We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get any better than this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved the Grand Hotel...everything about it was first class...excellent staff, incredible food...beautiful location...Iberostar knows how to make guests feel welcome and valued.
The hotel was full, but no staff member appeared harried or too busy to help us with absolutely anything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
9 Thank sprandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your lovely feedback following your recent stay with us at Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your vacation and that everything from the location, to the food, rooms and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team corresponded or even exceeded your expectations. It is feedback like yours that makes us aware of our opportunities and helps us to continually improve our levels of service.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,639
    651
    191
    61
    36
See reviews for
640
3,995
104
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just returned from a week in paradise, completely refreshed and recharged. The Grand offers excellent, friendly service from check in to check out. A member of our group was travelling with a wheelchair. The staff was very helpful with accomodating us at meals, poolside and in the room.

The Star Friends, Carmen, Marco, Edourdo, Carlos, Samantha.....all made us feel welcome.

The poolside staff, Letty, Yari and others were also extremely attentive and friendly.

This was our third trip to the resort and certainly not our last!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
7 Thank Irregardless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your third time with us at this Grand Paradise :-)

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed, from the very beginning of your vacations, our friendly staff, our rooms, the hotel facilities including the swimming pool and the food served in the restaurants.

Your words will not only motivate our star friends’ staff, but will encourage our entire team to continue providing the best service experience we can.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I planned a trip to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso with the recommendation of a travel agent who had vacationed at the resort a few months prior. For the most part, the trip was fantastic. I have a few items to criticize, then I can highlight what we thought was an impressive resort.
We planned a late january 2013 trip sometime around late September 2012. I was surprised to see in the fine print of the travel documents that room requests were NOT guaranteed. We wanted a king bed, on a high floor, oceanfront view. At the time of booking they either know they have it available or not, right? We did get a third floor, oceanview junior suite, but it had two full size beds (mini queens at most). We were offered alternatives, but they were on first floor with a view of the beach lounge huts that blocked out the ocean. We settled for the stunning view on the top floor, and did the best we could with the sleeping arrangement. On the plus side, the room was very clean and organized. They did an excellent job of daily upkeep. The swing on the balcony was the perfect way of unwinding after a full day at the pool bar (more on that in a moment).
My biggest criticism is how the dinner service is run. It's hard to write this paragraph without sounding like the biggest whiner in history but oh well. All inclusive to me signifies freedom of choice in where I want to eat and when provided seating availability. This would also allow you to dine with people you meet on the golf course or in the pool, etc, if you so choose. The breakfast and lunch buffets were more than adequate with selction and quality and the hours were perfect. Dinner, that is an entirely different story. There are 4 main dining spots on the Grand property (Italian, French gourmet, Japanese, and a steakhouse), in addition to dinner buffets. Here is a breakdown of what we were offered by our concierge for dinner options:
Saturday arrival: Japanese at 9PM (we only made one night upon arrival, the rest were offered on sunday afternoon when I realized we needed to make the week's worth of reservations)
Sunday: Japanese at 9 PM or the buffet
Monday: Japanese at 9 PM
Tuesday: Steakhouse at 9 PM
Wednesday: Italian at 9 PM
Thursday: French at 6:30
Friday: Japanese at 6:30
If we wanted to eat at steakhouse twice it wasn't an option. Italian, not an option. We could have also eaten french on friday, but we ate there thursday. Dinner took well over an hour, which is fine on vacation, but not when your dinner is at 9PM most nights and shows start at 10PM. We rarely eat after 7:00 to begin with. This was a clear attempt to control costs. I would have eaten surf and turf four times it was so good. All of the dinner food was excellent as a matter of fact. The restaurants were only at 50% capacity to boot. It's not like we got to our 9:00 reservation somewhere and the place was packed. At times we would show up a little early so we could get out of there at a reasonable time.
To summarize food: if you want all buffets this is the place. If you think you will walk around and eat dinner whenever you want at one of the restaurants, think again. We had room service twice because we were too tired to go to a 9:00 dinner at the Japanese place. Room service was prompt, and extremely good.
We will end on a good note. The spa is incredible. Nice roman bath with massage jets and a warm jacuzzi. Steam room and a sauna. Spa services are pricey, but my massage was excellent and my girlfriend said her treatment was great. The golf course was in immaculate shape and was fairly challenging. The resort itself was cleaner than clean. I saw people pressure washing the grounds daily to keep the floors and buildings looking great. The service staff was professional, attentive and friendly (keep do not disturb tag in door when you're in the room!). The pool is a gigantic salt water haven with a nice bar, top shelf liquor and world class bartenders. They organize plenty of activities at the pool during the day, and the lobby bar is a great meeting place before you head wherever for the evening. If you want a good spot at the pool, get down there EARLY. Most of the covered cabanas are claimed by 6:30 AM. Put a personal effect on the chair as resort towels invite others to lay claim to your spot. Finally, there is a little place in the shopping mall that is on the Iberostar property called Los Tacos. You'll thank me later for that one.
To conclude, we had a great time at the Grand. We would consider going back IF we could get a room guarantee as it's not romantic waking up in separate beds every morning. We can do that at home. There will have to be some changes made to how dinner service is managed. Again, this was a resort-wide complaint throughout the week. We hope you enjoy your time at the Grand if you choose to vacation there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your opinion of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you had a great time at the Grand Hotel but on the other hand we are concerned that some of your expectations were not fulfilled; your feedback is very important to us since it helps us to improve on a daily basis.

Unfortunately as a policy of our chain we cannot guarantee special room requests since it depends on availability and the occupancy we have at the time of the arrival day; however, be sure we do our outmost to try and accommodate all of our guests’ wishes.

In regard to our dinner service at the “a la carte” restaurants, our main goal is to offer our guests with a unique and special experience where meals are made-to-order, so we can provide freshness and quality along with a personalized service. In order to achieve this, we cannot occupy all the restaurant tables during the first seating because some of our guests take longer to enjoy dinner and part of the experience is not to rush while serving them. During the second seating we can have most of our tables occupied but as you well mentioned some of our guests prefer earlier times to have dinner so they will not miss the show or enjoy our different bars. This 2nd seating is usually the most popular and fills up first. It also happens sometimes that our guests do not show up at the restaurants and then of course we have tables available but we cannot re-use those tables until 15 – 20 minutes after the reservation time, when it will become a cancelation.

This is not to excuse ourselves but simply an explanation of how our system works to give our guests the best possible experience. We are working hard to make it easier and effective for all our customers. One suggestion would be to contact your concierge or butler as soon as you arrive, and schedule dinner reservations in advance for your entire stay.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to be your host again the next time you are thinking on visiting the Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I just had our wedding at the Iberostar Grand on January 26, 2013. The resort is absolutely beautiful, and we enjoyed our entire experience. Our wedding coordinator, Jessica, did a phenomenal job. If you are considering having a destination wedding in the Riviera Maya, you should definitely choose the Iberostar Grand. Everything was top notch. Jessica upgraded us to the Presidential Suite when we arrived, and it was phenomenal. The hotel accommodated all of our needs.

The wedding itself was gorgeous, and I believe all of our guests had a wonderful time. Everyone that went down to the Iberostar Grand would return because they thought the resort was fantastic. We will definitely be back. Jessica thank you again, you were great!!

Room Tip: It might be worth it to upgrade to an ocean front room. I usually wouldn't suggest this, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pash1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to see your great review in relation to your special wedding day in Grand. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your experience and your stay. Thanks for choosing us for such a special occasion.
We have communicated your feedback to our wedding coordinator and we are very happy to know that everyone’s efforts are so well appreciated. We are convinced that this post will serve as a source of inspiration for our brides to be.

Once again, thank you for your comment and congratulations! We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary :-)

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar México
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I got proposed to at this resort. This resort was the most amazing resort I have been thus far (and I have been to mexico many times). While you may opt for day trips, we nevr had to leave the property...Everything was already there. The staff is so willing to help with anything and everything you need which included helping my Fiance plan the proposal. The turn down service is lovely especially the oil burning which makes the room smell amazing. There are many pools to choose from- my favorite was indoors by the spa as it was relaxing. My fiance liked the salt water large outside pool with the swim up bar. There were shows every night and a casino night. The property is so huge-it is easy to get lost- if you stay at this particular hotel they will transport around via a golf cart. The seafood resturant is by far the best and you do not leave hungry.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean front room if you want a great view. If you want a more quiet room, ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GermanPiggy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Iberostar Grand Paraiso Hotel for this special celebration, we feel privileged to have had the opportunity to serve you and contribute to make you day extra special.

It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We were at the Iberostar Grand last year and failed to review.
In a short recap
Great staff.
The restaurants and great but make sure you make reservation well in advance.
Steak house isn't the Keg but its still well above most paces I've been.
For the buffet, Where else can you stuff your face with lobster, shrimp, crab and caviar pretty much at every meal?
Just came back from an other hotel down the strip and the food and service was not as impressive at all in comparison.
I actually left 90 percent of a steak untouched and another couple a day before said the same thing.
The locals call it a 5 diamond and it is. Its rated as a 5 Star and by my standard it's a 5 star +.
The bar selection is mid to upscale and once they remember you they will use the liquor of choice without you asking for it.
If you ask for Grey Goose once, they'll continue to serve it without repeating yourself.
For the money, You cant go wrong.

Pet peeve.
Inconsiderate people leaving towels on beach beds and lounge chairs and not using them all day long. The hotel did not address this problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KarmaxAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent post on Trip Advisor. Your comments are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, including the food and drinks.

Concerning the beach beds and chairs, we have staff working by the beach and pools everyday to assist our guests. If our guests require a chair or bed, they are happy to find one for you.

We look forward to welcoming you again shortly.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the third Grand we have gone to - the Grand Rose Hall in Jamaica and the Grand Bavaro in Punta Cana - so there might be some comparing in this review.

To begin with, Mark at Trip Guy once again excelled at arranging our trip. From the private transfers with Lomas Travel, to the pre arranged specialty restaurants, and great top floor Ocean Front suite, he could not do any better. We always count on Mark and Trip Guy for great service and he has never let us down. The private transfers with Lomas Travel were also out of this world and we highly recommend their services. Can't be beat.

Now for the resort. We arrived early and our room was ready for us before noon. We had a welcome letter from Iberostar confirming that Trip Guy was a preferred partner and giving various discounts. We were brought to our top floor Ocean Front suite and had our check in done by the Butler right in our room. He was very friendly and gave us all the information we needed and also phone numbers if we needed the services of a Butler or Concierge for anything. By the way, we have noticed in some reviews that the Butlers are hard to find after the initial check in. This was not our experience. They were available anytime and even at times followed us down the hall to ask if everything was OK and if we needed anything at all. Very friendly and very helpful,

The room is very similar to the Grand Rose Hall. Very clean and well laid out. Plenty of room to store everything, nice bathroom and because we were Ocean Front, a beautiful ocean view. We originally had a problem with the air conditioning not going low enough for us, but this is where the Butlers were great. When we asked that the thermostat be adjusted, it was done quickly and we were able to lower the temperature to what we wanted. When we asked for an earlier make up time for our room, it was done with no problem and the Butlers followed up to make sure we were satisfied. All the services here were great.

The ocean can at times be rough, but we were still able to swim. We saw where some said there were a lot of rocks, but we found that was only on one side of the property. In front of our building, the sand was great and there were no rocks.

The property is larger than both the Grand Bavaro and the Grand Rose Hall, but it is easy to get around and is kept very clean. Carts are available if you need one and we never had anyone say no. As with the other properties upkeep is always being done.

There restaurants are all very good, and the people serving are helpful and happy. If you want something, ask for it and it will be done. This is part of what makes it a 5 star property and what keeps people going back..

We were very impressed with the Grand Paraiso and have always been impressed by the Iberostar properties and services. We recommend these to anyone wanting a great holiday.

Room Tip: Building 70, Ocean Front, is a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Resortpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us to the fullest.

It is a great honor to have had the opportunity to have served you and the fact that you endorsed our property highly, motivates our Managers and Staff to keep on going the extra mile.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and trust you will not hesitate to return.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
1.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#19 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing