We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$443
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$453
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$246
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$291
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,316)
Filter reviews
6,316 results
Traveler rating
5,244
744
222
66
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,244
744
222
66
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstranquility poolsurf and turfocean frontlobsterla brisaindoor poolstar friendsbutler servicelobby barpillow menuother resortsoceanfront roominternational buffetpool conciergewelcome homelunch buffettop shelf
Filter
Updating list...
2,926 - 2,931 of 6,316 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just got back a few days ago. The weather was quite bad but not the resorts fault. The employees were all excellent. The food was very good, although I found the service at the a la cartes to be very slow (especially at the Italian and Gourmet) We were hoping to make the evening show one night (reservations at 8:30) but after our main course had to wait about 1/2 hour for our dishes to be cleared, after dessert and coffee it was too late for the show. Did see leaking in main hallway and slightly musty smell. Relaxing stay in the rain. I would like to maybe try the Grand in Jamaica next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you have spent a great time at the Grand Hotel, we appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team; no doubt will they be motivated by your kind words. On the other hand it remains in us the concern that some of your expectations were not fulfilled, your feedback is very important for us since it helps us to improve on a daily basis.

Regarding about our dinner service at the “a la carte” restaurants, our main goal is to offer our guests with a unique and special experience where dishes are prepared to order so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. However please rest assured that we are going to share your kind comments with our Food & Beverage Manager in order to achieve the right balance.

As far as the leaking hallway, please let us explain that unfortunately we got a few issues with certain areas and are already working on fixing them thoroughly. Our apologies about that.

It was our pleasure to have served you and we hope that you will consider us as your vacation destination the next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our first trip away from the children and the adult's only fit our needs as we left our kids and didn't want to be around other's childrens. This hotel was incredible. We have always enjoyed the Iberostar Pariso Lindo and on our last visit they were building the Grand (almost 5 years ago). This was our first time back to the cancun area and we were so happy with our choice. The Grand is so clean (there was always someone cleaning or polishing the floors, etc.). The mini bars were always stocked with what we wanted. We ordered champagne to the room and they brought glasses, an ice bucket and tray. So nicely presented. The food was incredible. The special restaurants were great but to be honest the lunch buffet was the BEST. The gym was small but it was never fully used so it was perfect for our needs. All and all, the service, the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food (jumbo shrimp and lobster daily at the buffets), the wine selection, the beds, the size of the rooms and bathrooms. Everything was just perfect. We will definately be returning to the Grand on our next Cancun trip. In fact, we are alreayd looking at the other Grand hotels in different locations. It is worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank BeccaDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We are proud of our team of hardworking and friendly staff, who continue helping us reach our goal to be one the best resort in the Caribbean.

Your review shows that we are on the right path to achieve this goal. Your kind words about the food, the comfort of the rooms, entertainment, and the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere means a lot to us.

We remind you that we are here to serve you and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having already stayed at both the Iberostar Grand Jamaica and Iberostar Grand Punta Cana recently, a visit to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso was a must.
The Grand Paraiso completes the chain. This resort is beautifully maintained with workers busy cleaning, sweeping, painting and keeping things looking beautiful. The amazing staff everywhere are always greeting you with a smile and a "hola". Everybody seen to go out of their way and make you feel very special. Several times during my one week stay, out of the blue a Star Friend would ask if I needed anything, and would even go back to my room if I had forgotten something. Trusting them was not an issue !!!
All of the STAR FRIENDS are amazing, so many of them it's hard to pick out just one, but JENNY is an absolute treasure !! She does a wonderful job and is a joy to be around. Also Daniel at the lobby bar is an amazing bartender !!
The shows at night are some of the best I've ever seen at any caribbean resort. The classic ROCK & ROLL show, plus the BEATLES show are really well done !! The headline singers are really amazing !!
Now for a little background...I have been travelling to the caribbean for many, many years, and have stay exclusively at all-inclusives. Too many to mention ! I am not an overly picky eater, but sometimes can be critical of certain food & drink when I feel things can be done better !
Having already stayed at the two other GRAND location. My expectation are quite high. The food and drink at the PARAISO both range from the good to very good with the occasional outstanding. Even this is one notch down from the other two resorts.
Some upgrading is needed at both morning and lunch buffets. All small items but when you add them all up it is noticeable, compared to the other GRAND'S !! Such things as some hot food is suppose to be served hot not let get cold. Morning fruit smoothies(very important for those who enjoy a "few" evening cocktails the night before) need a big up-grade. Many food items look great, but seem to be in need of more seasoning to help bring out more flavours. A few small changes are in order here !
The dinner buffet is the same, seemed to be missing items that were everyday things at the other two resorts ! Also service needs to be a little faster, having to clear your own empty plate away, and finally receiving a glass of WHITE WINE "after" you've finished your meal, needs to be fixed!
One of my favorite topic "DRINKS"...mostly very good, you control the strenght...all the bartenders do a great job, so enjoy ! If you happen to be sitting at a table in the lobby bar, they will bring the bottle right to your table(nice touch), also soft drink are right from the bottle or can, not out of those horrible gun dispenser !!
The main pool area(saltwater) is very large and scenic, but can be very busy at times. The quiet pool is just that...very quiet !!
The pool bar/swim-up bar is located halfway up the side of the pool. Not really sure if that was the best place for it. Down at the beach end of the pool would have been a lot more practical & useful. Note to IBEROSTAR...a small beach bar would make a wonderful addition. Throw in a beach grill...food available near the beach is another thing missing.
They do have bar service on the beach, and these guys do a good job, tips can help a lot.
Beach is good, water can be rough, with high seas ! Some of best water for swimming can be found just off the property, only a few feet away, and it's safe !!
Overall I would highly recommend this outstanding resort, also the walk down the main hallway to the lobby and bar area is truly something to see !!!!
They just need a few little tweeks... then they would be neck & neck with #1 Punta Cana Grand, can't beat the beach, food, pool area, attention to details ... #2 Jamaica Grand Rose Hall , food, staff and the overall Jamaican "VIBE" beach grill !!

Room Tip: Beachfront room, great view, comfy bed. Sunrise, great way to start the day !!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rcb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate that you took the time to remember us. Your memorable experience is a true testament of the dedication of our staff Staff to ensure that you have all the necessary ingredients for an unforgettable vacation.

We offer luxurious accommodation; quality amenities, excellent food and beverage all provided with genuine personalized service. We thank you for your constructive criticism and recommendations. Please rest assured these will be taken into account, as our goal is to be the best option in the Riviera Maya and to achieve our guests’ entire satisfaction.

It would be our pleasure to host you again and trust you will not hesitate to visit us soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hurricane Ingrid ruined the weather, but we were still able to have a great time. My wife broke her leg, I came home with Montezuma's Revenge, but we'd go back in a second. Buffet food was OK, but specialized reservation restaurants were excellent. The majority of the staff was great, especially two of out star friends - Gabrielle and Christian - two great guys that made us feel like friends and not visitors. We hope to see them again next year!

Room Tip: Make sure to email to request a room. We emailed to request 1 large bed, but were given 2 double beds. The staff did make it right though.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we are very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your generous words are greatly appreciated as we are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

We look forward to hosting you again to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso: your home away from home.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

my wife and I stayed at the grand sept 8-15,I was a little weary with some of the latest reviews, but went with an open mind,this being our 4th trip south for 2013.we always stay at high end resorts.the grand is grand and the staff fantastic,if you are unhappy here have JEEVES bring the car around and go buy your own island

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wally r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you.

It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews