We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a great week we had. It was our second time in this hotel and for sure we will return. Everything was amazing.... the meal, the room, the beach.... If you want to go out like Playa Del Carmen to go shopping, it's easy.. just take a taxi. Great shopping there.
I will recommanded this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank lagrande007564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear guest,

We really appreciate your positive review about your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

Thank you for highlighting our facilities and surroundings. We are pleased to know that you had a great experience, and especially that you are repetitive client, it means that we are doing a good job and that you are still enjoying our hotel and our service.

We are glad to know that you have the intention of recommending us. All our team look forward to welcoming you soon, please feel free to contact us if you need any assistance.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,765 - 2,771 of 5,950 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

Took this trip through Apple Vacations. The Apple people were great, met us at the Phila. airport to make sure everything went smoothly, were waiting in Mexico to guide us to the proper bus to our hotel and had an office at the hotel. The hotel was perfect in every way. At check in we were seated at a desk and offered some cold juice while we signed in. The room was first class. All of the pools and grounds kept spotless. Loved the bar in the pool. The people that worked in the hotel and restaurants were great, very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are happy to learn that you had an excellent vacation and that you were pleased with our service.

Your kind words about the food, the bar in the pool, the comfort of the rooms and the staff means a lot to us and makes our team proud of the service that they provided.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fabulous hotel, adults only,set right on the beach, 2 pools - one tranquillity pool,- wonderful. We stayed for 9 nights in an oceanfront room which was lovely, excellent service from all staff. Food very good, lots of choice, buffet & restaurants Surf & Turf Restaurant excellent. I was unwell at the beginning of the holiday,the concierge and butler service was amazing, very attentive and concerned and supplying chicken broth for me. All the restaurants were advised (perhaps from the Dr), that I had to have very little fat with my meal-amazing, we couldn't believe that they knew ahead!! We had excellent service throughout and would like to express our thanks to all, and especially to Mirna at the Tranquillity Pool for her excellent friendly service, and to Andreas and Marco for their lovely company in the bar and around the hotel. We went to one of their shows (Broadway Night) and it was great. 5 star hotel, with 5 star service, we would definitely go again. We went to rest and unwind and we could not have picked a better place - just what the doctor ordered!!! Some of the distances around the resort are quite far, but a golf buggy was available whenever needed. Would highly recommend. Loved it!!!! Also the weather was fantastic, but due to floods just before we arrived, there were a lot of mosquitoes, but didn't let them spoil the holiday.

Room Tip: Choose an Oceanfront Room - they are lovely, and choose a high floor if you want privacy, although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality manager I, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your recent visit and for the time you took to share your experience at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

It is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay among us. Thank you for your positive words regarding our restaurants, as well as the concierge and butler service. We can assure you that Mirna, Andres and Marco are very happy to know that they were part of your wonderful getaway.

We are very glad that we were able to meet your expectations, and to know that you have the intention to visit us again. On behalf of all our team we look forward to seeing you soon; it would be our pleasure to welcome you once again.

Thank you for having the intention of recommending us.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our 4th time to this wonderful hotel and every time we come here it seems to get better. We were very lucky to be given an upgrade to ocean front which was absolutely stunning to sit on the balcony listening to the sea lapping onto the beach,but all rooms are excellent whether overlooking the tranquillity pool or gardens.The restaurants and the themed buffets were excellent there was something for everyone,Tonis was our favourite but the others all running a close second,breakfast was a great start to every day, as for lunch sitting by the beach eating ribeye or lobster or what ever you fancied that day with a very nice glass of wine what more could you ask for.We used the tranquillity pool and the beach most days and the service from both servers was brilliant no waiting.The star friends well what can you say, so very friendly go out of there way to make time to speak to everyone they all do a great job and are a credit to the hotel, we went to a few shows which were very good The Beatles show was excellent.In the evening we went to the lobby bar to relax with a greygoose or two and the two girls and bar staff were great, as was the two musicians who played most nights. As for all the staff from the moment you arrive at the hotel and helped from your transport to front desk staff a great big thank you, the butlers were all so helpful again thank you, and now the wait staff and their supervisors in all the restaurants what can you say so very friendly and helpful and there to make your holiday, we can't name one or two as everyone was outstanding,it's all the staff that go to make this a great hotel. We would like to say thank you to Resident Manager Gabriel Rodriguez . Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent Ocean front are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank victor h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit with our resort. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We will be forwarding your lovely comments on the staff to their managers so that your review can reach them ; we are sure they will be really happy and motivated to read your words ! We have also forwarded your comments to Gabriel Rodriguez, a great asset to this company.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Two words describe this hotel...simply amazing!

I have recently returned from a glorious 10 day stay at this hotel with my 21 year old son. From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. The check in was swift and efficient, we were offered hot towel, a drink and the chance of an upgrade.

Words escape me as I am still in the post Iberostar haze! The people, the grounds, the food, the attention to detail are all beyond words. There is plenty to do or plenty of time to do nothing, the choice is yours. The tranquillity pool is a wonderful place to relax and reflect; the loungers are very comfortable and there is an abundance of fresh towels.

The food, whether in the a la carte restaurants or the buffets was exceptional, seafood, steak and various international flavours.

This was my first visit to an exclusively adult resort and what a difference that made to the relaxation and ambience. As a guest of the Grand you have full access to the other hotels on the complex but they have very limited access to yours.

Several comments on here have mentioned the rooms needing updating; I couldn't disagree more, ours was clean, well decorated and extremely comfortable.

Never before have I been so reluctant to return from a holiday. THANK YOU to all the staff at this amazing hotel for the truely wonderful memories I have been left with. I will definitely go back

Room Tip: Ask the Butlers for whatever you want, they will unpack your case, organise for your room to be clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cteataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest.

We consider it to be a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly is very motivating our Managers and Staff to keep on going the extra mile.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and trust you will not hesitate to return.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My first trip to the Grand Hotel was simply fantastic.

Upon arrival we were met with Champaigne or a Cocktail. Booked in prompty and offered a free upgrade to a beach from room, however this was declined as it was only available with a double bed rather than 2 singles.

Room:
The room was very spacious with a jaccuzi bath and 2 sinks and a shower. I kept getting a small electric shock from the small lit mirrior, this was bought to the attention of the 'buttler' and was promptly replaced.
The room was suitably cool with effective A/C. The minibar was replenished daily with Alcoholic and Soft drinks.

Food & Drink:
The food was second to none. The Buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was very high quality with good choice. The A la Carte restaurants were impecable, particularly the Japaneese.
The Lobby bar served Popcorn with drink every evening/night. The Pool bar staff were brilliant and went to the effort of learning my name and what drinks i liked.

Beach & Pool:
The beach is spotless with plenty of small huts to use and is not overcrowded unlike the neighbouring Iberostar resorts.
Every morning the staff would place folded towels on all beds for you to pick. Chefs during the day bought ice creams round for guests.
The main pool unfortunately is salty which is hard on your eyes but still very nice to use and swim in.
The tranquility pool is very peaceful and far away from all the noise of the main pool and pool games.

Safety:
You feel very safe in this hotel as there are always security patrolling which are constantly, but subtly checking wrist bands and challenging people that should not be at the resort.

Entertainment:
The highlight of the holiday was the fantastic entertainment team. Consisting of; Eder, Eduardo, Andreas, Marco, Bachir, Jonathan, Jenny, Christian & Irais. They were all so friendly and offered great entertainment for the guests. They went the extra mile to ensure you have a good time, For example Marco went to the effort of going to his accomodation area to get a pack of cards for me to play with, Small things like that.
Entertainment is run throughout the day, Archery, Air Rifle shooting, Yoga, Volley Ball, Water Polo and various 'Pool Games' like water ballon fights, all done to win medals, hats and t-shirts.

The evening entertainment is done in the theatre and consists of live music shows, magic and other shows which are all quite amusing.

Staff:
The staff were brilliant, every floor has a 'Butler' which are brilliant. Ours unpacked and repacked out bags for us. The pool bar staff were very helpful and kind. The bar man in the theatre, Eli, came to know me by my first name and was very attentive and knew what I liked.

All in all, a very good experiance that I would like to repeat soon.
With no children at the resort this made it much easier to relax as you weren't constantly surrounded by loud children.
5*

Room Tip: The rooms furthest away from the beach, next to the lobby, are a short 4/5 minute walk away for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ajt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know we exceeded your expectations on your first visit with our resort.

We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service. Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, but reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. However, we apologize for the inconvenience you had with the mirror.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We traveled to the resort in 2010 for a couples trip. The Grand was exquisite with the best of everything that Iberostar has to offer. We could travel to the sister resorts, but ours was off limits to the others.

Nightly entertainment and with over 5 restaurants to choose from, we were full from dawn to dusk. The service was wonderful with waiters even coming out to the beach to fulfill our drink orders and to bring everyone fresh bottles of water.

They greeted us with warm towels for our hands and a drink in the lobby until our private golf cart came and escorted us to our suite. We had a butler named Victor for the week and he was very helpful and left us lots of fun little surprises in our room!

We ventured out to a jungle tour and I highly recommend visiting the cenotes and Mayan ruins even though it is about an hour ride from the coast. They picked us up right at the door and returned us at the end of the day.

The spa was in a mall area that was a 5 minute walk from the resort. I wish it had been in our resort, but the services were interesting and adequate when needing a refresher. In the same strip mall we discovered a small taqueria that we visited regularly during our stay. With only 5 seats in the house, but a wonderful cook and conversationalist we learned that our all-inclusive rights extended to the mall restaurants as well!!

It was such a wonderful vacation and I only hope we will be able to return one day soon!

Room Tip: Gotta stay oceanfront with the hammock swing for 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelgal080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for the time that you have invested in writing such a nice review about our hotel. There is nothing more rewarding for us than knowing that our guests have enjoyed their stay and that we have overcome your expectations.

We have already shared you comments with all of our staff; it is always very motivational for all of us to receive such nice words from our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you once again in the near future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $383 - $904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing