We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in 2012 and had a fabulous time so we wanted to go back for our first anniversary. Every thing was perfect including the weather. Their is nothing to want for when you stay at the Grand!!! Everyone is so helpful and friendly. They can't do enough for you!!!! You're treated like royalty here. We stayed in the oceanfront rooms both times and it's worth every penny just to wake up to the waves of the ocean.
If you're looking for a place to go and relax this is the place to go!!! You won't be disappointed!! We're planning on going back again in 2014!! Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank Dolly364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

This will certainly motivate our team to continue delivering the best service to all our guests! It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,551 - 2,557 of 6,027 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We just had a great week until the second last day. While packing to leave, two of us discovered valuable jewelry had been stolen from our two rooms. We lost a diamond ring, an opal necklace and an emerald necklace. Unfortunately, these pieces had been left out of the safe. The rooms were together. We reported this to the hotel at once, and they are doing an investigation. I am sure the jewelry will never be recovered, I just hope they catch the thief! Be sure to use the safe!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort to spend your vacations.

Regarding items missing in your room, we would like to highlight the fact that every report about missing items from our guests are documented accordingly and our Security Team along with our Public Relations Department are in charge of following through any investigation. In order to do this, the full cooperation from the guest affected is essential.

Please let us add that as you mentioned, the hotel offers all of our guests a safety deposit box free of charge in every room, where valuables should be kept. We are indeed in the process of the investigation, and we would like to invite you to please contact us to follow up through this issue.

We are very sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations on your stay; if you decided to come back, please contact us two weeks before your arrival date in order to offer you our hospitality and show you our commitment to excellent guest service and satisfaction. Again, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or dissatisfaction.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week over Christmas in an ocean facing junior suite. Check in was with our butler in the suite, service in the room was very good although we did have to phone several times for additional supplies of coffee, creamer, etc.

We ate in each of the four a la carte restaurants for dinner, as well as the buffet. All were excellent, much to our surprise we enjoyed the Japanese one the most. Our only quibble was that it was difficult to get an early reservation time in any of them.

The external appearance of the hotel was very good, whilst walking along the beach we were stopped by passers by and asked the name of the hotel as it and the beach in front of it looked so inviting. The main pool we found noisy, but we very much enjoyed the quiet pool. We did find that sun beds in the shade were hard to find, and many of the cabana curtains were in a state of disrepair.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Iberostar grand Paraiso and we are very happy that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We take note of your comments on the cabanas and deeply apologize. Your feedback constantly helps us in improving our standards and the service to our guests.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We recently had another amazing Christmas trip to the Grand. This was our 11th trip and we continue to be impressed by the Grand in all areas. Since we typically travel during off-peak times (August, June, November), we were a little hesitant about the level of occupancy around the holidays. However, although at 100% occupancy, we felt the staff were organized and prepared.

Occupancy:
We were both surprised that it really didn’t feel crowded throughout the resort. It was easy to get a drink at the pool bar or a lounge chair on the beach. We usually got to the beach around 11:00 and found loungers. The beach was more crowded throughout the day, but there was never an issue with loungers. We did notice that some loungers were “reserved” with old, torn magazines and were vacant for hours, but the Grand is really trying to eliminate this problem. If you do not feel comfortable removing items yourself (such as magazines) then you just have to notify the pool or beach concierge. It is pretty easy to tell if someone is trying to play “chair games” or if someone decided to go for a nice walk on the beach and just left for a little while. The pool bar was not as jammed as in August, which may have been attributed to a more diverse age range. Guests appeared to be spread out during breakfast, lunch, and dinner so it never felt crowded. We actually felt the service was even better at breakfast. Our water, coffee, and champagne were constantly refilled. Our waiters consistently checked in with us at breakfast and lunch. We never had any issues at dinner in terms of waiting for our food. We ate at Toni’s Surf and Turf. We were actually impressed because there were some large groups of families, but this did not stress the staff. The large groups were not the least bit rowdy, which made for a nice dining atmosphere. Overall, the occupancy was not an issue at all and other guests were friendly and everyone was in a holiday mood!

Dining:
We love Toni’s and eat there as often as we can. We were a little disappointed to find out that our favorite chef, Rafael, who has been there for years, switched positions. Chances are if you have eaten at Toni’s, you had one of his steaks. We are happy that we still get to see him at the lunch grill, since that is his specialty. He has always made our experiences at Toni’s wonderful and he is one of our favorite chefs! Toni’s now has very nice salt and pepper grinders on the tables, which is something new that we noticed. We dined at Toni’s with friends for dinner on Christmas Eve, but we also wanted to check out the International buffet since we heard it was going to be decadent. So, dinner at Toni’s and dessert at the buffet sounded like a plan! We saw the whole team of chefs planning and organizing during breakfast and figured we had to see it. The buffet was beautifully decorated with light sculptures and the staff (hostesses, Olivia, Mariana) were all dressed up and looked beautiful. There was a wide selection of seafood, numerous spoon-size appetizers, various main course entrees, and a bounty of delicious desserts! Special wines were also included at the buffet. They definitely put on a wonderful selection of foods and it was marvelous! In addition to the regular menu, Toni’s had a special menu on Christmas Eve, which included foie gras and other appetizers, dinner entrees, and special wines, which were very good and included at no extra charge.

Christmas Festivities:
After lunch on Christmas Eve, the Star Friends change into elf and Santa costumes. This kicks off the festive activities and makes for great photo ops. We heard that Santa would be making an appearance at the shopping center on Christmas Eve, so we decided to check it out. We were warned that there would be a lot of children, but we were okay with leaving our refuge at the Grand for a little holiday cheer. A few people had told us that Santa jumped from a plane. We were a little skeptical, but you never know.. Unfortunately, it started raining a little after we arrived at the shopping center, so Santa never made his jump. However, he did arrive in an SUV stretch limo with flashing lights and music. All of the Start Friends from the Grand were at the shopping center and a few other brave guests from the Grand. It was very crowded, but a fun event. The Star Friends gave our toys (a Mexican puppet) to all the children. Parents from the other Iberostar resorts were also able to give their own gifts to Santa, so he could hand them out to their children (if you had a gift for someone you could give it to the concierge with your room # and Santa would hand it out). After our shopping center adventure, we headed back to the peaceful Grand where they were setting up a special Christmas Eve reception in the lobby with music and special cocktails and Cava for the guests. Another special touch for the guests and they did a wonderful job! By the horses in the main building they set up a fireplace, a big platform with trees and an oversized red Santa chair – you could take pictures with the Star Friend elves and Santa!
On Christmas Day, the festivities continued with the Star Band salsa party at the pool at 11 am and delicious paella set up by the pool (sort of like a “Stars under the Sun” party). Star Friend Santa walked around most of the day. It really felt like Christmas and all of the staff from chefs to bar staff were smiling and having a great time! Later on in the evening, the Star Friends had a beautiful Living Nativity scene by the stairs near the horses. All guests got a special Christmas card and chocolates in their rooms that night! It truly was a festive Christmas!!

Other Changes/ New Things:
- A new mini golf area is being built in front of the Gourmet restaurant. They cleared out the bushes and now have a flat, sandy area.
- Coke Zero is now available throughout the resort (yeah- try with Havana rum!!)
- Best WiFi ever!!!! No problems in OceanFront at all!!
- Ok, I know this is a little weird.. Scented toilet paper that smells like baby powder (I noticed it when I was changing the roll- pretty fragrant).
- Humberto is now at the pool bar, Marcelino and Eli are at the beach, and Carlos is everywhere!

Butlers:
We saw our butlers (Jesus, Charley) and Victor (Head Butler) several times during our trip. It seemed like there was always at least one butler near the concierge of our Oceanfront building. In addition, if you walked through the main building there was always a butler by the desks. They always had a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we got back to our room before dinner.

Staff:
One of the reasons we continue to return to the Grand is the extraordinary staff. Rafael Carmona is doing an excellent job as the general manager. He has an abundance of new ideas and really values input from his guests. He is constantly walking around making sure that everyone is happy. Gabriel Rodriguez is also exceptional in his position as assistant manager. He is extremely professional and goes above and beyond for the guests! Io’ana in reception is wonderful and it is always nice to see her smiling face! Victor, Raul, and Laura always make us feel so welcome! It is great to see Olivia back as well as Chef Daniela and Chef Omar. Carlos, Marcelino, Humberto, and Daniel are wonderful bartenders! Mariana (hostess) is so friendly and great at her job! Of course, we have to mention Hugo (maître d) and Ulysses (Toni’s waiter) for always making our dining experiences special. Thanks to Ricardo (bellman) for always welcoming us home! Eder did a great job organizing all of the Star Friend activities!!

Overall, we had a wonderful, festive Christmas experience at the Grand. It exceeded our expectations and we can’t wait until our next trip!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NiceNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Since our guests are the most important component to create the big family that Iberostar Grand Paraiso is, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in our hotel again and specially to be part of this family.

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. This will certainly motivate our team to continue delivering the best service to all our guests! It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments ensuring that every guest leaves with great satisfaction, our main commitment is your entire satisfaction and all the staff is focus on that.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Ok, here is a review of my experience at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso...1st off, if you're looking for partyville, and a place with a bunch of drunk people & kids running wild, then this is "NOT" the place for you, so keep searching!!! But if you're looking for "Great Service", "Super Clean Grounds", "Good Food", "Peaceful Sleep in an Awesome Room", then stop looking, because THIS is the place you've been searching for!!!
My Wife & I believe you get what you pay for, so we did a ton of research, before choosing this resort, and We're so glad we did because it paid off big!

Check in was a breeze, We stayed in room 7102, which is right on the beach, and in our opinion the best view in the house, with close proximity to the food, and both pools, (great location for people who don't like a lot of walking). The grounds were immaculate! You could literally eat off the floor it was so clean, and our room was just as clean, (our linen was changed every day which is rare), and they had a pillow menu!!! (yes, a pillow menu lol), we really tried hard to find a flaw, but we couldn't.
The staff was friendly, and helpful, and each one said good morning, good afternoon, or good evening, and also the vast majority spoke decent english. We had a butler, which we saw on the first day, and he gave us a rundown of the grounds, services, & useful information, but we never saw him again after that, and I really can't say what his function was, because like I said, we never saw him, (but this was not a deal breaker for us), so lets move on.

The food was excellent! Good variety everyday, ribeye steaks, lobsters, (yes whole lobsters everyday!), various grilled fish, shrimps, pork, chicken, lamb chops, fresh fruits and vegetables (you get the idea, they had a great variety for everyones different taste). And each day was a different variety. They also had themed restaurants, (Surf & Turf, Italian, Japanese and Gourmet), for those who want a more personalized waiter service with your meal, (to us the buffet was just as good). The drinks were as good as any inclusive, (beers juices and sodas, and wines were refilled each day in our room), but for top shelf liquor, you had to go to a bar, or ask for it at dinner, (pretty big selection too). Also room service was 24 hours a day.

There is free WiFi on the entire grounds, (including the beach), for those who like to upload pictures to Facebook and twitter, and check or send emails, (amazingly my Netflix worked down there!), and there are 2 pools, (and a beautiful beach), just to relax. One pool has music and activities, and the other is called "The Quiet Pool", (and the title says it all), no music, no activities, just a relaxing place to read, or enjoy the sun and beautiful 80 degree weather in tranquility. We decided to get a romantic couples massage on the beach, (it cost $130 US, per person, and it was worth every penny to us), my Wife thinks I got a little too excited lol, but the massage was that good!!! On the beach they had jet skis, parasailing, & snorkeling for a fee. There were plenty of cabanas, (yes cabanas), at both pools, at no extra charge, on a first come first served basis. We also noticed that there was nobody hounding us to buy timeshares, and that was a relief!

I have to mention this to show how "GREAT" the concierge staff truly is in my book...On X-Mas day, while enjoining my food way too much, I bit down on my fork, breaking the crown on my tooth, and after going into panic mode, I went to the concierge staff the next morning, and Ricardo (the day time bellman), went above and beyond to help me. He found me a reputable dentist, (yes I googled the dentist because I needed to be sure), Ricardo made him quote me a price over the phone, got me a cab driver to take me to the dentist, wait for me, and take me back to the resort, and I made it back by lunchtime, (this may be a small deal to some, but it was a big deal for me), Thank You Ricardo, I commend you for saving the day for me!

We met people who've come to this resort 5 thru 10 times, (we were one of the few newbies but we are absolutely going to return to this "Paradise"!!! I hope this review helps your decision, Thanks for listening!!!

HUGE TIP...if you're going to book this resort, book it yourself online!!! A travel agent wanted to charge us an obscene amount of money for this trip, but we booked it ourselves online, and saved $6000, (thats right 6 grand!!!). Just remember you need a roundtrip flight, the resort, and roundtrip ground transportation to and from the airport, "THATS IT"!!! I know it seems like a pain in the neck, but consider it, because you'll save big money, (unless you've got cash to burn)!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank djmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso for your vacations, as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers.

We are delighted to know that we have contributed to making your vacations unforgettable. Thank you for highlighting our food and beverages, restaurants, clean grounds, awesome rooms, quiet and main pool, all our special amenities and specially our staff work, we are extremely proud to hear that they have made your stay remarkable and please be sure we will congratulate all of them (especially Ricardo, who is a great asset for us) for helping making your stay very special, it is always motivating for our team to know that they have been part of your experience.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Paraiso, hopefully soon.

Warm regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for one week in November 2013. We flew WestJet direct from Halifax - great service. Airport transportation (included with WestJet package) was with BestDay Travel, and they provided great service also. Within 15 minutes of arriving in airport, they had us on our way to our resort. Definite thumbs up for WestJet, and BestDay Travel.
Great resort check in - very pleasant and quick. We were greeted with nice cold cloths, but no drinks. Not a big deal - we just walked over to the bar and got drinks ourselves. We were given a lovely room on the 2nd floor, overlooking the tranquility pool with a beautiful view. Very comfy bed and pillows, air conditioning worked great, loved the huge bathroom, wonderful maid service and great nightly turn-down service. We left a note in our fridge on the first day and asked for Coronas, and then everyday they would bring us more than enough.
I have to mention the beach/pool chairs - they were pretty bad. They were hard, uncomfortable wicker lounge chairs, with annoying pads that kept slipping down. Even with a towel on top of it - the minute you shifted just a bit in your seat, the pad would start slipping again - really annoying! Sometimes we just got rid of the padding altogether, and sat on the wicker chair with just our towel - hard as rock but at least no slipping. It seemed so strange that they would have chairs like that at a higher end resort. When we visited the beach area of the other Iberostars on the property, now They had the best chairs - just normal cloth beach chairs, and they were very comfortable.
The beach in front of the Grand is not the greatest beach I've seen, but it turned out to be better than I expected. Yes there are parts with rocks, but it wasn't all like that. We liked to stay in the area near the water-sports hut, which is the end next to the Ib Maya. There were no rocks in sight there, in or out of the water. The surf was quite rough every day, the water was not very clear but it was still nice - we did not see any seaweed all week. We had a wonderful beach waiter there, GASTON, who was very efficient. We never waited long for service on the beach.
The pool bar also had good service. HUMBERTO introduced us to a great drink, Mojito Diablo - now that is a good drink! DANIEL at the lobby bar also made us a lot of those delicious drinks, and many other kinds too. Both are very good bartenders, and I really truly miss their drinks. We found the drinks at the Grand were much better than what we were served at the Ib Maya Snake bar. (Actually, the Grand made the Best Drinks of any resort we have been to!) We went to the disco one night (drinks were just okay there). The disco was so much fun, we had a blast there! - great music, and lots of dancing. Only waited a few minutes for a cart to take us back to the Grand after. The Grand has a really great air-conditioned theatre with good drink service - very nice. We enjoyed a few of the theatre shows there - the Mexican, the Magician, and the Rock show. The Magician was our favorite - I thought it would be lame, but surprisingly it was very well done.
The music they played around the whole resort left a lot to be desired. I really enjoyed our time at the main pool, but sometimes they had 2 different kinds of music going from each end of the pool - which was really annoying. I loved the lobby bar (looks great, very comfortable, great service), but the music in there was enough to put you to sleep. Would have really liked to hear some nice up-beat Spanish music around the resort.
All of the Star Friends were great, so friendly and fun to talk to - ANDY in particular, he is just so good at his job. Even something as simple as playing bingo at the pool with him was quite hilarious - just a wonderful, funny guy. JORGE at the lunch and/or breakfast buffet, he was very good to us - a very attentive waiter. OSCAR who drove us around on the trolley, very nice guy with a great sense of humour.
We had a butler (don't know his name) but he was very nice. We met him in the hallways a few times. He would ask us if we needed something for our room and that nothing was too much trouble, and we always told him no thanks we didn't need anything. Then one day around mid-afternoon, we realized that we had no bottled water left in our fridge. So I thought, finally, something to call the butler about! I dialed the butler number, a woman answered and I told her we had no bottled water in our room so we would like some please. She said she was putting me through to room service. Then room service told me it would take 20 to 30 minutes for the water to be delivered. Well, we waited for over an hour - finally we got our water. Not really sure what the butler is for then, I thought he was supposed to tend to things like that.
The food was good, but it wasn't great. Just not what we were expecting based on the higher cost of this resort. Our least favorite was the Italian restaurant - we did not care for the food there at all and quite regretted going there. The Surf and Turf restaurant was very good. We did enjoy the times they had the outside barbecue lunch by the pool. Some nights the inside buffets were quite good, then others, not so much. Service was usually very good, but a few nights they were definitely short staffed and it made a huge difference. Plus we found the buffet selection wasn't always that great - it definitely was not any better than what we've had at other resorts. I found the lobster was not that great, it was usually kind of mushy and had a bitter taste to it. They did have a great selection of fruits and juices, and lots of desserts. They did not have bacon every day at breakfast - but when they did, it was very nicely done. Food wasn't always that hot - even some things as simple as rice that had just been brought out, it would be just barely warm. Because this resort is so expensive, we found the food to be a bit of a let-down. We have had better food from other (cheaper) resorts.
The resort over all is quite beautiful, the design is just so "Grand" looking everywhere. I especially loved the amazing main hallways to the rooms - really stunning decor. Everything was so over-the-top, very shiny and just wow. I loved the look of the lobby bar. Beautiful vases and flower arrangements all over the resort too. Just lovely.
However, what was not so grand was the water leaks around the resort after it rained, or even just a shower. There were lots of yellow cones marking slippery spots all around the place, and workers mopping up puddles here and there. One day the door was open to one of the a-la-cartes, so I went in to look and stepped right into quite a huge area of water. They had square yellow pads down on the floors in the main hallways to the rooms, I assume to help soak up the water, and there was a musty smell in the halls.
The Grand resort has a very relaxing environment. It was like night and day in comparison to the other Iberostar resorts on this property - I would never want to stay at the other Iberostars there. It was just so congested and chaotic everywhere else, it was nice to come back to the serenity of the Grand when we went exploring. Our only other comparison in Mexico is from our trip in 2012 to the 'Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium'. That is another huge resort complex, but we never felt it was congested or chaotic anywhere in the whole Palladium complex as compared to Iberostar - and we felt the food was better at the Palladium. The Palladium has a very nice beach-side snack bar that I felt was sorely missing at the Grand. We did try the beach snack bar at the Ib Maya on our first day, the food was okay. There were so many of those racoon type animals all over the tables, eating food and even drinking out of people's drinks, that we never went back.
After we returned, I was surprised to hear that this resort is rated as #1 in the world. We really wanted to love this place, but found for this resort being so much more expensive, it was a bit over-rated. We felt we had received the same, or better, at cheaper resorts - in particular, the food. We really disliked those awful beach chairs, plus the water leaks all over the place were not very impressive. Overall we did have a very good time and I'm glad we went, as there were a lot of things that we did like. I wouldn't say that we'd never return to the Grand, but for our next trip to Mexico, we would probably try a different resort.

Room Tip: our room over-looking quiet pool had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GH816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your valuable feedback about your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We are very glad to know that there are positive elements of the Iberostar Grand Paraiso that you enjoyed like our service and landscape, but most importantly, we will continue working hard to make sure negative details like to the ones you described are addressed immediately.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level concerning the food at the buffets and our a la carte restaurants. Our Executive Chef receives our guests’ feedback and he is constantly working on improving the different options presented to our guests.

We hope that you will visit us again sometime soon to see the changes we are making, thank you once again for your detailed feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully, soon.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were the Grand the second week of Dec. The hotel was busy without being crazy before the holiday rush. The property, rooms, food, we're all excellent. The beach was excellent, but the waves are strong and if your are not a strong swimmer use to the ocean, be careful wading in higher than your knees. The waves change sizes Without warning. The ocean is a good 80F perfect.
We upgraded to a ocean view room and it was so worth it. Great place to have a coffee and read a book on your large balcony in the morning. Ocean view rooms get sun in the morning. The rooms are all the same size and they were about 20% larger than your typical all inclusive room. The rooms were spotless and the linens top quality. AC was great, you could set it and control to your liking. All in all we were thrilled with the room and I am picky about cleanilness.
All the restaurants were excellent and the wine choices good. As for liquor, you were only ever served top quality premium liquor. The best Don Julio tequila is served any place, any time. We liked the lunch buffet with the outdoor grill with the best steak and seafood cooked fresh right in front of you.
The golf course is top notch, a tough course in outstanding condition, we played twice. Rental clubs: you can get run of the mill clubs or you can rent premium clubs Ping or Titleist for $65.
We met several couples by the pool bar and in the lobby bar before dinner. Very nice people, many returning to this resort for many times.
We go to 2 all inclusives a year in Mexico and the Carribean and this was by far the best. We usually pick our destinations by word of mouth then check out the last 6 months of reviews on trip advisor. You cannot be disappointed here!!!!
Note: there was rain most mornings about 9am for an hour. No big deal. It was 30C every day and 25C in the late evening, very consistent everyday. The staff considered this rainy for Dec, as usually the rain is gone by the end of Nov.
We wore shorts and t-s for breakfast, swimsuit and coverups for lunch and of course a llittle dressier for dinner (no flip flops and shorts).
Only negative was the large main pool was a little cool, obviously it was not heated. It was great to cool down after a day on the beach or a golf game, but we did not hang out in the pool for an hour, it was too cool for that, and i am sure that would not be the case any other time of year. The pool is salt water and beautiful.
It is also nice to be able to go for a walk through all the other 4 Iberostar properties lots of kids at the other resorts.
Staff all go out of their way to make every day the best possible. There is lots to do all the time or you can sit on the beach and get served your choice of drinks all day.

All in all, I would highly recommend this resort to anyone. It is worth the extra $$$s. Security was second to none day and night.

We did go on one tour to ChIchen Itza, it was nice and it was great to see the ancient city, but 12 hrs was too long. The tour stopped at 3 tourist shopping sites, non of which we were interested in. This recommendation came from our AirCanada vacation rep on site at the hotel. Good safe tour, just too much time for shopping for stuff, all of which you could buy throughout the ChIchen Itza site..

Room Tip: I would go with the ocean view room on the second or third floor (top floor). They are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit with our resort. We are more than grateful for mentioning the things you like the most such as: the room, linens, the view, beach, AC, lunch buffet, outdoor grill, golf course, top quality premium liquor and the pools. Also, we are pleased to hear that despite having some rain in the mornings, you were able to enjoy your stay with us.

Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services with other hotels. The fact that we continue receiving positive reviews like yours is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service. Your recommendation of our property is also encouraging our Management and staff who ensure that your vacation is relaxing.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we wish to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,171 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,266 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,252 reviews
6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $392 - $1,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, VISIT US, INC. , getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing