We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday at an amazing Hotel!”
Review of Kipriotis Maris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kipriotis Maris
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday at an amazing Hotel!”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have just got back from at 10 day holiday at the Maris Hotel in Kos. I went with a group of 7 and we had three rooms between us. We originally had booked in the Hippocrates Hotel but when we arrived we were told we had been 'upgraded' to the Maris. We were concerned that our rooms wouldn't be what we had wanted but he were extremely thrilled to find that our rooms were three rooms next to each other and were twice as big as we expected or needed!!! We had been expected two single beds pushed together for a 'double' bed but we walked into our room to find a KING sized bed! The bathroom was big and everything worked perfectly! We had a lovely view of the pool and enjoyed sitting out on the Balcony. We decided to have our room cleaned every other day and this was enough! The hotel in general was immaculately clean which was very nice to see from such a big, busy hotel!

The food was also better than I had expected! Apart from being slightly cold the food was all very fresh and very tasty! Even for the most picky eater, you will be able to find plenty to eat. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and always prepared us a table of 7 as soon as we walked in. The Hipppcrates Bar was a lively, friendly place to be at all times of the day. The pool table was very popular and so was the darts machine. The bar staff were very nice and always friendly! The free drinks did end at 11pm but they would make sure everyone at the bar got a drink before shutting, so normally it was open until at least 11:30! The Maris bar, was slightly quieter but also extremely friendly and they had a tv on in the evenings.

The facilities were of a very high standard and if they did get broken, they were fixed within 24 hours! The Table Tennis Tournament (organised by the Animation Team) was so popular and such a nice break to sitting by the pool! The evening entertainment was generally very good and varied every night! For younger kids there was a mini disco every night which was also run by the Animation Team. Everyone at the Hotel was so friendly and we made a lot of friends there! We rented of bikes for 5Euros to cycle to town which was a lovely 15 minute cycle along a safe cycle path. There was also cheap cars to hire and quad bikes.

I had the most amazing Holiday and had nothing bad to say about this Hotel! I would 100% stay at this hotel again, although I wouldn't go in April again as the rain did ruin some possible days out! I would suggest this hotel for couples, older people, families and group of friends! Absolutely brilliant and so much better than expected!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Libby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Guest Relations Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit, perhaps during the high season, when you will be able to enjoy a magnificent weather in Kos!
The Guest Relations Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    206
    68
    39
    6
See reviews for
302
188
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Kipriotis Maris/Hippocrates are on the same complex , rated 4 & 5 star !!! The room we had was in Hippocrates , it was nice & modern , but the bathroom was very dated , although basic it was clean.
The FOOD , we watched the RUDE staff at breakfast , pouring dregs of coffee from one pot to the other to make full pots (of old coffee) , then put them on the table for the next guests who came and sat down !!!! Chips and stale omelette were served every day and the bacon most days was raw !!! Lunch , the salad bar was lovely , but the hot dishes were bland and tasteless , a couple of days there was a chef grilling pork and chiken , that was nice with the salad , but sadly was not available every day . Dinner , the same shambles , luke warm tasteless food !! beach wear in the dining room , the Manager did nothing to ask the guests to put clothes on , he just ignored it !!! Not a good look in a 5* dining room .
All soft drinks at all times were WATERED DOWN and tasted of nothing , everything is being done a very very cheap budget , its very sad .
At the most a 3* , could not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank koogla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kipriotis, Manager at Kipriotis Maris, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

At first, we would like to thank you for having stayed in our hotel.

We appreciate your comments on our bathrooms, staff, food & beverage, but we must insist on setting the record straight on some points as we find your description to be poles apart from the actual situation.
Our bathrooms were renovated last winter at the same time with the rooms. We find it bizarre for the rooms to be nice and modern but the bathrooms very dated.

Our restaurant staff is being constantly trained to be welcoming and accommodating to our guests and we have achieved a result in this that is acknowledged by our guests on hundreds of questionnaires that we receive and process. Occasionally, having a problem with one of them can happen but when reported, we address the matter on the spot. Besides it is unmerited judging all of them as rude.

We brew fresh coffee, several times every morning. Therefore, the transfusion that you describe has no reason to take place in our hotels.

In all our restaurants together with the 14 day revolving buffet, there are permanent “show-cooking” stations. For breakfast every day they cook bacon, fired eggs, omelet and fries. Omelet is cooked each morning in front of the guests’ very eyes. This fact also makes us wonder: how can it be stale?
Show-cookings, have each day for lunch and dinner (except on theme nights) French fries, a grilled meat, fish or poultry with different sauces.
Right in front of the show cooking station there is a buffet with 12 different hot plates. There is a cold buffet with at least 4 composed and 4 plain salad vegetables, another satellite buffet with 5-6 kinds of fresh fruit and 5-6 kinds of pastries. Finally, there is an ice cream station with no less than 5 different ice cream flavors.
All hot food is kept in special inox containers at 85 degrees so that the food is at 67 degrees.

Soft drinks and juices–as in all seasonal hotels - are dispensed through “post mix” machines and are regularly attuned to maintain the correct taste. Eventually a container empties and has to be replaced and at that time the 1 or 2 remaining drinks can be a bit watery. It takes however only seconds for the staff to replace the empty container.

Unlike your disapproving biased description, the Manager and the staff does try to vocally impose the dress code. This however, is a hotel – we have limits in trying to persuade people who do not respect the rules and we choose not to create a scene in the middle of the dining room.

Our official rating by the appropriate authority is 5 stars.

The fact that due to high occupancy and heavy check-in volume on the day of your departure, we were unable to let you keep the room for a late check out, shouldn’t have, clouded your judgment and lead you to publish this misleading review.

The management and the staff even way before your arrival coped with and tried to please every single one of your numerous requests.

We hope that you would give this fine hotel and its staff another chance to prove its quality and hospitality.

The management of Kipriotis Hippocrates & Maris Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We were booked to stay at Hippocrates but on arrival our booking was 'lost' and we had to wait 5 hours (4-9am!) to be given rooms in the sister hotel Maris. (2 mins away). It was a blessing in disguise as we had large rooms with balconies overlooking the pool. The pool itself was less busy and it meant we could use bar facilities in Maris and Hippocrates. Meals were in Hippocrates restaurant. Food was good quality but the variety was not great every day. Staff were lovely,charming and always willing to help. The location near the sea was perfect although the beaches close by were not great. the gentle breeze meant it was never too hot although it was 35 degrees the week we were there! I would go back and reccomend to anyone. If you want night and poolside entertainment it is not for you though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatS1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had read the reviews so had an idea what to expect. We went all inclusive and the Maris fully lived up to expectations - food had to be taken at the Panorama as numbers were down on the complex but this was no problem - food was excellent - great choice and good quality.
Service in the bars was very good and there was good company and plenty to do for my daughter.
Entertainment is geared to the Italian tourists, and there are several other nationalities in the hotel but this adds to the atmosphere.
Kos Town is easliy accessible.
A really good relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

In Summary

Huge disappointment on so many levels - Definitely NOT 5*
Miss sold Panorama Hotel and forced to stay at Maris Hotel
(Report being filed with the UK European consumer centre
– through Trading Standards Institute)
Clean and tidy complex
Very poor beach
Sea view was a ‘sea glimpse’ overlooking bins
OK buffet dining experience
Inconsistent staff training and service delivery standards
Not 5* by any means

In detail

We were oversold this holiday with a promise of 5* all-inclusive 'luxury'.
We bought (text from our receipt)
Iberostar Kipriotis Panorama
Room with Sea View….all incl basis….hotel

We were placed in the Maris hotel advertised also as 5*.
Having worked in the travel industry for many years staying at 5* hotels around the world for the last 20 years - I can definitely assure you that this hotel was a good 3* to an OK 4*.

Transfer
When we arrived we were put on the bus and told by the rep “you are the 2 additions”, handed a piece of paper with ‘Maris’ written on it along with our return transfer details. When we pulled up outside the Panorama hotel we thought that it looked very impressive – although we were then told that we were staying at the bottom of the hill, closer to the beach at the Maris hotel. From a distance the Maris looked good. Initially this didn’t appear to be a problem as we thought it was a 5* hotel. The reception was very nice the staff welcoming and helpful. We were quickly on our way to our room. It literally was 100 meters from the reception.

Room
This was a good-sized room with plenty of hanging space, storage drawers and a fridge. The advertised Satellite TV had one channel running very old American drama but no English-speaking channels for news etc, all the other channels catered for the mainly Dutch and Italian clientele. Two uncomfortable beds pushed together, good air conditioning and good room and bedside lighting. The room had a marble floor which I had never experience before in a 5* although I suppose that it did help keep the room cool.

Our room was right at the front of this sprawling complex: coach, buses, taxis all stopped outside our balcony with people coming and going all day and night. The local scooter hoire shop is at the end of the complex and the road outside is used as a testing area for people renting the scooters and two-seater motor buggies – they ride them up and down fast, some demonstrating their skill at skidding on gravel by way of testing the bikes before renting them.

Sea View
Having seen the pictures on the website of the sweeping panoramic views of the Aegean Sea looking onward to Turkey – we were somewhat disappointed with the ‘sea glimpse’. The beach was tree lined and so you had to look through a break in the trees to see the sea. However, and this was once of my greatest criticisms we had a direct view of three large Sulo bins which we had to look over for our ‘sea glimpse’.

I went to talk to the front office manager who told me that was the sea view! I said that I thought that a view of the bins was unacceptable and she actually shrugged her shoulders and said, “This is sea view”. She was not really very interested in handling our complaint – I asked if we could move 3 rooms closer to the main building which would have presented us a slightly better sea glimpse, she did indeed check the system and tell us that that room would be available in 3 days time. Having reflected on this and not wanting it to spoil the holiday I went back a day later to ask for that room change and was told that the room was now allocated to someone else. Having complained again I was offered a sideways move to the other side of the complex with an even worse view. I declined the move telling the receptionist that I was extremely upset. We never heard from the front office manager again until I asked for the email address at the end of the holiday.

Beach
From the Iberostar website
Iberostar's guiding principles
On the best beaches in the world
The greatest of care for our surroundings

Having crossed a busy road, pass the bins to get to the dirt track. You are greeted with what looks like an ice cream / fish and chip van, advertising itself as a canteen for all-inclusive guests, offering a glass of juice or ice tea, a beer or bottle of water.

Wooden pallets are aligned in single file to form a walkway over the dirt track on to the grit beach. This is a pebble beach at the waters edge that turns to grit, on which are placed the uncomfortable mainly torn sun loungers and umbrellas. The grit is not kept even in a 3* standard, it is littered with plastic bottles and cigarette butts. We witnessed one couple arrive at the beach and the lady burst into tears saying to her husband, “This is horrible”.

You had to walk to the next lot of sun loungers along the beach to use the toilets facilities. These were two wooden sheds housing a WC and sink. Although smelling fresh and covered in post cards of the local area, I have never encountered this before at a 5* resort.

In complete contrast the beach that you had to walk onto to use the toilet had really comfortable padded sun loungers and was incredibly well maintained. The gentleman that owed the beach had gone to great effort to create a golden sandy beach from the pebble at the waters edge on which his sun loungers sat. For this experience you paid an additional 6 euros per lounger per day.

Complex grounds
Very well kept garden areas. The pools were immaculate and the seating area clean and tidy always.


Food
From the Iberostar website
Iberostar's guiding principles
Exquisite cuisine

Pretty average buffet dining.
A very good salad, OK dessert bar and average hot food, trays and trays of re-heated food brought out and placed under hot food lamps which quickly got a crust forming on as it was drying under the lamps. What is not eaten one night comes out the following night in a different guise.

Very strict times for eating, the evening meal is advertised until 9pm and that does mean 9pm. Lights on the hot lamps go out and the cleaning begins – the food is quickly taken back into the kitchens.

Continental breakfast from 10 till 11am as long as you are happy with a few meats and cheeses, bread, yogurt and one jam, the rest of the selection are removed at 10am. No toast either, the toaster is unplugged a 10am and woe betide anyone that wants it plugged in after 10am, I was treated appallingly by the kitchen staff for asking for toast after 10am.

The offer of al a Carte dining in the Triton restaurant on certain, book able in advance evenings is very alluring until you get there.
We went once to the Asian night: the starter was pumpkin soup; the main was a choice of chicken or pork, we chose the chicken it was the smallest portion of rice with hard chewy pieces of chicken in an inedible sauce. We left the food and walked out in disgust.

The restaurant we ate at was outside and the conflicting and contrasting music from the pool and bar vs the restaurant during the breakfast and lunch service became very wearing after a couple of days.


Entertainment
All in Italian, which we looked at one, evening for about 10 minutes. It was the lads from SprinTours dressing in women’s clothes dancing badly to Cabaret. It may have been funny if we could have understood it.

Greek night in the main restaurant was OK, although I am not sure watching the Maitre'd do a dance for us while being delivered Ouzo on a tray during his dance added to my 5* experience.

Staff
From the Iberostar website
Iberostar's guiding principles
Highly qualified team
Inconsistent.
Front office manager: ineffective and uncaring.
The cleaning staff: exceptional – friendly, polite, chatty and cleaned the room quickly, efficiently and to a very high standard, daily.
The reception staff: very friendly and helpful and apologetic for their manager’s inability to resolve our accommodation issue.
The bar and waiter staff: on the whole were friendly, polite, chatty with exception of two: a young bespectacled blond haired girl and an aging man named Valises. These two blew hot and cold with different customers, we thought that they were downright rude.
Restaurant staff: again on the whole friendly, polite and chatty with the odd exceptions of appalling service standards during breakfast.
Maitre'd: a little officious when seating you, but very quick to respond to our complaint about the kitchen staff.

  • Liked — The bus arriving to take us to the airport
  • Disliked — Staff, view, beach
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KarlThomasBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We had a great two week stay at the Maris, we booked through Travel Republic three weeks before the holiday after using Iberostar hotels in Tenerife, but we knew that this hotel was on a complex of four hotels, 2no: 5* and 2no: 4* hotels the two 5* hotels, The Maris and Panarama guests can use the other hotels and use the All inclusive bands and get drinks etc.. The Maris is full of Italians and alot were rude and arrogant and acted like the Germans use to ! Saying that our Son use to go to the Kos Bay view hotel were the Iberostar Starfriends were fantastic with all nationalities, Tadas,Sylvia,Guy and Martin were funny and good company for Kids and Adults and also did shows in the evening. The Iberostar staff in the Maris are excellent the Cleaners, the Reception staff, Porters were so friendly, the Restaurant Maitre d's Christos and Dimritris shaked everyones hand or did high 5's with the kids on entry to the restaurant and the waiters and waitresses and kitchen staff were also friendly. The people who made the holiday were also Vasilius the daytime barman who came around the pool to keep you in drinks and was a real laugh and also does some great magic tricks, Kostas the Minibus driver who will take you anywhere on the complex was also very friendly. The food was always, Soup, Fish, white meat and red meat,potatoes,Vegatables, Salads,Pasta dishes, Bavalava, lovely desserts including Ice cream,Fresh Bread,Fresh Fruit,Sandwiches at 11am and cake in the afternoon if you have room . When we arrived we hoped and e mailed the hotel direct , without an answer before arrival asking to be in the Panorama but we are glad that we were not put there as the hotel is too big, you are just a room number, the rooms in the Panaroma have carpet, the Maris tiled and apart from that they are the same as the price for the two hotels on the Iberostar site are the same !. You can also go to the ltalian and Asian Restaurant by the Panaroma pool once a week it is nice to have waiter service but it is a set meal with only a choice of main meal but well worth the visit for a change.

  • Liked — Pool,Friendly staff,Weather,Rooms
  • Disliked — Rude Italians
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EnglishFamily93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My wife booked our weeks stay through Travel Republic two days prior to going. As we were flying with Thomas Cook we wrongly thought they were our tour reps. Unfortunately we fouind out once we had arrived that they were not and that Travel Republic had put the whole package together. We were led to believe , like so many others it appears, that we were staying at the Kipriotis Panaram hotel however we were booked into the smaller Maris hotel instead.

Although firstly dissapointed by this, we were extreemly happy with the spacious, clean , junior suite we had been allocated. The air conditioning was superb which you need when the temp had reached 42 degrees. The large pool was clean and really good. We were all inclusive and I personally thought that the buffet style food could have been a lot more varied.

There are a couple of major problems for British visitors.

1. The entertainment is non existant. There is a Greek guy called 'Steve' who sits behind a keyboard pushing buttons and attempting to sing 6 nights a week at the Panorama hotel and one night a week at the Maris and that is it.....dyer.

2. There was probibly about three British couples in the whole hotel and about 99.9% Italian. The only reps in the complex were Italian and if there were any activities on during the day all the notices were in , youve guessed it, Italian. I asked if something could be written in English however that never happened.
My 14 year old son was bored, bored bored as to be honest were I and my wife.

Kos town itself is a lovely place and you can get there from the hotel on a five minute bus journey that differs in cost from 3 euro80 to 4euro 80 depending on the driver.
There is plenty to see in Kos town and a great Irish bar in Kanaris street called SHINNANIGANS.

Thomas Cook rep in all the Iberostar hotels except for the Kipriotis Maris.

The staff were all very friendly.

Lastly, the Kos airport is something to behold .....

I would not go back to this hotel again

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — no entertainment and most things done to accomodate the italians
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank midimanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
5.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Kipriotis Hippocrates
#10 of 19 in Psalidi
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Maris

Property: Kipriotis Maris
Address: PO Box 337, Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Iberostar Kipriotis Maris)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Family Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kipriotis Maris 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS MARIS is a luxurious but at the same time, cozy hotel conveniently located in Psalidi area, just 3km away from Kos town and 25km from Kos International Airport. With a bus stop directly in front of the hotel and a cycling path extending to the town centre. Kipriotis Maris makes the best choice for sightseeing lovers. Separated from the beach by the coast road alone, this 5 star property features comfortable and spacious rooms built in bungalow complexes all around the pool and garden area creating a fantastic setting ideal for relaxing and luxurious holidays. The property features 144 luxurious rooms including 9 rooms designed for guests with special needs. All rooms are very spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens, the pool or the sea. Rooms are broken down in double rooms and junior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kipriotis Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kipriotis Maris Hotel Psalidi
Iberostar Hotel Kipriotis Maris
Iberostar Hotel Psalidi
Kipriotis Maris Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing