We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not exactly 'paradise'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not exactly 'paradise'”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After booking earlier in the year we noted some of the reviews already posted on this complex, having just returned I can see why some holiday makers have experienced 'problems'. First the good: this is an ideally placed complex for exploring kos town, it's also close to the beach with some good restaurants close by. The complex and rooms are average for Greece, it's better than some we've been too over the years. Now the bad: the holiday company brochure we booked with and the apartments websites are totally inaccurate in their description of the facilities available. The most glaring deficiency being that the complex doesn't provide food on establishment, not even ice cream! Yes it's theoretically self catering but you'll have a job on, your only option as we found is to decant to other nearby complexes for lunch, a bit of a pain when your settled by the pool. The complex has a total lack of atmosphere both during the day and at night, don't expect any music at anytime around the pool or bar area, this is fine during the day but we found it rather strange in the evenings, we just stayed away or went up the road to the Irene apartments our teenagers found this establishment much more to their taste.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of atmosphere don't go here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    15
    10
    26
See reviews for
28
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our friends booked us in at Olga's, and after reading the reviews I was dreading going. But I must say we had a lovely time, we had a one bed superior apartment that was clean and spacious, the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every other day. We had no problems with Olga at all she was always helpful and friendly when we spoke to her. The pool was amazing, very clean and just the right temperature, maybe some people expect too much and just enjoy moaning!. Kos town is about 30 minute walk away but very lovely at night when its all busy and bright, worth a visit for some lovely food, if you do go to Olga's, for budget accommodation its well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank debbzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Apartment clean and in a reasonable state .Bear in mind this is budget accommodation. Bed was comfortable. Supposed to have free wi-fi, but owner was always turning it off as it cost money. Our rooms were below the owners daughter's apartment, constant yapping from their little dog, furniture scraping across the floor, and I'm sure that she just liked to strut around in high heel shoes.
Good local shop, beaches were not brilliant, about 5 minutes walk away, but small man made beach ran by a family was good, paid for a lounger for the day, with a couple of free drinks and fresh fruit brought round.
Do try the big doughnuts that a guy brings round the beaches......awesome.
If you like hiring ATV's (quad bikes) don't use the one near the apartments, they are rubbish, walk a little way towards Kos town, they are better value and much better.
Kos town was a 20/25 minute walk away, with some lovely restaurants and cheap shopping.
If you do get transport, go to Pyli village for cheap tourist shops and a fantastic restaurant called the Roof Garden.
All in all a great holiday, let down by the accommodation, Accommodation may have been budget, but the holiday cost us over £1000 for 1 week in June, and would not use it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alienwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice place in general, good looking pool...although never went in. There's a lot of problem in this hotel from paid AC to Grumpy owner... You named!
First of all you have to paid for AC which is a little bit weird: If you don't want to pay which I did not want, they offer you fans. But they don NOT work, then you have to go again to talk to the owner and she change the fan for you knowing that the new one doesn't work either, and so on.. That happened to me and I saw that happened to a fmaily of three that arrived later. The owner and her daughter pretended that they didn't know that the fans didn't work and kept on offering them to the customers... Shame on them!i booked the hotel trough a Australian site and I had a really good deal! As soon as the owner found out she was completely rude to me...Sahme on her!
Rooms were basic with basic silverware and facilities to self-catering
No towels or toileteries. Over the week that I was there, The electric power failed and went down... that means not even the fans worked! The owner said that the problem will be solved in a couple of hours whinc turned to be a couple of days:(
A beautiful island with not such a good hotel and special a BAD customer service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cf0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Psalidi hotels

Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Olga's Paradise is value for money if you are looking for basic accommodation. The place is spacious but looks very tired. The pool is large and in front of the accommodation which is set back from the road and on first approach the place looks closed. A long drive takes you to reception; a car park is at the back. The rooms are large and the cooking facilities very basic, we had 1 odd cup 1 odd mug and a small selection of plates, a small saucepan and a scratched frying pan. We were enthusiastic about having an electric kettle but it didn't work - back to the saucepan. The worse thing was the 2 beds, the base on both had collapsed and the mattresses had dips in the middle. Everything needed cleaning, the cutlery, sinks and the bathroom. But having bought bleach, tea towel, washing-up liquid etc. if you don’t mind doing this it was was still good value. The room was quiet at night and backed onto a green field with the usual cats and some chickens. Wi-Fi is advertised but this can only be obtained by the pool which when the sun is shining makes using it very difficult. Most morning’s wi-fi was not available. Sheets are only changed once a week (I had to ask for this) towels changed twice. I don't think Olga's strongest point is customer service; she shouts at residents and barely manages a 'good morning'
Tiles around the edge of the pool area are dangerously slippery as are ones in the apartment. With a bit of care and attention this could be a great holiday property. Unfortunately we collected about 30 nails in the gravel where the cars are parked so that’s one problem sorted. The lower ground rooms would be very hot in July and August; there is no a.c. and just one patio door at the back which looks out onto a 3 foot high walled garden. This area wasn’t brushed in the 2 weeks we were there. We had 2 power cuts, after a day without electricity I asked why and within 10 mns the power was back. These apartments are approximately 20 mns walk to Kos town centre.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is on a ground or first floor, not semi basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ok, lets start by saying we have done lots of self catering holidays in Greece and we know it can be basic but Olga’s Paradise Apartments took this to another level, unfortunately a lower level.

We arrived just before midnight and met by Dina who would take us to our apartment, we had requested a room on an upper floor and this was stated on our accommodation voucher. We were surprised when she started to go downstairs, we explained that we had asked for a room on a higher floor but were told this was the only room available and that it was our fault as we had only booked 10 days before arrival. The room was a good size, with 2 single beds and a divan we checked the utensils crockery etc. This consisted of 2 dirty mugs 4 glasses one knife, one plate a bowl, saucepan, funnel (not sure what that was for) and a kettle. I managed to get 2 teaspoons from Dina so that we could make some coffee in the morning, that’s about as far as we self cater so we didn’t require much else. The next day we took a look at the terrace area, what a dump that was, an old traffic cone upturned bucket and various other rubbish was strewn about and the area had obviously not seen a broom or a mop for months, we have taken some photo’s to show this.

We also met Olga on the following day and she said the apartments were only 50% full, it would seem that the top floor was empty and they had no intention of letting anyone up there, she then started to rant about us only paying €10 per night and that in August we would be paying €40 for our room.

The pool area looks quite nice but the sun beds are made out of hardwood and there are no cushions, this makes them extremely uncomfortable, the idea is you buy an airbed and put that on the bed, we decided then and there that we would just use the apartment for sleeping and go to other nearby establishments to use their pools and facilities.

In the 2 weeks we were here the towels were changed twice and the bed sheets once, we don’t think the floor was swept at all as there was dirt in the corners all the time we were there.

We will certainly not be returning here, there are many pleasant and clean self catering apartments nearby, try booking Nicon Apartments (Thomson Holidays), Iris Apartments or the Irene Apartments, any of these establishments will provide clean and comfortable accommodation and show you real Greek hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al+Lyn-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The apartments are a good 20 minute walk away from the town, just off the main coast road. On the way to town there are some tavernas and bars, walking back late needs some caution, there are no street lights. Close by is a small supermarket. Nearby beaches are terrible, made from what looks like builders rubble and covered in seaweed. You pay for sunbeds.

Olga’s Paradise is set back up a long drive so make sure the taxi driver drops you in the complex not on the road, it’s a long drag with a heavy case. The apartments are a ‘U’ shape around a big pool.

There are pros and cons to the apartments. The excellent plus points are that the grounds around the apartments are nice; they have free roaming chickens too! The pool is big and there are sun beds around it. Our apartment on the ground floor was huge, loads of space, the bathroom is also big. There is a double built in wardrobe and shelves.

We had a spare bed too which was handy to put clothes on. There was also a sensible size dining table and three chairs, a sideboard with two cupboards and drawers and a separate chest of drawers and bedside cupboards. Out the back is a table and chairs accessible by sliding doors and a fitted mozzie net. The biggest benefit of here is that it is quiet, after visiting 8 other islands and not getting a decent night’s sleep anywhere, this was a delight!

The downside is a myriad of little things that annoy. The place is not the cleanest. The bathroom has black mould on the tiles under the sink, the shower head leaks and sprays water everywhere (no bathroom mat provided), everything in the bathroom was grubby with old soap etc., the shower tray was stained. There is a shower curtain (these always make my skin crawl as they are clearly never washed) its inches too short, so is useless. I won’t even describe the loo brush for you. The window in the bathroom was broken and propped in the hole, leaving our room not secure. The cleaner comes in some days and sweeps a patch in the middle of the floor, no idea what she did in the bathroom but she felt the need to close the door. We had to ask to have our towels and sheets changed. There is never hot water in the mornings. They advertise air-con but the control box is in a locked box on the wall which is wrapped in brown packing tape to stop you using it.

The patio doors are leaking and one had a ‘pond’ in between the glass, the mozzie net was broken so was carefully repaired with another piece of thin packing tape, which obviously didn’t stick. Outside looked like it hadn’t been brushed since the start of the season, there was crisps, muddy foot prints, chicken poo, leaves, dust etc., a friend of humanity had scratched graffiti into the top of our table.

They advertise wi-fi which is occasionally accessible, and only outside the pool area where the sun shines so you can’t see the screen, you can’t pick it up in any building.

The apartment was ‘self catering’ and had the usual 2 ring cooker, the kettle didn’t work; cutlery and crockery was filthy. There is no plug in the sink so you can’t wash up (I bought a bowl, bleach, washing up liquid and a cloth). There’s no hot water in the mornings. The only cooking equipment I had was a dirty, scratched frying pan and a small saucepan, both sat in a cupboard with dirty shelves. The only utensils were a blunt knife and a potato masher. There are a few odd, cheap glasses and 2 dirty, well used odd cups.

The room had twin single beds, as usual, but the bases of both beds were broken and the middles on the floor. They smelt damp.

The room needs painting and tidying up, bits of edging falling off, curtain hooks missing etc., it’s all tired and needs tidying up, there’s no sense of pride anywhere. The pool is the same, the pool itself is lovely but the bottom is full of loose bits of grout, etc. They have wooden sunbeds which were nice once but, like the rooms, are not looked after. There are no cushions, most have wheels missing, so rather than replacing them or levelling the legs off, they are just left so you have to lie on a backwards sloping angle. The tiles around the pool are like a skating rink when wet, really dangerous if you had kids running about; there are also broken loose tiles around, great for cutting toes on.

Best is Olga the Ogre - the owner. Let’s just say customer service isn’t her strong point. She shouted at me from across the pool area saying I couldn’t move a sun bed, I haven’t been shouted at like that since school, there are also stupid ‘Rules’ prominently displayed in your room with a list of things you can’t do, including using any of your own electrical equipment with the threat that they ‘have the right to remove them’ (think that’s called theft). One rule worth reading is the last one about you having to pay for damages unless you can prove you didn’t do it. It’d be worth checking your room on arrival and reporting all broken things (you will have them) just to ensure that there are no convenient ‘misunderstandings’.

I get the feeling she would love to shout at you for anything given the opportunity. There were many stories shared with me by people who stayed here. The trick is to not buy from her very bare bar. If you don’t spend money regularly she disregards and ignores you, although there is an occasional friendly side - there is totally different behaviour with people who part with cash. If you are lucky enough to avoid her, the other person who works there is usually happy and helpful, but I did listen, from the other side of the pool, to her screaming at someone ‘you need to calm down’ etc., then as he gave up his enquiry she shouted ‘malaka’ at him, then continued shouting at Olga, I guess talking about the guest, she was really angry and there were some more ‘malaka’ shouted (a Greek swear word/insult).

If you can get a really cheap deal it may be worth considering, but I found Kos to be the ugliest island I’ve been to, there’s nothing Greek about it. The small town is full of tourist tat shops and boring tavernas selling the same food. There is nowhere to go and see, most of the beaches are horrible, gritty sand and lots of seaweed. The town has a big problem with beggars and I was told several horror stories from other visitors. If you like a kind of Blackpool bingo ambience in the sun this may be for you, my advice – choose another island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CF1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Psalidi
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 21 in Psalidi
231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kipriotis Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 21 in Psalidi
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olga Hotel
Olga Hotel
#206 of 224 in Kos
62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#91 of 224 in Kos
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments

Property: Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments
Address: Odysou street | Agios Gavriil, Psalidi 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Psalidi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Psalidi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of relaxation only 1.5km from the city center.Perfect for couples and families. Olga's Paradise is a 3*** hotel that offers its guests a cozy and relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olga's Paradise Hotel Apartments Kos/Psalidi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing