We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second stay great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“second stay great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went back to the El Dorado a second time for December 7th to 17th. This time ten days. It was great as usual and they went out of their way for my birthday on the 9th. They had a choclate ganache cake on our table when we got back from the entertainment that night. and Had a banner across the door to our room wishing me Happy Birthday. They even gave me a free pass for their water hydrotherapy in their spa.Since we had already done that when we booked our massage I didn't use it.
The onlt thing we were not happy about was the dinner at La Fluentes. They put us way to left by glass winder and the waiter station. We couldn't see the tv screens very well and were not impressed by the food cooked for the five course theater meals. We definitely would not go there again. But the Santa Fe was fantastic and had to be resevred which our concierge Zully did for us. We loved the food and ambience. Our favorite place was Kampai. They even made up a cheesecake to wish me a Happy Birthday. All the staff and workers are so great and friendly. We do love that resort.
I highly recommend going here anytime. The only problem was when it rained poured really heavy the night before we left we walked to the Italian restaurant and our shoes and everything got soaked as the lighting on the paths is too dark and we couldn't see the deep puddles before we stepped in them and drainage is not good. But this is an unusual weather as its usually their dryer season. Oh well that's the way it goes. You will have a great time no matter what as they all make an effort to help and hope you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: oceanfront front central area is pretty good. Lots of walking though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy17Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,289
    1,664
    606
    371
    225
See reviews for
590
6,148
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,440)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We decided to get married at this beautiful resort and we're so pleased that we did, it was absolutely the right decision!

The food is brilliant; we loved the Kampai, the Italian nearest reception and thought the culinary theatre night was interesting too. The Kampai gets super busy though so please expect a wait, made more pleasurable by strolling down to the beach bar to grab a drink of your choice while you wait!

The huge four poster beds on the beach were the scene of many a nap-these are very popular though so I'd recommend getting up early to get yours!

There's an activity hut on the beach as well so we decided to go parasailing. Neither of us had done this before and it was great fun and worth it, even though it was not included in the price of the holiday.

Our wedding was just the two of us and the staff put as much effort in as if there was a huge party of guests which was really nice. I'd absolutely recommend having your hair and make up done in the spa, they did an amazing job and it was great to take my mind off the nerves beforehand!

People mentioned the sea-sacks in previous reviews and to be quite honest, it really didn't make any difference to us.

We've been back since late June and can't wait to go back once our first baby is born!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review and a big congratulations on your nuptials and your first baby from all at the El Dorado Royale.

It was a great honor and our pleasure to host such a special occasion in your lives and we look forward to your return , to relive the wonderful memories created at the El Dorado Royale

Best Wishes

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I vacationed there for the second straight year, stayed for a whole week, found no need to even leave the resort grounds. Even though the resort was filled to 80%-plus capacity, you wouldn't know it most of the time -- the place is designed so wonderfully that you can be as secluded as you want. Amazing food -- each meal was better than the last! We will be back again next year.

This IS an adult-only resort, which, to be honest, was the main reason we chose it in the first place. We love kids -- have three of our own (now grown) -- but the childlessness of the resort creates a calm atmosphere we'd not experienced before.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasAndrewJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We went to El Dorado Royale between 27th November/4th December 2013 and we thought it delivered on its promises!

The hotel grounds are immaculate and the pools are clean and there are plenty of staff around, we never had to wait very long for anything!

In our opinion the El Dorado Royale was just as good (if not better sited) then the Casitas as all guests could use all of the services of both hotels (in reality it is just one big hotel!)

The food was delicious, each meal is a 3 course plus luxury treat! In our (and practically everyone's) opinion the Kampai restaurant was the best, with a great menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only ones that were below par were the Mexican Restaurant for evening meal (why are all of the Mexican restaurants in Mexico poor - though conversely the breakfast there is excellent) and Cocotal - don't go there for breakfast (crowded) or dinner (tasteless).

The drinks are of very good quality and it was great to have a selection of house wines for meals - my partner and I don't like Chardonnay so it was good to have a Sauvignon Blanc alternative.

If you are a beach person then perhaps this is not the place for you, as it is pretty plain and featureless, though for what we wanted it for it was great. I used the gym 4 times on holiday and it is well stocked, not crowded and has a great view out on the ocean.

We spent our time at the pool mainly during the day and the only thing that I would say about all of the pools was that there was not much music going on (apart from one 'chilled out' CD which we had to ask to be put on...when we did the pool became instantly more popular and we had some great days there!!). We are 26 and 31 and not exactly party animals but even we found it a bit too chilled out at times, just a little more of the famous Mexican party feel would have been nice (and by that I mean just a bit of low volume happy music).

In all, we loved it, we wanted a great pool bar with great drinks and great meals out and got all of that! If you like gourmet food and a chilled out atmosphere then this is the place for you!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian2437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This resort was by far the most beautiful I have visited. It was clean and well maintained (EVERYTHING WORKED! - unlike many all inclusive's). The food was to die for! - no buffet crap here. All restaurants were a la carte, my favorite for lunch was Jo-Jo's where you could sit outside looking at the ocean. Our room was considered an ocean view on the ground floor so we had our own swim up pool right off our balcony where we could sit on lounge chairs in shallow water with a lovely drink and listen to the breeze in the palm trees and the ocean waves in the background. The beach is not the nicest I have seen due to hurricane damage, but still plenty of space and no fighting for lounge chairs or shade. You could walk for over a mile on this resort with many different areas to explore and pools or beaches to sample. Only issue is if you are looking for a place to party or dance it is not really available here.

Room Tip: We were in the 400's and it was very quiet, we left our patio door open all night to listen to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoanneCamol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

What a fantastic hotel! The staff were amazing as was the food and all of the facilities. The weather over Christmas can be changeable, but the sun is never far away. Of all of the great facilities there were, there was no temperature gauge! But I suppose bloody hot is still bloody hot!

Room Tip: We were in block 51 which is a way from reception etc, but buggies are always available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shrekNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the el dorado. A fabulous 5 star resort very hard to be picky about anything. Room lovely service brilliant. Food was great as well. Loved the Italian restaurantes at both sites Jo Jo's was great with the bar alongside looking out on the sea special thanks to Marcos a great waiter. Also to Maggie waiting on us from the quiet pool a lovely friendly girl I was feeling a bit grim with a cold and she was so caring. We loved it all. Must say that all the staff were so helpful and must mention concieage Tez sorted out any problems with a smile thank you. Only suggestion would be for the buggies base to be the in the lobby area and different colours for either the casitas or the el dorado end would save the the confusion and irratation of waiting especially in the rain.
Overall a lovely place would we go back mmm yes!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Director General at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest & Friend,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our premises, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will take your comments and suggestions in consideration, in order to avoid other guests have the same issues with the shuttle, we will implement something about it.

Hear that our team is referred with those kind words is really rewarding, we will ensure your feedback is passed on to them. We believe that your kind words motivate all our staff to work every day better in order to serve our guest as you describe.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards from your El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma home and the pearl of the Caribe

Kindest regards,

Sincerely yours,

Francisco Jorge
General Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.7 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,305 reviews
4.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Hotels.com so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing