We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Excellent Stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having just returned from another séjour at the Grecotel Kos Imperial, 3 full weeks this time, I am again heartily recommending this hotel to all. (although I do see many comments that this is more suitable to families, and I would partially agree, I would still come here as a couple)

Again,
Food - top notch, excellent
Accomodation - very good - improved wt addition of new flat screen TVs that have USB adaptor input so can just bring along your HD and watch your own movies/programs (esp handy if you have children)
Facilities - excellent
Environs - excellent
Staff - as always, friendly and will do everything in their power to accomodate your requests.

To address some complaints seen in other reviews:
- Russians... hmm - OK, yes there are MANY of them. But then a few years ago, it was mostly Germans, and before that, it was Brits. Anytime you have a dominant group, others will find reason to complain.
The one complain that is valid, is in regards to the behaviour of their children. They are unruly and not controlled, and the parents (the persons whom are actually responsible for them) do absolutely NOTHING to control them.
The staff are not there to control your children, and if they tried, they would guarantee a major scene. Perhaps the management has a role to play to remind parents of the ettiquette expected at a 5* hotel though...

- Animation ... certainly not as good as last year, but not very far off. I dont understand what people are expecting - Cirque Du Soleil ?? Get real. These are very good AMATEUR entertainment animation team. They do a fantastic job looking after the kids, and they put on a good show most evenings.
My only critique would be that perhaps they should try and encourage/force more interaction from the hotel residents - because sometimes, we need a big nudge to get up and get active.

Lastly, a general comment to people going to the Kos Imperial, or to any other Kos hotel... Get out. Get out and see Kos town. This is a lovely little town, nice shops, cafes and general ambience. Hotels are great, but dont go and spend every hour inside the confines of the hotel. go and explore, go eat at a few local tavernas, and sample the greek nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarek Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    254
    71
    27
    14
See reviews for
371
335
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is ok but is not worth the price you pay for, you have better hotels near the area and much cheaper, my partner did not like the food also is and very average but is for us in very good location will we use it anymore ...... do not know ?

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 388DavidL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice, and exceptionally clean. The restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. Meals were pretty average. The spa area is very nice and relaxing.

We were initially very pleased with our room until the noise started from our Russian neighbours who were extremely loud and insisted on shouting not only during the day but also during the night. Siesta was an impossibility although the hotel did deal with my complaints by sending security round, which stopped the noise for a while.

We complained and were offered an apartment, which while okay, but we didn't feel reflected the supposed 5* accommodation we had booked. The Reception staff while polite were less than helpful, although the manager was helpful but due to the hotel being fully booked couldn't offer us alternative accommodation at the same quality as we had booked, so we stayed put. We were given spa passes to help relax us after our ordeal, which was very nice.

Meal times were a bit of a feeding frenzy and going into the restaurant to get food felt a bit like a rugby scrum, the Russians don't queue, and just barge you out of the way, and walk into you. When we were sat in the hotel they just stared or glared at us which was quite uncomfortable.

Overall my planned relaxing week's holiday became very tiring and stressful and instead of coming home all relaxed and refreshed, I felt more stressed than when I left England.

There is a smell outside the hotel which smells like sewage, which we noticed on entering and leaving the hotel, it wasn't so bad in the hotel and we could only smell it occasionally.

Lovely island, nice people, would definitely return but not to this hotel. For us this holiday was an expensive waste of money!

Room Tip: Not sure any room would have been any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have just returned from my 7th visit to the Kos Imperial but I won't be back. I have always enjoyed a very relaxing time at this hotel but not this time as it is now over-run with 1000s of noisy children whose parents (mainly Russian) do nothing to control them (nor do the staff). There is a very large pool beside the pool bar and very large children's pool close by where you would expect all children to be and in the past this has always been the case. However, at the quieter pool beside our apartment it clearly states no children under 14 unless accompanied by an adult and no diving or jumping in. Unfortunately this rule was ignored and our peace was spoilt by small noisy children whose parents were nowhere in sight. I mentioned this to the reception staff who couldn't have cared less. All the staff in the hotel are very friendly with the exception of the stuck up and unhelpful reception staff. In the hotel brochure it says to speak to reception if you have any problems or suggestions - however don't bother as they are not interested.

The restaurant staff are great and in the evening the head waiter did speak to a family whose children were running wild all over the restaurant. Given it is a buffet restaurant and everyone is walking around with plates of food this is a disaster waiting to happen. There were a lot of couples there and especially some elderly couples who did not look happy about the out of control children. There have always been families at this hotel and in the past it was suitable for both couples without children and families but this is no longer the case - there is no escaping the badly behaved and often very rude families with children.

The food in the restaurant is very good especially the breakfasts. I agree with the other comments about the cost of drinks which are especially high. The entertainment in the lobby bar in the evenings was pretty poor. We didn't go to the pool bar in the evenings as all entertainment was geared towards families.

The apartments and rooms are very nice and kept clean. I also agree with other reviews about the condition of the sunbeds, many are broken and need replaced. There is the usual problem with people putting towels on sunbeds very early in the morning and then using them for about 30 mins during the day - again the staff do nothing to resolve this and I suspect during July and August many people will be pretty angry that there are no sunbeds available despite only towels being on the beds and not people.

Such a shame as I have always enjoyed this hotel but there are many better places to stay in Greece.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Lets start with the positive things ,the food is very tasty and good quality, we had a family room,these are quite good and big.
The bad things that makes me believe that it is not 5 star is that first of all it is built in a place ,psalidi that many hours of the day it smells sewage and you cannot afford this.we tried to eat our dinner outside but we couldnt ,furthermore, the ombrellas and the sunbeds in the pool are very old and some of them are broken.
Regarding the staff,some of them were friendly but not all of them,for example the spa personnel were completely impolite.
The aircon in the restaurant was turn off and the hot days with 38 degrees we tried to eat sweating and when we ask the supervisor he didnt do anything and he replied to this very impolite.
At last but not least the ANIMATOR proved to be absolutely AMATEUR making the nights boring..All the nights that we were to see the program both for children and for us was so boring that very few from thepeople there were seen them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was torn between granting 3 or 4 stars in this case. It is a good hotel! Rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and the meals are very good for a hotel, if not excellent.

The guest mix is okay but the majority are Russians and Germans and almost everyone has kids.

Strong points:

- Restaurants
- Lovely gardens and pools
- Rooms are very spacious and clean
- Huge diversity in sport activities and food selection

The hotel seems like a very good shot for families, you can have your kids entertained, there's a lot to do and something to find for everyone.

The location is fairly good except for the beaches, but you have the town center about 5 KM away, you can easily rent bikes, cars or some sort of track rides. You also have a very good bus connection nearby.

Weak points:

- One of the worst beaches on the island
- It smells like sulfur and worse in the evening and early morning
- Prices for drinks and food are unreasonably high

Unfortunately the beach was very disappointing which is a huge point if you plan a beach holiday. It's basically just stones all over, which wouldn't be too bad but you also have to walk about 15 meter into the sea until you are away from stones. Get bathing shoes for protection or you risk bloody feet and hurtful tripping, also get them before the holiday starts or you see yourself paying 50 bucks for a piece of plastic just to be able to bath at the hotel.

In the morning and evening there's a stench like sulfur nearly all around the hotel, it might be because of the time I was there or other reasons and I don't know off, so it might not be around at other times of the year.

Last point I disliked was the high prices for room deliveries and drinks in the evening. You pay 10 Euro for a soup of the day + 5 Euro delivery charge if you want it on your room, nearly 20 for a sandwich and the list goes on. The prices for drinks were 3.50 Euro for a bottle of Water, 3.00 Euro for a 0.2 coke or orange juice and 20.00 + for a small bottle of wine.

Conclusion:

All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are a family or if you don't have a problem being around hundreds and hundreds of people and families. You can easily get to nice beaches with a bus or car and the prices for sun beds are reasonable all over the island.

Room Tip: - Try to avoid rooms in the near of the pools if you want it quiet. - The suites with own pools are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksbanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent 10 days at the Grecotel Imperial and here is our review:

> Location: 4 kms away from the center, but it takes only 10 min to get there with the local bus (lines 1 or 5 - bus stop at the entrance of the hotel)

> Facilities:
* Swimming-pools and gardens: 3 swimming-pools for adults, 1 children pool (perfectly suited for babies and small children) and a lazy river.
Everything was perfectly clean and well-maintained. We never had a problem to find free sun beds, as the hotel was clearly not fully occupied. Maybe it's gonna be another story in july and august...
* Restaurant: you can lunch/have dinner inside or outside, plenty of tables available, live cooking and appealing buffets.
* Beach: surely not the highlight of the hotel, as you will find a part of the beach with sand and another part with stones, separated by an alley. No surprise, this is mentioned in the hotel description. So, good shoes are needed if you want to take a waterside walk or have a swim. For real beach lovers, they should go in another part of the island, in Tigaki for example.
* Hotel shop: hard to believe, but it was cheaper than in the mini-market on the other side of the street! You'll find everything you need: food and drinks, clothes, personal hygiene products, children games, books, etc. On the down side, the people are not really friendly...
* Grecoland: although we didn't left our daughter in the hands of the monitors, we visited the Grecoland and it looked very welcoming and clean, we guess children had a great time there.

> Service: from the reception to the waiters, everyone was polite and helpful.

> Room #559: on ground floor, with a small garden and direct access to one of the swimming-pools. While our 3-year-old daughter was sleeping, we could rest in our sun beds and stay close to the room, just great! Fridge, LCD screen, safe, Hi-Fi device and a brand new airco system. Of course, not everything looked new, like the bathroom with a USSR-era hairdryer and a tired shower head, but all in all, the room was perfectly to our taste.

> Catering: we never get bored of the buffets, even after 10 days! Fish and meat, warm and cold dishes, plenty of vegetables and fruits, and always some specific meals for the kids. Special mention for the breakfast: so much choices that you could keep eating until lunch! And special drawback for the breakfast as well: it's always a bit deceiving for that category of hotel not to propose fresh orange juice, only a "chemical nectar" available from a machine. As a compensation, one person prepared every morning delicious smoothies...

Maybe interesting to know is that there is a car rental desk inside the hotel. Cheaper than the prices we found on the Internet, but if you have time, you can always compare with other car rental offices in the street and find a better bargain.
FYI, we paid € 142 for a Peugeot 207 during 2 days (baby seat and all insurances included).
We spent € 20 in fuel for the 2 days (going from Kos to Asklepeion, Zia, Mastihari and Kefalos = +/- 140 km)

So, we really enjoyed our stay in Kos and we recommend this island and this hotel for a relaxing time. But should you be more interested in cultural visits, Rhodes would definitely be a more suited destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHV009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
4.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
13.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Platanista
Hotel Platanista
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel

Property: Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Address: Psalidi 1, Psalidi 853 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#6 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Kos Imperial Psalidi
Hotel Grecotel Kos Imperial
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing