We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel. Will be going back very soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After reading many reviews we booked a 2 week holiday to the Oceanis for my 50th birthday. As this was during the school holiday’s we decided to try a couple’s hotel. We were a bit apprehensive as to the age range at a couples but were pleasantly surprised at the amount of younger people.
We booked a standard room and were pleased with our room. I do think we were lucky as some rooms were over looked. We had a garden view and as it was at the end of the building, it was quiet. We arrived late but were taken to the restaurant straight away for a light snack which was lovely. Our only gripe was that although the bar was still open, we had to pay for drinks after midnight. We feel that all inclusive should mean all inclusive. We did get a drink in the restaurant but would’ve liked to be able to sit in the bar for one more before going to our room. Our bags were taken to our room and check in was very quick and easy. The room was nice. Bed very comfy. A couple of things in the room could be improved – although the safe is great to have, we feel that the cost of 30 euros for 2 weeks is a bit steep. We have stayed in many AI hotels where this is free of charge. There are no drawers in the standard rooms – just on in each of the bedside tables. We did manage but there is room for them to put more in. The glass door in the bathroom caused us a few laughs. We had read about this in reviews but didn’t really get what people meant. It is a pointless door. It gets in the way of the double sink and is really not needed. Maybe they could rehang them on the opening of the bathroom for a bit more privacy. It was lovely to get a large bottle of water in the room every day rather than having to go to the bar to get some. The cleaning staff were very good. Every day we had a towel sculpture, so this doesn’t just happen in the suites etc. The towels could be softer but when you think how many they have to wash every day, its acceptable. A lot of the pool rooms were in the shade most of the day so we were glad we didn’t upgrade as we wouldn’t have used the pool.
The beach is poor, we watched it slowly getting washed away while we were there. They had try to bank it up with sandbags but this wasn’t working. Not the hotels fault though. We are beach people but this didn’t put us off. We knew it was a stony beach and we bought some beach shoes to wear in the sea. There is a bit of a rush to get beds on the beach and although the hotel has a ‘no towels before 10am’ rule, this didn’t seem to apply on the beach. We didn’t use the pool but it did look very busy quite early in the day. The quiet pool was busy too although we only went there for a late breakfast one morning.
The beach bar was really good for a quick lunch. Bit samey but suited us. The main restaurant was good. Antonis was great. Always polite and willing to chat. We always had house wine which was ok. You get used to it after the first mouthful. The food was good and always a great selection. We liked to eat outside and although it was busy, it was never a problem. Our only gripe is the dress code for men. It states men have to wear long trousers, which we don’t have a problem with but what some men consider to be long trousers is a bit varied. One evening we saw a man in jogging bottoms!!! Many men wore jeans that had seen better days. The ladies dress code doesn’t exist. Many girls were wearing very short shorts, beach wear etc. I’m not snob or prude but feel a dress code which is a bit more appropriate for both sexes should be implemented.
The bar staff are amazing. Pauel remembered our drinks after only a few days and we didn’t even need to ask for a refill. They just appeared. The beer is a bit gassy and the spirits can be strong. No measures here!!The entertainment was low key but we enjoyed it. You can get away from it if you want to, watch from a distance or be involved completely. We were there for 2 weeks so saw some repeats. Maybe a few different acts in peak season.
We ate at the al a carte for my birthday. My husband had told them it was my birthday and thye made it so special. Candles, crystals on the table spelling out happy birthday, a cake and absolutely fantastic service making me feel very special indeed. On returning to our room, the staff had put rose petals on the bed spelling out happy birthday Linda, and balloons. My husband had also arranged for a bouquet of flowers and they were put in a vase. Amazing service from Katie the Thomson girl and housekeeping. Will be going back to celebrate our anniversary next year.
We wanted to change some money at reception but were told they no longer do that. This caused us a few problems towards the end of the holiday as we had taken both euros and £’s so ran out on the last day so couldn’t leave any gratuities which was upsetting.
Will definitely be going back. We have just stayed in a AI hotel in Cyprus with a higher T rating and The Oceanis was more superior and offered so much more.
One word of advice, if you are like me and have a dreadful sense of direction , you may get lost. It’s a maze of corridors, stairs, etc. I don’t think I went the same way back to our room once.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

came with another couple i have had to have a special diet( gluteen free) the restaraunt manager antonis looked after my needs to be able to eat anything i wanted he was there all the time to make sure there was always something nice for me to eat. the hotel staff were all very friendly rooms modern and very clean i would come back for sure.

Room Tip: not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a room with a sea view and a private pool room 3123, excellent. Please don't think of not having a pool room they're great, i know they're more but well worth it. The sea view was not necessary as a great big bush at the end of our pool obscured the sea view anyway, quieter at the front with a mountain view. The hot tub rooms are at the front nearer the sea but not as good as the pool rooms.

The room was great, two very comfortable sunbeds and two chairs and a table outside on our own patio with a sun awning overhead so you can be in or out of the sun when you want. Room 3123 has the sun until early afternoon which for us was just fine. The rest of the room was modern and clean with water left everyday and wine every 2 or 3 days. The maids were pleasant and very good leaving clean towels shped into animals and people each day, very nice.

The restaurant for luch was like a taverna, go to the far end in the trees and outdoors its best, food very nice.
Dinner is in the restaurant presided over by Antonis! Thankyou Antonis you made our holiday food fun and welcoming. We're still listening to the CD of the background music you arranged for us to have. More Greek food please on more nights, if we want English or continental we'll go to London or Berlin.

The pool is pretty but busy if you want the best places get down early. Beach a bit disappointing as rather pebbly but you can always get beds and parasol down there. Entertainment mixed, some very good like the hotel musician some not so great. Not a lot of room in the bar to see the entertainment either especially the more popular ones and the free cocktails are rubbish go for G&T, wine, beer or brandy.

Excursions by Thomson were excellent especially the day trip to Nyseros and the volcano, not to be missed.

Overall a very good holiday again Thomson and a very good hotel, the private pool made it for us. Beach and entertainment were okay which is why its 4 and not 5 star.

Room Tip: Choose a pool room, i know they're more but you won't regret it. Block 3 is quieter which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful setting and lots to like about this hotel. Having read many outstanding reviews we had expected this to out of this world. On the down side we had the following niggles
- poor quality towels in room
- failure to empty bins in public toilets
- poor, limited selection of drinks on AI menu
- mediocre entertainment
- requirement to pay for safe
- 1 Euro to pay to weigh luggage before leaving
Staff were brilliant, pools were great and food was OK. Cleanliness was great in rooms.
Not sure we would go back but would not necessarily wish to dissuade others from giving it a go

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnjm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spent a week at the Oceanis from the 14th September. Firstly I'd like to point out that we are a same sex couple in our mid 20's. We had read reviews that stated younger guests did not receive as much attention and this was absolutely not true! Antonis was always chatty and lovely, complimenting my outfits/make up etc! And all staff treated us brilliantly.

We had booked a jacuzzi suite and were upgraded on arrival to an executive sea view suite with pool! As soon as we walked in we were blown away by the size, decor, view, and cleanliness of the room. Bed was very comfy and plenty of wardrobe space for both of us (being two girls, very important!!) The room was kept spotless all week by our fantastic cleaners and they are always polite and discreet. The only downside to the room was that the pool was very cold, we floated on lilo's until it had warmed up! The pool looks gorgeous at night all lit up, shame it's not heated so you can take an evening dip! Also at lunchtime your terrace/pool becomes a viewing area for all the people walking to the taverna, pull the curtain across if you don't fancy being stared at! Overall the best suite I have stayed in so far on my travels.

Food was lovely, I try to eat gluten free and never went hungry, I've been to a few Thomson couples hotels and this is one of the better ones for food. The salads were gorgeous! Staff in the restaurants are fantastic especially Christina and Antonis, they really work hard!! We always ate early so never had problems getting a table or with food running out. The A La Carte was a bit odd, a thimbleful of champagne on arrival, no water, could only drink soft drinks or beer on the all inclusive. The starter was a mixture of salads and was very nice, we had risotto which was lovely and the cheesecake was also good.

The Entertainment is definitely low key, this suited us as we wanted a quiet relaxing week. However, some of it was pretty awful in the evenings, a fashion show followed by awful disco music is not really a 4.5 star hotel standard! And the "romantic evening" was someone singing tacky songs! We walked away and went back to our suite, if the entertainment is going to stay at that level they really should consider heating the private pools so we could have spent an evening drinking cocktails in the pool, there is only one decent tv channel in English and that was the news, watching that isn't exactly my idea of a romantic evening! I'm not normally fussy but it just wasn't up to standard, and it definitely didn't cater for younger guests!

The drinks also let the hotel down slightly, all the cocktails were made with syrup juice, never had a drop of fresh fruit juice in the whole week we stayed, not even at breakfast. Not all cocktails are free on all inclusive either so can get a bit boring. Some self serve drinks would be a plus too, as sometimes the staff are too busy to serve quickly. Maybe soft drinks and wine on tap would be easier. Our favourite bar was the Anemos beach bar in the evenings, Mynkos and Valentin (sorry if I've spelt those wrong boys!!) are fun to be around and make the best cocktails! For us is felt like a younger, chilled out vibe at the bar, playing better music too! (Where's Michael Jackson?! ;) haha)

The hotel was always kept spotless and really does have beautiful views, we spent most of the week in our room enjoying our pool and the views, so can't comment on the other rooms or the main pools etc. Whenever we walked past there were always loungers available at any time of day. All staff were friendly and worked hard. The shop sold everything you need, including lilo's! The VIP suite is handy if you need a bottle of water or fizz for an excursion but we didn't really use it!

Overall we had a lovely relaxing week and would definitely return. Unless you are majorly fussy I can't see how you could find too much wrong with this hotel! I would recommend upgrading to a suite as they all looked nice. Thomson and the Oceanis only need to adjust the entertainment and the drinks for it to be a truly amazing hotel. Hoping to return soon, been back less than a month and already I'm daydreaming about being back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Holly220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have stayed at Oceanis for a week in May 2013. Our room was at the ground floor wich was awfull. People walking right beside our balcony maade it totally usless. But the worst was no soundproof at all. I couldn't sleep at all for the first 3 nights. There a lot of noise from entertaiment, and after it drunk guests are walking around wih no cocern for those who tried to sleep. Also the small car they use to bring the luggage of the new guests is used at night and it gives a very loud siund when it is backing up. So 2-3 times a night I was woken up by this sound which was similar to fire alarm sound at my apartment at home. Also tghe air conditioning was weered. It was either freezing cold or hot in the room. When set to warm the room it gave away steam.
The food was good. On the down side was the problem to get coffee during breakfast. The waiters bring coffee to the table, but therre are some tables that are situated on the border of the waiter's territories, so they all just walk over like you will be served by another waiter and so on- really frustrating. Also waiters like to chat with some elderly couples so you can wait forever for your coffee as a waiter with a coffeepot is chatting with guests one table after another and all I want is my coffee as I already ate my breakfast.
The entertainment was ok, tables were always full and you needeed to be there at least half an hour before it started to get a place.
Otherwise it was good. Oh, don't go to the trip to Bodrum as it is just a way for the guide to get a commision from your purchaises, you will see nothing worth your money.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Milla52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Already booked for 2014.
Arrived home on 3rd October after yet another wonderful 14 night holiday.

Without doubt the management and all staff go that extra mile to ensure guests are all treated with respect, courtesy and such warmth that at times it is humbling.

Because we have visited this hotel on 3 occasions in the last 18 months I feel justified in my comments and critique ( if any) so, here goes.

You are greeted by warm and friendly reception staff on your arrival, luggage is swiftly taken to your room, and even if you arrive late in the evening a meal will be waiting for you, it may only be a light supper, but very rare any hotel goes this extra mile. Check in quick and painless.

Rooms. Standard rooms are all airy and light, best beds ever, tea, herbal tea, douwe egbert coffee, milk and fresh water replenished every day. Towels are changed every day too, if you read the info card left in bathroom, it clearly states should you require towels changing then leave in shower or bath, otherwise they assume you will be happy to keep another day. The housekeepers do not have psychic powers, so if you don't drop they won't swap!
Bed linen changed every third day, we have never once been let down in this area either. It often makes me laugh when people who stay at any hotel moan about bed linen not being changed every day!? Do they change it every day at home? Doubt it very much, but hey ho, people do love whinging.

Food. In yacht main dining area is superb, buffet style, better than other 'couples' hotels we have stayed at, plenty of fish,pork,chicken,turkey at every sitting the swordfish and salmon were our particular favourites. Salads, fruit, desserts,breads,sauces,cheeses,yoghurt both full and 0% are on offer too. The chef station has pasta every night, also rare beef, lamb, shish and pork crackling on offer too, delicious. Yes, sometimes meat could be a little fatty, but a smile and a comment to the Chef rectifies any gripe you may have, pointless walking away with something you moan about in a review days later, the staff will always do what they can for any guest, even the rude ones.

Food in Meltemi at lunch is excellent, we didn't eat at Beach bar, so can't comment. Pancakes and crepes at the quiet pool that Eleana and Micaletha make are yummy, made fresh in front of you too, no complaints here at all. Lovely ladies lovely relaxing part of the hotel.

A la carte'. Ok, people have criticised this more than anything else.
We have, like most of you eaten at many a la carte restaurants on our travels, and this isn't up there with the best, but this year the improvements were obvious. Met with complimentary sparkling wine and iced water on all tables. Bread rolls, grissini and tapanade brought fresh to each table, followed by plates of smoked salmon,melon,aubergine,mozzarella and tomato. Choice of main course and dessert. Cheesecake, scrummy.
Wine list is good, wines by bottle are priced from 6 Euro upwards, we visited twice, and were not disappointed with the service at all, and a special word for Fotini, who is marvellous, a true professional and deserves a round of applause, the service was excellent, and the attention to both the couples with birthdays and anniversaries was lovely. They looked delighted.

Bars. Service at all bars was exceptional, no long waits for anything at all. Drinks varied and well chilled. Beer a little gassy, but enough choice for other tipples, cocktails scrummy yummy. Hic!

Pools. Clean and clear, yes cold, but after 20 seconds...hey! Big respect to the lady who swam every morning in the quiet pool. A true mernaid.

Some areas could have benefited with an extra quick check with the cleaners, especially the main toilet area in reception, the bins did sometimes over flow, but a nod to reception rectified this. All other areas spotless, so I guess it is the high useage in the main bar area that causes this problem?

Entertainment. Low key, but quizzes, and fun nights were as always, excellent. Greek night is as you would expect, but good fun, and most people just go with the flow, as it should be on holiday. Fashion show, was alright, but something I personally would reconsider for next season. Live group once a week may be something to ponder? Film night a good draw too, as is the free wind surfing lessons and spa treats, an excellent addition from last year to have a taster evening, lovely experience. Thankyou. Spa is amazing.
There is a notice board with day and evening entertainment plus leaflets at reception, so, everything is there for you, if you don't look then your problem.

WiFi is hit and miss!

Smoking. People smoke, some effort has been made to have 'No Smoking' zones in the lobby bar and main pool bar, quite a few tables now have signs on them, so 'YES' management listens, and they cannot wade in and reprimand inconsiderate people who need 20 cigarettes between each course, etiquette is something you either have or not in these cases, and I am sorry, but I know of no non smoking hotels anywhere. So, unless we as non smokers walk round with masks on, smokers are here to stay, get over it, it didn't bother us at all.

Safety deposit boxes. Yep, placed in wardrobes, and yes quite dark, but unless you need to be opening up every hour for your bling etc, once a day squinting isn't that bad, and maybe something can be done to relieve this small gripe? Patty, flashlights please!! Doh!

Beach. Stones and sand, but well documented that it isn't a white oasis, so, moaners..blah!

Staff. This hotel excels in this. Accolades are there on view, and they are richly deserved.
The divine Miss Patty, Antonis who is a real star of the restaurants, fabulous Fotini who is a true professional and a lovely lady. Christos, king of the bar. Eduart, a lovely man who runs the beach bar with ease. Miichaleta my lovely captain, Christina, a gentle kind lady, who astounds me each time we go, she remembers my name and knows what we drink, bless. Roland, my darlin, 'yamas' you are hopefully going to be there next year? Alexa and Pauel, two waiters who remember everything. Vivien, a lovely girl. And last but never least, my beauty Themis. Reception is a better place because of you. See you all in 2014.

We can all find negatives with any hotel, but negatives are very few at the 'Oceanis'
Thankyou, one and all for yet another wonderful holiday.

Shirley and Tony. X


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank delavega_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.4 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
4.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.3 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece (Formerly Oceanis Beach & Spa)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#3 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: $138 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanis Beach & Spa is a four and a half -star “Couples - Adults Only" All inclusive holiday destination with Spa and focused on couples holidays. Ideally located on the outskirts of the quaint and graphic Psalidi area, the Hotel is designed to satisfy the highest quality demands of its guests, providing all comforts for a pleasant and unforgettable stay.At the Oceanis Beach & Spa comfort, luxury and style are celebrated each and every day. There is a world full of sun, sea and pleasure. There is a hotel where hospitality is an art…Concealed on a stunning 70-acre in Southwest of Kos Island, and just a breath away from the lively Kos town, our guests enjoy fabulous blue Aegean views and the ultimate resort experience. The Hotel offers: 382 double rooms, Suites and Junior Suites, 2 swimming pools, Spa, Gym, 3 Restaurants, 3 Bars, mini market & souvenir shop, surfer's shop, internet access (additional charge), sports animators, aerobics, live music, night shows, Greek evenings, car rental, complimentary lounge chairs and sun umbrellas by the pool and beach, complimentary pool towels, terrace solarium, private beach, and picturesque church for weddings. The hotel also provides two tennis courts, mini golf and beach volley. This All inclusive holiday destination combines Kos’ charms, unique hospitality and renowned levels of personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanis Beach Hotel Psalidi
Oceanis Beach And Spa Resort
Hotel Oceanis Beach
Sensimar Oceanis Beach & Spa Resort Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing