We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service; a great resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed this resort. They provide a great service, with a great attitude.
Here's just one example: We arrived at 10:30 am, way earlier than the 3pm check-in time. Instead of suggesting that we were too earlier, the management apologized for the inconvenience (of our room not being ready yet), provided a free upgrade to a suite, free drinks and lunch while we were waiting and then sent us a bottle of campaign into the suite, again with apologies for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlexK-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your vacations at Riviera Maya. We are pleased to hear that you had an outstanding holiday and that we contributed to making it unforgettable.

We look forward to being able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,614 - 2,620 of 5,992 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our little group of 6 have been coming to the Paraiso Grand for 5 years now, and it is just the best in all areas! The staff, the food and restaurant choices, beach, and top shelf liquor is fantastic. You can walk the beach for quite awhile and everything is very safe.
Ocean rooms or the corner Presidential suite we tried this year is fantastic, and you feel like the owner.
Victor and his staff of butlers make you feel like you are the only guest there, and they remember your names, and everything is attainable. Only 15-20 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank Bruce5952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience at our resort again.

All your kind comments with regards to our facilities, rooms, food, beverages and specially our butler staff are greatly appreciated; please be sure that we will share with our team that they have contributed to making your holiday special.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you hopefully very soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The property is big and well manicure, but the room is old, too many marks on the wall in the bathroom and doors. We were waiting for too long for the service on the beach, the waiter told us will come right back to take the drink order, we were waiting for 40 mins , we still didn't see the waiter, I came to concierge ask them to call the waiter for us.

We didn't have water in the room , we called room service for water, we waited for 45 mins but still no one show up for water. My husband called them back then they brought water for us.



Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank NguyenMcCombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your last stay in our hotel. We take our guests’ comments very seriously as they help us pinpoint areas that have room for improvement.

We are concerned that some of your expectations were not fulfilled. We are sorry about your disappointment with our beach service and mini bar service. We can assure you that our goal is to offer our guests with a unique and special experience with all our beverage service so actions will be taken to avoid these incidents in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of having you once again here at the Grand Paraiso Hotel, we are confident that we will meet your expectations and that you will have a very pleasant stay.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Let me start this review with a little background. Our very first all-inclusive experience was in 2005 at the Iberostar Costa Dorado in the Dominican Republic. It was older, small and yet we loved it. When we were there (8 years ago) other vacationers told us we should go to the Riviera Maya Iberostar, because its the best. We were married at the Ibrerostar Bavaro in 2008. After three other stays at Iberostar hotels in the DR and Jamaica and each time being told how great the Grand Paraiso was... We finally bit the bullet, paid out the nose and booked it for our 5th wedding anniversary.

This was a special trip and our expectations were very, very high. Below is a breakdown of our stay/experience:

Check In: greeting was ok, nothing special, receptionist didn't care we had stayed 6 times with Iberostar, we never stayed there before, we weren't soecial

Room: Regardless of our anniversary and loyalty our room was in a corner, with no view. There was a bottle of champaign, but none of the other "gifts" we received at all the other hotels. It was clean, very dry, toilet ran every 10-15 minutes waking us up at night (we asked for repairs but it was never fixed), never saw a butler, breakfast orders were never delivered, my designer sunglasses were stolen out of their case, ugh...

Spa: Amazing! Best service, awesome in-door pool.

Golf: Great, must do!

Beach: Nice, but short and messy... Stepped on a fork, wasn't cleaned or raked regularly. Nothing terrible, just disappointing.

Pool: Needed repairs, broken and missing tiles. Plenty of chairs, pretty and fairly clean.

Service: The staff was obviously well trained, went through all the motions, but weren't warm and friendly like we were used to. Nothing was wrong, just lacked the warm and fuzzy stuff.

Food: Breakfast and dinner buffets were bleak and boring. Restaurants were so/so. Lunch was amazing... If you like eating the exact same thing (luckily I did) steak & lobster made to order.

Booze: Top shelf available, but sometimes had to ask.

Star Friends: We met several that were great like Jenny, Estrafina, Elder and Abraham, but for a grand we found all the pool games out of place. We were not used to a "party" atmosphere at a grand hotel.

Pool Music: Two extremes of terrible, bad 80's and Michael Jackson covers or Miley Cirus and Pit Bull.

Bottom line, I just can't wrap my mind around how this hotel is the best all inclusive. It was nice, reminded me of a cruise ship or vegas hotel, nothing authentic or Mexican about it. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it. Might be nice for a long weekend. Not enough food options/variety for a week or longer. I would not recommend for a romantic or special occaison.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Lpetee114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Your invaluable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the excellent service that Iberostar Grand Paraiso is knowned for. At the same time, we are concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

We regret and deeply apologize that this visit was not pleasant for you and your husband. We will however take your remarks into consideration; your comments have been shared and analyzed among all the staff involved, in order to avoid similar problems in the future.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service quality. We do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Iberostar Grand Paraiso in the future, and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Iberostar Grand Paraiso is blessed with a spectacular location on which to cultivate its well manicured and lush grounds. Rooms are very nice, large and very clean. The beach front corner suites have exceptional views and the benefit of a hot-tub on the balcony in addition to the jetted tub in the bathroom. Marble, travertine, granite an limestone tile and mosaic abound. As most writers note, the "star friends" staff are exceptional, as are the concierge staff. The pool wait staff and most of the dining staff are very accomodating and helpful. Even when occupancy exceeds 95%, there are no areas that appear crowded.
However the food in general leaves a lot to be desired. I found the "gourmet restaurant" (aka the french restaurant) to be sub-par in food quality and the service to be poor overall. The steak-house (aka Toni's) boasts "american style steaks" but the steaks served were not "trimmed" before grilling and were no better than the steaks available every day on the lunch buffet. The wine steward was a bit pushy in recommending extra-cost wines and when we relented and selected one of his lower priced offerings, it was billed out at a different price than the one quoted. (and showed up on the final bill at a 3rd price, all in USD by the way).
We found the Japanese restaurant (Haiku) to be exceptionally nice, very high food quality and superb service. We also found the international buffet to be very good. The italian restaurant was average, but the service was terrific. Much better than the french or steak house.
The property needs work. There is evidence of water getting under the stucco throughout the resort, and resulting in complaints about musty/moldy smells. While the extensive covered walkways are beautiful in their use of stone and arrangements of tile. None of the walkways are "pitched" properly causing puddles and necessitating continuous mopping and squeegy workers. There are yellow traffic cones all over the place all the time. The tops of columns are cracking and peeling along with fascia, cornice and evidence of roof damage. November is the end of the "off-season" and the place should be spotless by now. There were a few workers on ladders and one on the top of a dome on Friday, showing at least a minimal effort to make cosmetic improvements.
Grand Paraiso has tremendous potential to be a really special resort, but there is a lack of attention to detail in the maintenance area as well as the food service department.
A leading travel magazine Nov '13 issue (pg 165) ranks Iberostar Grand Paraiso #18 out of 30 in it's reader's poll for Cancun and Yucatan peninsula resorts. I find this to be far more accurate than most of the reviews I had read on line prior to 1st week of Nov. trip.
A major consideration in the selection of any resort or hotel is value. With the deep discounting for off season travel, this property is a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation and beach front fun. The pool areas (1 large salt water infinity pool, one quiet pool and one indoor pool at the gym/spa) are very well attended and very clean.
Weak areas - Food is inconsistent at the specialty restaurants, and somewhat boring at the buffets. It's great for 3 or 4 days, and then most travelers will tire of the same buffet at breakfast and few variations at lunchtime. The selection is vast, but it's basically the same every day. (dinner buffets change every night) The liquor selection is high-end, although the mixed blender drinks are mostly from mixes with very little fresh fruit (banana's but no real strawberry or other fruits in mixed drinks) Great tequila selection and the tequila wagon for shots on mexican buffet night is a nice touch with fantastic staff people.
Another example of maintenance problems: Our beach front suite building had broken ice makers on every floor. Not one floor out of three had a working ice maker all week. Concierge staff had informed management after many guest complaints, but at the end of the week, there was still no working ice maker in the building. Daily re-stocking of minibars is great, but with no ice to be found (sure you could have a butler deliver ice every time you wanted to mix a drink) the general failure of management to attend to the details, leaves far too many exposed flaws to seriously consider this resort 5 stars, despite the extremely hard working and courteous staff.
My recommendation is to limit your stay to 4 days, shop for deals, book off-season, or consider superior accommodations at Maroma resort. Kudos to the "star friends", but a management change is in order for both food service and maintenance.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to beach front and the superior corner suites are great, very quiet with spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank worldtravelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We really appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding our beautiful grounds, facilities and room. Your words about our courteous staff are the best compliments for us and we are really proud of them.

We would also like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working in areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. However we do believe that renovations and improvements can be done and even though they are carried out throughout the year, they are done by blocks/areas since the hotel never closes and we need to ensure that there are no inconveniences to our guests during their stay at our resort.

Also, we are very concerned to read that your experience with us did not live up to our usual level of service regarding the food at our restaurants; we have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for his consideration. He and his team are constantly working on improving the options, and your feedback is always helpful.

We are committed to listen to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services, so we wish you might consider giving us another opportunity to host you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made based on our guests recommendations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the Grand Paraiso!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was a great resort to relax and enjoy good times with my co-workers. The food and drink were good and the amenities fantastic. The staff is friendly and accommodating to most of our needs. The only reason I rate it 4 out of 5 is because that while they will happily convert US$ into pesos, they will not convert pesos back into US$.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank carlmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It is also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had with the money exchange. Iberostar Grand Paraiso has a contract with a bank in order to provide the service of Money exchange to our guests. All these transactions need to be supported by a ticket and the copy of the passport in case of US dollars, this contract let us change any currency to pesos but not pesos to any other currency. We are sorry about the inconvenience.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I recently had our fifth stay at the Grand - in the last 3 years! We love all-inclusives, lying on the beach, overeating a bit, quality drinks, and quiet, and the Grand has it all. Most importantly though, the staff are really wonderful. Everyone, and I mean everyone, greats you with a pleasant "Hola!", and they are all happy to help at any time.

Check in: we've stayed in the oceanfront buildings the past couple of times, and I gather that registration is different (in room, rather than at the desk) than for the other rooms. It's gotten much quicker, and is now pretty painless and quick.

Facilities and grounds: so grand, and over the top, but we love it all. There are the occasional weird carpet stains, and a slightly musty smell, but it's never bother us here (it has elsewhere).

Beach: some rocks, some seaweed, but never a problem finding a nice clear path out to shoulder-level water. Beach service - not overbearing, but we never found ourselves waiting a long time between servicing.

Pool: it's salt water, which we find nice. Pool bar - nice, functional, surrounded by smokers if that bothers you.

Spa: I loved the spa, and it's a great place to relax if it's raining, or after the sun goes down. The gym is not bad.

Food: we prefer the buffet, and for a vegetarian, it's probably the best option. We usually only go for a few days, so don't really get bored of the options. The restaurants are, well, interesting. Usually much ado about hit or miss food. We've found that the Japanese was the best meal, followed by the Italian. The Gourmet wasn't our thing, and we never tried the Surf and Turf. Lobster abounds throughout the resort, especially lunch, and we think that the preparation has markedly improved over the past couple of visits (could be overdone before).

Bars: good quality booze! Ask for palomitas in the lobby bar.

Entertainment: Go to at least one show, but don't go with expectations. They try hard, and the theater is very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KDKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to write your kind comment about your recently stay in our hotel and delighting us with your visit once more time. We are very happy to read about your positive impressions and your compliments regarding our team, facilities, your room, the pool, gym and restaurants.

It is our constant endeavor to offer our discerning travelers luxury experiences through our commitment to quality service and keep welcoming wonderful repetitive guests like you and make every effort to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for praising our friendly staff who is very dedicated to their work with great dedication to customer satisfaction.

On behalf of the team, thank you for your gracious comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,156 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,208 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,188 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $389 - $971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing