We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveler rating
819
391
130
59
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
819
391
130
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bungalow room family bungalow pool bar salt water cd player sea water guest services half board conference room a la carte restaurant sewage smell main building the bus all inclusive option pebble beach breakfast and dinner turkey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is beautiful, the grounds and pools are lovely and clean. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful especially in the dining room and pool bar. Could not fault them. The sunbeds were ok ,and plenty of them ,cushions would have been nice.
Unfortunately I can’t say anything else positive. Where do I start . Arrived at hotel and was taken to the lounge where we sat for a very long time. After 20 minutes I went back to reception to ask what we were doing. She said some one would come and speak to us, that didn’t happen. After 40 minutes , I told her we were off to get something to eat before it closed. Not a good start. No apology or explanation.
Taken to our room which looked very nice ,then explained the mini bar ,
was actually a fridge, with a bottle of water in ,that wouldn’t be replaced and although we were all premium plus, we had to pay for some things on the drinks list. Asked at reception why we had to pay and was told all hotels do this in Kos. Err no they don’t . 3 al a carts which we were only allowed to go to one . The others we had to pay for. Not impressed.
Breakfast was the best meal of the day in a lovely setting. Lunch and dinner was ok but there is only so many times you can have meatballs and spaghetti . Pork and chicken was good and the quality was there but not enough variety. The Thai al a cart was not good. The mushroom soup had huge pieces of mushrooms in it ( 10cm/ 3-4”)and couldn’t eat it with a spoon and was not nice. The Thai curry was a soup and given a fork. What a joke and getting anyone’s attention, well I got my own spoon in the end. Have been to Thailand and this is not Thai food. We started eating out.
After a few days, I started to look at our room. ( see photos) not good. The bathroom is very old fashioned with a curtain over the bath. At least we had hot water,not like some of the guests we spoke to. This is not a 5* room and we paid extra for the sea view. Not what I expected .
When ordering Gordons gin in the bar pool, my husband realised he was not getting it . He went himself to make sure he got the real thing.
Most of the entertainment in the pool bar was good. Jersey boys had a few bum notes. Still makes me cringe thinking about it. Music quiz was good but the guy doing it talks over the music your listening too and with kids running around, made it impossible to hear.
Now for the worst bit. I’m still shocked. I reported my earrings missing from our room at reception. Last minute changed them as was taking a taxi into to Kos town. Left on bedside table. 5 days later I went to reception again and asked why no one had got in touch to be told by a young man, well obviously they haven’t been found. So reported them again. No response . I finally got shown to the customer service ladies office. She said there was nothing reported but would have a word with management and get back to me. I have been home for 11 days and I’m still waiting for a response. No correspondence, no apology no nothing. Well that says it all. I was a little bit angry . While at reception I asked them why did we get a piece of paper in a sort of envelope every time we receive a drink? I had bags full. I can understand if you have to pay but we’re all inclusive. What a waste. Never had this in any country. We’re trying to save the rain forests and must cost the hotel loads. No wonder it’s expensive. Try the recyclable arm bands and save yourself some money.
The main lounge is lovely but has no atmosphere and not a lot going on. Saw people asleep. Now I’m in my 60s and was so bored.
Sum up. Beautiful setting and great staff ( most) certainly not worth the money we paid. Spent the last two years in The White Palace Grecotel in Create .No contest.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos_Imperial, Guest Relations Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lynne M,

first of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you liked our premises and that our staff did provide you with the best possible services.

However, we are deeply disappointed by the fact that your holidays in Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso were not as expected and you did not experience the hospitality services that Grecotel promises to its guests. We have taken note of your Check-in experience and we would like to reassure you that our Front Office Department will enforce some corrective measures in order to ensure that all the expectations of our guests are met. Regarding the Mini Bar, with our Premium Plus Package all guests receive a welcome offer upon their arrival and it is filled only once. Nevertheless, with the Premium Plus you could supply yourself with water from all our F&B Departments. In addition, all Premium Plus guests have a complimentary a la Carte Dinner and after their first visit they have a €15.00/person discount for the next time. All this information is shared, of course, with our guests via our website or via Guestportal. It is indeed a shame that you did not enjoy our Thai a la Carte Restaurant, since it was our most visited restaurant with the best reviews. Regarding your comment about the "all-in" receipts, we do share the same opinion with you - that it is a waste of paper, but it is something that is mandatory for the taxation authorities based on national legislation.

Now, as regards to the incident with your earrings we would like to inform you that soon after the incident was reported to our Reception, our Housekeeping Department searched the Lost & Found Storage Room but nothing was there. It is a pitty that you left our hotel with such a bad impression, which does not correspond to our high standard accomodation services.

Thank you once again for being here with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in one of our Grecotel Hotels and Resorts.

Kind regards,

the Management Team of Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well I will admit we did not get off to the perfect start but Miss Katerina and the staff have made amends. The service by all the staff is second to none the poolside bar staff are amazing. We would come again but there are so many other places we need to visit. At times some of the other guests were a bit aloof but if you love good food, good alcoho and good entertainment and don't look down your nose at people you won't go far wrong at this resort

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank simon382019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos_Imperial, Guest Relations Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your recent Grecotel Kos Imperial experience on TripAdvisor!

At the outset, we would like to share our disappointment about your first days, and at the same time to say how happy and proud we are of our staff, as their contribution was and still is inconceivable. In addition, we are glad to know that your enjoyed your overall stay with us, as our one and only objective is the satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you once more for being here with us and we do hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

the Management Team of Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

THIS IS NOT A 5 STAR. Was going to wait until we got home to write this however after the fifth stone cold shower we are about at our wits end. The pools are salt water and not heated so forget swimming unless you would like hypothermia. The showers evidentially are also not heated. You get about 2 minutes and after that enjoy yet another ice bath. The beds are like sleeping on concrete not sure if they forgot our mattress? The staff are lovely when serving at the bars but asking reception for water was as though I’d asked for a pot of gold. They do not supply water to rooms without an additional charge. There are also charges for any premium alcohol this is NOT in the all inclusive so don’t believe that either. The buffet for dinner is tasty but this is your only option apart from one night where you get included an a la carte meal. There is no iron or ironing board in the room (something which is required to make a 5 star). Overall the hotel is very clean and tidy and for the majority of the time staff are hospital but it is certainly missing vital essentials to call itself 5 star.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos_Imperial, Guest Relations Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

first of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your recent Grecotel experience on TripAdvisor!

We are disappointed by the fact that your holidays with us were not as expected, as our sole objective is our guests' satisfaction. Regarding your remarks about our pools, we would like to inform you that our Group is commited to its environmental policy and thus does not provide outdoor heated pools. Instead you could use our indoor heated pool which is located in our Spa.

As far as it concerns our Premium Plus Package, we would like to clarify that upon our guests' arrival the Mini Bar is filled only once and as Premium Plus guests you could supply yourself with water from all our F&B Departments. Last but not least, our bars offer a wide variety of drinks that the majority of them falls in the Premium Plus Package and we are really sorry that our options did not cover your preferences.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back in one of our Grecotel Hotels and Resorts.

Kind regards,

the Management Team of Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved our holiday, fantastic hotel, really lovely beach, lovely restaurant with lovely staff! I am coeliac and I can't recommend enough for this hotel being so amazing for catering for my gluten free diet! Breakfast had gluten free cereal, bread and muffins to offer and on an evening the chef could make me pretty much anything I asked for including, pizza, pasta and burgers! And it was always delicious!! Loved our stay here and enjoyed hiring the bikes for a short cycle into kos town!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank craigandlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos_Imperial, Guest Relations Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for staying here with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor by rating us with 5*!

It is really rewarding to read such lovely words from our valuable guests. We are really happy that both our staff and services did manage to accomodate your requests and dietary preferences. We will forward all your comments to the interested parties, as they are proof of our hard work and commitment.

We thank you once more for your positive review and we do hope to have the honour to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

the Management Team of Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really got aggravated at the beginning as we had booked a side sea view and they tried to palm us off with a ground floor family room with no sea in view! and then had the cheek to say don't you like it! We booked well in advance in order to get a sea view so no we didn't like it! The attitude of the reception staff needs to be addressed too. We had to stay in it for 1 night but with the helpfulness of Jet 2 we had the side sea view we booked, we could only see a really small amount of sea though! Not at all what we expected.

Points we liked the grounds are outstandingly beautiful! Breakfast is excellent too. A la carte restaurant excellent too. A bus stop to Kos town just outside. Entertainment Il Divo group we found to be outstanding. Some nights were good but some mediocre.

We found the dinner buffet to be badly arranged with meat, fish and vegetable dishes all over the place. If they put each in separate places it would be so much better! So hard that by the time you navigated the food it wasn't very hot.

Exhorbitant drink prices with cocktails 10 euros and even a non alcoholic cocktails costing 6 euros.

Room tip: Not a best view of the sea Room 309.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos_Imperial, Guest Relations Manager at Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

first of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your recent experience on TripAdvisor!

We are really sorry that your expectations were not met during your stay and that you had this bad experience with the room allocation. Please, do rest assured that our Front Office Manager does her best to accomodate all our guests' wishes and preferences and we are really disappointed that it was not the case with you. Regarding your remarks about our Reception Staff we have forwarded them to our Front Office Team for further discussion. In addition, our F&B Department has taken notice of all your comments concerning our Buffet and our drink prices in order to consider any future rectifying actions, as our one and only objective is the best service of our guests.

Once again thank you for choosing Grecotel Hotels and Resorts and we do hope to see you again in one of our Hotels.

Kind regards,

the Management Team of Grecotel Kos Imperial Thalasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews