We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iberostar Grand, defining 5 Star resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a trip I had planned for my girlfriend and I to get away from the stress and hectic lifestyle we live. Within the first minute of stepping out of the cab, we knew we were in for a special experience.

During check-in we were told we would be receiving a complimentary upgrade to a ocean suite, no special reason, just because! We would of been more than happy with our original reservation in the standard Jr. suite but in true Iberostar fashion, they exceeded our expectation. While the front desk staff was getting everything set, a waitress approached us and we were offered daiquiri style mango drinks to really set mood of the Rivera Maya. Remember, this is a "all inclusive" resort, leave it at home, forget all your worries, you do not need to do anything, from the minute you step into the lobby, the staff will have anything and everything you may need or want.

The quality of the Iberostar Grand's all inclusive is top notch! Top shelf liquors, premium beers and food anybody would salivate over. A mini fridge in your room, stocked daily with top shelf/premium beverages and snacks, is quite a special touch. After drinking Dos Equis, Tecate, Sol and Victoria for a few days, the guy stocking the fridge asked me if I had any preference on our beverage selection. I said sure why not, how about some Corona, done! There are 4 reservation style restaurants in addition to the two buffet style restaurants. For us, we were so pleased with the buffets and the room service we didn't even make reservations to eat at the other restaurants. With lobster and caviar at your buffet, why go anywhere else? (I'm not kidding about lobster and caviar at the buffets)

There are a total of 5 Iberostar resorts on the "compound". The best part about staying at the Grand is, you have access to all of the other resorts but only you can access to the Grand! Restaurants, bars, clubs, shops, entertainment, pools, beaches and whatever else the other resorts may have, you can use and then retreat back to your exclusive Grand. We did this a few times but with only 6 days, we only saw a fraction of what Iberostar has to offer.

If you are looking for paradise, look no further, this is it! With the 5 star service, 5 star staff, 5 star restaurants, 24 hour room service and Vegas style entertainment nightly, there is truly is no other! The Iberostar Grand Paraiso is the definition of 5 star!

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked outstanding but you cant beat the ocean suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your visit to our resort! We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We thank you sincerely for having chosen the Iberostar Grand Paraiso for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,236 - 3,242 of 6,151 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Travelled to the Iberostar from December 27, 2012 to January 3, 2013 with 4 other couples. We were all very impressed with the quality of service, accomodation, grounds and most of all the food. We have travelled to many other all inclusive and this is the first time I would ever say that we would return to the same place. Woudl definately recommend this hotel for an awesome relaxing vacation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank FrequentFlyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you have experienced an outstanding stay at Iberostar Grand Paraíso. Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is cause for great satisfaction to read that you are impressed with the quality of service that we offer; we work constantly to improve day by day, so it means that we are on the right track.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed all our surroundings and services.

We are confident that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a very nice resort. The food is excellent, the accommodation is very nice and the staff is helpful and pleasant. The resort property is large and affords many pleasant walks and has varied facilities including a shopping mall and medical office. The beach is very clean and you can walk for a long distance. Overall, a nice vacation destination.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
5  Thank scoleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and all the staff we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to have served you by choosing Iberostar Grand Paraíso and also for taking the time to share your comments about our services.

We look forward to seeing you again and make sure you have an unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Attention to every detail best describes our stay! From the moment we checked in, the staff was there for us with smiling faces! No request was "too much", they were professional, polite, friendly and truly interested in our stay being everything we wanted it to be. 6 of us ages 19-85 traveled together and All 6 loved it! We stayed in building 70 with ocean front views and it was Spectacular!!! The kids and my dad had Ocean Front Suites and we had an Ocean Front Superior Suite, the difference was the Jacuzzi on our balcony. We had a butler and concierge at our service, and in addition to the rooms being cleaned daily - they were freshened during the evening turn down service. As for the mini bar, my husband and father drink top shelf which isn't stocked and both were brought 5th of their preferred. On our anniversary the staff surprised us with rose petals from the doorway to a bubble bath they had drawn for us, then back out to the lounge area where there was a chilled bottle of Champagne, to top it off they decorated our bed with a beautiful heart of rose petals and in the center were his and her "towel swans" forming a heart. Very touching and unexpected! Food was plentiful at both the breakfast and lunch buffets. Each day at lunch there was a "special" such as grilled lamb chops, lobster, etc... And while I'd much prefer a sit down meal in a restaurant, I found the breakfast and lunch buffets met my needs. That said, the rest of my family loved it!!! In the evening we dined 5 of the 7 nights in the restaurants. Our favorite was the Italian by far! 2 nights we dined at the buffets only because the restaurants were closed. The restaurants are always closed on Sundays and they go all out with a traditional Mexican buffet. The other night was New Years Eve and again there was a special buffet. All in all, I would recommend eating in the restaurants for dinner. I would also recommend contacting the concierge at least one week prior to arriving to make your reservations in order to dine at the times that suit you. Some things to consider when making your reservations: Buffets are open from 7am-10pm we ate late lunches therefore needed late reservations. Also, entertainment starts at 10pm in the theater. The pools, gym & spa were all great! The beach was AMAZING!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
13  Thank ispndmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on your very first visit to our resort.

We are touched by your special mention of your anniversary surprise. We know that you chose us specially for this occasion and is very important to us to know that you had an unforgettable one. We also recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, so reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more.

We thank you sincerely for choosing the Iberostar Grand Paraiso and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and just returned from the Grand Hotel Paraiso and are still amazed. Our concierge, Luise, was fantastic as was the buffet manager Sr. Ruben. The restaurant waiters were extremely professional. When they weren't serving their tables they were watching the patrons. I glanced at a waiter, (not ours) and he immediately summoned our waiter to our table, even though we didn't need anything. Everyone was helpful, friendly and outgoing. My only negative comments, not complaints, is that our water in the shower went from very hot to very cold and that there is no where to dance in the hotel. There is a "disco" on the grounds, a 10 to 15 minute walk, but it's stuck in 1977 since it's modeled after 'Star Wars'. Since I don't dance, I didn't care but my wife did. My wife I will definitely return. Top shelf liquor and they even had my favorite American beer. I give it six stars! (This was an 'adult only' hotel so there was no kid service)

Allen

Room Tip: Ocean front with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Snabarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your last experience at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. It was a pleasure to have you in our hotel.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip was also greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests, and reviews like yours are definitely very motivating so rest assured we will forward your comments to Luise, Sr Ruben and the rest of the staff.

Your comments on the shower and the disco have been duly noted and we assure you that they will be taken into consideration by the departments in charge.

We hope that you will not hesitate to return in the near future; it would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon stay at the Iberostar Grand. It was fabulous!! We were treated like royalty there. I could not believe how wonderful the staff, food, and location were. We would return this weekend if we could. The only complaint was the reservation situation at the restaurants. When we arrived we were told that two of the restaurants were booked for our whole stay. This was very disappointing! We did eventually get into one of the restaurants. I wod definitely recommend booking ahead.however we did not let that ruin our time. We loved it so much that we are looking into returning sometime this year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank Fagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us the feedback of your recent stay.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your honeymoon at this beautiful property, as we are committed to offer a luxurious accommodation and the best quality of food and beverages. We will continue working on improving our services and we will take into account your comments and suggestions because they help us improve every day.

We would be very glad if you gave us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked two oceanfront rooms at this beautiful resort from Dec. 26th - Jan. 2nd. My family and I have been to many all inclusive resorts, and this one is the best one we have been to. All the positive comments / remarks you read about this place are true. The golf course was very nice and challenging ; the fairways and the greens were in great shape. The whole place is spotless, and the staff is very friendly.
Only a few minor irritants :
No wifi in rooms
Lack of TV channels
No signs on the grounds
Motion detector in rooms for electric power (very annoying)

We were told we could not get a late check-out, but after speaking to the front desk manager, she gladly agreed to give us one room, so we were able to enjoy another day before our pick up at 3:45 pm for the airport.
My wife and I now understand why so many guests are repeat customers. If you are looking for an all inclusive luxury experience, with a golf course, this place is difficult to beat !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank canuck64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarMexico, Quality Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments with other travellers. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacations at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso.

We really appreciate your valued feedback because it helps us to improve our services and to avoid problems in the future. Nevertheless, we do hope that you took treasured moments from your vacation at Iberostar Grand Paraiso back home with you.

We hope that you will return again soon so we can extend our usual warm welcome.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
6.4 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,479 reviews
6.7 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,247 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#5 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#2 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $364 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing