We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we go back??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sykesville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“When can we go back??”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 days at Eldorado Royale for a destination wedding. The resort is hands down the best all inclusive that we have ever been to. The food was simply amazing! Because we were there for a wedding there were a couple meals that were already preplanned. If someone at the table had a food allergy or couldn't eat one of the preset options the staff would go out of their way to replace it with something fantastic - this kind of service is very rare! I had the opportunity to visit the spa several times while we were at the resort, and, it too was amazing. If you go, make sure that you get a sky massage out on the beach. A big HUGE thank you to Lisa at Beach Bum Vacations for leading the bride and groom to choose this fantastic resort and for planning and executing our seamless vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Valued customers,

In the name of Mr. Patric D. Loeser, Hotel Manager and his Team, we thank you for choosing El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma as your holiday destination and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor..

We'll extend your compliments to our staff, your kind words motivate all our staff to work every day better in order to serve our guest as you describe.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back, you can comeback anytime.

Sincerely yours,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,746
    1,775
    652
    388
    237
See reviews for
694
6,559
111
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,601)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just got back Oct 23rd from our 5th trip to various all-inclusive in/near Cancun. This was the best! We were happy with each of the resorts we have been too but El Dorado has set a new level of enjoyment for us. The food was fantastic, the rooms inviting, the grounds immaculate, and the personnel exceptional!!! Starting with Fernando at the check-in, the quality of our stay remained excellent thru to our departure. Every waiter, maid, concierge (Adan), entertainer, activity leader (Orlando) performed above expectation! We make it a goal to meet people when we go to these resorts and I met so many vacationers that were there for their third, fouth and fifth visits. I wish my words could better discribe how nice this resort was. If I was looking for any faults it would be to increase the outside lighting of the pathways, but I admit I do not see well at night. The others in our group didn't seem to have that problem. It you get a chance to go to El Dorado, do it, but be prepared that from then on you may be going back to the same resort whenever you go to Mexico!

Room Tip: I think all rooms are probably pretty nice but remember that you won't be in them that much!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guests from Minnesota,

In the name of Mr. Patric D. Loeser, Hotel Manager, we thank you for choosing El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma as your holiday destination and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to acknowledge that in your holiday experience we are the best in the área.

Our friendliness of our staff, our attention to detail, our gourmet inlcusive cuisine concept and well stock bars and the beauty and calm of our premises not only ensured you a memorable experience also lived up your positive expectations about what your holiday should be.

In El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma we aim to ensure to our guests to “enjoy being a Star” during their holidays.

We look forward to welcome you back once again.
Please feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.

Culinary regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently, visited the El Dorado Royale, to attend a Destination Wedding Symposium. The resort is extremely well kept. The resort is couples only and and everything you want for a private getaway for two. The beach is beautiful and well kept. There are several specialty restaurants catering from Italian to steaks. Jo Jo's is located on the beach and is manned by a friendly and professional staff. The rooms are spacious and the beds are so soft you actually sink into them.

It is located only a half an hour from the airport.and short distances from many fun attractions which can be booked from the resort.. Several pluses are the wonderful food, golf cart shuttles and a very active nightlife.

The only improvements I would make would be the beach. Wading out in the water can be a tricky proposition with all the rocks in the water.

Everywhere you walk you are warmly greeted by the staff. Patric the Hotel manager was a constant presence and fixed every little problem that cropped up in dealing with a symposium of over two hundred experienced travel professionals.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If you get a ground floor room your room will open out to the lazy river that winds its way to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear frequent travelers and friends,

On behalf of the hotel manager Patric D. Loeser and his team it was a pleasure meeting you personally in the Destination Wedding Symposium in our El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
The fact that you show so satisfied with your experience makes us feel really proud of our site and staff.
Your lovely review constitutes a great motivation for us to keep improving our team work and personalizing our services.

It will be great to welcome you back in the near future for another memorable vacation.

Sincerely,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

WOW! If you are analysing all the other hotels, don't bother, just book this one!
5* all the way. Excellent service and quality-we are planning our next visit, A slick well run enterprise where the customer comes first.
A big thank you to all the staff that made our first trip to Mexico so enjoyable and memorable with special thanks to - Amie and Emma Thomson's reps, Edgar our personal Concierge, Maria our cleaner, Itzel the calm Hostess with the Mostest from La Isla restaurant, Laura and Mia from the Spa and the countless others whose names have gone but provided service that will be remembered.
Highlights-Fuentes Culinary Theatre, thanks Paul and Julio, what a great experience, Coco Bongo (Playa) wow! Chefs, waiters and Someliers - fantastic, Gardeners,cart drivers and the swim up pool attendants - invaluable hard workers.
Take a copy of your marriage certificate if it's a special trip for extras,
Stayed in 5402 swim up.
Considerations for action: keep quiet rooms for non partying maturer couples. Increase availability of carts during peak mealtimes. Provide some more sturdy seating benches along walkways -we're not all fit. Keep wedding party diners to one separate restaurant,others guests want a relaxed quiet meal.Give Ricky the tame raccoon a nightly spot at reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBEASTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of Mr. Patric D. Loeser, hotel Manager, we would like to thank you for writing a review about your experience among us and for having chosen El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma for your holidays.

We are very pleased to acknowledge that your expectations based on the reviews posted by others “Stars” on internet were met and our excellent service, beautiful facilities and exquisite gastronomy made your holidays unforgettable as we aim El Dorado Royale.

We have congratulated all mentioned staff whose service made a difference during your stay.

We will be pleased to welcome you back. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival.

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wow what a holiday! We stayed at El Dorado Royale for 2 weeks in September and had the best holiday of our lives so far.
All the staff were exceptional, so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We did tip waiters at most meals, but even if we didn't we were treated with the same level of service.
All of the restaurants were amazing, some of the best food we have ever eaten. Our favourites were Cocotal for breakfast and the Italian for dinner. There is a large list of cocktails which are included and good choice of champagnes and wines. The chocolate martini from the Martini Lounge was amazing, need to find recipe for this at home.
The pools were perfect temperature and very clean. The gardens and beach were always immaculate and the gardeners worked very hard and always gave a polite smile or Hola when passing.
We stayed in room 4427, which was a quiet area on the edge of the resort and there was not a single fault with the room. The mini bar was re-stocked daily and room service arrived within half an hour. The bed was huge and so comfortable, large flat screen tv and a double spa bath in the bathroom.
We enjoyed this holiday so much we are thinking of returning next year for our honeymoon xx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guests from Stourbride United Kingdom,

It feels very rewarding to hear that our services have gone beyond our clients expectations.

We'll extend your compliments to our staff. I spoke to Pedro our star bartender in the Martini lounge and he gave me his own special ingredients for the chocolate Martini :
Smirnoff vodka 1 oz., Dark Cacao 1oz., Irish cream 1oz., Milk Carnation 2 1/2 oz., shaking it in a Boston shaker with three ice cubes and of course the edge of the Martini glass with chocolate we hope you get it done when not we are waiting for you here.

Comments like yours constitute some good motivation for us to keep working to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again for another memorable vacation to make your honeymoon unforgettable.

Best regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms were beautiful, beds very comfortable and dining was fabulous. Total relaxation on the beach and in the pools and lazy rivers. Fun in the sun even when the sun doesn't shine. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Massages were fabulous. Bartending was excellent. Total service, tipping was not necessary but we tipped anyways because all the staff was so great. AND everything is included-- EVERYTHING!!! It was our 2nd trip to this resort and we WILL be back again.

Room Tip: We had a swim up jacuzzi room and it was perfect. Plus the 24 hr room service we used more on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear repetition friends from Michigan,

It has been a great pleasure to receive your warm review describing your most recent vacation at our premises El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

It shows it´s your heart speaking.

We thank your compliments to our staff, services, facilities and atmosphere and I hope you give us the honor of another visit pretty soon.

Looking forward to welcome you again for another memorable holiday,


Warm regards,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at EDR and for the first 9 days we thought we were in Paradise. Our Ocean Front room (block4) was perfect and we could not fault anything. The food, the location, the grounds and especially the staff were amazing. Our favourite restaurants were Cocotal for breakfast and the Italian in the casitas for dinner. Unfortunately my husband had appendicitis 2 days before we were due to fly home. Following his operation he was unable to fly on medical advice. The staff at EDR were wonderful. We were able to stay on in the same room (paid for by our insurance). Although it was a stressful time, it was made easier by our personal concierges Cecil and Patricia who were so kind. We relied on Room Service which was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Block 4 was in an ideal location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cookie2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, Gerente at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. Corbett,

on behalf of the hotel manager Patric D. Loeser and his team we hope that your husband recovered from his operation and got back his positive spirit.

We are honored to read this amazing comments especially our concierges Cecil and Patricia who run the extra mile to satisfy your needs. even our room service manager Marcos put your room number 411 on special attentions.

We really hope to see you back at our premises El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma especially our staff which you both won their hearts. Please contact us to know about you.

Sincerely yours,

Patric D. Loeser
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 mi away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
5.5 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
3.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,779 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,901 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Property: El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing