We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting by the sea”
Review of Mavromatis

Mavromatis
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I paid a visit on 2 occasions during a recent holiday to Kos.
We came back again as we really enjoyed the relaxed setting and being able to sit right on the shore and the service and food were excellent.
On our second visit we came down so we could eat at sunset which was beautiful.
We ordered a litre of white wine along with a started of tzatziki and pita bread.
We both ordered beef stifado for the mains. The beef was cooked to perfection and was succulent and melted in the mouth.
I would recommend to anyone wanting a romantic setting whilst on holiday to beautiful Kos.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JamieC955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 285 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2018

Excellent food and lots of it! Free sunbeds for customers to use during the day, another place with a lovely view across to Turkey on the way from Psalidi into Kos Town

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 44GillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

We visited here for an evening meal, the view of Turkey was amazing especially with the sunset. Food was probably the best food we had on the holiday, the squid and Greek salad was amazing! Definately recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lovinthesun26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

This traditional taverna is set in a stunning location on the beach, overlooking the Aegean Sea with Turkey in the distance.

We always received a great welcome and service, especially from the owner who is so efficient, happy to serve and cheerful.

There is plenty of choice on the menu ie grilled meat, fresh fish, traditional Greek food, salads etc which is all delicious and great value along with free cake at end of meal.

A typical meal cost €35 to €40 per night including 10% tip (1 litre of wine, a jug of water, bread to start which we dipped in olive oil and grape vinegar which were the condiments on the table, 2 main meals and 2 free pieces of delicious chocolate cake).

We were so happy with the Mavromatis, we chose to eat here 4 nights. We would not hesitate to recommend this taverna and is well worth visiting from Kos Town!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

food beautiful and very tasty resterant very clean and over looking aegean sea with unspoilt views of turkey and very romantic at evening or night

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank alun f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mavromatis also viewed

 

Been to Mavromatis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing