We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale quiet hotel for couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Upscale quiet hotel for couples”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful exquisite hotel in MEXICO. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly; the rooms were clean and the food was delicious. Since I have a food allergy, I am always anxious about the food since I am at their mercy. The chefs made me special dishes at every meal and couldn't have been nicer. The only drawback to the hotel was that everyone gets up in the middle of the night and reserves beach and pool lounges. My friend and I got up before 7:00am and could not find two available chairs at the pool. I have been to many resorts in the Carribean and find this is quite common. Some people reserved multiple spots at the pool and beach. Water was a beautiful shade of turquoise and blue. Many Canadians and Germans seem to come to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
8 Thank 4loveofbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at IBEROSTAR Grand Paraiso. We hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We were very pleased to read your comments about the hotel, the facilities and service in general. Your review shows that we are on the right path to achieve this goal. Your kind words about our room, special food, the staff and the entire welcoming and friendly atmosphere mean a lot to us.

Similarly we appreciate your feedback on the beach and pool lounges, we will send the comment to the concerned managers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,845
    683
    203
    63
    35
See reviews for
681
4,156
115
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is the 8th time we have stayed at one of the Iberostar's at Playa Paraiso. Twice at Lindo, Three times at Maya and this was the third time at the Grand.
This is a very nice hotel in pretty much all aspects. The staff are excellent. Great service everywhere. The quality of restaurants are very good. We were quite appalled one night as a couple at the table beside us did nothing but complain. The guy sent three different bottles of beer back..Both of them sent back the wine...no pleasing them. For us....no complaints with the restaurants. There was always a good selection at the buffet's and the al a'carte's were really good. I liked the "Surf & Turf" restaurant the best.
The pool is nice. Only complaint is not enough shade. They need to get some umbrellas to really increase the availability of shade...We gringo's need some respite from the sun. There are some canvas palapas but not nearly enough of them.
Service at the pool bar is good and the bartenders enjoy a good laugh. There is also good service around the pool. Yari was very attentive and always had a great smile.
The star friends are a good group and there is usually some activity happening if you want to participate. One thing though, on the cloudy day they seemed to disappear. That was the time we could have used a few diversions around the pool.
The entertainment at night is very good. The Star band is top notch. They can play just about anything well. The Rock n roll show was great. Two very good guitarists. There are at least four good vocalists. There was often entertainment in the lobby lounge at night. Some nights we would go over to the Maya/Lindo theatre and watch the show there.
The rooms at the Grand are bright and spacious. The staff do a good job of cleaning the rooms. The availability of a butler is nice. We really liked the morning room service for coffee although on many nights they failed to leave the request card on our door. Not sure if they are trying to discourage this or not??
There is a very nice golf course here. If you are a golfer, take the time to go out and play a round. It is very scenic. Lots of interesting birds. I understand there is a troop of monkeys that live there but they are usually seen around dusk. I only played in the a.m.
There is a very mixed clientele at this hotel...Americans, Canadians, Italians, Dutch, German, Russian ......and more.
For beach lovers, this is a good spot. The beach is clean and the water is clear. There are often waves here but there was not a day that you could not go into the sea. There were a couple of days where it was as calm as a lake. You can walk a long way south on this beach, a few miles if you wish.
This is an adults only resort so it is quite a bit quieter than the other hotels in the complex. While we are quite OK with kids, It was a nice treat to have adults only especially around the pool.
We will return to the Iberostar Paraiso because no matter where we stay we encounter friendly efficient staff, a well run organization and very nice surroundings. We stayed for 14 nights and believe me...it was not too long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 11Nipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review which you have shared with other travelers. We appreciate that you have allowed us the honor of serving you again. Your evaluation is of special importance to us as you have had the opportunity to compare our property and services to others. The fact that we continue to receive positive reviews from you is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

We appreciated the time that you have taken as well to make constructive comments; we are committed to listen to our guests and be constantly trying to improve our services. We take note of them all and pass them on to the respective departments in charge.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Grand Paraiso!

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

this was our second time, in this wonderful hotel, we did stay for 14 days in a villa - incredible how nice this room was. We have had before a full ocean view room but this was even better.
You have to experience everything for yourself, words cannot express the wonderful feelings my wife and I did have. The staff and all the people who work there are nice and they do everything in their power to make everything enjoyable as possible. the weather, the beach, the sea, the pools, the entertainment you have to enjoy it by your selves.
We have met some wonderful people , we have had a great time and next year we will be back.

Room Tip: if you are able to afford a villa -ask for the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carribeanvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read your review full of wonderful comments about your stay at Iberostar Grand Hotel. Thank you very much for your loyalty and for the time you took to write your opinion. We always try to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and it is very motivating and pleasant to see that on this occasion we reached our goal.

Is good to know that you enjoyed our service and facilities, and that that you felt so well among us; it is one of our goals that our staff have a good contact with our guests and welcome them with open arms.

Thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I went to Grand Iberostar for 4 days. We have been to 2 prior All-inclusives and did not have a good experience (and decided never to try again)....However, we were looking for short trip to vacate from 2 kids (our 1st trip in quite a few year). Expectations were very high and it took us forever to finally commit to this resort (money, time, etc.). I PROMISE you will not be disappointed. Everything is first class. The property and rooms are beautiful. The staff is amazingly friendly and accommodating. Most everyone remembered your name after one meeting. The food was good, not great, but more than adequate. There was always something open in which to each (no transition periods between meals). The spa is beautiful. The massages are decent, but expensive. The Starfriends are great at offering something for everyone to do.
Listen, I do not have any major criticisms of this resort. Unless you're a complete wine snob, there is more than enough selections. Who cares about the internet on vacation. If you do, stay in the US. You can find a lot of little things to pick out (and there are some), but the good far outweighs the bad.
My one suggestion is that you book your trip through Mark at Tripguy.com. He will arrange everything (including dinner reservations). We were treated first class from the time we landed. Private transfers were arranged through Lomas Travel. Those guys are incredible. At airport departure, they helped us with bags all the way through checkout and did not leave us until we were headed to the gate. I have no doubt that we received royal treatment because of Tripguy's relationship with the resort. This was the best decision we made.

Special Kudos to Olivia,Julio, Raul, Jonathan, Hugo, Abraham, Samantha, Marco and most especially Fernando who had only been there 12 days (but treated us like he had been there his whole professional life). There are a many more that deserve special praise but these are certainly ones that standout

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaelj564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. It was an honor to have you in our hotel.

All your kind words with regards to our staff, facilities and services are greatly appreciated as well of your constructive comments. We are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers.

We have passed on your kind words to the staff you have mentioned; it is fantastic to see how happy they get to be so well recognized.

We hope that you will continue to give us the pleasure of hosting you when next you are planning your vacation as we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were at the Iberostar Grand for our sixth visit from march 21 to the 25th..It continues to be our favorite destination and the service was even better (we didnt think that could ever be possible)..My husband and I use the grand for a quick 4 night "recharge" getaway..I am sure a full week would be pure heaven..The staff really do care and can not do enough for you..Because we are returning guests we had wonderful surprises in our room every day including t shirts that say "I am back"..
The Japenese and Gourmet restaurants were our favorite..We had a piece of filet mingon that was perfect..I would have liked a potatoe or vegatable with it so be sure to order a salad before..They are happy to bring you whatever makes you happy.
We had an oceanfront room which has a heavenly view..The shows continue to be outstanding..We usually skip the mexican theme shows but the others provide top entertainment.
I highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants to relax, read, eat great food and be treated with kindness..
special thanks to Julio and of course Shirley who is always so welcoming!!

Room Tip: ocean front room in building 70
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AddictedToTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our gratitude for choosing once again Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso to spend your holidays and also for the time that you spent writing this review.

We are very glad to know you had an excellent time in our resort; the most important thing for us is to go beyond our guests expectations. We are really happy and proud to read that our staff were able to make you feel like home during your stay, be sure that we will share your kind words with the entire team.

We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sompting, England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from two weeks, the hotel is fantastic, food is excellent, choice of wine and drinks plentiful. The staff are all lovely and friendly, especially Humberto in the main lobby bar and Louis at breakfast and lunch.

I would rate this hotel 5 star, however I have rated it 4 for two reasons. The first is the sunbed situation at the pool, when on holiday I do not want to have to get up at 6 am at the latest in order to get a sunbed at the pool. Unfortunately people seem to think its perfectly acceptable to reserve multiple beds around the pool (ie in the shade, in the sun, down on the beach etc). We even saw people putting towels down late at night. This means there is a shortage of available beds for others. The management are aware of what is happening but seem reluctant to do anything about it. Whilst I really didn't want to get into the early morning sunbed reserving game, they really was no alternative. It's very frustrating, especially when you see beds 'reserved' all day and then never occupied.

The other issue is the lack of wifi around the hotel. If you want to check emails etc you have to go to the lobby which can be a trek from some parts of the hotel. It would be nice if the hotel put wifi in each of the blocks where the concierges are based.

Apart from the two issues noted, everything else in the hotel is first class and as I said has great staff. The hotel is kept immaculate. I used the gym facilities and was pleasantly surprised by the equipment. The gym is fairly small but other resorts I have stayed at have some old worn out machines, however those in the Grand were well kept.

The spa pool was a godsend on the few cloudy and rainy days, the pool is heated and has some great water massage jets.

Although we didn't use it, I liked that the hotel as a tranquility pool so those who do not want music and pool games can go and relax.

The staff friends do a great job at keeping people entertained around the main pool with some great fun games, they will ask if you want to join in, however they do not force you if you say no. They are a friendly bunch and we had some good laughs with them.

Again, Louis at breakfast and lunch always made us feel welcome and would make us smile. If you're hungover ask Louis for a Mexican hangover cure - he made a great drink which cured me in an instance (and it contained no alcohol!). We spent our evenings in the lobby bar chatting to the many people we met and Humberto was a perfect host mixing up drinks and a lovely guy to also chat and laugh with also.

All in all we has a great time and would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahg112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Iberostar Grand Hotel we would like to thank you for the time you spent to let us know such a valuable feedback of your stay at the property. This review will be shared to our staff and managers as we are compromised to our guest satisfaction and to improve every day upon the excellent service you deserve.

Regarding the chairs at the pool, we are working on it in order to provide extra chairs and satisfy all of our guests needs. We also know how important is the internet for our guests, for this reason we are working to make the correct changes to guarantee the best experience in comfort and relaxation. We will be having wifi in the common areas and rooms at the end of this year.

We appreciate your comments and truly want to make your experience as pleasant as possible and we hope that you will continue to choose Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your future travel needs into Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We just returned back from a great weekend vacation in the Grand Paraiso Hotel. l have to say that the hotel was very impressive. The location was great and service was superb, as expected. However, I cannot give this hotel 5 stars due to mainly two reasons. Number One:. Food. Even though the buffets were good, the restaurants were terrible. We didn't have a descent evening meal for 4 days and finally decided to eat at the night buffet during our last night. Disappointed to say the least. The selection of house wines was also very, very limited.
Number 2: Connectivity. In today's fast and connected world, I would risk to say that if the hotel has poor access to wi-first technology is bordering on being pathetic. Do I need to say more. Internet access was well below my expectations. Particularly in a place as opulent like this hotel. 3 1/2 to 4 stars pushing it.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the ones facing the beach. Specially if you can get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraiso and your comment on Tripadvisor.

We very much regret that we could not meet your expectations with some services. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the quality of the food which obviously does not reflect our usual high service standards which you can rightfully expect at our property.

Concerning our connectivity, we have a new project this year and we expect to have WIFI in our hotel common areas and rooms before December which we are sure it will be helpful for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus by Melia Playa del Car...
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
8,518 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing