We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at the Maris”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just come back from a lovely week in Kos, in which we stayed at the Maris Suites. I have read some mixed reviews on this hotel so thought I would share my experiences. We booked an all inclusive package and overall had a lovely week, however there was a few disappointing bits about the holiday.
We arrived at the hotel to find the Maris Suite reception closed so we had to venture over to the sister hotel Hippocrates to check-in. The receptionist gave us our key to the suites and sent us on our way with little information about the hotels, throughout the stay I found the reception and some of the restaurant staff to be not much help at all. More information on what is and isn't included at the hotels would have been a great help. The hotels and grounds were beautiful and very well maintained, there are a few very sweet cats that visit the hotel, and get very well looked after by the staff.
The room was not a suite at all and just consisted of two single beds pushed together and a few bedroom furniture (A bit disappointed as we had paid for the upgrade). However the room was very clean and was kept like this the whole stay by the lovely cleaner.
We ate out at both the Hippocrates and Maris hotels (Maris you had to book for the evening meal) The food was nice however it did get a bit repetitive after a few days, they didn't seem to have a wide selection of foods throughout the stay, but it was good value for money. There is a wide selection of drinks on the bar and the staff are very generous on the measures :-).
The animation team was friendly and put on shows and quizzes most nights, plenty to do for everyone.
The location is ideal, 30 minutes walk to Kos town, or you can catch the bus that stops right outside the hotel.
Overall this is a lovely set of hotels, and I would most likely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the grounds and pools :-)
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StaceyHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for Kipriotis Maris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 625 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Excellent surroundings and reception staff however DO NOT book the all inclusive, food is tasteless and poor quality, and service in the buffet restaurant was beyond poor. Food off the a la carte menu in the triton restaurant was beautiful and we'll worth a visit. Only book this hotel on a room only basis! Also beds and pillows are very hard.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pound01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed as a family (all adults) in September 2013 and were all inclusive at the Maris suites. Overall, we had a great week, but there were quite a few things that I feel should be highlighted and that the hotel let itself down with.

The positives of our stay...

Our request for rooms together were honoured and the superior rooms were very spacious with massive superking beds. The maid cleaned the rooms daily and there were no problems with noise between rooms. The hotel itself was lovely and we had use of the Maris and Hippocrates bars and restaurants. The animation team were fantastic; friendly and good fun and would try and get people involved in activities without being too pushy. For buffet food, the all inclusive food was good, and it was good to have some alternatives (we were able to book into the Village hotel for the buffet style Italian restaurant, or the Greek restaurant, and they also do theme nights in the Maris hotel)
The pool at the Maris is particularly lovely.
We also enjoyed hiring push bikes (get a discount token from reception and it is €3 for the day until 8pm) and found it a lovely way to see Kos town and surrounding areas.

Unfortunately, the following are the problems we encountered...

- On check-in (granted it was 4am ish) we are given no information at all. Apart from one member of staff, reception were not very helpful throughout and, at times, quite rude. The hotel would benefit from a much more comprehensive way of explaining what is and isn't included at the various hotels as it is confusing and we spent the week discovering the rules largely from other guests/ by trial and error.

- On the last day we flew out at 3am and had to check out 12pm the day prior. We were refused access to another room (they said this would have been €40 but that our room wasn't available to keep on) and the only alternative was 2 showers in the gym area. This lead to massive queues - completely inadequate for the number of guests. I have experienced this at more basic hotels but think they need to address this if professing to be 5*.

- I would ask for pool view rather than sea view. Our sea view looked out onto a road, then a line of trees which completely blocks any view of the sea. The pool would have been a much nicer view.

Although some staff were nice, unfortunately as many weren't very friendly, and we were particularly disappointed with reception and some main bar staff.

It's a shame that these things let us down, as we did enjoy our week away. I would love the hotel to make improvements in these areas to be as good as it has the potential to be.

Room Tip: If staying in Maris, choose a pool rather than sea view (sea view looks onto the road and trees bloc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK123187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here, two years ago - and had 10 days of chilling out by the lovely pool, and hardly felt the need to leave the hotel. It is one of 2 hotel - ours was the Maris Suites - and it was definitely the nicer of the two - although the other looked ok!
The food was excellent, our room was lovely - clean, comfortable and although we were near the pool, it was quiet.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you want somewhere to totally chill out and not worry about anything.
The town of Kos is a bus ride away, and easy to get to.
The beach is across the road, but we didn't go, as it was nicer by the pool.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraineereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent a la carte restaurants, special thanks to Virginia! Room service was great. Needed more sun beds round the pool and more program of animation in the evening. Thank's for good holiday. Everything was great, Best regards from Lithuania.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is one of two, there is Kipriotis Hippocrates en there is Kipriotis Maris. we stay at Maris. Nice hotel near the beach with very friendly staf, the food is good and the chambres are very large with a large bed that was wonderful to sleep in. You may eat and drink in both hotels, also go to swim in both swimmingpools.

Room Tip: Room 156 was very nice and great with a large balcony and a view at the swimmingpool
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Staff made this holiday annimation team were exellent,special thanks to Virginia,Olga,Roland& Lorenseo rooms cleaned every day with clean linen every day,needed more sun beds round the pool but on the whole great holiday

Room Tip: Higher rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isobelUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#10 of 19 in Psalidi
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: $106 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing