We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
$420
$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
$367
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
Iberostar.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$411
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$370
$356
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
$525
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
$420
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalonia Playa Maroma(Playa Maroma)
$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$517
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (6,397)
Filter reviews
6,397 results
Traveler rating
5,316
751
223
67
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,316
751
223
67
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turftranquility poollobsterstar friendsocean frontbutler servicela brisaindoor poollobby barpillow menuother resortstop shelfoceanfront roominternational buffetpool conciergegrand experiencewelcome home
Filter
Updating list...
2,996 - 3,001 of 6,397 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We visited from 11th August for 10 nights as a returning couple from last year. We were in the same block 71 as the previous year which over looks the tranquility pool, great view and so peaceful.
The food was amazing and we went to all the restaurants the surf and turf was our favourite. The buffet is so good with different foods everyday, the staff work so hard to make your stay so special.
The star friends work so hard and long hours but always take the time to talk to you and always remembered our names and recognised us from last year! The shows are fantastic too.

It's a great hotel and we loved our stayed just as much as last year.
It did rain for 2 days and the ceiling was leaking the roof needs some repair as the carpet was getting wet and smelt quite damp in places. They did put down pieces of carpet to soak up the water but it didn't look that good throughout the hotel.
As it was an adults only hotel we were little surprised that children were on the beach in front of the hotel the security guard on the beach just ignored them. We chose the hotel because it was couples only and didn't really expect to see children on our beach when the 2 hotels next to the Grand are family hotels and the beaches are fantastic. Even the star friends from the other Iberostar hotel brought them down to explore on our beach rocks surely that cannot be right?
We love our time there even though it is expensive but hope to see some improvements hopefully before we return again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us; we take all comments, both positive and negative, very seriously, as we constantly strive to achieve the utmost level of guest satisfaction.

We really appreciate your special mention of the food, tranquility pool, the great view, and of course our dedicated staff. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours are always motivating.

We are working hard to repair and avoid future water leaks in the hotel. We are deeply sorry about the inconvenience and please rest assured we are on top of it.

Regarding children on the beach, we will communicate with our sister resorts’ Star Friends.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused in this respect and we hope that despite of these issues, we will be able to welcome you back to offer you an outstanding vacation.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Do not expect too much out of this resort except good service and beautiful beach. The first few days in this resort, it rained a lot and the hotel was dripping from the ceiling almost everywhere you went. The room next to our room had a big puddle in front of the door that required the guests to relocate to another room. We had reservations to try all four restaurants in the resort but after dining at the French restaurant l'atelier and the surf and turf, we were convinced not to bother with the other two restaurants so we just settled for the buffet every day. At least, if you didn't like something there, you have a chance at trying something different. Now the drinks, it is hit or miss unless you just drink beer straight out of the bottle. The wines are undrinkable. We have tried everything on the inclusive list and the only one I could tolerate is the Chardonnay from chile. They had a merlot from California but they said they were out of it for a while now and no longer offer it even though it was still on the list and perhaps the only wine you could actually drink. On the extras side, less than average wine is way overpriced. Woodbridge which is maybe 7 dollars a bottle back home, is priced at
70 usd!! As for Margaritas, it all depends where you order them because they make them differently at every bar.
As for the activities, we did the bike tour on bicycles that need major servicing. The tires were almost flat, the seats worn out and the pedal on my bike came out at one of the stops so we had to screw it back in just to make it back to the hotel.
I also tried the spinning class.. The bikes are rusted and the handle bar on the bike that one other man was using got detached when he stood up on the bike. Also, the arena where the spinning class is held is steaming hot, and if it is sunny you overheat as if you are in a sauna room or a sweat lodge before you even start pedaling. I suggest they replace all bikes with new equipment and move them into a room similar to the gym room with air conditioning.
The only activity we enjoyed was golf. It is worthwhile. Beautiful and challenging course that you would definitely enjoy as a golfer.
We wanted to explore mexico outside the resort so we decided to go to playa del Carmen. There is shuttle that takes you from the hotel for 5 dollars and picks you up a few hours later. The driver was unfriendly and didn't care. They deposit you there to go spend some money and get harassed by the sellers trying to get you to buy tours here and there and it is not cheap. We couldn't wait until we went back to the resort.
Don't go to iberostar grand hotel for the wine and food. Just go there to enjoy the Carribean sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anitouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate us your feedback during your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We take our guests comments very seriously as your feedback helps us improve on a daily basis by identifying our strengths and weaknesses.

We always try our very best to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and we regret that we did not succeed in this case. We are working really hard to fix areas affected by the heavy rains as soon as possible.

We have already shared your feedback on our restaurants with our Executive Chef for his consideration. He continuously strives to offer the best quality so your comments will be useful.

Regarding the tour bike and gym, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused in this respect. This is certainly not the memory we want our guests to take home and can fully understand your disappointments. Please note that we have personally passed your feedback on to all the department heads concerned in order to improve these services.

Regarding the shuttle service, we are sorry for this inconvenience. Unfortunately they are an external company that provides their services as an added bonus for guests that want to explore Playa del Carmen and prefer to use the comfort of a shuttle service. Your comments will be forwarded to them as their customer service should be of the highest quality as well.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and provide you with a great stay showing that we have improved our service for you.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We were offered and upgrade upon our arrival at the Parasio Maya resort next door. By far, it was the best spent money ever (as it's adults only). The accommodations are superior in every way as is the entire staff. They leave nothing to be in need of. The front desk staff, housekeeping, Waite staff, concierges all were truly amazing. Ordered flowers for our anniversary and the concierge took care of that along with having special things done to our room that night while at dinner. All the restaurants are excellent but we really enjoyed the Japanese (in fact we ate 2 nights seated at the Hibachi), French and Steak House.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room to be had. We had a room overlooking the garden and the spa, it was excellent and centrally located .
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read your nice review about your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso, we really appreciate the time you took to share your opinion with other travellers.

Once again, congratulations for your anniversary, we appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to celebrate this special occasion with you, and we hope that the details we made, helped to have an unforgettable memory.

It is good to know that you enjoyed our accommodations, restaurants as well as our staff service. We always try to pamper our guests to surpass their expectations, and reading that you had a great time make us feel very satisfied. We can assure you that our staff would be happy to hear that they were part of your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 10 yr anniversary at the Grand. The customer service was out of this world good! Best I've ever been treated and that goes for every level of staff...from the bell boys to the hostesses, waiters/waitresses...absolutely amazing staff every single one of them. The stars team were a lot of fun too...Eduardo, Abraham, Andy all great guys!

I really can't believe anyone rated this hotel's service less than very good. But then again I think a lot of that comes down to how you treat them. Are you respectful? Are you thankful for their hard work? And yes we tipped. I know we didn't have to but we wanted to bless them for treating us so well. If you pay attention while you are there you'll see them working very long hours with great attitudes for peanuts compared to what most Americans make so we wanted to tip and I'm sure that goes a long way in the differences of opinions on here. But we also made an attempt to get to know them: asked questions about their history, their families, what it was like working there, etc... that helps too.

The worst I could say about the Grand is that yes there are places in the hotel that leaked (it rained a lot while we were there) and yes there are a few places that need a little coat of paint but those are very minor things that didn't detract from our experience at all. And the staff was actively working on the facility to fix the few issues we saw.

All the restaurants we ate at were great, the shows were fun, the golf course was absolutely breath-taking, beach was amazing...We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crbrta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review you have written for the benefit of the Trip Advisor community.

There is immense pleasure of having a guest such as yourself speak in such high regard of our Hotel. We thank you for your support and above all your recommendation that makes our team proud. Regarding the leak you experienced, we would like to mention that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working on areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas and rooms impeccable. In this case, these areas need to be completely dry, so our team is ready to fix them as soon as possible.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future to experience all the positive changes made.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visited in August with two other couples. Overall we had a good time, good laughs and food and drinks! We were in bldg. 71, view was just as you see in the pic's, if you want to be right by the water that would be it! The others were in bldg. 72 facing tranq. pool, those were really nice too. Now here comes my pet peeves :)

Check-In: For me it was a fiasco and for paying the money for the oceanfront I was really frustrated! We get there, rooms were not ready, ok no big deal we were fine with that so we went for lunch. Few hours later we get back to the front desk, the two rooms were ready in bldg. 72 so off they went to their rooms and it's like they had no clue we were there waiting for hours for an oceanfront room so to say you get whisked away to a private check-in is a lie! By this time I was hot, tired since we had to bet up at 2 a.m. to get to airport earlier. We were still waiting, I might have been a little bit witchy at this point, finally the same guy who took my sisters to their rooms took us to ours, um really? The butler was nice, brought us to our room, started to explain what they offer, I said I heard that earlier when my sister was checking in so let's move on, we set up time to clean/turn down/mini bar/lower air cond., we're good. Then comes the receipts for our dinner reservations and of course those were not all correct so after back and forth with the butler on the phone trying to do the changes and my hubby getting inpatient we got things correct. Can I go relax now?

Shows: We went to see one show, boogie nights, it was good, they do really work hard. One night we went to the Snake Bar, that was interesting, the tiny bartender was hysterical, he was small enough to be a jockey! We checked out the shops then the disco however disco didn't open until 10 but when we tried to go in there, a girl told us nicely it was 11 and slammed the door!. I really just wanted to look around not stay. We still laugh at that whole incident! We were able to call the Grand to get someone to pick us up where the shops were, 6 adults on a golf cart, fantastic ride!!!

Evenings: We pretty much spent it in the lounge, they had a local two man band who were pretty good. However, I think the resort needs to keep the drunks and people who think taking the microphone from the band is OK in check. Honestly, they really need to deal with drunk people and send them to their room. I'm not sure why there was a large group of adult men there, they were rude, obnoxious and drunk and the hotel should of handled it appropriately! A bunch of people got up and left the lounge because of it, including us, I really didn't want to listen to some adult drunk slobber all over the microphone attempting to sing and be told they can't smoke in the lounge. The band should not allow it either so their at fault just as the resort.

Rooms: They pretty much looked all the same other than the view so it's a personal preference, mini bar was kept up, turned down/cleaning service was good, really no complaints.

Pool Area: We didn't really spend a lot of time there which is surprising but I enjoyed the beach in front of bldg. 71. I do know the bartenders need training as they all make the same drink differently, not consistent at all! Drink waiters were OK, I felt they didn't appreciate the tips you gave them.

Food: All was good, no complaints. We ended up eating at the dinner buffet most nights as the food was better. We went to the Japanese rest., sushi was worst than the buffet, waitress was well if you can't speak to people or crack a smile you probably should not be a waitress. It was quiet in there we were afraid to laugh. We went to the Italian rest., same thing, really quiet we were afraid to talk! Waiter was awful and so was the food. We ate at the breakfast buffet, was good and did room service for breakfast which was on time and good food.

Beach: Amazing! We were able to see them dig up the baby turtles and we saw a wedding, we did have two days of rain so that was a small downer. There were a few vendors who come up to you just politely say no and they are fine.

What I wish was better: Check-in process, Dinner reservations, they really need to revamp this, it's annoying and the food in the restaurants. Some Umbrella's by the pool area would be nice, not have the jet ski area near bldg. 71.

If you do the breakfast/lunch buffet, ask to sit in Jorge's (George) area, he was awesome!

Overall: A good time, still up in the air about going back, but a good experience.

Room Tip: Any room is good, they all look the same just a different view and that is a personal preference.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cuse42day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for the time you invested in writing your comments about your recent visit to Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We are really sorry to learn that our Front desk services and the butler services did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed on to the Departments concerned.

Concerning the service, we thank you for your comment and will address your concerns to all of our team members to guarantee the best experiences for all our guests; we are really sorry about the uncomfortable situation with the guests you mentioned; we are preparing several training programs to handle situations like the ones you mentioned.

We thank you once again for your feedback; we do listen to our customers and take corrective actions based on your reviews, in order to keep improving to obtain your complete satisfaction.

We hope you give us another chance to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Best regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews