We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location - Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Location - Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the resort in June 2014 - four nights.
Overall we wholeheartedly enjoyed the trip.
The service was impeccable; with the staff catering to every need.
The grounds are beautifully manicured.
The dining venues are beautiful - many being romantic. The food as "solid double", no bad meals, and nothing extraordinary. They were very conscious of food allergy, for us that's a really big deal as exposure would turn a great vacation bad very quickly.
We elected to try the candlelight dinner on the beach; would-not recommend. Each cabana has a light; that has the effect of detracting from the ambiance.
The pool cabana’s are awesome – we enjoyed the day relaxing with constant water service; even including afternoon ice cream.
We had a swim-up room. Loved it! It was great to be able to sit on the deck, or place the lounge chairs in the shallow water.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the swim up room. If you enjoy quiet go for rooms near building 50/51. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Michael B,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at El Dorado Royale an adult only resort. One of the things that we do is to find out and act on any information from our guests that will have a positive impact their visit, and dietary requirements are an important part of this. We do work to handle this information in a delicate manner so that we can offer a range of dishes that will suit all needs.
Thank you for appreciating the arduous effort to maintain our Resort as a Luxury, relaxing and romantic ambience for vacationers such as yourself.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,743
    1,532
    551
    347
    208
See reviews for
509
5,601
84
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to El Dorado Royale for my best friends wedding. We enjoyed the resort so much that we are considering going back for our honeymoon. The entire place is immaculate and all of the staff are extremely friendly. The only complaint we had was that the bars need to be staffed better. The bartenders seem to get overwhelmed and it takes a looong time to get a drink.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Robert G,
We will wait for you next year!
Thank you for your kind comments, and for taking us in consideration for your future honeymoon. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with any of our travel consultants.
We hope to see you soon for another wonderful vacation.

best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was not sure what to expect; however, this was a beautiful resort with delicious food! I have stay at many all inclusive resorts, but this one was the best with the quality of food. The service was excellent, everyone was very friendly and always asked if we needed anything. Our room was nice; however, it smelled like strong cleaning products when we walked in. I immediately called the front desk and they took about an hour to send someone to fix this issue by spraying it with the beautiful natural smell that they had when you first walked into the front desk. There are many different pools as well as a nice beach. This is a great place to stay if you are traveling for a romantic get a way or if you want to just get away with friends. I would definitely return back to this place. I took my boyfriend there for his birthday and when we returned they decorated the room in balloons, left a cake and champagne there for us with towels that looked like a birthday cake and flowers all over the room. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away to a beautiful place !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank katarinav87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear katarinav87,
I am so glad to know that you had a wonderful time for your boyfriend’s birthday and that you were able to celebrate this special occasion. I do apologize for the smell in the room, i see it was taken care of by our exceptional staff.
Thank you for your kind recommendations.


Sincerely
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our send time to the resort and we had a blast. Perfect resort for couples to relax and romance. I would recommend this resort to everyone. Everything great accept for some of the waiters' service.
Good: amazing good and best part of the hotel. Portions are small but you can order many appetizers. I like the small portions because you get to try a variety of things. Cocotal was great for breakfast, something for everyone. Really loved Jojo's for lunch. It's great eating by the beach and the catch of the day is delicious (request the Mexican sauce that goes with the fish it's delish) calamri,tuna and quesadilla s were great too. Dinner was great at the Mexican resturant,Kampai.
Service:
Everyone is so friendly and makes you feel welcomed. Shout out to our concierge Perla and Amy at building 16 who were so helpful and friendly. The waiters were hit and miss at the restaurant. We had a terrible waiter at ditalia casitas and overall service was unfriendly there. But we had amazing service from our amigo Efrain at cocotal and jojos. He was so fast and made anything happened for us. We would specifically ask for his table just for his service and positive energy. Alex at cocotal and Jojos was also great and very friendly. Jojos bar had the worse service and one guy told my husband he had
no wine while the other bar tended handed me wine(didn't like that).
Drinks: anything u can want they have. Loved the mango margireta.
Rooms: comfy and great ac. Very clean.
Resort: clean and we'll maintained.
Beach: nice beach but not the best. Hate the sandbags but water is a beautiful color and clear. Don't need to snorkel to see the fish right at the shore. Beach is a bit rocky.
Pool: we stayed at the island pool loved the music and it was nice.
Entertainment: shout out to christiano who was a lot of fun. We did the bike tour and we enjoyed the entertainment. Night shows were fun. We saw the pop star show and circus, both entertaining!
Spa: we had the sky massage on beach. Nice but pricy don't think I will pay this much again.
WiFi is 12 dollars a day and we had good service where we stayed building 16. Great location.
Overall we had a blast

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samiazar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear samiazar4,
Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your kind words to all the staff that you were so kind to mention, i am aware of the impression the sand bags can cause. But I can assure you that it is for a great cause and one of the reasons we have so many fish around the area. I am glad to know that this did not merge your vacation and to keep you from enjoying the rest of the facilities, exquisite food and drinks.
We hope you would return to visit very soon.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to El Dorado Royale. Property was emaculate as always. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great week! The only negative was being approached by the concierge on our 2nd day telling us we needed to schedule a "update" meeting on the resort. As a member who receives multiple emails weekly I see no reason for this meeting other than Exotic travel trying to upsell me something. The concierge also called several times trying to schedule this meeting. We love the resort but do not want to be bothered with sales people while on vacation. If i want info on something......I will ask.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear valued member,
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words, I enjoyed reading your review. I'm very proud of each and every employee at the El Dorado Royale.There is no better reward than to receive such comments from our Exotic members. I appreciate your feedback your comments have caused great concern to us and the Executive Management of Exotic and a meeting taken place specifically to discuss the issues mentioned. Within this meeting we reviewed the comments you have mentioned. Following the topic about the invitation received from the concierge of Exotic, we would like to inform you that Exotic is a professional company. The guests are invited to an information meeting, it is at the discretion of our guests to accept or decline the invitation
If there’s anything we can do to help plan your next perfect getaway, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Sincerely
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We decided to get married at El Dorado and I must say that it was a quick and painless event. The staff was amazing, very polite and went out of their way to make sure we were happy with everything. The food for the reception was top notch.

We spent an additional 4 days at El Dorado and we had a very enjoyable time. The staff is very polite and helpful. The food was good with many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The romantic beach dinner was amazing. We made many friends by hanging out at a small pool behind the La Isla restaurant. The main pool really wasn't our thing. Too many activities going on when we only wanted to relax.

We are already talking about when we want to go back. Probably to celebrate our first anniversary.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our junior suite. We had others upgrade to swim ups in our wedding party and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hola Mr. Robert C,
Congratulation to you and your new Mrs.!
A magnificent wedding it is definitely our specialty, we thank you for your comments and the opportunity the appreciation of our work to make of this special day a dream come true. We recommend visiting Las Fuentes pool on the other side of the property for a much quiet atmosphere on your next visit to our property. We really hope you can join us again.

Warm regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

El Dorado Royale was amazing! The food was great and the atmosphere was luxurious. The only downfalls were expensive spa prices and the artificial reefs. Other than that it is worth while. We will definitely consider coming back for our next vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear LBroz,
Thank you for visiting us at El Dorado Royale Resort & Spa, and we appreciate your contribution with a five star rating. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Beat Müller
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, a Beachfront Resort, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 stars 10,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,203 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,923 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma
Address: Km 45 Carretera municipio de solidaridad, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing