We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went to this hotel for 14 nights from October 13th, it was fantastic, on arrival we were welcomed with a glass of sparkling wine and cool towels. The check in was faultless, we were then whisked off in a golf cart to our room wow it was beautiful. This room was a standard garden view jaccuzi room 717 it was recently decorated with 2 queen sized beds, fully stocked mini fridge flat screen tv everything was perfect if this was a standard room what did the other ones look like . The staff everyone from the reception desk to gardeners, cleaners , barstaff, waiters , were all friendly and made you feel they had known you forever . I would say all were great but I would like a special mention for Orlando , Ceser , Helda , and not forgetting Victor
(my brother lol) all from the K team. The food was to die for never had a bad meal while we were there , our favourite was the Italian at the side of Cocotal the waiter was called Oscar who took the time to go through every course explaining exactly what you were getting. Another waiter in JO JO' s called Omar saw my husband had taken a liking to the short ribs and made sure he had plenty of them lol. A lot of people on the reviews thought the portions were small maybe for some people but not for us and anyways you could always have more if you wanted to , another quick mention of the Kampai restaurant the chicken curry was superb. We also had concierge's Jose and Lulu they were very helpful . They do keep telling you that you had not picked up your free gift , a candlelit dinner or a massage but we never claimed them as it was to sell you timeshare, Some people were complaining they were always trying to sell you something ie spa treatments , but a polite no thank you was sufficient . I could gone on forever about this resort
but all I will say is if youre thinking of booking this hotel do not hesitate its wonderful ignore the negative reviews don't know what some people want . We think that if you treat people with respect no matter who they are you will get respect back , we saw a couple of rude guest who thought they could speak to people rudely wrong you cant , but we can honestly say we never saw any rudeness from ANY staff . We would like to thank El Dorado Royale for a wonderful holiday , hope to see you soon .

Room Tip: Try to get a room near to lobby central for everything
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear friends from Manchester, UK,

on behalf of the hotel manager Patric D. Loeser and his team, it was a great pleasure reading your recent review which shows us that we are doing our service with a lot of pasión, especially our staff who run the extra mile Orlando , Cesar , Helda , Victor, Cocotal waiter Oscar,JO JO' s - Omar and concierge's Jose and Lulu.

It will be a pleasure to extend your compliments to our staff,
We are sure it will be a really nice way to encourage them to keep on being themselves.

Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable holiday,

Sincerely yours,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,063)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,996 - 5,002 of 10,063 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently returned from El Dorado Royale. Reading all the positive reviews pretty much sums up the all encompassing feeling we had of total happiness, peace and tranquility. Nothing negative stands out that is worthy of reporting on TA.

We stayed in an oceanfront room (3311) which is located just by the health bar and pool. Spacious, clean, modern, powerful shower, lovely balcony (seats could be a little mor comfy but just use the cushions from the sofa!)

Casitas are also indeed lovely, and being renovated section by section (the section being renovated is boarded up so as not to disturb guests). The additional upgrade cost from Royale side is a personal choice but for us the Royale oceanfront was perfect and we used all the facilities in the Casitas side apart from the sectioned pool beds - really not an issue! Nothing is too much trouble at this resort believe me.

If you get the mood. walk down the beach and see the turtle nests and if your really lucky go in the evening and watch a nest hatch. Awesome!

I know some people have commented on the 'holiday sales group' - well we went on the one rainy day we had and it was no pressure for us. They give you the pat, show you around the different suites then give u the deal. If u say no then thats it.
Honestly speaking, it was very interesting couple of hours to look at the different types of Casitas.

Food - Everywhere Amazing
Restaurants - 1st Class - for us Casitas talian and Asian was incredible
Drinks - Amazing and House Wine Excellent too -Savignon Blanc - hic
Room Service - Incredible choice and flavours
Beach Amazing - especially down the Casitas end
Gym - Amazing - opens at 0700 if u want to work out before breakfast
Pools - Amazing
Staff - Excellente!
Rooms - Spotless
Entertainment - you will be hard pushed to find better (including live bands every night)
Concierge - Perfect Hosts
Shops - Pretty good choice and not too expensive, also sells non-prescription medications in cluding Pepto Bismol - Yay!

There is building work going on at the end of the beach (Casitas End) but will in no way disturb you at all anywhere. I believe this is going to be an extension of the Royale for families including a number of new restaurants for everyones use.

Tips:

Ask your maid to arrange turndown to prepare your Jacuzzi - lovely to come back to in the evening.
The coffee machine located on a shelf in the cupboard - just check where it is plugged into to allow you to slide it out without disconnecting each time! There are a couple of sockets behind the TV dresser
Make sure the jacuzzijets are well covered or you will have a fountain!
The hammock clips into the little eyebolt on the opposite side front pillar? This is sometimes painted and hard to see. Now you know.
If u are going to upgrade - recommend you ask in resort where they may give u a very fair deal if there is availability
Squeeze your concierge like an Orange - they know everything known to man! and have little extras to give, that are nice (discount vouchers etc)
We had no problem with Sunbeds or Bali Beds - there were plenty. The towel army were of course scurrying out at early doors to claim their prize but u could pretty much get a bed anytime anywhere.
We liked the central beach bar at the Casitas and the beach there is so beautiful with calm water and sandy area to just chill with a mudslide!
Beach at the Casitas end we found less busy and calmer water, more places to swim without rocks. Also more Bali Beds but if its busy, the Casitas guests take priority, we were told. It was never an issue
Take an inflatable bed with u to relax the day away in the calm waters or pool
Any questions just mail me
Go Enjoy!

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room at the resort - But if you want ocean view you should upgrade to oc...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glen and Kamy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Travelers from Bridgwater, UK,

We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review with such a detailed description of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent vacation at our premises and we hope this will not be your last visit.

Your kind words motivate all our staff to work every day better in order to serve our guest as you describe.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My mother and I attended a family "destination wedding" recently. What a beautiful place to celebrate this event. The views are spectacular. The variety of food and number of restaurants was great. We were only there for a few days, but I managed to visit the swim up bar and walk the beach; both were fantastic. The only downside is if you're disabled, it's a bit difficult to get around to see everything - although they do offer golf cart rides. Also, the rooms are definitely designed for couples - dim lighting and not much privacy for family members sharing a room. Would definitely like to bring my husband back, though. Beach Bum Vacations and our travel consierge, Lisa Zwissler, were very helpful with all the planning and travel advice.

Room Tip: The building are 3 stories; so if you want a 1st floor room, ask for it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear guests from Middletown,

It was a great pleasure welcoming you to El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

We are delighted to read that you spent a most wonderful holiday with us and found the accommodation, staff and ambiance of the resort very pleasant.

Thank you for the compliments and recommendation about our resort and we look forward for the opportunity to serve you again soon in your Mexican home!

Kind regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The resort was beautiful and the service was perfect. But the breakfast and lunch foods were nothing special at all mostly all frozen food just heated up. The drinks were great if you ordered soda drinks but anything with juice or frozen was just way to sweet. and really just not drinkable. Also even though it is all inclusive, I like to tip and the ATM was broken the whole week i was there. And they told me last time it was broken for 4 months. I spent the first couple hundred i had brought with me, the first few days i was there and I had no money to tip and it made me feel embarrassed. Not only did i feel embarrassed. They were costing there very hard working polite staff money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear travelers from West Sayville, New York, United States,

My most respectful greetings to you from sunny Mexico.

Much to our regret you show unsatisfied with services received at our resort.

I would like to thank your valuable comments since they allow us to identify our improvement opportunities and put immediate corrective actions into practice.

We have been working on the issues you point out in your review what seems to have had a positive influence in our guests´ perception of our facilities and services.

Thanks once again and we hope to see you again to get a new opportunity

Kindest regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We travelled to El Dorado Royale for our honeymoon in October 2013, and had an absolutely fantastic time!!

Check in was smooth, we had to wait an hour for our room but it was no problem as we were starving and went to grab a bite to eat. The room was beautiful, and one night when we got back it was all done up for our honeymoon! We were in block 17, which was good as we were very close to everything.

I think the real highlight of this resort is the food. Everything was fantastic, and anyone who complains about it must be crazy. We loved all the restaurants...I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite. Our concierge (Ceci, who was fantastic!!) was nice enough to book us in for the preview at Santa Fe, and we were thrilled with it. The food was great, as was the atmosphere. We also loved the Italian, Pacific Rim, and JoJos for dinner, and Isla and Cocotal for breakfast, as well as the Mexican for lunch. For drinks we suggest the Bellini Bar and Martini Bar, both are hidden gems (they were usually quite empty), with amazing bartenders and an outstanding selection!

The other great thing about this resort is the variety of things to do. We took part in the morning Yoga classes, as well as Beach Volleyball almost every day. The greenhouse tour is definitely worthwhile, as was the bike tour! Luiz was fantastic, and made our stay that much better.

All in all, I don't see how people can complain about this hotel. It really is fantastic! The food, staff, beach and grounds are all amazing, and they helped make our honeymoon fantastic. We would go back here in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eraz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Honeymooners from Canada,

We really appreciate your having taken the time to write this review with such a detailed description of our facilities, services and staff. We feel very proud to acknowledge you feel so enthusiastic about your recent vacation at our premises and we hope this will not be your last visit.

Your kind words motivate all our staff, especially our concierge Ceci and our entertainer Luiz.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards from your El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma home and the pearl of the Caribe

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our friend’s destination wedding at the El Dorado Casitas Royale in the Riviera Maya. We can not fully express how “excelente” the entire experience was. We stayed in a Swim Up Casitas Suite, which was gorgeous. The room had a king size bed, indoor and outdoor private showers, a 2-person jaccuzi tub, and a walk out patio with a lounge bed, a patio table for enjoying our room service breakfast, and lounge chairs in the swim-up pool which led into the lazy river. The lazy river connected to a pool with a swim-up bar. The resort is imaculate, and the staff worked around the clock to ensure the experience was second to none. There are several gourmet restaurants which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our first night at the resort we went to the Martini Bar and enjoyed a full chocolate bar along with bottomless chocolate martinis and a variety of chocolate inspired drinks. During our stay, we dined at D’ Italia for dinner, Jo Jo’s for lunch, Rincon Mexicano for dinner, Cocotal for brunch, and Kampai multiple times since it was outside of our suite. The food was delicious, and Alfredo was an excellent waiter at Rincon Mexicano. During the daytime we spent a few afternoons at La Isla pool in the EDR side of resort with friends, and also a couple of afternoons at the beach in front of our Casita suite when we wanted to spend time with each other. Jay C was a terrific beach butler in our Casita section 29: he kept the drinks flowing, he put a sheet on our beach cabana bed, and towels on our lounge chairs. Miguel was an excellent bar tender at the La Isla pool. We spent a few evenings at Guacamayas bar, and the entertainment was very enjoyable. The resort is over a mile in length, but getting from the EDR to the Casitas section was an enjoyable stroll alongside the beach, or riding in a golf cart around the grounds. The Casitas section is definitely more exclusive, intimate and private, but the entire resort is gorgeous. There is something for everyone to do, including a spa, gym, options to snorkel, dive, parasail, etc. We did not want to leave, and we will go back! It was like a second honeymoon for us, and we appreciate everything that El Dorado Casitas Royal, Beach Bum Vacations & Beach Bum Lisa did to ensure we had an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Go for the swim-up Casitas Suite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mjl702013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear friends from Baltimore,

It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a nice review highlighting our natural background, facilities, services and most of all, our staff professionalism and kindness especially our staff who run the extra mile in your experience Alfredo waiter at the Rincon Mexicano, Jay C the beach Butler and Miguel bartender at the Isla pool.

We would all be very pleased to have you back for another memorable vacation

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 4 Oct to 18th Oct. The hotel is lovely and set out beautifully, the restaraunts and the food first class. We stayed in 1505 and when the weddings started across at the bar behind la Isla, the noise was absolutely unbearable, it was as if there was a speaker in our room. So if you want a siesta after being out all day, refuse point blank to stay in any of the blocks opposite. After 2 days we complained to the conscierge as we could even hear the wedding speeches whilst in the shower, and it did get turned down a little, but odd evenings they would blast it out for a short time. The staff are great but the management needs to realise this is supposed to be a luxury hotel, and all customers shopuld be valued not just wedding parties, or people on corporate events who get so drunk they can hardly stand up, They are allowed in the restaraunt wearing whatever they like, so the dress code is a bit of a joke. On our last night we went in our favourite italian and were surounded by loud mouthed drunks shouting and swearing and not one member of staff approached them, all they did was bring them even more drinks. Same as around the quiet pool, playing their own gangsta rap music at full blast, again swearing and vile words and not one member of staff challendged them. This took 3 complaints before something was actually done about it. We still had a great time with lovely staff, and great food but it was also the noisiest holiday we have ever had. To be fair other customers situated in different parts of the complex said they had a lovely relaxed holiday, especially in the more upmarket rooms.

Room Tip: Do not stop in the blocks opposite the wedding venue ( back of La Isla, cant remember its name)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express gratitude for your taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Starting with myself and all my colleagues and managers, we are disappointed to have not met your expectations during your stay with us. So we want to apologize for the inconveniences that you have encountered during your stay.

I have read all your comments, and certainly we are taking seriously your feedback and I see possibilities to improve so we are already working on them.

In gratitude, thanks once more for your comments. Be assured that your feedback is valued and important.

We hope to see you again in our premises.

Yours sincerely,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,215 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $300 - $945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing