We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kipriotis Hippocrates
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Psalidi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

our first time at an all inclusive hotel, we didn't know what to expect and initially we were very impressed with the hotel. However there is room for improvement, firstly the mattresses are sooooooo hard. Why? It made for disturbed sleep and intense aches and pains which if wasn't for the receptionists supply of painkillers (strange that) we would have considered going home. The very noisy airconditioning generator(?) at the side of the hotel. And of course the showers - all two of them. We witnessed guests at the reception pleading for a room where they could leave their belongings and have a decent shower because the shower facilities for the large number of guests who had to vacate their rooms at midday and on a late checkout were appalling! We had to wait in line half undressed in a very hot airless room, with no door so very little privacy - to use the one meagre shower in which we had to wade in the previous occupants murky bathing water! Then you had a choice of dressing in an equally dirty toilet,or dress in front of the half dressed queue, or join the mixed sex of people who were trying to dress and uphold their dignity within the gym area.There is enough room within the gym to screen an area so people can change in a more civilised environment. Shame on you Hippocrates Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Insist on a room above floor level and not overlooking the restaurant and club (thats where the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corfuduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in our hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
Our mattresses are bought based on the preference of the majority of our guests, following a research that we did and the outcome led to the specific “firmness”.
We are displeased that this was a problem for you and will keep note of your comment.
As for the way exaggerated description of our showers, since you stayed with us, big improvements have been made, also after your initial comment and the conversation we had. An additional room with two more showers was opened. There is staff giving fresh towels so that our guests don’t have to use theirs or worry about carrying them back. There is staff cleaning the toilets and showers constantly. The showers are fit with hairdryers and hooks for clothes to hang, and when necessary there is a time-slot schedule for our guests to use the facilities in order to avoid overcrowding. Furthermore, this all was communicated to you already and proves that we do take guests’ comments seriously.
We invite you to visit our hotel once more and see for yourself the improvements made and are available to discuss further your issues at wecare@kipriotis.gr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great hotel, even better then our expectations. Location near the beach and close to Kos was good. Its was peacefull, no noise in the evening. The food was really good and there was enough variation. Every evening there was a special theme, we liked it that we didn't have to go to the buffet in the evening. Very friendly staff that makes you feel like a special guest, not as a client. Thanks to a very professional captain, Birginia, everything goes smoothly, even when its busy. You can rent cars and bikes for a cheap price. We will surely reccomand this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The location, food and rooms are excellent. The close proximity to Kos Town by bus is ideal for trips into town and the service was very good thanks to Virginia (Penelope) and her team. Just one major factor lets it down, the sunbed availability !. You have to go very early to put your towel, to have a sunbed. Ortherwise you have to go to the beach, where you have to pay.
Airco was ok in the room, but no airco in the hotel reception, restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yves T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your review from your stay in Kipriotis Hippocrates. Your comments about the loungers will be noted, however we would like to note that it is almost impossible to cover the whole garden area with loungers. We would like to assure you that our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

On the whole, the hotel is fantastic, we had a very relaxing week in baking weather and brilliant food.
The room, hotel and pool area was spotlessly clean, the towels and bedding were changed every day (maybe a little wasteful?) and the fridge was great for keeping water for the nights.
The food was possibly the best i've had on an all inclusive with a great variety and plenty of it. If you're not very adventurous with your food, it maybe a little samey with pasta, salad and chips being the staple, but the food on offer changed every day, from the fresh grill, local stews and kebabs, there was certainly plenty of choice and the theme nights had superb food, but took away the choice of the buffet.
The pool was lovely, was very warm and never too crowded, there were plenty of sun beds, however there was the usual problem with people putting towels down in the shaded beds just incase they fancied some shade and so beds were empty all day - this is just ignorant people, not much the hotel can do about their guests!!
The downsides were a little annoying....
The air-con in our room didn't work, we highlighted this to reception on the day we arrived but nothing was done about it, the tiles were so hot sometimes it could have had underfloor heating but the room was the closest we could have got to the pool so being able to use our own loo kind of made up for the heat
The bar staff in the Hippocrates seemed to be in competition to see who could be the rudest, this was a common impression with people we spoke to, the staff would actively ignore people waiting to be served, even if they were the only person at the bar.... luckily we found the bar in the Maris next door, where the staff coudn't have been nicer, maybe a few lessons need to be learnt on customer service - i fully believe the holiday would not have been as enjoyable if it hadn't been for the Maris bar.
On our last day we had a 12 o'clock check out, you can imagine our surprise when at 11.30am we went back to shower before checking out to find our toiletries had been disposed of and the room, with our cases in had been made up for the next guests.... I for one wouldn't have wanted to be the guests arriving in that room at 4am the next morning to find it hadn't been cleaned between guests!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CerianJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay here at the Kipriotis Hippocrates. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Please rest assured that all your comments about our bar staff and the air conditioning have been discussed with the relevant departments of the hotel and that action will be taken as a result of your feedback.
Again, thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service on your next visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just back from staying at the Hippocrates / Marais hotel in Kos My friend and I stayed there for 9 nights Hotel is spotless food fantastic with plenty of choice including themed nights at no extra cost , the hotel staff are great ,nothing is to much trouble for them . Hussan in the Hippocrates bar was always happy to talk to you and have a laugh each night , the waiters , waitresses all worked hard to ensure everyone was cared for. The hotels work as one and the staff in both are to be commended Will be going there and would recommend it to anyone to try. Young ,Old and families .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to read your review in Trip Advisor, therefore we would like to thank you for your good words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us in Kipriotis Hippocrates and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in soon, for another memorable summer holiday.
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A times you cant fault this hotel. The location, food and rooms are excellent. The close proximity to Kos Town by bus is ideal for trips into town and the food really was of exceptional quality for a all-inclusive. Just one major factor lets it down, the sunbed availability !. The use of two hotel pools should be a massive bonus but on more than one occasion there simply were not enough beds for the number of guests staying. The reception puts the problem down to people reserving beds and whilst this is an issue it simply shouldnt be....just get more beds around the pool....it isnt rocket science. Why is this a major gripe....because if you are all inclusive guest and forced to used the beach sunbeds....you have to pay and also cant use the all-inclusive facilities you have paid for....the management should get a grip of this (significant number of guests had problems with this) and turn a good hotel into an excellent one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avisius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your review from your stay in Kipriotis Hippocrates. Your comments about the loungers has been brought to our attention, however we would like to note that it is almost impossible to cover the whole garden area with loungers, as walking corridors are necessary.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

just returned sunday 23 june after waiting 1 hour for passport control to open at kos airport //waited 15 mins to open when we landed //the staff at reception were very frendly booking was made easy george the porter took us to room 180 a clean large ground floor room//we asked for 2 extra pillows and the control for the air con which we had in a few mins a good start //new proplem the keys to door is abit of hit and miss they sent a man to look at it didnot improve the other 4 doors next to us had same problem so never locked the door from inside when we went to bed //off to breakfast plenty of fresh fruit and yogurt great /plenty of other choices from 7 .30 to 10 am //lunch from 12.30 to 2 30 again plenty of choice dinner from 6 .30 to 9 00 great yes but the dress code no singlet vests shorts is not my idear of dress code along with babies crying not good //they have a theme night for dinner in sister hotel waiter service lovely meal good but again a baby on the floor waiter had to walk around it no dress code again //now off to the swimming pool there are 2 water was heated nice and warm good yes /try swimming with people jumping into the pool diving into the pool and throwing balls across the pool hit twice not good //so lets lay on a sun lounger they all had a towel on them asked to see the manager about this problem but was fogged of each time on last day sat 23 june frends went to pool at 6 30 am only 2 sunbeds with out towels //got to see manager told him the problem he has told me the staff as of sunday 24 june will remove towels lets see //there was a large amount of sunbed locked away in in door swimming pool told me they needed mending hope they get repaired soon //there are 2 lovely young ladies maria she enterain you at killer darts she worked hard and very frendly as we found all the staff //the lady kept our room very clean for us /final note the hotel was always very clean food good //

Room Tip: rooms will face the pool and sea or other side nice view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maltaboyaddlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your review from your stay in Kipriotis Hippocrates. Your comments about the loungers will be noted and we would like to assure you that our staff will keep up the hard work in order to keep a friendly and comfortable environment for a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a return visit!
The Guest Relations Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
2 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.1 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
0.7 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kipriotis Hippocrates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kipriotis Hippocrates

Address: Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Psalidi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Psalidi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Psalidi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Psalidi
Price Range: $115 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kipriotis Hippocrates 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KIPRIOTIS HIPPOCRATES is a fantastic hotel combining the charm and elegance of modern comfort together with the flair of a 4* summer resort. Set in quiet surroundings, with excellent sea views and extensive gardens, Kipriotis Hippocrates is the ideal destination for an amazing & relaxing holiday. It is conveniently located in Psalidi area, on the North - East coast of the island of Kos, just 3km away from Kos town, 25km from Kos International Airport and a breath away from the beach. Directly in front of the hotel there is a public bus stop with a regular daily bus schedule and a cycling path leading all the way to the town centre. The hotel is ideal for relaxation and the best choice for sightseeing lovers. The hotel also features 172 standard rooms. All rooms are spacious with modern - easy living furnishing. They all have large verandas with view either to the gardens or the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kipriotis Hippocrates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Kos Town
Iberostar Hotel Kos Town
Kipriotis Hippocrates Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing