way up. If you didnt fancy walking it there is a local bus service which runs regularly.There is a lovely bakery on the way into kos town which does every ice cream imaginable and we often used to call in here on our way back from a night out for some goodies!! Overall the Iris hotel is a hidden gem,we could not find it in many brochures so we booked the flight and hotel separate and so pleased we did as it is one of the best we have stayed in and would definitely return,

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool were more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebPhil030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2.3 mi away
Aegean Houses
Aegean Houses
#15 of 48 in Kos Town
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
395 reviews
2.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Address: Psalidi area, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: $17 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iris 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Psalidi
Hotel Iris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing