We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,473)
Filter reviews
1,473 results
Traveler rating
606
468
226
99
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
468
226
99
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhalf boardturkeykos towntriton restaurantsister hotelsea viewthe busjunior suitered sky barreception staffroom safeplenty of sunbedsthe hotel shopper daysouvlakimain restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
833 - 838 of 1,473 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel,after an upsetting start(2 hour delay,flight full of 18/30 year olds who were drunk and sick on the plane and the taxi collecting us at 5am having a puncture) we thought surely things can only get better,and they did.From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were really impressed by what we saw,grand entrance,hugh reception area and the most friendly reception staff,our room on the fifth floor was excellent with a great sea view(the 7th floor has the most spectacular Panoramic view towards Kos Town across the sea to Bodrum and to Therma).Excellent dining room very friendly staff,good range of food for all tastes,Beautiful sunsets from the outside dining area(pity some think the rule about wearing long trousers to the evening meal does not apply to them althought it is quite clearly stated in the lift that long trousers must be worn)Excellent positionfor Kos Town as the No1 and No5 bus passes the hotel on the bottom road cost is 1 euro 40 Kos Town is very pleasant,lots of Tavernas along the front,beautiful harbour full of boats offering trips to Bodrum in Turkey for 20 euros and only taking 20 mins to get there,lots of interesting architectual sites and the 2000 year old Plane Tree of the phycician Hippocrates ,this is where he is said to have sat teaching his pupils all those years ago.Beware of the prices at the bars arond this area they charge 5 euro for a small beer and tried to fiddle us and charge 11euro for 2 small beers.You can get busses to all other parts of the island from Kos bus station but the most fun way to do it is to hire a buggy,we did for 3 days at a cost of 150euros for 3 days,these are great and caused quite a lot of amusment as two OAP negotiated the tricky mountain roads upto Zia a beautiful mountain village which is well worth a visit.As th3e island is quite small you can see it all in a day,we went down to Kefalos the furthest point away from Kos Town(in the buggy)lovely sdandy beaches especially Paradise Beach,lots of Tavernas but the far end near the harbour is quieter.
The beach near the hotel is a mixture of sand shale and stones but once in the sea it is so warm it is worth it,hire beds(the yellow and green ones)from the friendly chap who runs the watersports boat for 5 euros a day and he brings you water melon free of caharge every afternoon.Excellent watersports(paragliding for 35 euros per person Bannan Boat and another form of inflatable which rides the waves.Buy wonderful fruit from Nicholas who parks his fruit van everyday at the entrance to the beach and you are set up for the day with all the fresh fruit you can eat.All in all we had a wonderful time and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and we will go back only down side no coffee after dinner unless you purchase it from the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

We booked a two week stay at this hotel for a family of two adults and two children in June of 2008.

This was our second stay with Iberostar, and certainly won't be our last.

Our holiday was booked with Thomas Cook, and we travelled via Gatwick for a two week stay on a half board basis.

The accomodation we booked was a Junior Suite, which upon check-in at the hotel was upgraded to an executive suite.

The suite was spacious, well decorated, clean and well maintained.

On entering the suite you passed through the second bedroom which comprised of two single beds, wardrobe, desk and chair & mini bar !. The bathroom was next, and what a bathroom ! - clean, spacious, and well laid out. The master bedroom was huge, with a king size bed, lounge sitting area, satellite TV etc. Our balcony had a fantastic view over a perflectly flat expanse of sea towards Turkey.

The general decor of the hotel is of a high standard and very much worthy of its accredited stars. The staff are again always polite, attentive and customer orientated.

The main restaurant where we took breakfast and evening dinner was superbly laid out, and in particular we enjoyed sitting outside an dining alfresco (dinner is particularly good 20:30hrs onwards, seeing the spectacular setting sun behind you). The choice, taste and presentation of the food is superb, and is very much the sign of a good hotel.

The terrace areas around the pools is again very well laid out and immaculately clean, albeit we noticed how much busier it was becoming during our seond week. The pool bar area was again well served, although you'd notice the difference in service and measures dependant upon all inclusive or half board - the former being the better. Occasionally we ate at the restaurant around the pool terrace area, and the service and choice of food was of a high standard.

Drawbacks - only one, the lack of evening entertainment. "Steve" did a good job with his nightly singing / organ reditions every evening except Tuesday, and again on a Tuesday evening the greek night with greek music & dancers was again very good.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank KentAdmiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Room
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were given an absolutely massive room, a double bed, single bed, and 2 sofa's. So you can imagine how big it was.. Cleaned all the time, and overall the staff at the hotel work and clean it constantly, and are very efficient.

Food
Buffet was good, we were on half board, and found quite often if we had a late breakfast and early dinner, we could skip lunch. Food did get a little repetitive, so would recommend if you are going for longer than a week, perhaps not to do half board.

Pool
There are 3 pools, one for babies, a shallow one, plus a deep one, sun loungers were plentiful and there is a pool bar. You can also use the pools at the other 2 iberostar hotels that are all on the same complex.

Beach
Wasn't too happy with the beach situation, the island has some lovely beaches, in marmari, tingaki and paradise beach. To reach the beach at the hotel here you had to cross a main road, the beach was pebbly, and you had to pay for a sun lounger. As a result we didn't bother going to the beach here.

Trips
Dont book through the reps, as the boat trips are quite expensive. Its cheaper to walk along the marina and negotiate a deal with a boat, with one of the staff the day before. Alternatively there is a kiosk at the harbour (both bus 1 and 5, from the hotel 1euro 30 per each way go there, takes 5 mins to kos town). This is open between 1pm and 2.30pm everyday. They also do trips to lesvos, symi, rhodes, turkey etc.
We did nissoryros (volcanic island) through the kiosk. 25 euro per person plus 5 euro when you get a bus to top of volcano. Also it was a superfast boat that took 50 mins from kos town.

Car Hire
We also hired a car (sixt car hire, in the foyer of hotel, 45 euro per day) and went to kardamena, (lots of young english), paradise beach, (one of the best beaches on the island), marmaris, kefalos, the pretty village of zia, and mantichmari (lots of nice fish restaurants, okayish beach). We did this all in one day.

Buses
You can get buses to a number of locations on the island. We got a bus to lambi (bus number 2 or 4 outside the bottom part of the marina, heading away from the harbour). This is where the local greek people go, okay beach, not too crowded.

We got a bus to marmis, one day (good beaches, only 2-3 restaurants and a couple of supermarkets). Also a bus to tigaki, another great beach, but a little more crowded. Sunbeds tend to cost 6e or 5euros for umbrella, and 2 sun loungers. Both of these you get from the middle of town, where the long distance buses go from. Go early as they sometimes leave before they are supposed, if they get full enough.

Sightseeing
Lots to do in kos town, and you can get a mini train to the askeplion from outside the harbour.

Restaurants
For food in kos town, head to the old town, where there is a square, and all do local greek food, and its cheaper than eating near the harbour. There are loads of places that do happy hour cocktails.

Overall
Really enjoyed the trip immensely, kos is beautiful, you can get around easily, plenty of trips to do, plenty of lounging around. I can't wait to go again..

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank anjemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

I have just returned from a week in Kos, staying at the 5 star Iberostar Kipriotis Panorama hotel – it was a fantastic holiday and certainly the best hotel I have stayed in. I want this review to help as many people as possible to decide if it’s the right hotel for them.

I’ll start by writing what we wanted. This trip was for me and my girlfriend who are both 26 years old. We wanted a holiday where we could essentially do nothing except sunbathe, swim in a clean pool, eat good food, drink and relax. We weren’t looking for a sightseeing tour, we didn’t really want to have to leave the hotel complex (so we booked ‘All Inclusive’), we weren’t worried about nearby beaches & were not fussed about evening entertainment – we wanted pure relaxation with a touch of class.

We felt the Panaorama would give us all this, but I must admit on the build up to the holiday after initially booking the hotel 2 months ago, I became worried about some reviews stating that on arrival, guests had been relocated to the 4 star Maris hotel on the same complex. Also, as mentioned we had booked ‘All Inclusive’, but found it difficult to find out exactly what was included, specifically drinks – was it only local beer and wine? Were spirits (vodka, rum etc) and/or cocktails included? Finally, would half-board guest be treated with priority by staff as they would be paying for drinks/meals and might therefore leave better tips? We needn’t have worried about any of this, and I’ll explain why.

1) Panorama guaranteed - If you want to ensure you stay in the 5 star Panorama rather than the 4 star Maris, then make sure that when you’re booking your holiday that it states clearly you will be staying at the IBEROSTAR KIPRIOTIS PANORAMA. Many of the Travel Agents we saw online were selling deals to the ‘IBEROSTAR KIPRIOTIS PANORAMA-MARIS HOTEL’ or ‘PANORAMA-MARIS COMPLEX’ - if you book a deal stating this you may save money, but there is a very good chance you will be put in the annex sister hotel the Maris. It’s a nice hotel but it is not 5 star & not a patch on the Panorama in terms of food, facilities and staff.

We had paid a bit extra when booking through the TravelRepublic website to ensure we were staying in the Panorama, and also booked a sea view room, and ensured I confirmed this via email and over the phone to the travel agents on the run up to the holiday after reading the reviews that had put doubts in my mind. Make sure you do the same, it’s worth it…the view from our balcony was incredible!

2) All Inclusive - as I said earlier, we didn’t want to spend time travelling 3km to nearby Kos Town in order to find decent restaurants/ bars, we wanted to have it all on site and for it to be 5 star in quality, so we went All Inclusive. You are given a wrist band when you check in so that all staff are aware that anything you order in the restaurants/bars is already paid for without you having to give your room number.

Going AI was the best decision of the holiday - the food was excellent, the service outstanding and almost all drinks were included. In the restaurants only beer & wine are available, but in the main bar all drinks; local beer, local wine, spirits, cocktails, soft drinks, tea, coffee, milkshakes etc. are included. The odd thing is excluded such as champagne and the more expensive wines, but that is to be expected.

We also took advantage of the other onsite facilities such as tennis for no extra charge, and the soft drinks, bottled water and beer in the minibar was all included and filled up every morning.

3) Priority service – simply nothing to worry about, the staff were faultless, so polite but the hotel never felt stuck up or pretentious. All guest were treated the same, we had excellent table service at all the bars and in the restaurant, it really adds to your stay when you feel the staff actually care about you when they serve you. If you feel you get good service then tip, if not, don’t, it won’t affect how quickly you are served, and this is what you expect from the staff at a 5 star hotel.

This covers my 3 worries, but there were so many other positives. I must mention how clean the hotel is, the cleanest I’ve ever stayed in. The reception area as you walk in is so grand, the pool area is gorgeous & the views from the sea view rooms are breathtaking.

Our room was spacious and cleaned everyday. Not just the beds made, but cleaned completely, with all out clothes folded for us - something I’d never experienced before at a hotel! As mentioned we had a big balcony overlooking the sea.

In the main bar the selection of beers, wines, spirits and cocktails are outstanding. There is also the pool bar during the daytime where you can get soft drinks, water and some alcoholic drinks as well as tea, coffee, fruit juices and milkshakes (all included in AI). The staff at both bars are very friendly. I saw one review on Trip Advisor suggesting the man at the pool bar “refused to speak English, only German”. Well I imagine he was talking about the main barman who works behind the pool bar everyday and was JOKING! When we first went to the bar and he realised we were English he spoke German for the first minute but it was clearly jovial and we were soon talking to him in English. He helped my girlfriend find her purse when she dropped it by the pool area so we liked him! :)

The buffet food changes everyday for breakfast, lunch & dinner, and includes everything you could ever think of, the freshest greek salads, breads, pastas, greek and international dishes cooked in front of you by the chefs, and far too many puddings :)! We were there 7 nights and didn’t get bored, and I feel there is enough variety to keep you satisfied for 2 weeks as it’s ever changing. You can enjoy your dinner out on the terrace overlooking the sea and the gorgeous sunset, it really makes your holiday seem special.

There is also the themed restaurant which covers Asian 3 nights a week, Italian 3 nights a week (again all covered by All Inclusive), and then on Tuesdays nights is Greek night down by the Pool area, where they hold a Greek BBQ Buffet with Greek band, music and dancers, all guests are invited down and it’s a really great atmosphere.

Every other nights the entertainment is low key, with a Greek guy called Steve playing keyboard and singing some classic pop songs from the 70s/80s/90s in quite a cheesy Greek style in the main bar terrace – it’s really background music and lets you get on with your night, drink the night away overlooking the coastline/pool/sea and this was perfect for us. If that’s too low key for you, then you can always head in to Kos Town, but we never found this necessary. A quick example in the differences between the Panorama and the Maris – we heard Karaoke coming from the Maris Bar on a couple of nights, both times sung badly and loudly…if this had been the entertainment at the Panorama we would have been disappointed as it certainly removes the 5 star feeling, but this is more your thing then maybe the Maris would be the better hotel for you, I got the feeling it may be better suited to families with young children.

Final positive – the mini-market inside the hotel sold all the essentials, sun cream, food, drink, cigarettes, souvenirs etc so you can get everything you need from here for reasonable prices (20 cigarettes were 2 euros, about £1.60). They also had English newspapers ‘sameday’, available by about midday/1pm each day.

There were just one or two negatives to mention; the beach right next to the hotel and exclusive for guest of the Panorama/Maris is small and not very nice. We only popped down briefly before returning to the pool area! Also the entertainment in the evenings may be too low key for some (not us, but others may want more). The only other thing is the fact you have to pay for the safety deposit boxes, so we didn’t bother and locked our valuables in our suitcases. But that is literally it!

So that is my review, it’s longer then I had planned but it’s worth it if it helps someone to decided to stay here and enjoy as good a holiday as we have just had! If you stay at the Iberostar Kipriotis Panorama hotel, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank NikSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

5* hotel? Ha! Not likely.
Based on our experience with Iberostar hotels in the past, we were expecting much more from this hotel.

The hotel is in a beautiful location, close to the beach, easy walking distance to Kos Town, but that is about it.
The hotel very obviously caters to an older, German clientele. The food is heavy, filled with cream and butter, and very bland. Greek cuisine is wonderful, and there was a noted lack of anything local. The only evening entertainment at the resort is a keyboard player we lovingly nicknamed The Barracuda for his love of cheesy suits and bad music.

We booked the hotel as an all-inclusive package, expecting the service we received at the Iberostar Varadero (an exclusively AI resort in Cuba). However, preferential treatment is given to the half-board customers as the staff received more tips from them as they were paying for drinks, food, etc at the time of purchase. At the lobby bar, a server would take our orders as soon as we sat down, but we would then wait up to 30 minutes for our drinks, while the half-board patrons would receive theirs immediately. Service at the pool bar was just as bad. One of the bartenders would not serve us because we didn't speak german.

There was also a lot of confusion as to what was actually included in our all-inclusive package. We were not able to eat at the snack bar by the pool without paying, and random drinks were not available. Internet prices were unbelievably high (8Euro for 1 hour), so to just check our email, we had to wait until we went into town, where prices at the internet cafes are much more reasonable (1Euro for 1 hour).

Based on our overall experience, we would definitely not travel to this hotel again, and do not recommend it for an all-inclusive vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank minisjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews