We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable! I LOVE IT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

Great hotel, one of the best! And the best on island for sure.
We stayed here for 2 weeks (from 27 July 2007)
Yes, there is no aircon. in lobby area and in dining room... but while I was there, I never have recollected it, it wasn't a problem for me.
Receptionists with such a beautiful names Adriana and Kleopatra was very pleasant with everyone who asked their help.

In dining room you find huge range of fruits, fish, meat, vegetables, spices and whatever you like! Waiters doing their job well (but girls are more accurate and cheerful. In general, Greek women are very pleasant in conversation and have beautiful face features)

I found out that mostly this hotel popular between germans and frenchmen, maybe swiss as well. Also italians, russians, englishmen, greeks....
If you speak russian, english or greek you will not have problems. Unfortunately, I do not know about other languages, sorry

Rooms are very-very clean, have CD-player (no mp3)

IF YOU NEED WI-FI CONNECTION, try to book 348 room (sea view, next to the lobby bar but without noise at night, don't worry). I liked location of my room, it was very close to lobby area and Elixir-SPA (just 1 floor down on elevator)
maybe it is also available in 349
Be aware! 349 and 350 have extraordinary BAD view! You will see just tile roof in front of you!!!

Elixir SPA is nice... but manicure and pedicure are not so good. If you want real relaxation, get appointment with Tatiana, she will make really life-giving massage!
If you have 'heavy legs' Gamathi procedure will be excellent!! (4 days treatment)

Evening entertainments: movies (such as Troya, Alexander, Big fat greek wedding^_^) and shows in Taverna.
If you prefer night life it will be better to go in Kos Town (15 minuts on bus). There is one street full of bars (mini Aia-Napa, you know what I'm talking about))) Ask Dimitris (works in lobby bar and in taverna)he speaks french, german, english, italian, a bit russian. (WOW!!) He will name you right places -))))

If you would like too see more photos, or in bigger dimensions pleasse write me a message).
Have a nice trip!!!!!!!!!!!


  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kalinka-malinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 970 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2007

We had a great week at the hotel at the end of July. It has a certain wow factor when you first arrive in reception and the rest of the hotel does not disappoint.

Rooms were a good size and the air con was quiet so no problems sleeping.

3 of the 4 pools have a very strong salt/chemical content which means you have to wear googles/mask or else it hurts. Kids pool is fresh water.

There is the normal element of the towel brigade first thing in the morning but there are normally spaces somewhere around the main pools.

Food is very good quality ( stayed HB ) although after a week I was getting bored of the 15+ puddings.

Most people at the hotel are non-English ( mainly German ) so if your taking young kids they may find it hard to make friends.

Staff are very polite and the grounds are very well looked after.

Would recommend to anyone and may go there again myself.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RibTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We booked a standard room for us and our daughter through Thomson, then emailed the hotel directly to upgrade to a bigger room which was called a maisonette - had two floors, (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, large terrace.) Overlooked the pool and had a fine sea view to Turkey. Thomson wouldn't upgrade us to this type of room as they required full occupancy (4), but the hotel did it without question. Very efficient communication and we paid the extra at the end of our stay. Would definitely agree that you should choose your room carefully, as some of them have lousy outlooks, brickwalls, corridoors and the road outside. Had a peep at the so called famous class rooms - to be honest they are exactly the same as the standard except with slightly fancier furnishings and the private pools are very small indeed and not a bit private!!

Lovely room, kept spotless, 2 fridges, plenty hot water and towels, powerful shower. The most amazing air con, v. comfy beds with plenty pillows. Adequate wardrobe space with plenty hangers. Nice balcony with a proper airer for towels, etc.

Pool area - or should we say pools!! Salt water is harsh at first, so take some goggles or a proper face/nose mask for the kids if you have one, if not there are plenty to choose from in the shop. Plenty of sunloungers .... and you can reserve your loungers if you like but you have to be occupying them by 11.00 am otherwise the Pool attendent removes your towels and other personal stuff so beware!!

Shop has a reasonable supply of essentials and basic foods but no milk, fruit or bread. Supermarket is a 20 minute walk away - must point out that you couldn't wheel a pushchair down there as there is no pavement and the road edge is unmade and full of potholes and trenches.

Food - lovely, no complaints from us. Lots of variety. Usual buffet fare but of a very high standard and lots of interesing things to try, all labelled, kept hot and fresh. Plenty of fresh fruit and salad, etc. Good variety at breakfast time too. Pool taverna turned out very decent snacks at lunchtime. Smoking/non-smoking halves well separated and signposted, but the odd smokers turned up in the non-smoking half and weren't challenged by the waiters, which was annoying. Makes you appreicate the new no smoking in public places law in Britain!!

Yes, the bar prices are ridiculous. But you could buy your wine, spirits etc, in the hotel shop and have a drink on your balcony if you wanted to, or do as a few people we met did and go to the taverna across the road or into Kos. (frequent bus service all day and evening from outside hotel).

Evening entertainment was dire and made the cost of the drinks even harder to bear! Can't undertand why they don't make more of an effort! Was a poor mix of talentless acts and embarrassing singers. Children's show once a week was ok.

Which brings us to the kid's club 'Grecoland'. Now this was excellent. Very safe and secure. Children from 3-11 kept well occupied with all sorts of activities, cooking, fruit kebab making (which the kids then distributed to everyone round the pool!), crafts, painting, t shirt painting, water sports (banana boats, etc!) - a bit of everything really and our 11 year old was very happy and willing to go to both 2 hour daily sessions. Also teenagers seemed to be well catered for with their own 'Chat Club'.

Spa - expensive treatments but all very pleasant. Hardly saw anyone in there in the two weeks we were there - they even charged to use the water jets in the pool, so consequently nobody bothered to use it.

Have a ride to Kos (bus costs about 50p and is quite quick, otherwise 8 euros for a taxi). We went to Turkey (hotel reception booked tickets for us and you must book before you go as apparently all the boats get prebooked up well in advance.) You might have a long wait at customs and you will need to take your passport. If the hotel books it for you, then you have to exchange your 'voucher' for tickets at the little cafe at the port (next to the passport control place) before you attempt to board the ferry - they didn't tell us this at the hotel and we nearly came a cropper!! Bodrum was ok, lots of bazaar type shops and stalls full of designer gear but not as many traditional shops as we would have liked.

Very hot while we were there (42C) but the sea breezes keep it all bearable.

Service all round was spot on, if a bit brisk at times. Lots of different nationalities. Not many British people. No real feeling of 'Us and Them' as far as the famous class is concerned, they have their own section on the beach but it honestly was no different to the other part!

Flights - middle of the nighters, not much fun and Kos airport was absolute chaos. However, if you ask early enough and they can do it, the hotel will let you keep your room till late. We kept ours till nearly half-past midnight and so could get some sleep, for no extra cost on top of extended stay till 6.00 pm - which we thought was very fair indeed.

In summary it was an overall excellent holiday and we would have no hesitation in going again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank travelpartners05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

sorry this ones a miss.no a./c in lobby and everyone eats breakfast in a main dining room hot and flies all over not even
one flietrap gross.internet room 95 dregrees no a/c and the
main movie room had no or very little a/c.topping it off the a/c
in the rooms was out for my final two days of stay.during a
heat wave.beach very stony as in boulders hurt feet.to be
positive view nice staff trys to be helpfull although often wrong.
i will not go back.two stars at best

Stayed: July 2007
Thank ConnRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We have just returned from a 14 night stay (29/7) which exceeded our expectations. It has been a few years since we have been on a package tour prefering to travel independant, apart from the airport being totally inadequate for the number of travellers we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Yes the hotel was running at full capacity so you could expect the restaraunt to get busy at peak times but on the occasion that we fell for this it was a lot better than other buffet style experiences. The choice of pools ment there were plenty of sunbeds to get up leave and return to another one later, the only gripe was heard of families of maybe 8 with small nippers wanting all to be huddled around the childrens pool they had some problems. The landscape of the hotel is thoughtful and pleasant, and yes the drinks are not as cheep as in some places but it is a 5* and they were not rip off 5* prices. Two good bar - tavernas easily with in walking distance outside of hotel and Kos town on the 10 minute bus ride with buses every 15 minutes is cheep and cheerful. The split of maybe 10% Brits the rest Italian Belgium Dutch Egyptian French and German had a lovely cosmopolitan feel. I am sure we will return and hopefully go for 1 of the bech front apartmnets with own pool.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Great hotel, wonderful design, very stylish.

Food could be better, probably more 4star than 5star, but still good.

Drinks at bars and pool taverna expensive. Small shop in hotel very reasonable as is the mini market across the road. Rooms have a good sized fridge so you can stock up on soft drinks, beers etc.

We went with Thomson and the rep, Yota was great !

Bus outside in Kos town very cheap and frequent.

Hotel is okay for you to exchange dinner (if half board) for lunch, which let's you go out for evening meals, especially good as the entertainment is a little lacking.

Would'nt hesitate in returning !

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank craigpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

My partner and myself stayed at the Kos Imperial from the 7 - 14th July and wow - this hotel is amazing.

Over the years i've used Trip advisor when choosing my holidays but it can be a pain especially when you get mixed reviews. But lets face it you can never please everyone all the time.

Kos Airport

Bearing in mind the airport is relatively small (as you would expect from a small island) we got through the airport extremely quickly and the staff were all very friendly.

Hotel

The first impression of this hotel is brilliant. We arrived at approx 10pm after a long day of travelling and we were gobsmacked. The staff are lovely, welcoming and brilliant with children.
We dont have any children but if children are playing up in the restaurants they will try to keep them occupied so not to annoy other diners which is very good.

The hotel was completely full for the time we were there but you would never know. The hotel is very spacious and never felt crowded. The pools & beach had more than enough sun loungers/parasols for everyone and the grounds were spotless.

The restaurants serve a huge range of foods as you would expect from a top class hotel - the only slightly negative i would say is that in the week we were there they didnt have any themed nights or make any special features of delicacies etc.

Rooms

Our room was number 710 and was in a perfect position. The bed was big and comfy, the water was hot and the air conditioning was arctic if you wanted it. Oh and the view from our room was fabulous. The view across to Turkey on one side and a view of one of the pools and the sea on the other - perfect

Location

The location of this hotel is going to depend on what you like as a preference. True - there is not much surrounding the hotel apart from a mini market and a couple other hotels but if all you want is to spend some time away if a beautifull hotel and relax without having to leave the resort then it wont matter. Kos Town is only a 5 minute taxi ride away and costs 8 euros each way so hustle and bustle is close by if you want it.

Spa

The spa here is amazing. I had 4 different treatments during our stay and they would complete bliss. Definately try the Ancient Body Elixir - it costs a bit but worth every penny just for the experience.

Grecotel were brilliant. It was our first time in one of their hotels and we would definately return. Actually we may be returning in September.

If you have any questions i would be pleased to answer them as this hotel deserves its praise.

Happy Travelling

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank daylulu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,433 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.9 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: $119 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing