We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel.”
Reviewed May 13, 2010

This is a really beautiful hotel. Photos do it justice. Staff arfe wonderful. So friendly and helpful. This was our 3rd stay in the hotel and are going back in June 2010. Has private beach with sunbeds and umbrellas. Beach is not sandy but no beach in this area is. Food very good. Good variety. Bus stop outside hotel for Kos town or car hire available also. Drinks are on the expensive side but this is a five star hotel so that is normal. Entrance to the hotel is stunning. The first thing that greets you is the infinity pool. Absolutely beautiful. Accommodation in the bungalows is great. Pool right outside your patio door. Great for families with small children.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    269
    82
    32
    17
See reviews for
410
369
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The network of Grekotelej has again confirmed that hotels of very good level. The thought over and convenient territory, excellent kitchen.
It is a lot of pools
Good conditions for windsurfing
However there are also unpleasant moments:
1. A beach - sand only ashore - in water stones and building dust (that is already completely not clear - why have not cleaned?)
2. Pools - only salty water that personally for me a minus. It was possible would like one of pools to make with fresh water
3. SPA - all Indians have left to India..... Accordingly AYURVEDA was not....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2009

After a long and tiring journey we were quickly and efficiently checked in by the reception staff and then shown to our room.
The first impression of this hotel is brilliant.
We booked an upstairs lovely bungalow room overlooking the pool and had a reasonable sea view. Balconies are spacious; the view from our room was fabulous. The bedroom was big and very clean, well furnished and have efficient air conditioning, cleaned daily, fresh towels, stereo CD, free TV , fridge, , great bathroom with plenty hot water and towels and powerful shower etc. The maid, who serviced our room daily, was very friendly and helpful getting fluffy robes, and slippers.
The pool areas were lovely (There are 4 (or is it 5 pools!) very clean, plenty of sun beds (all had spongy mattresses and pillows) and umbrellas were always available. we loved the lazy river and the warm water jets in the outside Jacuzzi pool. There is a sandy beach again with an adequate supply of sun beds and umbrellas.
There is a very efficient waiter service which enables you to have your drinks etc brought to your sun bed.
Breakfast and main meals are taken in the buffet restaurant, you find at least 10 main dishes!!!, fish, meat, all labeled, kept hot and fresh, were plenty of cereals, huge range of fruits, vegetables, spices and whatever you like! What I like is that the food is cooked in front of you in small amounts and you help yourself as opposed to the food being brought out from a kitchen.
Lunch was taken in the tavern by the pool. Large choice of salads, huge pieces of swordfish, lobsters and salmon cooked fresh and choices like lasagna, chicken, and beef. This again, was excellent.
But the best of all was the PAVILIONS a la carte restaurant!!!
The view through the terrace is stunning looking over towards into the deep Ocean blue. We did actually enjoy the luxury of the A la carte restaurant one evening and although a little bit expensive (but worth a visit), it definitely made our holiday fabulous.
Christos the guitarist with his romantic songs is perfect!
The service was top notch; Antonis the Maitre and waiters are lovely, welcoming and brilliant with everyone who asked their help. Excellent friendly and professional staff!
As the island is so small you can see most of it easily.
Asklipiion worth a trip. Zia is beautiful tourist village up in the hills and the view across the islands and to Turkey are amazing. We also went to thermes about 3 miles up the road from the hotel but worth a visit.
There are also plenty of archaeological sites (see Hippocrates tree) and a castle to visit in Kos Town.
My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable 1 week stay at the Kos Imperial Hotel.
If you like your holidays lazy and luxurious this is the place, beautiful pools, gardens, grounds, excellent food, and helpful staff. We found every member of the hotel staff very friendly, no-one would pass without smiling and saying hello.
Overall we had one of the best holidays here and cannot wait to return this summer. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OdiseasAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Huge resort hotels are not usually our style when we travel, but never having been to Kos before, this Grecotel just 5 minutes south of Kos Town seemed like a good bet. And it was. We were pleasantly surprised.

The staff was extremely accommodating. We got to the Kos via ferry very early in the morning and took a taxi to the hotel (8 euros). We had to wait about an hour but they put us in our room at 9am at no additional charge! (They offered to eat breakfast at the buffet while we were waiting. It was a feast!) Overall, the staff was top-notched. I'm always impressed when I hear a front desk person competently addressing guests fluently in four different languages.

Our ocean-view room was further back on the property, behind the huge swimming pools, but the view of the ocean and the sun rising over the coast of Turkey was stunning. The room was "Western-style" with a balcony. Very well appointed yet it did have those common "twin beds pushed together" one finds in European hotels. About a 4-5" thick mattress - not the most comfortable - but the bedding was nice and made overall sleeping okay.

Probably the most memorable part of our stay at the Imperial Thalasso (there's another Grecotel on the other side of the island) was dinner at the restaurant right on the beach. The food was fantastic, the waiter was perfect, and the view extraordinary.)

The beach is a bit "smooth rocky" so it's advised to bring some swimming footies. They have a number of pools, including an indoor pool, but the water seemed warmer in the ocean. Again, the pools are several, with different depths, and spread out so you can kind of "choose your crowd."

As opposed to the other islands on our Greek trip, there didn't seem to be too many Americans on Kos or at the resort. It's neither here nor there, but the clientele at the hotel seemed to be mostly Russian and German with a smattering of British. Okay with us. When we leave the States, we like to leave the States.

The taxi to the airport takes about 30 minutes and costs 40 euros if you book a reservation with the hotel or 33 if you have them call a cab by "radio." It was worth the extra 7 euros to us to be sure we had a cab when we wanted it.

The spa services are quite extensive and we decided to get a massage at the last minute the night before we left. Well, the spa closed early and we were too late. So not much to review there. There was a masseuse going around the beach but somehow we missed that too.

We used taxis to go into the town of Kos. There are none stationed there but I think we had to wait only five minutes for one to arrive. They have car rentals on the property as well as bicycle rentals. (Bike path all the way into town, so you don't have to worry about riding on the road.)

When we go back to Greece - and we will because we love it - we'll probably go back to Rhodes. However, if we do go back to Kos, I think we've found the best, or one of the best hotels, on the island. Definitely would recommend the Imperial Thalasso.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pramstroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

This Grecotel is rated as a luxury hotel. I would rate it as a very good 4 stars hotel (European standards). The location is good; not far from Kos town. We have rented a car and toured the island. Note that Psalidi (which means scissors in Greek) is one of the most windy spots of the island. So you will never be too hot! Grecotel hotels are always fantastic qua service and (authentic Greek) food. The reception, bars and restaurant areas are really beautifully decorated and well maintained. I think the bedrooms are fine but need to be redecorated. The old tv sets should be replaced by flat screens, the beds are extremely hard. If you take a room in the main building try not to have your room near the front. You can hear the buses and vespas at night... We changed our room without any problem. The cleaning lady was very kind and helpful. The beach is not sandy - so if you do mind this go to the other side of the island where all beaches are sandy. We passed in front of the Grecotel Kos Royal at Marmari (All-In) but were not impressed. It looked old and more like a three stars hotel. Our teenager kids enjoyed the windsurfing school located next to the hotel. Don't go to the Padi watersports centre on the Grecotel beach. You will pay 30% more. As already commented by other members; the drinks are too expensive. Fresh orange juice in the morning will cost you 4,50€. A wine bottle about 17€ (the cheapest one). The hotel shop is also overdoing it qua prices... One yoghurt; 2,20€, etc... The bedrooms are all equipped with fridges. Everybody is buying water bottles, fruit, etc... at the small shop opposite the street. If you have teenagers they will enjoy the karting located next to this shop. What else? The pools are at the cool side (August). The seawater was better. As a Grecotel privilege member we got 3 hours free internet connection per day. It is worth subscribing - it is free of charge (after having visited one Grecotel). Last but not least: our kids (twins of 15 years old) had a good time but would have preferred a place with some more animation. One small word about the visitors: 40% of Russians, 25% Germans, Italians, Belgians, British and some Dutch. You usually get "good" people. Of course there are always exceptions.... :)
I hope this review will help you a bit in choosing your next holidays! Take care, Sara

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINDSOR,UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This was our third stay at a Grecotel property and the most stressful and disappointing. This hotel is an overbuilt property with poor architectural design and terrible sound insulation in the main building. Every square inch is crammed full with salt water pools [ no chlorine], and overcrowded tiny beach frontage and building upon building.
The furnishings are poor; the bedroom furniture is not functional and worst of all , we arrived to stay in a very expensive two bedroom two bathroom maisonette, to find no wardrobe in the master bedroom; sheets covered with beach sand due to failure to service the room as a departure for a new stay, and worst of all, cockroaches running up the headboard and under the bed !
Definitely not suitable for the FIT traveller particularly since the hotel appears to have the policy of cramming groups into the surplus rooms whilst pretending to be a 5 star hotel.
After moving twice and making voiciferous complaints, we were finally upgraded to an acceptable suite. The only redeeming part of our stay were our evening meals in the a la carte restaurant where Antonis the Maitre d' took good care of us, and Mimosa the room attendant who was a genuinely committed member of staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London - UK (but Italian)
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Extremely good hotel for a resort-like holiday. 5-star luxury standing which might be borderline in other countries but for Greece is very well deserved: top notch service is sometime not as "automatic" as in other similar standing places but if you seek it, then it is provided.

Rooms are very good, landscaped gardens and pools amazing (loved the waterfall cave for free jacuzy feeling), the beach is nothing special, but the pools are more than enough anyway.

Food is good and there is plenty of it, service in the restaurant spotless. We tried the fish a la carte, and it was good and not terribly expensive.

Only big negative, the ambience and hotel are so nice that you are not incentivised at all to leave it and explore the island... but after all, i understand Kos is not among the best ones anyway... Great for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Property: Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing