We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,629)
Filter reviews
12,629 results
Traveler rating
8,936
2,197
796
436
264
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,936
2,197
796
436
264
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar health bar santa fe swim up room sand bags k team casita section fuentes pool la isla pool greenhouse tour personal concierge wine pairing swing bar our honeymoon outdoor shower jo jos culinary theatre
Filter
Updating list...
6,415 - 6,420 of 12,629 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Travelled to Mexico El Dorado in September. Best hotel we have ever stayed in. Karisma group certainly know how to do it. We stayed in the El Dorado side of the hotel, the Casitas side joins and share restaurants. Casitas a lot more money, nice but not sure if worth the extra. Our room (being the basic option) was excellent. Very big with everything you need and more. Adults only and certainly full of class. Only buffet was breakfast, and then you can have waiter service if picked from menu. Buffet breakfast was immaculately clean and stocked. All other meals in waiter service restaurants. They describe it as gourmet all inclusive and that is exactly what it is. Fine food and wines every time. Bar drinks are excellent, all branded and at least 45 cocktails on the lists to choose from. Special Martini bar and Bellini bar, both great. The services of Thomson are really not required at all. Each block of rooms has its' own concierge who are excellent and cannot do enough for you.
Entertainment good and activities during the day if you choose to do them.
Very relaxing holiday, we spent most of time on beach and at swim up pool.
We had previously stayed at Playacar (Riu Tequila) and have to say that the beach and sea was better there. Lots of seaweed and as previous reviewers have stated, concrete blocks in the sea to protect shoreline, not the prettiest of views, but apart from that beach is kept clean and has plenty of sunbeds. Would have like a little table between sunbeds on beach for drinks and possessions, but that is being really picky.
Only think we were not made fully aware of from Thomson brochure was the dress restrictions for the men in the restaurants. They allow smart Bermuda length shorts, but lots were wearing trousers. They do however require gents to wear collared shirts in the evening. Polo shirts would be accepted. No vest T-shirts allowed at all at anytime, but round neck and v neck T shirts allowed at breakfast and lunch.
Fully inclusive room service is amazing and equally attractively presented as the restaurants.
Room service was the only time we saw a chip in nearly 2 weeks !!
Would have been nice to have had some ice-cream in the day but think that was only available in the Casitas section.
No free Wi-Fi anywhere, we paid 2 lots of 7 days. Would have been nice to have been free or reduced price for 2 weeks stays (which I think only us Europeans do)
All in all and excellent holiday - we certainly will be returning to the Karisma group properties, but will probably be looking at Negril or Croatia.
Any questions please ask away, I will be more than happy to answer.

Room tip: We had a high floor (Block 9) No view due to the palm trees. Don't really think there is a bad room here.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank voyager51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

Spent 2 weeks at the resort. The location on the beach is stunning and the resort is in pristine condition. The chance of shuttles into nearby resorts is very handy and there are plenty of activities available, we went jet-skiing more than once. The staff on the whole were a pure delight, the staff who brought drinks to the beach always remembered our names and orders. The restaurants, although offering a la carte dining, are not of the greatest standard. Poor portion sizes and some very confusing flavour combinations. A couple of times we did have awful service in the restaurants with waiters seemingly to busy to cope with the number of people, however over 2 weeks this is maybe to be expected. On the whole will definitely return and recommend to people going to the area

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2014

We had a surprise honeymoon planned by my father and my husband and I could NOT have been MORE pleased with where we ended up! From the exquisite food to the exceptional service to the ornate grounds and the romantic, private, calm atmosphere, it was perfectly what we dreamed out honeymoon to be. We had Alvaro as our personal pool bartender, Allen as our personal concierge and every worker, server, helper we encountered was polite, respectful and very accommodating. We enjoyed 2 spa visits that were perfection of relaxation, and my husband played gold at Mayacoba, a PGA tour course and had a fabulous time. We cannot wait to return and have more of the delicious cuisine!!

Room tip: We were in the casitas 3100 block which was very high end, private, swim out private pool and we could not have been happier. We were on the bottom floor and had access to the "lazy river" the surrounded the rooms and the pool bar.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2014

Well what can i say .......this place is out of this world ..... the staff are second to none..... friendly isn't the word .. they can't do enough for you Alex and Carlos our concierges were Brilliant ..... our Maid was called Cecilia and she was brilliant ... Miguel and Hever and Gerry from the sensi mar restaurant / swim up (next to Eileen the Alligator) were brill ...........the place is absolutely spotless ....... arrived 23rd sept ..... to 8th October ..........room 5406 which was a swim up room your beds are massive .... the shower is massive ... the fridge is restocked without fail ..... you have evening turn down of your bed ... chocolates and towel art everyday ...it was my birthday when we flew .. i received a birthday cake ,,,, champagne ...birthday cake , soft music ...rose petals ....i can't praise enough everyone from the gardeners ..... to the main reception staff .... and believe me i been present when guests are really rude to these very hard working staff and it is totally unwarranted .....There are shuttles that run around the resort every 5 mins and they can't do enough for you ....the food is out of this world ...we were never ill and this is a first for the hubby !!!! .....Daniel and his team on an evening were brilliant ......AND I WAS EL DORADO IDOL 2 weeks running ....so i must be able to sing !!! OLA ....... and EXCELLLENTE !!!!!!!! ........keep up the great work as the hubby and I will be back ............Thank you for making our dream holiday exceed it's expectations xxxxx oh final word .... i think i've gained 3 stone in weight due to the beautiful food .... the breakfasts at the cocotal .....and the free flowing cocktails :) xxx

Room tip: we had room 5406 .... at the end of the resort ... very quiet had a swim up .....you can easily walk from one end of the resort to the other in 20 mins ... mind that's first thing or early evening when the sun is not trying to incinerate you !!! everything is accessible ....can't fault it x
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
9  Thank shazbotDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

This place is pure paradise. We stayed here for 2 wonderful weeks for our honeymoon and couldn't have wished for anymore.
Our first week was extremely busy therefore had to wait a very long time to be seated in any of the restaurants which as a result ended up having room service which was a little disappointing.
That to one side everything was perfect staff couldn't be more helpful in particular angel who bought us cocktails on the beach everyday.
Had the most amazing couples massage on the beach which I highly recommend :)
Beautiful beach great swimming pools
Thompson reps were also very helpful.
Will 100% be coming back.

Date of stay: February 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Haydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews