We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - The best place at Riviera Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Do not hesitate "Just Do it" you won't regret it.

Food: everything is available for you, just ask for it and somebody will help you, from the best sea food available in the region to high quality steaks. Food is excellent at all of the four restaurants, maybe the japanese is not so good in case you are an expert in the field but isnt bad. The Gourmet restaurant is wonderful, Surf and Turf wowwwww!!!!

Beverages: All mexican beers available, and some import beers such budweiser, heineken, coors, others you have the best of the best cognac, vodka, gin, brandy if you don't see the brand you are looking for just ask for it.

And the MOST IMPORTANT you will be treated like a KING! Rockstar or wherever you want... All the staff is amazing they do their best to pleased us all the time no matter what we need they found the way to satisfy all our needs.

Bartenders: Daniel, Marcelino and Humberto pool bar and Humberto from the lobby with Gabriel, thank you guys for all the drinks.

Wait staff: Martin, Juan Carlos, Maciel, Rene at surf and turf ask him for his irish coffe, Cesar, Francisco it's hard to remember all the names because all the staff is amazing.

Facilities we love it, indoor pools, salt water and fresh water pools, a great spa.

Our room was very confortable.

We stayed for 8 wonderful days and we will back as soon as possible it's the best hotel where you can stay.
At the restaurants Martin (the waitress

Room Tip: Enjoy, and don't forget to ask for what you need some body will help you.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luis_hlear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,916)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,611 - 3,617 of 5,916 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

It's a gorgeous resort. Shop around and get a good deal, the prices can vary greatly. We went through an agency in Atlanta and believe we got a good price. It was in May so my memory is not totally fresh on all the details, but I'll try to cover the basics.

- About Rooms: We stayed at a standard room with a view of the serenity pool and it was lovely. We could not see the ocean, but there is nothing ugly to look at. We had plenty of privacy with the trees around our balcony. We could see out, but I don't think you could see us very easily, it felt secluded. It was convenient, yet private enough. We were already spending big bucks so thought we'd try the standard room and we were not disappointed. I don't think there are any bad rooms. Everything is nice quality, no skimping on the building materials, love the balcony. It was heavenly waking up the first morning to coffee on the balcony~seriously, heavenly!

- Grounds/ Entertainment: The grounds are very well kept. Beautiful pools. Very relaxed. All couples, mostly middle aged, not many young couples. Lots of Europeans, way more than Secrets Maroma where it's basically all Americans, it's a nice mix of people. Not a party place, very relaxing. Unfortunately sometimes a bit sedate. I wish the music at the pool was a little more upbeat. I don't want rap or punk rock blaring but maybe a notch above Yanni.

We tried the pool next door for a little variety and music after the third day. They have games, it's fun to watch people shoot hoops to win massages etc. There are kids/ families, its a more lively environment, more to look at if you don't feel like reading a book. You definitely appreciate the Grand when you go back, it seems nicer than ever, but I like the place next door too. I get tired of new aged music and actually like to swim. It's fun to explore the Iberostar properties and it's nice to have the option for peace and quiet or silliness. With this huge complex you can pretty much do whatever you want.

Disco~ Call me crazy, but we like the star wars disco. It probably depends on the crowd when you are there. It's not high end, but it's fun. Lots of people of all ages, the Europeans stay out late and actually dance. The DJ was good. It's like a fun, crazy wedding. Corny, but entertaining. Act like a fool. No one will ever see you again. They will also taxi you back in a gold cart which is great.

Shows~ All pretty good. Rock show excellent. Better than you would expect. Some very talented performers. Lots of effort and preparation. Impressive.

Food~ The steak house stands out. The views are gorgeous, make sure to get a table when it's still light outside so that you can take pictures of the sunset. They will be the best photos of your vacation. Can't beat the steak house. Excellent steak and lobster. Yummy hot chocolate cake. Make sure that you get in.

Buffet by the ocean with views~ Outstanding dining room and views, food so,so. Too many cold food choices/not enough hot. I'm not a huge seafood eater either, which cuts down on my choices. It's probably a good thing that I didn't get overly excited about every meal, because there is plenty of eating and drinking going on. My husband is a pretty picky eater, very meat and potatoes and he enjoyed the buffet and always found something. You can wait a while if you order off the menu, my hamburger was NOT good and I never ordered anything again. It's not worth the wait. I'd just eat the buffet or order room service. The room service is very good, especially steak.

Main Buffet~Very good, lots of choices, great cheese selection. It's nice to go get a bottle of wine and some cheese to have up in the room before dinner if you have a later reservation. All the wine was fine. I forget what we drank exactly, there was a decent dry red and a couple of dry white wines that were fine.

Buffet at resort next door~They have a good buffet next door, I liked it better than the grand's lunch buffet. But, there is no AC in the dining room, awesome food, but no AC is a deal breaker. They have more American type food at the buffet next door, spaghetti, chicken and a normal salad bar. I was up for some basic food after days of some more exploratory eating. The buffets at the Grand are very Spanish in nature. Lots of cold tapas type things like olives, pieces of romaine lettuce (not salad). Lots of cold veggies, seafood etc. If you can stand the heat this buffet is worth a try.

Service~ Amazing, very nice genuine people. Tip well. They bend over backwards to make you happy.

Overall fabulous. Building, rooms, ground, staff, entertainment A+. The food was a B. The steakhouse and room service are A level, but the buffets are B level.

We ate well, drank very well, had a great time and have no complaints. I don't see how you could have a bad time at this place unless you are a sort of unhappy person in general. We loved our 5 days there and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: I don't think that you can go wrong anywhere.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank lrkg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and I went for our second time and loved it again. We were here in June this time and were again thoroughly impressed. We stayed in a beach front suite and it is hard to beat relaxing on the balcony and getting to listen/watch the ocean. The accomodations are great and we liked the fact that you can go to the quiet pool if you get tired of the pool with the swim up bar. The food choices were good and we also had room service a couple times and it was good also. It's difficult to imagine another resort being nicer than this one. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely get a beach front room, it's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we were there for business retreat. WOW! Absolutely incredible.

Room Tip: the BEST all inclusive so far!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4frtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had an awesome time at the Grand Paraiso, from check-in to check-out. Food was good, and the seclusion was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank acjetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Just got back from our second stay at the Grand and once again it is painful to realize that they have ruined it for any other resorts we were thinking of visiting because once you try the "Grand" experience, everybody else falls short. I have tried many other resorts and for the price this place is unbeatable. There might be places with better food (maybe) and there might be places with better rooms (maybe) but when you combine everything together they are on top of the list. What sets them truly apart is the service. Everybody working there seems to really take pride in what they do and to ensure your stay is the best it could be. You actually feel like they are glad to have you there and do not work for tips (at times I actually had to run after the server to give him a tip).
Did I mention it was our second time around? Well they knew and welcomed us accordingly.(fun to be recieved like that). Most of the staff actually remembered us and came to say hello during the week.
Great place, great people...gotta go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank capt106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a week, we werw upgraded for free because the other hotels in this huge complex were full and with lot of families and children and they upgraded us because we arranged for a peacefull stay, we love chilldren but they did it just in case, or I don't know exactly why.
The point is that the hotel is wonderfull lobster included in every menu Chanpagne included all day, exclusive use of the big swiming pool not teenagers admitted, personal consierge and everything you can imagine all included.
Really it was like dreaming in paradise. We would come back for sure if we were able to afford it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
1.4 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.9 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#21 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
8,884 reviews
13.1 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $395 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, VISIT US, INC. , Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing