We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Torotno
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

It was an excellent vacation .....food is very good and everybody at the hotel are. super friendly .
Enjoyed every minute of it except a presentation that I went thinking it was a property tour when in fact was selling speech.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Felixcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,636
    1,740
    633
    378
    233
See reviews for
664
6,438
106
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the El Dorado Royal Spa by Karisma, awesome holiday. This is our second visit too this hotel and we were extremely impressed with the hotel investments. The new restaurants, Santa Fe and the Italian Casitas were extremely good. We also experienced the show kitchen, excellent cooking demonstration followed by awesome food. This hotel is geared towards food lovers, all restaurants covering all tastes. The two week stay was made extremely enjoyable by all members of staff, but I would like too offer a special thanks to the following staff members, all waiters in LA Isla restaurant, Eric in the gym for his assistance, Daisy and Julio in the Casitas and Angela our maid. It is extremely difficult to suggest improvements as this hotel is awesome, but I believe a hotel of this quality should offer free WiFi to all guests. Once again many thanks, see you again soon.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was our honeymoon trip so we booked our travel through a travel agent locally so all we had to do was pay and not worry about anything. We got a standard room and was supposed to have the honeymoon package included (breakfast in bed, decorations, bottle of wine, wifi, private beach dinner, 2x1 massage). We were told that all we needed to bring was the marriage license or a copy of an invitation to validate. when we got to the resort, nothing was mentioned, so I brought it up - he says, "not our fault, your room does not include this. sorry." So I asked what options we had... the only option - upgrading to a room that included it. I had to haggle with the guy and eventually paid an additional $700 for the upgrade. We STILL did not get ANY of the benefits from the honeymoon package. The management said they "would see what they could do". I had to go back and forth for 3 days until we got 30% off the massage we wanted. This was all we got out of that package.

Throughout the week, we were not treated that great by a couple of the bartenders and our concierge would come around the pool each day and talk to the folks around us, but never once came to check on us. I found this quite odd... regardless, we had a relaxing week.

Upon return, the first thing I did was contact my travel agent to get this sorted out. She contacted the resort and was told that we got a "discounted upgrade" and that was the reason that we did not get the honeymoon package. But they stated that we STILL got the breakfast in bed, decorations, and wine. We did not get ANY of that... but our agent was still kind enough to handle this out of her own pocket, rather than wait on the resort to stand up and resolve the situation.

I probably will not go back to this resort, not because the food was not delicious, or the beaches and pools were not beautiful, but for the sole reason of customer service. If we had an issue, they should have done all they could to make it right. But I did not feel that way.

The food here is great, the drinks are FANTASTIC, the beach and pools are beautiful, and most all of the butlers and bartenders were very nice. Maggie was our favorite butler on the beach!

Room Tip: if you have the option, the casitas rooms are perfect with their own bars and right next to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had an awesome time!! Couldn't be more happy with it!! Victor was the best waiter ever!!! Diego was great at the pool and getting activities organized! My husband and I are looking forward to going back again!! Very relaxing! Food was amazing (make sure to order more than 1 entree) Highly Highly recommend this place!! Linda from Starship Travel was the best getting everything ready for us to go!! If you need a GREAT travel agent call her!! starship travel.- 310 W Northwest hwy – Arlington heights, il 60004

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haidee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Firstly, let me state that the resort and room were absolutely spectacular and the food deserves 5 stars. We were greeted in reception with a cool rag infused with eucalyptus and a glass of champagne, and had a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit in our room waiting for us. What an excellent start to our honeymoon. Our concierges, Liz and Ruth, were wonderful and went above and beyond to ensure that my wife and I enjoyed our honeymoon. On our first day there Liz and Ruth helped me plan our entire week and even booked our reservations for dinner at the various restaurants. Basically if there was anything that we needed to make our stay better Liz and Ruth made it happen. Each restaurant was unique in its own way and the food was always great. My one suggestion would be to add staff members to assist with clearing off the tables as the waiters served both functions, which I know doubles there work load and these guys were constantly moving. This did not detract from our stay but I could see how hard these fine people were working.

The resort is spread out which makes the shuttle service all the more beneficial, although due to our location in the Casitas section we were not always able to secure one. There were even a couple of occasions when we were in the main resort section and were told by the shuttle drivers that they could not take us to the Casitas section. Perhaps there only designated shuttles for the main section, but we were never told of shuttles being pegged for the Casitas only so we just enjoyed the walks back to our room.

Now to discuss the hiccups. I am not a complainer and usually go with the flow but I like to be objective so other travelers have an honest picture and also the management of the resort can make necessary improvements. There was confusion of whether a resort credit weas valid with our honeymoon promotion when we were checking out. We booked the candlelight dinner and were told we cold upgrade to the lobster selection because we had a credit from the travel agency partner, and our concierge confirmed this with a phone call to the front desk. So there should not been any confusion since both Liz and Ruth always confirmed credits and reservations in front of us. The reception clerk said that it was not valid we and if we declined to pay the difference then the concierge would have to pay the difference out of her check. If there was a mistake and I can accept that but this upset me for 2 reasons; 1) if the resort, regardless of who makes the statement, makes an error in a promotion then they should immediately own the mistake, make the necessary adjustment and move on, 2) do not threaten to charge a hard working member of the staff to cover a discrepancy when that could easily be absorbed by the resort. We all work hard for our paychecks and should never have it threaten for simple mistakes. After going through this headache for the next couple of hours I was finally told that they would honor the credit and the concierge would not be charged. The annoying thing is that could have been rectified immediately instead of being dragged out unnecessarily for the latter part of our last day at the resort. There were other minor glitches resulting either not understanding the process applying of resort vouchers in the spa and check out at the main lobby that are not worth mentioning, but the rating of the 4 stars is highly attributed to how poorly the candlelight dinner credit was handled.

Outside of the voucher issue our stay was outstanding and we even made a friend on the wait staff in Jojo's and Cocotal. We always sat in Sammy's sections and his service was exceptional. Sammy even went out of his way to have a pineapple cut up for my wife for breakfast on 2 occasions when it was not available in the buffet. I could tell that Sammy took pride in his work and actually enjoyed interacting with the guests. I really enjoyed our time here and will definitely visit this or another Karisma resort in the future.

Room Tip: If you want ultimate privacy then I would book the Casita suite with the infinity pool. You are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KBHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was our first time in Mexico, & the El Dorado Royale was the perfect choice. The hotel was spotlessly clean. The food in each restaurant was delicious, & the service excellent. Yes there are sandbags on the beach but they are not that bad and are there for a reason! We always found a lounger on the beach each day, but the main pools were quite busy. I would certainly recommend El Dorado Royale and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear United Kingdom friends,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent star here at El Dorado Royale. It is amazing to read that our guest truley appreciate our ardous efforts to preserve our beaches and Resort as a Luxury, relaxing and romantic ambience for vacationers such as yourself.
We will wait for you next year!

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I must stay this was the best holiday ever!!

Me and my partner stayed in the El Dorado Royale in July for 10 days. Booked with Thomson and flew on the new Dreamliner, nice flight with extra leg room seats. Transfer from airport was quick as El Dorado was first drop off.

On arrival we had a welcome champagne and cocktail and a nice cold damp flannel. Check in was fast and we was taken to our room within 20 minutes.

Room was a Jucuzzi Swim up suite in the Sensi Mar section (room 5208) swim up room which connected to two pools..the quiet Sensi Mar pool and a main activity pool, excellent location we had the sun from sunrise until about 3pm.
Clean Spacious room, mini bar stocked every day, decent hairdryer and Revlon/No.7 magnifying light mirror (excellent if you where make up as the lighting in rooms is not the brightest).
Having a key for the safe is a bit outdated but it never really bothered me.

I would like to say a massive thanks to Billy, Danny and Carlos who were our personal concierge throughout our stay, always happy to help. The rose petals and cake towel art on my birthday were lovely.

Restaraunts were all gourmet inclusive sit down and be waited on, Portions can be small but remember you can order more then 1 starter, main or dessert each. So after a couple of days we was doing just that. Every meal I ate was delicious.
We never felt we had to tip any of the waiters but the service provided was so good we tipped anyway. I did not see any waiters favour guests that were tipping I got excellent service from each bar and restaurant I went to. They do not sell wine by the glass and the bottles I thought were quite pricey for a standard white (Chardonnay/Pinot Grig) There are so many places to eat, our favourite was Jo Jos for lunch and dinner and La Cocatol for breakfast which was buffet or menu. Our favourite Bar was the Beach Bar.

The Beach was beautiful in places, and I would reccommend wearing pumps as there stones and rock as well as sand in places and yes there are sand bags to break the waves and preserve the sandy beach.. but we just snorkelled around them and loved feeding the fish bread in the morning.

The hotel and grounds are the cleanest and tidiest I have ever seen, always polite staff gardening and greeting with a friendly 'hola'. I really cannot wait to return to this hotel. It is an amazing place to stay and you really do get a 5 star service.

I would not pay much attention to the bad reviews, some people cannot be pleased and always want more. I worried myself with the bad reviews before my stay as I wanted this holiday to be special for my partner and for my 30th and I don't think I could have picked a better place to stay, met some lovely people (Kansas).

So thanks again El Dorado Royale, I hope to be back again soon. Might try a swim up at the Casitas next time though.

Room Tip: Stayed In Block 52 in the very quiet Sensi Mar section, Excellent Swim up Suite, would recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fifigrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear fifigrimble,

Thank you for the positive feedback. I am happy to hear that your experience with our resort was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service, which is all a part of our unique gourmet inclusive concept. Both, our manager and executive chef have tuned-in very well with the spirit of our site and they have been heartily welcomed in our team to make this the unique Gourmet Inlusive.

On behalf of El Dorado Royale, I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay at our resort.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,672 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing