We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was one more great Iberostar Grand vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been to quite a few Iberostar Grand hotels, and as with the others, we were extremely pleased. The rooms were clean, spacious and well laid out. The service and food in all the restaurants was topnotch. The best food at any of the Iberostar Grands, so far. It is a quick ride from the airport, which is important to us. The service at the front desk, the bars, the beach staff, the restaurants went above and beyond. The Star friends encouraged participation, but were never pushy. All in all, a wonderful place for vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank cacary32656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have invested in writing such a nice review about our property. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you.

It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 6,002 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Iberostar Grand. The facilities were gorgeous as were the rooms. Service was fabulous and everyone was most helpful. We had two concerns about the trip. First of all, the hotel was only 50-60% occupancy. This is where the problems came. Making reservations at the ala carte restaurants for a time other than 6:30 was not always easy and, due to the percent of occupancy, they chose to close down the buffet one evening. We were told we could not get a reservation other than 6:30, which we did not want. We ended up taking our concerns to the front desk and of course they were able to get us in at 8:30. When we went to the restaurant, there were open tables at 8:30. No reason for this to happen. Also there are many reviews that say because of low occupancy they were upgraded to oceanfront rooms. We were never offered that option. Why some people are given that while others are not does not seem equitable. Overall the vacation was very enjoyable however they need to work on the dinner reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jillg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and the fact that you endorsed our property highly.

With regard to our dinner service at the “a la carte” restaurants, our main goal is to offer our guests a unique and special experience where dishes are prepared to order so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. In order to achieve this, we do not occupy all the restaurant tables because some of our guests take longer to enjoy dinner and part of the experience is not to rush them. We also try to avoid guests from the following seatings having to wait for their dinner because their table is occupied by guests from the first seatings; and this way we avoid a whole delayed system. Sometimes we get no shows but we cannot assign those tables before waiting for a few minutes. We thank you for your understanding on this matter.

We are working hard to make it easier and more effective for all our customers; one suggestion would be to contact your concierge or butler at arrival and schedule dinner reservations in advance for your entire stay.

Regading upgrades, we will verify the information with our Front Desk Manager, as upgrades to oceanfront rooms are not given because of low occupancy. Thank you for bringing this up. We indeed do our best to offer equitable opportunities to all our guests.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to be your host again the next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything about the Grand Hotel Paraiso is first class. The service, food, pool, beach and activities were all great. The hotel never felt crowded and we never had to stand in line for anything. While the individual restaurants were very good (especially the Surf & Turf), the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner were outstanding and felt like you were dining at a high end restaurant. The buffet offered great variety but all high quality foods. We would definitely return to the Grand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
4  Thank MRGrad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and indeed for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was a delight to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you also for your very kind praise of our cuisine. We will be certain to pass on your kind comments to our chefs, and we are sure that they will be thrilled to know that they exceeded your expectations.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I rarely write reviews, but promised myself I would do so after staying at the Grand Hotel, in January 2013 (better late than never!). I researched extensively on where my husband and I should go for our 10 year anniversary. We don't go on long trips often, so wanted to make the most of it. After reading numerous positive reviews of the Grand, we booked. I was a little nervous about an all-inclusive, but my fears came to nothing. Service, food and accommodations were all top notch. I highly recommend an ocean-front room. The view was breath-taking, like out of a movie. The fruit basket upon arrival was a nice touch, along with checking in in our room. We were surprised with champagne and edible chocolate flowers a couple of nights. The hardest choices of the day were, should we go to the beach or pool, what kind of seafood to try, and what fun drink should be next! My husband and I really appreciate good food, and we were not disappointed. We found the food to be fresh and delicious (lobster twice a day? Why, yes!). We stayed in a fairly blissful state for 8 days. Even with some rain, we just went to the indoor pool or read books on our balcony. We went to a couple of shows, and to the disco one night. Don't expect Broadway, but still good fun. We also rode bikes, did a yoga class, participated some in pool games and went for long walks on the beach. After walking through a few other resorts, we were so happy to go home to the Grand. I could go on and on, but others have expressed their feelings more eloquently than I have on this site. I'll stop by saying that the Grand exceeded my very high expectations.

Room Tip: Ocean Front, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpbohmfalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest,

It is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our services and facilities. We understand that choosing for the first time an all inclusive hotel gives you some doubts but knowing that we gained your trust and contributed to your having a paradisiacal and wonderful vacation is the best reward we can receive.

We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our different pools, our special activities with our entertainers, the variety and exquisite food we offer in the different restaurants and buffet, and the lovely drinks prepared by our expert bartenders.

We are satisfied to learn that we managed to provide a very positive experience in this your second home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Paraiso in the near future!

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first time at the Iberostar Grand Hotel in Playa Paraiso and I so hope not our last!! I've been to 3 other all-inclusives and this is simply A-mazing. Immediately upgraded to beach front upon check in (Bldg 71 - awesome!!) The grand hallway in Bldg 72 is, well - grand, like a Venetian hallway, gondola outside the bridge walkway and all!! We wanted to walk around the atria and down the hallway to the main pool area to get ourselves acclimated while waiting for our room to be ready and then had lunch at La Brisa. And as we were to find out at every single meal - service was spot on!! Never had to even ask for more water or for another cocktail - EVER. Food selection and variety was more than my buffet-loving husband could have dreamed of. We had breakfast every morning at the Bella Vista, lunch at La Brisa and rotated dinners at one of the a la carte restaurants. Making reservations for them upon arrival with our floor concierge was no problem - always more than willing to help. I had planned an excursion into Playa del Carmen, but we never left the grounds! We wandered throughout the other 4 hotels, watched kids play at the wave pool, had drinks at the Mayan pyramid bar, then could head back back to the exclusivity of the Grand.
We golfed 18 holes one morning - great course - my husband had been watching it on the Golf Channel "Big Break - Mexico" tv show - and loved being able to try it. We did mention for one dinner reservation that it was our anniversary during our stay - and we came back to the room that night to petals making a walkway from a drawn bubble bath, to our kingsize bed with the swan towels. Such a lovely touch!
Although we are not necessarily "pool people" - afternoons were spent either reading on the beach - or at the pool bar. Eli, Marsellino (sp?!) - excellent service with the craziness that is the pool bar. All bars had top shelf liquor and several wine selections - not just one red or white.Walter, Jorge,Hugo, Cesar at the restaurants making sure we had everything we wanted. Adrianna, hostess, keeping us comfortable (and hydrated ;->) while waiting for our table. All the Star Friends to keep us apprised of activities. Andreas for our bike tour, Jenny and Christian for just stopping by and making sure we were having fun - whether it was just reading on the beach, or if interested in archery or volleyball. Every staff member, from waiters/service to housekeepers and grounds crew - all so friendly. Since I've been home, I can't stop saying "Hola!"

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We were happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team; no doubt will they be motivated by your kind words. It was our pleasure to have served you. We work to create memories that last a lifetime, and are very pleased to see that we have reached our goal.

We do hope that you will consider us as your vacation destination next time you are thinking of visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times and up and down the east side of Mexico. I love this place. They do not just serve you tap beer, the have many types and in cans and bottles. Breakfast and lunch food is good. Dinner was trying to be and do more then they should. Hibatchi was good. Once place just tried too hard to be fancy. Met a great group of people that made the days and nights fun. Rooms are great. Location is good too as it is not too far from hotel and Playa.
I would stay here again and in fact am taking my office here for a recognition trip. Gorgeous grounds and well taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Augie101898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your encouraging comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always great to receive positive feedback on numerous aspects of the hotel services and facilities.

It fills us with pride to read that you found our location good, as well the gastronomy and our accommodations. These features are our prime pillars because we are convinced that only through their excellence will we be able to reach complete guest satisfaction. Trust us that your review is a great source of motivation to keep us working hard and improving day by day.

On behalf of all Iberostar Grand Paraiso team, thank you for your stay; we look forward to welcoming you again to make you have another unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have gone 4 times now and we can't imagine going anywhere else. The service is outstanding from top to bottom. The rooms are clean and our mini fridge was always stocked. The food is great from the breakfast and lunch buffet to dinner at one of the restaurants. We don't even leave the resort anymore because it's always a let down. My husband and his friend golfed everyday and were amazed with the quality and condition of the course. Can't say enough good things. We'll never go anywhere else in Mexico.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
8  Thank njalden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you.

It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,158 reviews
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,217 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,196 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $385 - $973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing