We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had an entry level room and it was very nice. The bathroom had plenty of space, as did the room. The resort is fairly large, but it was easy to get around. The food is very good for an all-inclusive resort. It rained the entire time we were there, but we were able to get a massage in a cabana by the beach, which was unbelievable and extremely reasonable. The mexican restaurant on property was fabulous and served great margaritas!! I recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

We heartily appreciate that you have taken the time to write and share your review of our resort El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma on Trip Advisor.

We are sure futures travelers will find it pretty useful.

It has been an unfortunate coincidence that the weather did not contribute much to your enjoyment of this wonderful place, called Riviera Maya.

We hope we can welcome you once again and provide you a more pleasant vacation with a nice weather.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,225 - 5,231 of 10,506 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have traveled quite a bit as a couple & never has any resort even come close to this one. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful & want you to have the best vacation. The food is simply mind blowing, it is off the scale. We enjoyed a honeymoon dinner on the beach which was so romantic. I can not say enough about this resort...we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMac0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and touching review of your recent experience at our premises.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it. I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep on working and for future travelers to try our destination.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma your Mexican Home.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The resort was great. The staff was helpful and friendly, but we had our vacation destroyed by a taxi driver called in by the resort to drive us to the airport. The fare he asked for at the airport was more than the fare I was told by the bell man at El Dorado Royale. We had the same experience going into Playa del Carmen. Don't use the taxi's. Use the tour company vans for transportation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

We very much appreciate your review with a very important point about this interesting matter.

We understand your experience was not exactly perfect but you can be certain that all your comments will be taken into consideration.

We have worked very hard in this area in order to avoid other guests get the same impression or the same experience.

Thank you so much for your contribution.

Hopefully you will allow us to host you in the future in El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here for our honeymoon in May 2012. Absolutely amazing place, food out of this world, some great cocktails and staff were just awesome. Weather was perfect for the whole 2 weeks. We booked a swim up room which was just a few feet from the beach. We got lots of extras as we were on honeymoon which were unexpected and a really nice touch. Couples massage was great highly recommended. We did tip the staff little but often and they were really appreciative of it but it was never expected. For us this was one of those places that you visit once in a life time so unlikely we will return but I would recommend it to anyone. A long flight from the UK but worth every bit of it.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms were great... expensive upgrade fee but worth it especially if your on a honeymoon and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ollie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are more pleased knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us and now we are looking forward for your next visit.

It's particularly pleasing to hear that our team did a great job making you have a great time along your holidays, we will make sure that your feedback is passed on to them.

Your kind words motivate all our staff to work better every day in order to serve all our guest as you describe and they deserve.

Thank you once again, best regards from your El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma your Mexican Home in the Caribe

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.
Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the second time we stayed at this resort. The setting is fabulous and the swim-up Casitas provide for additional ways to do nothing in the sun, while the server refreshes your cocktail of choice. El Dorado staff crisscrosses the property on a constant basis, manicuring the landscape, cleaning, bringing drinks, etc. There are several choices of restaurants, and I recommend the new D'Italia. New Year's Eve at the old D'Italia was an absolute disaster, as the staff focused so much on "upgrading" the menu at the cost of $140.00 per person, after all the resort is an all-inclusive. Also, we noticed a marked obsession with asking patrons about their food allergies. That seemed like an obsession with the restaurant staff, and I think that, had an impact on the quality of food: remarkably bland. Five years ago the restaurant Kampai had delicious ceviches and more adventurous food, this time around the “Curries” were far from bringing to mind Asian flavors. All in all, it is really worth a stay there. The Concierge and the staff organized a wonderful romantic night for my husband and me, which included rose petals, Prosseco and a steaming Jacuzzi, after our candle light dinner on the beach. This was a well deserved rest and recuperation from 2013 and a place we will probably go back to, in the future… just a word of caution: the hotel will try to sell you additional services all the time and we found ourselves running away from our concierge lest she insist we “needed” something else.

Room Tip: Depending on the budget, the swim up casitas are a great. Having said that, all the rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank henryofsagres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest:

My most respectful greetings to you from the sunny Mexico, much to our regret you show unsatisfied with some services you received at our resort.

I would like to thank your valuable comments since they allow us to identify our improvement opportunities and put immediate corrective actions into practice.

I have taken note of them and I will forward them to the respective managers of each department.

We will work on the issues you point out in your review in order to have a positive influence in our guests´ perception of our facilities and services.

Thanks once again and we hope to see you again to get the opportunity of hosting you in El Dorado Royale a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just got home, spent 8 days. Weather awful (not their fault of course) but service very poor due to lack of staff management & language barrier issues. Food not spectacular (very average). Cleanliness good. Beautiful place. We would not go back. Not good value for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you for your brief review, I'm truly very sorry that you feel your stay was not value for money and that you would not choose to return. This is very diappointing to hear and we would like to hear more about your experiences, Please feel free to contact us on the email below with details of your stay

Best Regards
Francisco jorge
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My first long haul holiday and I was not disappointed. The hotel was recommended by a friend and the way she described it just didn't do it justice, it was 100x better!!!! We upgraded to a garden view swim up room 3405 and it was gorgeous!! Just a 20 minute transfer from the airport and about an hour transfer for each excursion. Was an ideal location!!! Champagne on arrival and a golf buggy ride to our room! It was our 1st wedding anniversary and the hotel put up happy anniversary banners on the door and we had petals in the room. Was gorgeous.

We went from 17th December to the 24th and the weather was really good compared to what the UK was having. There was a couple of nights where it rained but just got on with it and enjoyed the many bars and the entertainment from guacamayaes!

We had a little beach area with loungers outside our room and their was also a "lazy river" which connected us to 2 large pools with swim up bars. Spent one day just swimming from one bar to the other and back! Awesome!!! Las Fuentes pool has all the activities and music, La Isla is the quieter pool for a more relaxing time. Those are just the 2 main pools, there are a few more smaller ones and then of course a good stretch of gorgeous sandy beaches!!!
It was nice and quiet when we went so there was no need to reserve loungers/beds or hammocks with towels, there was loads of them to use!!!

We tried to visit all the restaurants throughout the week for breakfast/lunch and dinner and we were not disappointed. Booked into the Las Feuntes culinary cook show and it was very entertaining, food was authentic mexican without the nachos and quasedillas. La isla and JoJo's also had some amazing food, no need to book into them. The choices were amazing and the tastes....yum. Loved the fact that i could have chocolate covered strawberries and marshmallows for breakfast!!!!

Evenings you have to make a bit of an effort for dinner, shirts/collard tshirts, dresses, skirts etc. Couple of nights we couldn't be bothered to dress up so ordered room service. Good selection of food but no drinks are allowed when ordering room service. But when your mini bar gets stocked up everyday, not a major issue. Wine is the only beverage not included in the all inclusive package and they always give a wine list with the price of a bottle. We weren't that fussed with the wine when we had a 3 page cocktail list to work through!!

The staff couldn't do enough for you, nothing was too much! Always had a smile on their face and greeted with hello and goodbye! I did like that in every restaurant you were asked if you had any allergies! little bit of consideration which was nice! Even when we were lounging outside our room there was a waiter walking by who asked if we wanted anything and then came back with 2 cocktails, we didn't even have to move!

There are a few little bars and a health bar in the casitas side of the resort which you have access to. If you can afford it, upgrade to a casitas, just that bit more luxurious however i was really happy with our room, jacuzzi bath and swim up.

The martini bar is amazing! there is a silk chocolate cocktail that I could not get enough of! It was just lush!

We booked 2 excursions with Thomson reps when we got to the hotel during the welcome meeting. Xel-ha with dolphin swim and a sea turtle swim with underground cenote. AMAZING!!!! The platinum dolphin swim with xel-ha access cost about $209 each, bit steep but that was all inclusive food and travel plus snorkel, fin and lifevest hire. The sea turtles excursion cost us $77 each and had travel and a snack included plus fins, snorkel, wetsuit hire. Loved every minute of those excursions but there is still more i would like to do so i will definitely be back, and to this hotel if i can!!!

Some reviews i have read have talk about the "hike" to the main lobby. It is hardly a hike. There are numerous golf buggies whizzing around that can be stopped and they will take you wherever you want to go. However the walk is a good way to get your bearings of this vast resort. From our room to the lobby it was at most a 10 minute walk with no up hill climb.

Most amazing holiday so far!!!!

Room Tip: upgrade if you can, we took pesos but everything is priced in dollars, swim up rooms all the way!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chellecub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and touching review of your recent experience at our premises. It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.

Being rated with 5 stars and knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, with those details, I am sure your comments will be really helpful and informative for future visitors in the Caribbean, besides that, they are a very nice motivation for our staff, inviting them to keep working and exceeding our guests satisfaction and all the future travelers who want to try our destination for their next holiday.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home.

Kindest regards.

Sincerely yours.

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
9.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4,289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senses Riviera Maya by Artisan - All Inclusive - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,271 reviews
3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $321 - $1,130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing