We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with just one or two niggles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Platanista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Platanista
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with just one or two niggles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, on a Thomson half board holiday. The hotel in general is excellent. The staff are efficient and friendly. I would make special mention of the barman at the bar next to the dining area, who produces some wonderful cocktails. The rooms are the top end of what you could expect on a package holiday. The food is good and quite varied from day to day.

The hotel is in a good position, just about 3 km from Kos town. You can walk it in about half an hour. Or you could hire a bike from the bike hire place just outside the hotel (6 euros a day), or get the bus which in theory goes every 15 minutes (1.10 euros each way if you buy your ticket in advance from the booth, 1.20 if you pay on the bus). If you cycle, there is a dedicated cycle track all the way to the town, separated from the traffic and flat all the way.

A couple of little niggles about the hotel. I really do expect to get free Wifi in a hotel these days; hotels which do not provide it (like this one) are becoming the exception. I also expect to get a free in-room safe, which this does not provide. You can hire a safe behind reception which is not very convenient for putting stuff in and taking it out; and if costs 16 euros for the week.

Overall though, a very enjoyable experience. If I went to Kos again I would definitely stay there; and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had a room in one of the outer blocks rather than the main building. We were very happy with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrieinnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    205
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
195
443
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

the hotel is gorgeous - set up in various blocks surrounding the pool area.
The food (we were all inclusive) was fantastic, the breakfast and dinner were buffet and the food was fabulous. the lunch all inclusive was alacarte, which was a nice suprise! All delicious.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms very clean.
the hotel has a bit of a manmade beach down the road which was ok, but more pleasant beaches to be found in other parts of Kos.
the only downside is that none of the rooms have a sea view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a ground floor room,the block inbetween the two pools,nice and quiet.clean rooms,comfortable beds.Excellent food and choices,car,pushbike, wmotor scooter,buggies all for hire nearby 30metres away down the lane,hotel situated just off the main road to Kos and beach.We hires car and motor scooter and did the whole island,easy to get around.would definatly recommend the hotel.staff very friendly and helpful,entertainment every night,bus stop on main road just 1 euro 20 each way,run till midnight if you wanted to stroll into Kos at night.Great holiday :)

Room Tip: Entertainment usually ends at midnight but if want quiet room choose one that isnt facing the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 552sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very good Hotel but with few drawbacks:
1) There is no free wifi. But you can buy it at www.wiplus.com, Hotel surroundings are a wiplus hot spot area. It means if you and your family are heavy users you need to buy 7 day ticket for €50. If you buy one day ticket is expensive and because t its not always available, propably too many connections, it can be waste of money. It's not a four star hotel frendly.
2) Electricity, in two days there were twice electricity "free" moments. One was longer than 1.5 hour.
3) Swimmingpool, every morning anyoing reservation off the poolchairs in the early morning.

You need to use taxi (€8 singel way) or bus to get to the city center. Advise: You can also hire some bikes for €25 a week.
Food, excellent. Just one thing that can be better. Breakfast, orange juice, there is not fresh fruit.

Hotel area is nice, friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KuprasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Platanista Hotel. We last stayed her fifteen years ago and were very impressed with the standard of service, customer care and the hotel facilities. We were delighted to find that it was still as good a holiday experience as it was all those years ago.
It is a family owned hotel and they are very hands on maintaining a discreet presence around the hotel , keeping an eye on standards.
The design of the hotel buildings are very pleasing on the eye being done in a Mock-Moorish palace style, It is made up of several blocks varying between two and three stories high. It has two good sized swimming pools along with a smaller, shallower one for young children.Unusually, there is an abundance of sunbeds and parasols and although the hotel was busy, we did not experience any problems finding spare ones.
The rooms are reasonably sized and the air conditioning worked well. There was a fridge but it is solely for mini bar stock. For entertainment there was a flat screen TV that broadcasted the usual foreign stations plus Sky News and BBC World. The bed was very comfortable but a couple of reasonably comfortable chairs would have made a big difference to room comfort instead of the two, straight backed dining chairs that were provided,
The bathroom was a decent size and had a hairdryer, bath/shower etc.
The grounds are very pleasant with a variety of plants, shrubs and trees. There are two sets of tennis courts, a well equipped children's play ground, a mini golf course and a sand pit for boules. There is also an animation team running a variety of activities during the day to help keep those guests who want to be more active entertained.
The dining room has a pleasant ambience but the food serving area is congested at times. The food was very good, well prepared and presented. There was a very good choice at both breakfast and dinner. Dishes were a mixture of international and Greek traditional. I am vegetarian so choice is often a problem for me but I always found a variety of dishes to eat.
There is also a poolside snack bar which provides a good variety of meals and sandwiches. Prices are very reasonable and servings generous so we had lunch here most days.
Drinks at the hotel were on the expensive side. A vodka and coke plus a beer was just over ten euros and an ouzo was three euros twenty. Not out of line with what one would expect to pay in a good hotel though.
The staff in the hotel are very professional but also very friendly. Despite working very hard they help to create a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and do their best to accommodate any requests that guests may have.
The hotel is situated about thirty minutes walk from the centre of Kos town but there is a half- hourly bus service that runs with a bus stop 100 metres from the hotel. There is also a bicycle/scooter/car hire business fifty metres away. Cycling is very popular on Kos and the journey to the centre of town is on the flat all of the way.
Only one negative note. We arrived at 11.00 PM so missed dinner. Unfortunately there wasn't anything laid on for us to eat so we had to wait for breakfast. We did get our missed meal though on our last day when we were provided with a lunch time buffet. We did have to ask about it though, with it not being automatically communicated to us. Also, there was not a complimentary bottle of water for us to make a hot drink and we had to pay for one out of the mini bar.
These were minor niggles though and did not detract from our favourable impression of this hotel. It is very well run. The facilities are first class and it is an extremely pleasant environment to spend ones stay. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great pool area, great variety of food and a good location not far from Kos Town and plenty of Tavernas. What brings the review score down are the dated rooms and the charges for nearly everything. If you stay here expect to pay for: Pool towels, hotel sun beds on the beach, wifi, tennis courts, and mini golf. Drinks are expensive at the hotel too.

The rooms were ok, but dated and the facilities within were poor. We had no tea/coffee making facilities and when we asked at reception for a kettle we were told by the gentleman that there were only 5 and they were all in use and perhaps one would be available in the next few days. With no success we asked the restaurant manager to chase it up and the next day a kettle arrived in the room. I would suggest speaking with one of the managers in the first instance is the way to go at the Platanista.

On the whole the staff were very friendly, we were especially impressed by Maria who runs the daily events, she was fun and made yoga, aqua fit and the other games most enjoyable. Another favourite was the lovely lady who made our tasty pancakes every morning.

The holiday was fine, but for the cost of stay we expected more from the Platanista, especially in the rooms. We enjoyed it, but we said that we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pheonix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My friend and I returned from the beautiful Island of Kos this morning after 2 wonderful relaxing weeks. The hotel has everything that you want from a holiday. All of the staff work extremely hard, from the cleaning and kitchen staff, waiters, bar staff, reception, animation team to make everyone's stay a happy and memorable one. The cleanliness of the hotel and the choice and quality of the food are excellent. Close to Kos Town if you wanted to take a 20 minute walk. The only criticism I would say is that the drinks are very expensive. We highly recommend this hotel and we definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 486 which was overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheekychicCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
3.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
4.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#5 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platanista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platanista

Property: Hotel Platanista
Address: Psalidi 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Family Hotel in Psalidi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Platanista 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to recreate the look of a castle, the family-run Platanista consistently wins awards for its high standards, excellent value for money & caring staff. This impressive hotel is in a quiet position only 200m from the beach, 2km from Kos town, & 1km from the marina. A simple, yet aesthetic, environment worked out to accommodate the visitors who would want to experience something exceptional from the ordinary. A thousand and one nights in Greece... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Platanista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platanista Hotel Psalidi
Hotel Platanista Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing